DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Claim(s) 69-76 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 31, 2026 for claims 52 and 62-68.
Priority
3. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on March 13, 2024, June 25, 2025, and April 20,2026 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Specification
5. The amendments to the specification received on March 13, 2024. These amendments to the specification are accepted.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim 198 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Elkotby et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0225402 A1).
Regarding claim 198, Elkotby et al. teach a method for wireless communications at a base station (read as “methods, apparatus, and systems whereby signaling between network infrastructure and one or more energy harvesting IoT or WTRU devices can help in the optimization of energy transfer by allowing the IoT or WTRU devices to tune their energy harvesting components to maximize energy harvesting and/or minimize power consumption (e.g., minimize attempting to harvest energy during silence periods).”(Fig(s).1A @ 114a, 114b and 10 @ BS; Paragraph [0092])), comprising:
receiving, from a user equipment (UE) (Fig(s).1A @ 102a-102d, 1B @ 102, and 10), an indication (read as parameter(s)) that the UE is transitioning to an energy harvesting mode based at least in part on a trigger, and a timing offset parameter (read as parameter(s)) indicating a timing offset between transmission of the indication and transitioning to the energy harvesting mode (read as “ An EH device may use one or more of the following information/messages to communicate with the network (e.g., an eNB or a gNB). … A message defining/reporting the EH device harvesting capability/parameters, …”(Fig(s).1A, 5 and 10; Paragraph [0119] and [0121]));
transmitting, to the UE (Fig(s).1A @ 102a-102d, 1B @ 102, and 10), a control message (read as EH control messages (Paragraph [0135])) indicating a radio resource configuration for the energy harvesting mode, prior to the UE transitioning to the energy harvesting mode (read as “an EH signal waveform may be generated at the network (e.g., a base station, an eNB, or a gNB) using control, data, existing and/or dedicated reference signaling to help guarantee a minimum level of energy harvesting for EH capable devices.”(Paragraph [0098]) For example, “one or more of the information elements (IEs) required to support the EH feature can be conveyed to the EH device explicitly, using dedicated fields in an existing control message format or using new dedicated control messages , or implicitly based on the transmission configuration associated with one or more of the EH control messages.”(Paragraph [0135])); and
communicating with the UE (Fig(s).1A @ 102a-102d, 1B @ 102, and 10) using the radio resource configuration during the energy harvesting mode. (read as “Given a WTRU in “RRC Inactive” or “RRC Idle” state, gNB(s) utilize(s) EH related DL signaling over the ZE air interface to request information feedback from the WTRU based on contention-free or contention-based transmission schemes depending on the considered scenario, i.e. WTRU mobility, number of inactive WTRUs/devices, RRC state and transitions, security conditions/constraints, available EH control resources and their utilization.”(Fig(s).6, 7, and 10; Paragraph [0191]))
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 50-59, 62-68, and 197 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elkotby et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0225402 A1) in view of Xu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0078779 A1).
Regarding claim 50, Elkotby et al. teach an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (Fig(s).1A @ 102a-102d, 1B @ 102, and 10), comprising:
one or more processors (Fig.1B @ 118);
one or more memories (Fig.1B @ 130, 132) coupled with the one or more processors (Fig.1B @ 118); and
instructions (read as computer program (Paragraph [0208])) stored in the one or more memories (Fig.1B @ 130, 132) and executable by the one or more processors (Fig.1B @ 118) to cause the apparatus (Fig.1A @ 102a-102d, 1B @ 102, and 10) to:
transmit, to a base station (Fig(s).1A @ 114a, 114b and 10 @ BS), an indication (read as parameter(s)) that the UE is transitioning to an energy harvesting mode based at least in part on a trigger, and a timing offset parameter (read as parameter(s)) indicating a timing offset between transmission of the indication and transitioning to the energy harvesting mode (read as “ An EH device may use one or more of the following information/messages to communicate with the network (e.g., an eNB or a gNB). … A message defining/reporting the EH device harvesting capability/parameters, …”(Fig(s).1A, 5 and 10; Paragraph [0119] and [0121]));
receive, from the base station (Fig(s).1A @ 114a, 114b and 10 @ BS), a control message indicating a radio resource configuration for the energy harvesting mode, prior to transitioning to the energy harvesting mode (read as “an EH signal waveform may be generated at the network (e.g., a base station, an eNB, or a gNB) using control, data, existing and/or dedicated reference signaling to help guarantee a minimum level of energy harvesting for EH capable devices.”(Paragraph [0098] Also, “the type of control link will potentially be dependent on the RRC state(s) of the WTRU(s).”(Paragraph [0118]) For example, “one or more of the information elements (IEs) required to support the EH feature can be conveyed to the EH device explicitly, using dedicated fields in an existing control message format or using new dedicated control messages , or implicitly based on the transmission configuration associated with one or more of the EH control messages.”(Paragraph [0135])); and
However, Elkotby et al. fail to explicitly teach transition to the energy harvesting mode in accordance with the timing offset parameter.
