DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraph [0037] recites the ‘2nd pinching members’ for 130A, 130B, and 140A & 140B or is 130A & 130B the 1st pinching members?
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 49-61 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fetzer (EP-3751276-A1)
In regards to claim 49, Fetzer teaches a non-destructive inspection test head comprising: (abstract; 10, 12 fig(s) 1, 2, 2A, 3(A-B), 4(A-D), 5, 9B, 10-12, ‘non-destructive inspection test head’, ‘tool frame assembly’)
a first portion; and (12 fig(s) 1, 2, 2A, 3(A-B), 4(A-D), 5, 9B, 10-12, ‘tool frame assembly’; para [0033])
a second portion (para [0033]; 34 fig(s) 1, 2, 2A, 3(A-B), 4(A-D), 5, 9B, 10-12, ‘inspection radius NDI probe assembly’) mechanically coupled with the first portion to support at least two mechanical degrees of freedom relative to the first portion, (12, 34, 38(a-f), 40(a-f), 50, 68a, 68c, 72 fig(s) 3, 4C, 6, 10, ‘tool frame assembly’, ‘inspection NDI probe assembly’, ‘1st to 6th guide shafts’, ‘1st to 6th bearing block assembly’, ‘probe assembly’, ‘vertical arms’, ‘pair shaft collars’; ‘the radius NDI probe assembly 34 includes a probe frame assembly 50, which further includes a pair of shaft collars 72 which clamp the vertical arms 68a and 68c to respective rotatable shafts - para [0048], fig(s) 6, 10. These rotatable shafts are held in the bearing block assemblies 40(a-f) of tool frame assembly 12, which are respectively translatable coupled to guide shafts 38(a-f) by means of respective pairs of linear bearings para [0036], fig(s) 3, 4C. Hence, the radius NDI probe assembly 34 can be translated in the z-direction, titled in a plane parallel to and around the x-direction, and rotated around the y-direction with regard to the tool frame assembly 12; para(s) [0036, 0048]) the second portion comprising:
at least two first pinching members configured to apply force towards each other to establish a specified first standoff distance between an article under test and a first non-destructive test (NDT) transducer assembly; (34(a-c), 35c, 52, 97-98 fig. 10, ‘’upper subassembly’, ‘52-1st & 2nd linear slide tables’, ‘1st & 2nd non-destructive inspection (NDI) probe/pulse echo phased arrays’ ; ‘Linear pneumatic slide table 52 is arranged slidable in the z-direction - para. [0046], Fig. 10. Left upper subassembly 34a and right upper subassembly 34b, which are mounted on linear pneumatic slide table 52 can therefore be linearly moved towards lower assembly 34c – para. [0060], Fig. 10. Hence, the arrangements 34a, 35c & 52 as well as 34b, 35c & 52 form the first pinching members - Fig. 10. With the help of said first pinching members a first standoff distance between the linear ultrasonic transducer array 98 and the blade stiffener flange 4 is established - para. [0058], Fig. 9B)’ and
at least two second pinching members oriented orthogonally with respect to the at least two first pinching members, the at least two second pinch members configured to apply force towards each other to establish a specified second standoff distance between the article under test and a second NDT transducer assembly oriented orthogonally with respect to the first NDT transducer assembly. (6, 34(a-c), 56, 76, 98 fig. 6, ‘blade stiffener web’, ‘upper subassemblies’, ‘guide shafts’, ‘1st & 2nd non-destructive inspection (NDI) probe/pulse echo phased arrays’; ‘Linear pneumatic slide table 56 is arranged slidable along an axis of translation which is perpendicular to the guide shafts 76, i.e. in the y-direction - para. [0049], Fig. 6. Left upper subassembly 34a and right upper subassembly 34b, which are mounted on linear pneumatic slide tables 56 can therefore be linearly moved towards each other - para [0049], Fig. 10. Hence, the arrangements 34a & 56 as well as 34b & 56 form the second pinching members, which are arranged orthogonally with respect to the first pinching members - Fig. 10. With the help of said second pinching members a second standoff distance between the linear ultrasonic transducer array 98 and the blade stiffener web 6 is established - para [0058], Fig. 9B’)
In regards to claim 50, Fetzer teaches a test head of claim 49, (see claim rejection 49) wherein the second portion is configured for passive reorientation relative to the first portion to maintain the first and second specified standoff distances as the second portion is translated along the article under test to perform NDT inspection. (‘Rotation of probe frame assembly 50 around axis of rotatable shafts 88a and 88b - fig. 4D’; ‘By tilting the probe frame assembly 50 in such a way as illustrated in figure 4D, the probe frame assembly 50 is rotated around its axis of symmetry, which lies in the middle thereof, and which is perpendicular to the axis of rotatable shafts 88a and 88b - fig. 4D’; ‘With the described rotations, the probe frame assembly 50 is adapted to follow a varying curvature of an article under test passing through the insertion channel.’)
