DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendment filed October 23, 2024, is acknowledged and has been entered. Claims 1-69 have been canceled. Claims 70-88 have been newly added.
Claims 70-88 are pending in the application and are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 81 and 82 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. In this case, claim 81 recites “A composition comprising a first polynucleotide encoding the iCAR polypeptide in the composition of claim 79”, such that neither claim 81 or 82 which depends from claim 81 comprise the composition of claim 79, so that they fail to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends
It is suggested that claim 81 and 82 be canceled to obviate the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 70-88 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Federov et al (US 2015/0376296 A1).
With respect to claims 70-71, 74, 76-80, Federov et al disclose compositions for treating cancer comprising recombinant T cells that express a first chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) polypeptide and a second chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) polypeptide, wherein the first CAR (aCAR) polypeptide comprises:
1 a) a first extracellular ligand-binding domain having a binding affinity for a first ligand expressed on a cancer cell;
1 b) a first transmembrane domain; and
1c) a first intracellular signaling domain, wherein the second CAR (iCAR) polypeptide comprises:
2a) a second extracellular ligand-binding domain having a binding affinity for a second ligand on the surface of a non-cancerous cells;
2b) a second transmembrane domain; and
2c) a second intracellular signaling domain, wherein binding of the first ligand to the first extracellular ligand-binding domain activates the first CAR polypeptide, and leads to activation of the recombinant cell to inhibit growth or kill a first cancer cell expressing a sufficient amount of the first ligand but not the second ligand, and wherein binding of the second ligand to the second extracellular ligand-binding domain activates the second CAR polypeptide, and leads to reduction of the activation of the first CAR polypeptide, thereby reducing the capability of the recombinant cell to inhibit growth or kill a second non-cancer cell expressing a sufficient amount of the second ligand (see entire document, e.g., ¶ [0008]-[0022] and [0146], Figures and claims).
With respect to claims 72-73, Federov et al disclose HER2 (erbb2) as the first ligand or AML as the first cancer cell (see entire document, e.g., ¶ [0011], [0019] and [0188] and claims).
With respect to claim 75, Federov et al disclose that the second antigen on the non-cancerous cell can be on endothelial cells such a blood-brain barrier specific antigen, etc (see entire document, e.g., ¶ [0020] and claims).
With respect to claim 81-84, Federov et al disclose compositions comprising first and second polynucleotides encoding the iCAR and aCAR respectively, wherein the first and second polynucleotides are incorporated onto the same vector such as a bicistronic vector or different vectors (see entire document, e.g., ¶ [0084] and [0157]-[0163]) and claims).
With respect to claims 85-88, Federov et al disclose treating patients by administering compositions comprising effective amounts of such recombinant T cells to cancer patients (see entire document, e.g., ¶ [0168]-[0189]) and claims), which contact a recombinant cell with the first ligand on a cancer cell but not the second ligand, when contacting the cancer cell and which kill the first cancer cell, but not the second cell.
Therefore, Federov et al is deemed to anticipate the instant claims absent a showing otherwise.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 70-88 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 102 and 107-108 of copending Application No 18/547,652 in view Federov et al (US 2015/0376296 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons:
The claims of the copending application recite a composition comprising:(a) a first chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) polypeptide comprising: i) a first extracellular ligand-binding domain having a binding affinity for a first ligand; ii) a first transmembrane domain; and iii) a first intracellular signaling domain, and (b)) a second chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) polypeptide comprising: i) a second extracellular ligand-binding domain having a binding affinity for a second ligand different from the first ligand; ii) a second transmembrane domain; and iii) a second intracellular signaling domain, wherein neither of the first and the second intracellular signaling domain comprises an ITAM. The claims of the copending application also recite nucleic acids encoding the CARs and cells comprising such nucleic acids.
Federov et al disclose compositions for treating cancer comprising recombinant T cells that express a first chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) polypeptide and a second chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) polypeptide, wherein the first CAR (aCAR) polypeptide comprises:
1 a) a first extracellular ligand-binding domain having a binding affinity for a first ligand expressed on a cancer cell;
1 b) a first transmembrane domain; and
1c) a first intracellular signaling domain, wherein the second CAR (iCAR) polypeptide comprises:
2a) a second extracellular ligand-binding domain having a binding affinity for a second ligand on the surface of a non-cancerous cells;
2b) a second transmembrane domain; and
2c) a second intracellular signaling domain, wherein binding of the first ligand to the first extracellular ligand-binding domain activates the first CAR polypeptide, and leads to activation of the recombinant cell to inhibit growth or kill a first cancer cell expressing a sufficient amount of the first ligand but not the second ligand, and wherein binding of the second ligand to the second extracellular ligand-binding domain activates the second CAR polypeptide, and leads to reduction of the activation of the first CAR polypeptide, thereby reducing the capability of the recombinant cell to inhibit growth or kill a second non-cancer cell expressing a sufficient amount of the second ligand (see entire document, e.g., ¶ [0008]-[0022] and [0146], Figures and claims).
Federov et al disclose HER2 (erbb2) as the first ligand or AML as the first cancer cell (see entire document, e.g., ¶ [0011], [0019] and [0188] and claims).
Federov et al disclose that the second antigen on the non-cancerous cell can be on endothelial cells such a blood-brain barrier specific antigen, etc (see entire document, e.g., ¶ [0020] and claims).
With respect to claim 81-84, Federov et al disclose compositions comprising first and second polynucleotides encoding the iCAR and aCAR respectively, wherein the first and second polynucleotides are incorporated onto the same vector such as a bicistronic vector or different vectors (see entire document, e.g., ¶ [0084] and [0157]-[0163]) and claims).
Federov et al disclose treating patients by administering compositions comprising effective amounts of such recombinant T cells to cancer patients (see entire document, e.g., ¶ [0168]-[0189]) and claims), which contact a recombinant cell with the first ligand on a cancer cell but not the second ligand, when contacting the cancer cell and which kill the first cancer cell, but not the second cell.
Accordingly, in view of the copending claims and the reference, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make compositions comprising recombinant T cells that comprise the CARs of the copending claims, nucleic acids encoding the CARs cells comprising expression vectors comprising the nucleic acids and use the cells to treat cancer because Federov et al disclose that recombinant T cells comprising a first chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) polypeptide comprising: i) a first extracellular ligand-binding domain having a binding affinity for a first ligand; ii) a first transmembrane domain; and iii) a first intracellular signaling domain, and (b)) a second chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) polypeptide comprising: i) a second extracellular ligand-binding domain having a binding affinity for a second ligand different from the first ligand; ii) a second transmembrane domain; and iii) a second intracellular signaling domain (these cells would comprise either one or two vectors encoding the CARs) are desirable and can be predictably used in methods of treating cancer. In this case, the instant claims do not require that the first and the second intracellular signaling domain comprises an ITAM, so the genus of CARs in the instant claims include those that do not comprise ITAMs as required by the copending claims. Accordingly, based on the copending claims and the prior art, the constructs encompassed by the instant claims would be seen as combining elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Therefore, the conflicting claims are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Respectfully,
Brad Duffy
571-272-9935
/Brad Duffy/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1643
July 16, 2026