Xu et al. teach a method to transition to the energy harvesting mode in accordance with the timing offset parameter. (read as “the UE can switch to an energy harvesting mode under certain conditions.”(Paragraph [0078]) For example, “receiving an instruction from the first base station to switch the user equipment to the energy harvesting mode.”(Paragraph [0197]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for switching to an energy harvesting mode based on a condition as taught by Xu et al. with the UE as taught by Elkotby et al. for the purpose of improving the optimization of power resources by devices in a communications network.
Regarding claim 197, Elkotby et al. teach a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (read as “methods, apparatus, and systems whereby signaling between network infrastructure and one or more energy harvesting IoT or WTRU devices can help in the optimization of energy transfer by allowing the IoT or WTRU devices to tune their energy harvesting components to maximize energy harvesting and/or minimize power consumption (e.g., minimize attempting to harvest energy during silence periods).”(Paragraph [0092])), comprising:
transmitting, to a base station (Fig(s).1A @ 114a, 114b, 5 @ BS, and 10 @ BS), an indication (read as parameter(s)) that the UE is transitioning to an energy harvesting mode based at least in part on a trigger, and a timing offset parameter (read as parameter(s)) indicating a timing offset between transmission of the indication and transitioning to the energy harvesting mode (read as “An EH device may use one or more of the following information/messages to communicate with the network (e.g., an eNB or a gNB). … A message defining/reporting the EH device harvesting capability/parameters, …”(Fig(s).1A, 5 and 10; Paragraph [0119] and [0121]));
receiving, from the base station (Fig(s).1A @ 114a, 114b, 5 @ BS, and 10 @ BS), a control message (read as EH control messages (Paragraph [0135])) indicating a radio resource configuration for the energy harvesting mode, prior to transitioning to the energy harvesting mode (read as “an EH signal waveform may be generated at the network (e.g., a base station, an eNB, or a gNB) using control, data, existing and/or dedicated reference signaling to help guarantee a minimum level of energy harvesting for EH capable devices.”(Paragraph [0098] Also, “the type of control link will potentially be dependent on the RRC state(s) of the WTRU(s).”(Paragraph [0118]) For example, “one or more of the information elements (IEs) required to support the EH feature can be conveyed to the EH device explicitly, using dedicated fields in an existing control message format or using new dedicated control messages , or implicitly based on the transmission configuration associated with one or more of the EH control messages.”(Paragraph [0135])); and
However, Elkotby et al. fail to explicitly teach transition to the energy harvesting mode in accordance with the timing offset parameter.
Xu et al. teach a method to transition to the energy harvesting mode in accordance with the timing offset parameter. (read as “the UE can switch to an energy harvesting mode under certain conditions.”(Paragraph [0078]) For example, “receiving an instruction from the first base station to switch the user equipment to the energy harvesting mode.”(Paragraph [0197]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for switching to an energy harvesting mode based on a condition as taught by Xu et al. with the UE as taught by Elkotby et al. for the purpose of improving the optimization of power resources by devices in a communications network.
