DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10-13, 62-65, 68-70, 72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yasemin Ozkan-Aydin (A systematic approach to creating terrain-capable hybrid soft/hard myriapod robots). See attached IEEE document.
Regarding claim 1, Ozkan-Aydin discloses a limbed robotic module (Fig. 2A, robot segment), the module comprising:
a frame [Fig. 2A, Analyst Figure 1 (AF1), a frame];
a first leg motor (Fig. 2A, AF1, leg swing servo) coupled to the frame (Fig. 2A, AF1, leg swing servo is rigidly coupled to the frame) and having a first leg shaft (Fig. 2A, leg swing servo defines a first leg shaft) that is rotatable about a first leg rotational axis (Fig. 2A, the defined first leg shaft is rotatable about first rotational axis);
a second leg motor (Fig. 2A, AF1, leg. up/down servo) coupled to the frame (Fig. 2A, e.g up/down servo is rigidly coupled to the frame) and having a second leg shaft (Fig. 2A, AF1, leg up/down servo defines a leg shaft) that is rotatable about a second leg-rotational axis (Fig. 2A, Fig. 2B, AF 1; the defined shaft is rotatable about second rotational axis),
a first leg coupled to the first leg shaft of the first leg motor such that the first leg is rotatable relative to the frame (Fig. 2A, B, C; AF1, leg up/down servo defines a plurality of leg shaft coupled to a first leg); and
a second leg coupled to the second leg shaft of the second leg motor such that the second leg is rotatable relative to the frame, wherein the first leg and the second leg are independently rotatable (Fig. 2A, B, C; AF1, leg up/down servo defines a plurality of leg shafts coupled to a second leg).
Regarding claim 10, Ozkan-Aydin discloses the limbed robotic module of claim 1, wherein the first leg motor (Fig. 2A, AF1, leg swing servo) and the second leg motor (Fig. 2A, AF1, leg up/down servo) are each DC motors (servo motors; Abstract).
Regarding claim 11, Ozkan-Aydin discloses a limbed robotic system (Fig. 2C, multi-legged robot), comprising:
a first module (Fig. 2A, Fig. 2C, first segment) comprising:
a frame [Fig. 2A, Analyst Figure 1 (AF1), a frame];
a first leg motor (Fig. 2A, AF1, leg swing servo) coupled to the frame (Fig. 2A, AF1, leg swing servo is rigidly coupled to the frame) and having a first leg shaft (Fig. 2A, leg swing servo defines a first leg shaft) that is rotatable about a first leg rotational axis (Fig. 2A, the defined first leg shaft is rotatable about first rotational axis);
a second leg motor (Fig. 2A, AF1, leg. up/down servo) coupled to the frame (Fig. 2A, eg up/down servo is rigidly coupled to the frame) and having a second leg shaft (Fig. 2A, AF1, leg up/down servo defines a leg shaft) that is rotatable about a second leg-rotational axis (Fig. 2A, Fig. 2B, AF 1; the defined shaft is rotatable about second rotational axis),
a first leg coupled to the first leg shaft of the first leg motor such that the first leg is rotatable relative to the frame (Fig. 2A, B, C; AF1, leg up/down servo defines a plurality of leg shaft coupled to a first leg); and
a second leg coupled to the second leg shaft of the second leg motor such that the second leg is rotatable relative to the frame, wherein the first leg and the second leg are independently rotatable (Fig. 2A, B, C; AF1, leg up/down servo defines a plurality of leg shafts coupled to a second leg); and
a second module coupled to a first module (Fig. 2C shows first, second, third, fourth, etc modules i.e. segments; first segment is hingedly coupled to the second segment; para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 12, Ozkan-Aydin discloses the limbed robotic system of claim 11, wherein the second module (Fig. 2C, second segment is a module; Fig. 2C is a second segment, a copy of the first segment; para. [0004]-[0005]) comprises:
a frame [Fig. 2A, Analyst Figure 1 (AF1), a frame];
a first leg motor (Fig. 2A, AF1, leg swing servo) rigidly coupled to the frame (Fig. 2A, AF1, leg swing servo is rigidly coupled to the frame) and having a first leg shaft (Fig. 2A, leg swing servo defines a first leg shaft) that is rotatable about a first leg rotational axis (Fig. 2A, the defined first leg shaft is rotatable about first rotational axis);
a second leg motor (Fig. 2A, AF1, leg. up/down servo) rigidly coupled to the frame (Fig. 2A, eg up/down servo is rigidly coupled to the frame) and having a second leg shaft (Fig. 2A, AF1, leg up/down servo defines a leg shaft) that is rotatable about a second leg-rotational axis (Fig. 2A, Fig. 2B, AF 1; the defined shaft is rotatable about second rotational axis);
a first leg coupled to the first leg shaft of the first leg motor such that the first leg is rotatable relative to the frame (Fig. 2A, B, C; AF1, leg up/down servo defines a plurality of leg shaft coupled to a first leg); and
a second leg coupled to the second leg shaft of the second leg motor such that the second leg is rotatable relative to the frame, wherein the first leg and the second leg are independently rotatable (Fig. 2A, B, C; AF1, leg up/down servo defines a plurality of leg shafts coupled to a second leg).
