DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because reference character 42 is unclear in Fig 3. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the feature of "an externally threaded bolt portion" in claim 7 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In Paragraph 0002, “axel” should read “axle”
In Paragraph 0034, “tapper” should read “taper”
In Paragraph 0034, “contoured oppose” and “hex portion 51” are unclear
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "said coupler" in line 22. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, claim 1 will be read as “said torque coupler”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Groppo (WO2016166575A1), hereinafter "Groppo".
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Groppo teaches a fastener (Fig 1, device 3) comprising:
a fastener body (Fig 1, body 17) orientated (see Fig 1) about a central axis (see Fig 1);
said fastener body (17) having a key-engaging portion (Fig 1, means 13) to which an external driving torque may be applied (see Fig 1, Pg 4, line 33 - Pg 5, line 14, Examiner notes means 13 for a complementary wrench as to which an external driving torque may be applied) and a threaded fastening portion (Fig 1, portion 5) configured and arranged to mate (capable of mating, i.e. this is a functional recitation) with a corresponding threaded element (see Fig 1, Pg 4, line 33 - Pg 5, line 14, Examiner notes portion 5 having a male thread 7 as configured and arranged to mate with a corresponding threaded element);
said fastener body (17) having a shroud-receiving body portion (Fig 1, projection 11a) orientated (see Fig 1) about said central axis (see Fig 1);
a shroud (Fig 1, bushing 19) concentrically mounted (see Fig 1) on said shroud-receiving body portion (11a) and having an inner surface (see Fig 1) facing (see Fig 1) an outer surface (see Fig 1) of said shroud-receiving body portion (11a);
said shroud (19) being supported (see Fig 1) in rotatable relationship (see Fig 1, Pg 2, lines 13-17, Examiner notes rotatable bushing as in rotatable relationship) with said shroud-receiving body portion (11a) such that said shroud (19) will rotate relative (see Fig 1, Pg 2, lines 13-17) to said fastener body (17) under an applied external torque (Pg 2, lines 13-17, Examiner notes rotatable bushing that is particularly resistant to burglary attempts as under an applied external torque) prior to said fastener body (17) rotating (see Fig 1, Pg 2, lines 13-17) when said fastener (see Fig 1) is engaged with an external structure at a design installation torque (Pg 1, lines 4-9, Examiner notes fixing a wheel to a vehicle hub as is engaged with an external structure at a design installation torque);
a torque coupler (Fig 9, wrench 9) operatively configured to rotationally engage (Pg 6, line 23 - Pg 7, line 8) said fastener body (17) and said shroud (19);
said torque coupler (9) comprising a key portion (Fig 9, extension 9b) operatively configured to rotationally engage (Pg 6, line 23 - Pg 7, line 8) said key-engaging portion (13) of said fastener body (17);
said torque coupler (9) comprising a shroud-engaging portion (Fig 9, recess 9c) operatively configured to rotationally engage (Pg 6, line 23 - Pg 7, line 8) a coupler-engaging portion (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a portion of bushing 19 below ring 21 as a coupler-engaging portion) of said shroud (19); and
said shroud (19) having a tool-engaging portion (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a portion of bushing 19 above ring 21 as having a tool-engaging portion) to which an external driving torque may be applied (see Fig 1, Examiner notes the portion of bushing 19 above ring 21 as to which an external driving torque may be applied);
wherein said coupler (9) is operatively configured to be in rotatable relationship (Pg 6, line 23 - Pg 7, line 8) with both (Pg 6, line 23 - Pg 7, line 8) said key-engaging portion (13) of said fastener body (17) and said coupler-engaging portion (see Fig 1) of said shroud (19) such that said fastener body (17) will rotate (Pg 6, line 23 - Pg 7, line 8) about said central axis (see Fig 1) with rotation (Pg 6, line 23 - Pg 7, line 8) of said shroud (19) about said central axis (see Fig 1) under an external driving torque (Pg 6, line 23 - Pg 7, line 8) applied about said central axis (see Fig 1) to said tool-engaging portion (see Fig 1) of said shroud (19) at a design installation torque (Pg 1, lines 4-9).