Regarding claim 51, and as applied to claim 50 above, Elkotby et al., as modified by Xu et al., teach an apparatus (Fig(s).1A @ 102a-102d, 1B @ 102, and 10) wherein the instructions (read as computer program (Paragraph [0208])) are further executable by the one or more processors (Fig.1B @ 118) to cause the apparatus (Fig(s).1A @ 102a-102d, 1B @ 102, and 10) to:
perform energy harvesting when the UE is in
a radio resource control idle mode (Fig.7),
a radio resource control inactive mode (Fig.7), or
a radio resource control connected mode. (Fig.6)
Regarding claim 52, and as applied to claim 50 above, Elkotby et al., as modified by Xu et al., teach an apparatus (Fig(s).1A @ 102a-102d, 1B @ 102, and 10) wherein the instructions (read as computer program (Paragraph [0208])) are further executable by the one or more processors (Fig.1B @ 118) to cause the apparatus (Fig(s).1A @ 102a-102d, 1B @ 102, and 10) to:
communicate with the base station using the radio resource configuration during the energy harvesting mode. (Fig(s).6-7 and 10)
Regarding claim 53, and as applied to claim 50 above, Elkotby et al., as modified by Xu et al., teach an apparatus (Fig(s).1A @ 102a-102d, 1B @ 102, and 10) wherein the instructions (read as computer program (Paragraph [0208])) are further executable by the one or more processors (Fig.1B @ 118) to cause the apparatus (Fig(s).1A @ 102a-102d, 1B @ 102, and 10) to:
maintain a timer indicating a duration since a previous transmission by the UE of a previous indication that the UE is transitioning to the energy harvesting mode (read as specific period of time (Paragraph [0200])),
wherein transmitting the indication is based at least in part on the timer exceeding a threshold duration. (read as period of time is above a specific threshold (Paragraph [0200]))
Regarding claim 54, and as applied to claim 50 above, Elkotby et al., as modified by Xu et al., teach an apparatus (Fig(s).1A @ 102a-102d, 1B @ 102, and 10) wherein the instructions (read as computer program (Paragraph [0208])) are further executable by the one or more processors (Fig.1B @ 118) to cause the apparatus (Fig(s).1A @ 102a-102d, 1B @ 102, and 10) to:
receive, from the base station, control signaling indicating one or more parameters associated with the trigger (Fig(s).1B @ 120 and 10),
wherein the transmitting the indication that the UE is transitioning to the energy harvesting mode is based at least in part on the control signaling. (read as “Given a WTRU in “RRC Inactive” or “RRC Idle” state, gNB(s) utilize(s) EH related DL signaling over the ZE air interface to request information feedback from the WTRU based on contention-free or contention-based transmission schemes depending on the considered scenario, i.e. WTRU mobility, number of inactive WTRUs/devices, RRC state and transitions, security conditions/constraints, available EH control resources and their utilization.”(Fig(s).6, 7, and 10; Paragraph [0191]))
Regarding claim 55, and as applied to claim 54 above, Elkotby et al., as modified by Xu et al., teach an apparatus (Fig(s).1A @ 102a-102d, 1B @ 102, and 10) wherein the instructions (read as computer program (Paragraph [0208])) are further executable by the one or more processors (Fig.1B @ 118) to cause the apparatus (Fig(s).1A @ 102a-102d, 1B @ 102, and 10) to:
receive the control signaling via dedicated radio resource control signaling or a system information block. (Fig(s).1B @ 120, 6-7, and 10)
Regarding claim 56, and as applied to claim 54 above, Elkotby et al., as modified by Xu et al., teach an apparatus (Fig(s).1A @ 102a-102d, 1B @ 102, and 10) wherein:
the one or more parameters comprises an energy level threshold (read as thresholding parameter(s) (Paragraph [0187])), and
the trigger is based at least in part on an energy level being below the energy level threshold. (read as “WTRU receiving a control message polling/enquiring for WTRUs interested in energy harvesting, may decide to include additional information in the feedback frame such as current battery level or expected duration before the battery level reaches a certain threshold.”(Paragraph [0185]))
Regarding claim 57, and as applied to claim 54 above, Elkotby et al., as modified by Xu et al., teach an apparatus (Fig(s).1A @ 102a-102d, 1B @ 102, and 10) wherein:
the one or more parameters comprises an energy level threshold and a duration threshold (read as thresholding parameter(s) (Paragraph [0187])), and