Regarding claim 13, Ozkan-Aydin discloses the limbed robotic system of claim 11, further comprising:
a third module (Fig. 2C, third segment) comprising:
a frame [Fig. 2A, Analyst Figure 1 (AF1), a frame];
a first leg motor (Fig. 2A, AF1, leg swing servo) rigidly coupled to the frame (Fig. 2A, AF1, leg swing servo is rigidly coupled to the frame) and having a first leg shaft (Fig. 2A, leg swing servo defines a first leg shaft) that is rotatable about a first leg rotational axis (Fig. 2A, the defined first leg shaft is rotatable about first rotational axis);
a second leg motor (Fig. 2A, AF1, leg. up/down servo) rigidly coupled to the frame (Fig. 2A, eg up/down servo is rigidly coupled to the frame) and having a second leg shaft (Fig. 2A, AF1, leg up/down servo defines a leg shaft) that is rotatable about a second leg-rotational axis (Fig. 2A, Fig. 2B, AF 1; the defined shaft is rotatable about second rotational axis);
a first leg coupled to the first leg shaft of the first leg motor such that the first leg is rotatable relative to the frame (Fig. 2A, B, C; AF1, leg up/down servo defines a plurality of leg shaft coupled to a first leg); and
a second leg coupled to the second leg shaft of the second leg motor such that the second leg is rotatable relative to the frame, wherein the first leg and the second leg are independently rotatable (Fig. 2A, B, C; AF1, leg up/down servo defines a plurality of leg shafts coupled to a second leg).
Regarding claim 62, Ozkan-Aydin discloses the limbed robotic module of claim 1, wherein the relative rotation of the first leg and the second leg cause the first leg and the second leg to move between raised and lowered positions and to move between anterior and posterior positions of the limbed robotic module (Fig. 1-5, eg up/down servo is rigidly coupled to the frame causes legs to move over rough terrain including movement between raised and lowered positions and to move between anterior and posterior positions of the limbed robotic module).
Regarding claim 63, Ozkan-Aydin discloses the limbed robotic module of claim 1, wherein the first leg is configured to rotate out of phase with the second leg (Fig. 1-5, eg up/down servo is rigidly coupled to the frame causes legs to move over rough terrain including movement that make the legs move out of phase like a myriapod, Centiped, Milliped).
Regarding claim 64, Ozkan-Aydin discloses the limbed robotic module of claim 1, wherein the first leg and the second leg are contralateral with respect to the limbed robotic module (Fig. 1-5, eg up/down servo is rigidly coupled to the frame; figs. 1-5 show first leg and the second leg that are contralateral with respect to the limbed robotic module like a myriapod, Centiped, Milliped).
Regarding claim 65, Ozkan-Aydin discloses the limbed robotic module of claim 1, wherein the limbed robotic module is configured to be coupled to one or more other limbed robotic modules to form a limbed robotic system (figs. 1-5 show the robot as modules that can be added or subtracted from main body).
Regarding claim 68, Ozkan-Aydin discloses the limbed robotic system of claim 11, wherein the relative rotation of the first leg and the second leg cause the first leg and the second leg to move between raised and lowered positions and to move between anterior and posterior positions of the limbed robotic module (Fig. 1-5, eg up/down servo is rigidly coupled to the frame causes legs to move over rough terrain including movement between raised and lowered positions and to move between anterior and posterior positions of the limbed robotic module).
Regarding claim 69, Ozkan-Aydin discloses the limbed robotic system of claim 11, wherein the first leg is configured to rotate out of phase with the second leg (Fig. 1-5, eg up/down servo is rigidly coupled to the frame causes legs to move over rough terrain including movement that make the legs move out of phase like a myriapod, Centiped, Milliped).
Regarding claim 70, Ozkan-Aydin discloses the limbed robotic system of claim 11, wherein the first leg and the second leg are contralateral with respect to the limbed robotic module (Fig. 1-5, eg up/down servo is rigidly coupled to the frame; figs. 1-5 show first leg and the second leg that are contralateral with respect to the limbed robotic module like a myriapod, Centiped, Milliped).