In regards to claim 51, Fetzer teaches a test head of claim 49, (see claim rejection 49) wherein the at least two first pinching members are configured to displace at least one of the test head or the article under test as the second portion is translated along the article. (fig(s) 2,3, 3A, 3B, 6, 10)
In regards to claim 52, Fetzer teaches a test head of claim 51, (see claim rejection 51) wherein at least one of the test head or the article remains centered relative to at least one medial plane of the second portion as the second portion is translated along the article. (fig(s) 2,3, 3A, 3B, 6, 10)
In regards to claim 53, Fetzer teaches a test head of claim 49, (see claim rejection 49) wherein the at least two first pinching members are biased toward each other. (42(A-B) fig(s), ‘constant force spring assemblies’; para [0029])
In regards to claim 54, Fetzer teaches a test head of claim 49, (see claim rejection 49) wherein the at least two mechanical degrees of freedom including a first rotational degree of freedom and a second rotational degree of freedom established orthogonally to the first rotational degree of freedom. (‘Rotation of probe frame assembly 50 around axis of rotatable shafts 88a and 88b - fig. 4D’; ‘By tilting the probe frame assembly 50 in such a way as illustrated in figure 4D, the probe frame assembly 50 is rotated around its axis of symmetry, which lies in the middle thereof, and which is perpendicular to the axis of rotatable shafts 88a and 88b - fig. 4D’; ‘With the described rotations, the probe frame assembly 50 is adapted to follow a varying curvature of an article under test passing through the insertion channel.’)
In regards to claim 55, Fetzer teaches a test head of claim 54, (see claim rejection 54) wherein the second portion is configured to rotate relative to the first portion about both the first and second rotational degrees of freedom to follow a varying profile of the article as the second portion is translated along the article. (‘Rotation of probe frame assembly 50 around axis of rotatable shafts 88a and 88b - fig. 4D’; ‘By tilting the probe frame assembly 50 in such a way as illustrated in figure 4D, the probe frame assembly 50 is rotated around its axis of symmetry, which lies in the middle thereof, and which is perpendicular to the axis of rotatable shafts 88a and 88b - fig. 4D’; ‘With the described rotations, the probe frame assembly 50 is adapted to follow a varying curvature of an article under test passing through the insertion channel.’)
In regards to claim 56, Fetzer teaches a test head of claim 54, comprising a third portion mechanically coupled with at least one of the first portion or the second portion, the third portion to support a linear degree of freedom. (‘Rocker 106 and extension arm 108 are coupled with rotational joints to tool frame assembly 12* - para. [0072], fig. 12. Together, Rocker 106 and extension arm 108 support a linear degree of freedom.’)
In regards to claim 57, Fetzer teaches a test head of claim 56, (see claim rejection 56) wherein: the first rotational degree of freedom is established around a first axis; the second rotational degree of freedom is established around a second axis; and the linear degree of freedom includes freedom for the at least one of the first portion or the second portion to travel, relative to the third portion, along a line oriented orthogonally at least one of the first axis and the second axis. (‘When Rocker 106 and extension arm 108 move such that robot hand 110 describes a linear path, e.g. horizontally, said path is perpendicular to the tilting movement of NDI tool head 10*, which takes place around an axis perpendicular to the drawing plane in figure 12.’)
In regards to claim 58, Fetzer teaches a test head of claim 57, (see claim rejection 57) wherein the second portion is configured for reorientation, via the first rotational degree of freedom, the second rotational degree of freedom, and the linear degree of freedom, to maintain the first and second specified standoff distances as the second portion is translated along the article under test to perform NDT inspection. (para [0072]; fig. 12)
In regards to claim 59, Fetzer teaches a test head of claim 57, (see claim rejection 57) wherein the third portion comprises or is coupled to at least one of a bias or an actuator, the bias or actuator configured to counter a gravitational force on the test head, the countering the gravitational force facilitating passive reorientation as the second portion is translated along the article under test to perform NDT inspection. (‘Naturally robot 100 includes actuators that move Rocker 106 and extension arm 108 - para. [0072], fig. 12’).
In regards to claim 60, Fetzer teaches a test head of claim 49, (see claim rejection 49) wherein second portion is configured for passive reorientation along the article under test including following a profile of the article under test that varies along the article under test. (‘Rotation of probe frame assembly 50 around axis of rotatable shafts 88a and 88b - fig. 4D’; ‘By tilting the probe frame assembly 50 in such a way as illustrated in figure 4D, the probe frame assembly 50 is rotated around its axis of symmetry, which lies in the middle thereof, and which is perpendicular to the axis of rotatable shafts 88a and 88b - fig. 4D’; ‘With the described rotations, the probe frame assembly 50 is adapted to follow a varying curvature of an article under test passing through the insertion channel.’)