the trigger is based at least in part on an energy level of the UE being below the energy level threshold for at least the duration threshold. (read as “WTRU receiving a control message polling/enquiring for WTRUs interested in energy harvesting, may decide to include additional information in the feedback frame such as current battery level or expected duration before the battery level reaches a certain threshold.”(Paragraph [0185]))
Regarding claim 58, and as applied to claim 54 above, Elkotby et al., as modified by Xu et al., teach an apparatus (Fig(s).1A @ 102a-102d, 1B @ 102, and 10) wherein:
the one or more parameters comprises an energy level change threshold (read as thresholding parameter(s) (Paragraph [0187])), and
the trigger is based at least in part on a change in an energy level of the UE exceeding the energy level change threshold. (read as “WTRU receiving a control message polling/enquiring for WTRUs interested in energy harvesting, may decide to include additional information in the feedback frame such as current battery level or expected duration before the battery level reaches a certain threshold.”(Paragraph [0185]))
Regarding claim 59, and as applied to claim 50 above, Elkotby et al., as modified by Xu et al., teach an apparatus (Fig(s).1A @ 102a-102d, 1B @ 102, and 10) wherein the instructions (read as computer program (Paragraph [0208])) are further executable by the one or more processors (Fig.1B @ 118) to cause the apparatus (Fig(s).1A @ 102a-102d, 1B @ 102, and 10) to:
transmit, to the base station (Fig(s).1A @ 114a, 114b, 5 @ BS, and 10 @ BS), a scheduling request for an uplink resource (read as energy transfer request (Fig(s).1B @ 120 and 10; Paragraph [0199])); and
receive, from the base station (Fig(s).1A @ 114a, 114b, 5 @ BS, and 10 @ BS), a grant for the uplink resource based at least in part on the scheduling request (read as “A response granting/rejecting an energy transfer request.”(Paragraph [0123])), and
wherein transmitting the indication that the UE is transitioning to the energy harvesting mode comprises transmitting the indication via the uplink resource. (read as “Given a WTRU in “RRC Inactive” or “RRC Idle” state, gNB(s) utilize(s) EH related DL signaling over the ZE air interface to request information feedback from the WTRU based on contention-free or contention-based transmission schemes depending on the considered scenario, i.e. WTRU mobility, number of inactive WTRUs/devices, RRC state and transitions, security conditions/constraints, available EH control resources and their utilization.”(Fig(s).6, 7, and 10; Paragraph [0191]))
Regarding claim 62, and as applied to claim 50 above, Elkotby et al., as modified by Xu et al., teach an apparatus (Fig(s).1A @ 102a-102d, 1B @ 102, and 10) wherein the instructions (read as computer program (Paragraph [0208])) to transmit an indication are executable by the one or more processors (Fig.1B @ 118) to cause the apparatus (Fig(s).1A @ 102a-102d, 1B @ 102, and 10) to:
transmit (Fig.1B @ 120 and 10):
a timer parameter indicating a duration associated with the energy harvesting mode (read as EH device harvesting parameter/capability (Paragraph [0121])),
a radio resource state parameter indicating a radio resource state associated with the UE exiting the energy harvesting mode (read as EH device harvesting parameter/capability (Paragraph [0121])),
a preferred radio resource parameter indicating a target radio resource for the UE during the energy harvesting mode (read as EH device harvesting parameter/capability (Paragraph [0121])), or
a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 63, and as applied to claim 50 above, Elkotby et al., as modified by Xu et al., teach an apparatus (Fig(s).1A @ 102a-102d, 1B @ 102, and 10) wherein the instructions (read as computer program (Paragraph [0208])) are further executable by the one or more processors (Fig.1B @ 118) to cause the apparatus (Fig(s).1A @ 102a-102d, 1B @ 102, and 10) to:
restart a timer associated with the timer parameter based at least in part on receiving the control message from the base station. (read as EH device harvesting parameter/capability (Paragraph [0121]))
Regarding claim 64, and as applied to claim 50 above, Elkotby et al., as modified by Xu et al., teach an apparatus (Fig(s).1A @ 102a-102d, 1B @ 102, and 10) wherein the instructions (read as computer program (Paragraph [0208])) to receive the control message (EH control message (Paragraph [0135])) are executable by the one or more processors (Fig.1B @ 118) to cause the apparatus (Fig(s).1A @ 102a-102d, 1B @ 102, and 10) to:
receive a second indication of a reduced capability radio resource configuration for the energy harvesting mode. (Fig.1B @ 120 and 10)
Regarding claim 65, and as applied to claim 50 above, Elkotby et al., as modified by Xu et al., teach an apparatus (Fig(s).1A @ 102a-102d, 1B @ 102, and 10) wherein the instructions (read as computer program (Paragraph [0208])) are further executable by the one or more processors (Fig.1B @ 118) to cause the apparatus (Fig(s).1A @ 102a-102d, 1B @ 102, and 10) to:
receive, from the base station (Fig(s).1A @ 114a, 114b, 5 @ BS, and 10 @ BS), control signaling indicating a plurality of reduced radio resource configurations (Fig.1B @ 120 and 10), and
wherein receiving the control message comprises receiving a second indication of a reduced capability radio resource configuration of the plurality of reduced radio resource configurations. (read as “one or more of the information elements (IEs) required to support the EH feature can be conveyed to the EH device explicitly, using dedicated fields in an existing control message format or using new dedicated control messages , or implicitly based on the transmission configuration associated with one or more of the EH control messages.”(Paragraph [0135]))
Regarding claim 66, and as applied to claim 65 above, Elkotby et al., as modified by Xu et al., teach an apparatus (Fig(s).1A @ 102a-102d, 1B @ 102, and 10) wherein the instructions (read as computer program (Paragraph [0208])) to receive the control signaling (read as EH Control message (Paragraph(s) [0119] and [0135])) are executable by the one or more processors (Fig.1B @ 118) to cause the apparatus (Fig(s).1A @ 102a-102d, 1B @ 102, and 10) to:
receive the control signaling via a radio resource control signal (read as “The introduction of the EH feature with dedicated resource allocation might necessitate the introduction of control signaling in the form of RRC, MAC, and/or L1 signaling between eNBs and the network to maximize the benefits from the EH feature. An EH device may use one or more of the following information/messages to communicate with the network (e.g., an eNB or a gNB).”(Fig.1B and 10; Paragraph [0119])),
wherein receiving the second indication comprises:
receive the second indication via a medium access control control element signal (read as MAC (Paragraph [0119])) or
via a downlink control information signal. (read as EH related DL signaling (Paragraph [0191]))
Regarding claim 67, and as applied to claim 50 above, Elkotby et al., as modified by Xu et al., teach an apparatus (Fig(s).1A @ 102a-102d, 1B @ 102, and 10) wherein the instructions (read as computer program (Paragraph [0208])) are further executable by the one or more processors (Fig.1B @ 118) to cause the apparatus (Fig(s).1A @ 102a-102d, 1B @ 102, and 10) to:
transmit, to the base station (Fig(s).1A @ 114a, 114b, 5 @ BS, and 10 @ BS), a capability indicator indicating a reduced capability radio resource configuration of the UE (read as a UE transmitting a feedback message comprising EH device harvesting parameter/capability to a gNB. (Paragraph [0121])),
wherein receiving the control message comprises receiving a second indication to activate the reduced capability radio resource configuration of the UE for the energy harvesting mode based at least in part on the capability indicator. (read as EH control message (Paragraph(s) [0119] and [0135]))
Regarding claim 68, and as applied to claim 50 above, Elkotby et al., as modified by Xu et al., teach an apparatus (Fig(s).1A @ 102a-102d, 1B @ 102, and 10) wherein the instructions (read as computer program (Paragraph [0208])) are further executable by the one or more processors (Fig.1B @ 118) to cause the apparatus (Fig(s).1A @ 102a-102d, 1B @ 102, and 10) to:
receive system information indicating a reduced capability radio resource configuration for the UE (read as EH control message (Paragraph(s) [0119] and [0135])),
wherein receiving the control message comprises receiving a second indication to activate the reduced capability radio resource configuration of the UE for the energy harvesting mode. (read as EH control message (Paragraph(s) [0119] and [0135]))
Claim 60 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elkotby et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0225402 A1) in view of Xu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0078779 A1), and Cervinka et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2010/0302011 A1).