Regarding claim 2, as best understood, Groppo teaches the fastener (3) of claim 1 and further teaches comprising a shroud-retaining element (Fig 1, ring 21) restraining (see Fig 1) said shroud (19) from translational movement (see Fig 1, Pg 4, line 33 - Pg 5, line 14) in at least a first axial direction (see Fig 1) along said central axis (see Fig 1) relative to said fastener body (17).
Regarding claim 3, as best understood, Groppo teaches the fastener (3) of claim 2 and further teaches wherein said inner surface (see Fig 1) of said shroud (19) comprises an inwardly-facing annular groove (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a groove in bushing 19 in which ring 21 resides as comprises an inwardly-facing annular groove), said outer surface (see Fig 1) of said shroud-receiving body portion (11a) comprising an outwardly-facing annular groove (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a groove in projection 11a in which ring 21 resides as comprising an outwardly-facing annular groove), and said shroud-retaining element (21) comprises a retaining ring (see Fig 1, Pg 4, line 33 - Pg 5, line 14, Examiner notes ring 21 as comprises a retaining ring) disposed (see Fig 1) in said inwardly-facing annular groove (see Fig 1) and said outwardly-facing annular groove (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 4, as best understood, Groppo teaches the fastener (3) of claim 1 and further teaches wherein said coupler-engaging portion (see Fig 1) of said shroud (19) comprises a hexagonal outer surface (Pg 6, line 23 - Pg 7, line 8, Groppo indicates hexagonal).
Regarding claim 5, as best understood, Groppo teaches the fastener (3) of claim 4 and further teaches wherein said shroud-engaging portion (9c) of said torque coupler (9) comprises a hexagonal inner surface (Pg 6, line 23 - Pg 7, line 8, Groppo indicates hexagonal).
Regarding claim 6, as best understood, Groppo teaches the fastener (3) of claim 5 and further teaches wherein said tool-engaging portion (see Fig 1) of said shroud (19) comprises a hexagonal outer surface (Pg 6, line 23 - Pg 7, line 8, Groppo indicates hexagonal).
Regarding claim 7, as best understood, Groppo teaches the fastener (3) of claim 1 and further teaches wherein said threaded fastening portion (5) of said fastener body (17) comprises an internally threaded nut portion (Abstract, Groppo indicates made as a bolt or nut) or an externally threaded bolt portion (see Fig 1, Pg 4, line 33 - Pg 5, line 14).
Regarding claim 8, as best understood, Groppo teaches the fastener (3) of claim 1 and further teaches wherein:
said shroud-receiving body portion (11a) of said fastener body (17) comprises an annular body shoulder (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a flange of body 17 having means 13 as comprises an annular body shoulder) having an annular body shoulder surface (see Fig 1, Examiner notes an upper surface of the flange of body 17 having means 13 as having an annular body shoulder surface);
said shroud (19) comprises an annular shroud end surface (see Fig 1, Examiner notes an end surface of bushing 19 adjacent the flange of body 17 having means 13 as comprises an annular shroud end surface); and
said annular body shoulder surface (see Fig 1) and said annular shroud end surface (see Fig 1) are in an opposing orientation (see Fig 1) and restrain (see Fig 1) said shroud (19) from translational movement (see Fig 1) in an axial direction (see Fig 1) along said central axis (see Fig 1) relative to said fastener body (17).
Regarding claim 9, as best understood, Groppo teaches the fastener (3) of claim 8 and further teaches wherein:
said torque coupler (9) comprises an annular coupler shoulder (see Fig 9, Examiner notes a shoulder between recess 9c and extension 9b as comprises an annular coupler shoulder) having an annular coupler shoulder surface (see Fig 9, Examiner notes a surface of the shoulder between recess 9c and extension 9b as having an annular coupler shoulder surface); and
said annular body shoulder surface (see Fig 1) and said annular coupler shoulder surface (see Fig 9) are in an opposing orientation (see Figs 1 and 9) and restrain (see Figs 1 and 9) said torque coupler (9) from translational movement (see Figs 1 and 9) in said axial direction (see Fig 1) along said central axis (see Fig 1) relative to said fastener body (17).
