DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/13/2024 follows the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mann et al. (US 2012/0293669).
Regarding claim 1, Mann teaches a method for acquiring multispectral images (CT6-CT11, Fig. 6) and panchromatic thumbnail images (CT1-CT4, Fig. 6) by a monochrome matrix-array sensor installed in a mobile carrier in a direction of movement above a space comprising a scene to be observed (sensor; ¶ 0007, ¶¶ 0038-0046, Fig. 2), the matrix-array sensor having a field covering an extent of the space greater than the scene in the direction of movement (Fig. 4) and the matrix-array sensor being provided with a filter having a panchromatic filtering band followed by at least two spectral filtering bands, each covering a different wavelength interval, the panchromatic filtering band and the spectral filtering bands being parallel and extending in a direction substantially orthogonal to the direction of movement (spectral filter strips 505a-505d and panchromatic filter 505efgh; ¶¶ 0060-0063, Fig. 4A-4D), characterised in that the method comprises the following steps:
a) when the scene is within one of the filtering bands of the filter, acquiring a multispectral image by the sensor at least through the two spectral filtering bands ( an imaging sequence for capturing an image; ¶ 0082, Fig. 6 CT6-CT11);
b) transferring the multispectral image to an electronic processing unit (provide images; ¶ 0055, ¶ 0067, ¶ 0075);
c) acquiring a panchromatic thumbnail image by the sensor, only through the panchromatic filtering band (panchromatic images; ¶ 0082, Fig. 6 609a-609d);
d) transferring the panchromatic thumbnail image to the electronic processing unit (provide images; ¶ 0055, ¶ 0067, ¶ 0075);
e) as long as the scene is not within another of the filtering bands,
repeating steps c) and d) (capture image; ¶ 0082, Fig. 6); and
f) repeating steps a) to e) until a multispectral image of the scene through each spectral filtering band is obtained (capture image; ¶ 0082, Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 2, Mann teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the acquisition of the multispectral image achieved in step a) is done through the panchromatic filtering band and the spectral filtering bands (¶¶ 0038-0039).
Regarding claim 3, Mann teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the acquisition of the multispectral image achieved in step a) is done only through the spectral filtering bands (spectral filter strips only; ¶ 0038).
Regarding claim 5, Mann teaches the method according to claim 1, comprising the steps of: correcting the defects of all the thumbnail images of a band over a given duration, aligning said thumbnail images, merging the thumbnail images to form a reconstituted image and to crop the reconstituted image to preserve a useful field (¶ 0040).
Regarding claim 6, Mann teaches a image acquisition device arranged to be mounted on a vehicle, comprising an image sensor connected to an electronic control unit programmed to implement the method according to claim 1 (imaging system mounted on an aircraft, etc.; ¶ 0044).
Regarding claim 7, Mann teaches a vehicle equipped with an image acquisition device according to claim 6 (imaging system mounted on an aircraft, etc.; ¶ 0044).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mann as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dixon (US 20190018231).
Regarding claim 4, Mann teaches the method according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the acquisition of the multispectral image achieved in step a) is done in “2×2 binning” mode.
However, Dixon teaches wherein the acquisition of the multispectral image achieved in step a) is done in “2×2 binning” mode (2x2 binning; ¶¶ 0075-0076, Fig. 9).
Mann and Dixon are in the same field of endeavor of a method for acquiring multispectral images. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the method of Mann to include 2x2 binning as taught by Dixon. The combination improves the method by increasing the scanning speed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mann et al. (US 20120300064) teaches an imaging sensor include a two-dimensional staring sensor with spectral filter strips for multispectral overhead imaging.
Ooi et al. (US 10823615) teaches a hyperspectral imaging apparatus.
/KENT YIP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681