Regarding claim 72, Ozkan-Aydin discloses the limbed robotic system of claim 11, further comprising a resilient member coupled between the first module and the second module [Ozkan-Aydin teaches of the first module(Fig. 2A, Fig. 2C, first segment) and a second module (Fig. 2C shows first, second, third, fourth, etc modules i.e. segments; first segment is hingedly coupled to the second segment; para. [0005]) coupled by a resilient member [a flexible leg tendon (Fig. 4D, rigid legs connected to the same motor with a flexible non-extensible Kevlar thread; para. 90015)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 60, 61, 66, 67, 71, 73, 74 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasemin Ozkan-Aydin.
Regarding claim 60, Yasemin Ozkan-Aydin discloses the limbed robotic module of claim 1, further including sensors. Yasemin Ozkan-Aydin indicates that extra sensors are not included in the limbed robotic module indicating that the limbed robotic module at least have sensors. Yasemin Ozkan-Aydin did not particularly recite, “a sensor coupled to the frame”. It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Yasemin Ozkan-Aydin to particularly include sensors coupled to the frame for the advantage on implementing sensors to sense the environment of the robot, provide a contact force and improve performance of the robot.
Regarding claim 61, Yasemin Ozkan-Aydin discloses the limbed robotic module of claim 1, further including sensors. Yasemin Ozkan-Aydin indicates that extra sensors are not included in the limbed robotic module indicating that the limbed robotic module at least have sensors. Yasemin Ozkan-Aydin did not particularly recite, “the sensor comprises one or more of an optical sensor, a contact sensor, a temperature sensor, an inertial measurement unit, a humidity sensor, or a camera.”. It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Yasemin Ozkan-Aydin to particularly include sensors comprising, “one or more of an optical sensor, a contact sensor, a temperature sensor, an inertial measurement unit, a humidity sensor, or a camera” for the advantage on implementing sensors to sense the environment of the robot, provide a contact force and improve performance of the robot.
Regarding claim 66, Yasemin Ozkan-Aydin discloses the limbed robotic module of claim 11, further including sensors. Yasemin Ozkan-Aydin indicates that extra sensors are not included in the limbed robotic module indicating that the limbed robotic module at least have sensors. Yasemin Ozkan-Aydin did not particularly recite, “a sensor coupled to the frame”. It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Yasemin Ozkan-Aydin to particularly include sensors coupled to the frame for the advantage on implementing sensors to sense the environment of the robot, provide a contact force and improve performance of the robot.
Regarding claim 67, Yasemin Ozkan-Aydin discloses the limbed robotic module of claim 66, further including sensors. Yasemin Ozkan-Aydin indicates that extra sensors are not included in the limbed robotic module indicating that the limbed robotic module at least have sensors. Yasemin Ozkan-Aydin did not particularly recite, “the sensor comprises one or more of an optical sensor, a contact sensor, a temperature sensor, an inertial measurement unit, a humidity sensor, or a camera.”. It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Yasemin Ozkan-Aydin to particularly include sensors comprising, “one or more of an optical sensor, a contact sensor, a temperature sensor, an inertial measurement unit, a humidity sensor, or a camera” for the advantage on implementing sensors to sense the environment of the robot, provide a contact force and improve performance of the robot.
Regarding claim 71, Ozkan-Aydin discloses the limbed robotic system of claim 11, but did not particularly recite an attachment e.g. a grasper, a cutter, or a sprayer and wherein the attachment module is coupled to the second module.
It would be obvious to attach different tools to the robot of Yasemin Ozkan-Aydin including an attachment module that includes an attachment, wherein the attachment includes a grasper, a cutter, or a sprayer and wherein the attachment module is coupled to the second module for the purpose of performing particular task to solve problems and hence improve the Yasemin Ozkan-Aydin robot.