Regarding claim 10, as best understood, Groppo teaches the fastener (3) of claim 1 and further teaches wherein:
said shroud-receiving body portion (11a) of said fastener body (17) comprises an annular body shoulder (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a flange of body 17 having means 13 as comprises an annular body shoulder) having an annular body shoulder surface (see Fig 1, Examiner notes an upper surface of the flange of body 17 having means 13 as comprises an annular body shoulder);
said torque coupler (9) comprises an annular coupler shoulder (see Fig 9, Examiner notes a shoulder between recess 9c and extension 9b as comprises an annular coupler shoulder) having an annular coupler shoulder surface (see Fig 9, Examiner notes a surface of the shoulder between recess 9c and extension 9b as comprises an annular coupler shoulder); and
said annular body shoulder surface (see Fig 1) and said annular coupler shoulder surface (see Fig 9) are in an opposing orientation (see Figs 1 and 9) and restrain (see Figs 1 and 9) said torque coupler (9) from translational movement (see Figs 1 and 9) in an axial direction (see Figs 1 and 9) along said central axis (see Fig 1) relative to said fastener body (17).
Regarding claim 11, as best understood, Groppo teaches the fastener (3) of claim 2 and further teaches wherein:
said inner surface (see Fig 1) of said shroud (19) comprises an inwardly-facing annular groove (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a groove in bushing 19 in which ring 21 resides as comprises an inwardly-facing annular groove);
said outer surface (see Fig 1) of said shroud-receiving body portion (11a) comprising an outwardly-facing annular groove (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a groove in projection 11a in which ring 21 resides as comprising an outwardly-facing annular groove);
said shroud-retaining element (21) comprises a retaining ring (see Fig 1, Pg 4, line 33 - Pg 5, line 14, Examiner notes ring 21 as comprises a retaining ring) disposed (see Fig 1) in said inwardly-facing annular groove (see Fig 1) and said outwardly-facing annular groove (see Fig 1) restraining (see Fig 1, Pg 4, line 33 - Pg 5, line 14) said shroud (19) from translational movement (see Fig 1) in said first axial direction (see Fig 1) along said central axis (see Fig 1) relative to said fastener body (17);
said shroud-receiving body portion (11a) of said fastener body (17) comprises an annular body shoulder (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a flange of body 17 having means 13 as comprises an annular body shoulder) having an annular body shoulder surface (see Fig 1, Examiner notes an upper surface of the flange of body 17 having means 13 as having an annular body shoulder surface);
said shroud (19) comprises an annular shroud end surface (see Fig 1, Examiner notes an end surface of bushing 19 adjacent the flange of body 17 having means 13 as comprises an annular shroud end surface);
said annular body shoulder surface (see Fig 1) and said annular shroud end surface (see Fig 1) are in an opposing orientation (see Fig 1) and restrain (see Fig 1) said shroud (19) from translational movement (see Fig 1) in a second axial direction (see Fig 1) along said central axis (see Fig 1) relative to said fastener body (see Fig 1);
said torque coupler (9) comprises an annular coupler shoulder (see Fig 9, Examiner notes a shoulder between recess 9c and extension 9b as comprises an annular coupler shoulder) having an annular coupler shoulder surface (see Fig 9, Examiner notes a surface of the shoulder between recess 9c and extension 9b as having an annular coupler shoulder surface); and
said annular body shoulder surface (see Fig 1) and said annular coupler shoulder surface (see Fig 9) are in an opposing orientation (see Figs 1 and 9) and restrain (see Figs 1 and 9) said torque coupler (9) from translational movement (see Figs 1 and 9) in said second axial direction (see Fig 1) along said central axis (see Fig 1) relative to said fastener body (17).
Conclusion
/J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3675 /KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675