Regarding claim 60, and as applied to claim 50 above, Elkotby et al.(1) teach “methods, apparatus, and systems whereby signaling between network infrastructure and one or more energy harvesting IoT or WTRU devices can help in the optimization of energy transfer by allowing the IoT or WTRU devices to tune their energy harvesting components to maximize energy harvesting and/or minimize power consumption (e.g., minimize attempting to harvest energy during silence periods).”(Fig(s).1A @ 114a, 114b and 10 @ BS; Paragraph [0092])
Xu et al. teach “the UE can switch to an energy harvesting mode under certain conditions.”(Paragraph [0078]) For example, “receiving an instruction from the first base station to switch the user equipment to the energy harvesting mode.”(Paragraph [0197])
However, Elkotby et al. and Xu et al. fail to explicitly teach transmit the indication in a random access channel procedure.
Cervinka et al. teach a method to transmit the indication in a random access channel procedure.(read as “2B--RECEPTION OF MESSAGES(*) FROM MOBILE NODES ON RANDOM ACCESS CHANNEL”(Paragraph [0190]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for generating and transmitting messages in a random access channel as taught by Cervinka et al. and the function for switching to an energy harvesting mode based on a condition as taught by Xu et al. with the UE as taught by Elkotby et al. for the purpose of improving the optimization of power resources by devices in a communications network.
Claim 61 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elkotby et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0225402 A1) in view of Xu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0078779 A1), and Barbu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2024/0397467 A1).
Regarding claim 61, and as applied to claim 50 above, Elkotby et al.(1) teach “methods, apparatus, and systems whereby signaling between network infrastructure and one or more energy harvesting IoT or WTRU devices can help in the optimization of energy transfer by allowing the IoT or WTRU devices to tune their energy harvesting components to maximize energy harvesting and/or minimize power consumption (e.g., minimize attempting to harvest energy during silence periods).”(Fig(s).1A @ 114a, 114b and 10 @ BS; Paragraph [0092])
Xu et al. teach “the UE can switch to an energy harvesting mode under certain conditions.”(Paragraph [0078]) For example, “receiving an instruction from the first base station to switch the user equipment to the energy harvesting mode.”(Paragraph [0197])
However, Elkotby et al. and Xu et al. fail to explicitly teach the step to transmit the indication via a small data transmission.
Barbu et al. teach a method to transmit the indication via a small data transmission.(read as “the target user device 206 may instead share the indication via a small data transmission.”(Paragraph [0066]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function to enable a UE for small data transmission(s) as taught by Barbu et al. and the function for switching to an energy harvesting mode based on a condition as taught by Xu et al. with the UE as taught by Elkotby et al.(1) for the purpose of improving the optimization of power resources by devices in a communications network.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
Elkotby et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0070775 A1) teach “Cellular devices commonly decode and store information pertaining to the use of UL radio resources for the purpose of random access from DL system information broadcast information.”(Paragraph [0096]) For example, “DL system information for purposes such as the reception of updates to cell (re-)selection, UL random access, connection establishment and other parameters.”(Paragraph [0097])
Scheb (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2015/0380973 A1) teaches “The node operates in a communication mode that includes communicating, via an RF transceiver, data with another node in the network. The node includes an energy storage device that provides power for the node. The node switches, via an RF switch, from said communication mode to an energy harvest mode. The energy harvest mode includes receiving RF emissions accessible to the node via an antenna.”(Abstract)
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Un C. Cho can be reached on (571) 272- 7919. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/SALVADOR E RIVAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413
September 28, 2026