Regarding claim 73, Ozkan-Aydin discloses a robotic module comprising:
a frame [Fig. 2A, Analyst Figure 1 (AF1), a frame];
a first leg motor (Fig. 2A, AF1, leg swing servo) rigidly coupled to the frame (Fig. 2A, AF1, leg swing servo is rigidly coupled to the frame) and having a first leg shaft (Fig. 2A, leg swing servo defines a first leg shaft) that is rotatable about a first leg rotational axis (Fig. 2A, the defined first leg shaft is rotatable about first rotational axis);
a second leg motor (Fig. 2A, AF1, leg. up/down servo) rigidly coupled to the frame (Fig. 2A, eg up/down servo is rigidly coupled to the frame) and having a second leg shaft (Fig. 2A, AF1, leg up/down servo defines a leg shaft) that is rotatable about a second leg-rotational axis (Fig. 2A, Fig. 2B, AF 1; the defined shaft is rotatable about second rotational axis),
a first leg coupled to the first leg shaft of the first leg motor such that the first leg is rotatable relative to the frame (Fig. 2A, B, C; AF1, leg up/down servo defines a plurality of leg shaft coupled to a first leg); and
a second leg coupled to the second leg shaft of the second leg motor such that the second leg is rotatable relative to the frame, (Fig. 2A, B, C; AF1, leg up/down servo defines a plurality of leg shafts coupled to a second leg); and
wherein the rotation of the first leg relative to the second leg causes the first leg and the second leg to move between raised and lowered positions and to move between anterior and posterior positions of the limbed robotic module (Fig. 1-5, eg up/down servo is rigidly coupled to the frame causes legs to move over rough terrain including movement between raised and lowered positions and to move between anterior and posterior positions of the limbed robotic module), and
wherein the first leg and the second leg are independently rotatable, and wherein the first leg is configured to rotate out of phase with the second leg (Fig. 1-5, eg up/down servo is rigidly coupled to the frame causes legs to move over rough terrain including movement that make the legs move out of phase like a myriapod, Centiped, Milliped).
Yasemin Ozkan-Aydin discloses the limbed robotic module of claim 11, further including sensors. Yasemin Ozkan-Aydin indicates that extra sensors are not included in the limbed robotic module indicating that the limbed robotic module at least have sensors (Yasemin Ozkan-Aydin did not particularly recite, “a sensor coupled to the frame”. It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Yasemin Ozkan-Aydin to particularly include sensors coupled to the frame for the advantage on implementing sensors to sense the environment of the robot, provide a contact force and improve performance of the robot).
Regarding claim 74, Ozkan-Aydin discloses the robotic module of claim 73, wherein the sensor comprises one or more of an optical sensor, a contact sensor, a temperature sensor, an inertial measurement unit, a humidity sensor, or a camera (Yasemin Ozkan-Aydin discloses the limbed robotic module of claim 1, further including sensors. Yasemin Ozkan-Aydin indicates that extra sensors are not included in the limbed robotic module indicating that the limbed robotic module at least have sensors. Yasemin Ozkan-Aydin did not particularly recite, “the sensor comprises one or more of an optical sensor, a contact sensor, a temperature sensor, an inertial measurement unit, a humidity sensor, or a camera.”. It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Yasemin Ozkan-Aydin to particularly include sensors comprising, “one or more of an optical sensor, a contact sensor, a temperature sensor, an inertial measurement unit, a humidity sensor, or a camera” for the advantage on implementing sensors to sense the environment of the robot, provide a contact force and improve performance of the robot).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argue the prior art does not disclose all the limitations in the independent claims particularly including the emphasized limitation, “……, wherein the first leg and the second leg are independently rotatable”. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The prior discloses:
a first leg motor (Fig. 2A, AF1, leg swing servo) rigidly coupled to the frame (Fig. 2A, AF1, leg swing servo is rigidly coupled to the frame) and having a first leg shaft (Fig. 2A, leg swing servo defines a first leg shaft) that is rotatable about a first leg rotational axis (Fig. 2A, the defined first leg shaft is rotatable about first rotational axis);
a second leg motor (Fig. 2A, AF1, leg. up/down servo) rigidly coupled to the frame (Fig. 2A, eg up/down servo is rigidly coupled to the frame) and having a second leg shaft (Fig. 2A, AF1, leg up/down servo defines a leg shaft) that is rotatable about a second leg-rotational axis (Fig. 2A, Fig. 2B, AF 1; the defined shaft is rotatable about second rotational axis);
a first leg coupled to the first leg shaft of the first leg motor such that the first leg is rotatable relative to the frame (Fig. 2A, B, C; AF1, leg up/down servo defines a plurality of leg shaft coupled to a first leg); and
a second leg coupled to the second leg shaft of the second leg motor such that the second leg is rotatable relative to the frame, wherein the first leg and the second leg are independently rotatable (Fig. 2A, B, C; AF1, leg up/down servo defines a plurality of leg shafts coupled to a second leg).
Applicant’s remarks are basically conclusory remarks because the rejection including the cited sections were not addressed.
Examiner asserts that the rejections are proper, they therefore stand.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communications
/RONNIE M MANCHO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657