In regards to claim 61, Fetzer teaches a test head of claim 49, (see claim rejection 49) wherein the first and second NDT transducer assemblies comprise respective acoustic transducer assemblies including at least one of a linear array of acoustic transducers or an eddy current (EC) transducer. (‘ultrasonic transducer arrays - para. [0056].’; 97-98 fig(s) 9B, 11, 11a , ‘1st & 2nd non-destructive inspection (NDI) probe/pulse echo phased arrays ‘)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 62-64 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fetzer (EP-3751276-A1)
In regards to claim 62, Fetzer teaches a method for non-destructive inspection of an article under test via a test head, the method comprising: (abstract; 10, 12 fig(s) 1, 2, 2A, 3(A-B), 4(A-D), 5, 9B, 10-12, ‘non-destructive inspection test head’, ‘tool frame assembly’)
pinching the article under test between: (34(a-c), 35c, 52, 97-98 fig. 10, ‘’upper subassembly’, ‘52-1st & 2nd linear slide tables’, ‘1st & 2nd non-destructive inspection (NDI) probe/pulse echo phased arrays’ ; ‘Linear pneumatic slide table 52 is arranged slidable in the z-direction - para. [0046], Fig. 10. Left upper subassembly 34a and right upper subassembly 34b, which are mounted on linear pneumatic slide table 52 can therefore be linearly moved towards lower assembly 34c – para. [0060], Fig. 10. Hence, the arrangements 34a, 35c & 52 as well as 34b, 35c & 52 form the first pinching members - Fig. 10. With the help of said first pinching members a first standoff distance between the linear ultrasonic transducer array 98 and the blade stiffener flange 4 is established - para. [0058], Fig. 9B)’
at least two first pinching members configured to apply force towards each other to establish a specified first standoff distance between an article under test and a first non-destructive test (NDT) transducer assembly; (34(a-c), 35c, 52, 97-98 fig. 10, ‘’upper subassembly’, ‘52-1st & 2nd linear slide tables’, ‘1st & 2nd non-destructive inspection (NDI) probe/pulse echo phased arrays’ ; ‘Linear pneumatic slide table 52 is arranged slidable in the z-direction - para. [0046], Fig. 10. Left upper subassembly 34a and right upper subassembly 34b, which are mounted on linear pneumatic slide table 52 can therefore be linearly moved towards lower assembly 34c – para. [0060], Fig. 10. Hence, the arrangements 34a, 35c & 52 as well as 34b, 35c & 52 form the first pinching members - Fig. 10. With the help of said first pinching members a first standoff distance between the linear ultrasonic transducer array 98 and the blade stiffener flange 4 is established - para. [0058], Fig. 9B)’ and
at least two second pinching members oriented orthogonally with respect to the at least two first pinching members, the at least two second pinch members configured to apply force towards each other to establish a specified second standoff distance between the article under test and a second NDT transducer assembly oriented orthogonally with respect to the first NDT transducer assembly; (6, 34(a-c), 56, 76, 98 fig. 6, ‘blade stiffener web’, ‘upper subassemblies’, ‘guide shafts’, ‘1st & 2nd non-destructive inspection (NDI) probe/pulse echo phased arrays’; ‘Linear pneu-matic slide table 56 is arranged slidable along an axis of translation which is perpendicular to the guide shafts 76, i.e. in the y-direction - para. [0049], Fig. 6. Left upper subassembly 34a and right upper subassembly 34b, which are mounted on linear pneumatic slide tables 56 can therefore be linearly moved towards each other - para [0049], Fig. 10. Hence, the arrangements 34a & 56 as well as 34b & 56 form the second pinching members, which are arranged orthogonally with respect to the first pinching members - Fig. 10. With the help of said second pinching members a second standoff distance between the linear ultrasonic transducer array 98 and the blade stiffener web 6 is established - para [0058], Fig. 9B’)
translating the article under test along a length thereof and relative to the at least two first pinching members and the at least two second pinching members; and (34(a-c), 35c, 52, 97-98 fig. 10, ‘’upper subassembly’, ‘52-1st & 2nd linear slide tables’, ‘1st & 2nd non-destructive inspection (NDI) probe/pulse echo phased arrays’ ; ‘Linear pneumatic slide table 52 is arranged slidable in the z-direction - para. [0046], Fig. 10. Left upper subassembly 34a and right upper subassembly 34b, which are mounted on linear pneumatic slide table 52 can therefore be linearly moved towards lower assembly 34c – para. [0060], Fig. 10. Hence, the arrangements 34a, 35c & 52 as well as 34b, 35c & 52 form the first pinching members - Fig. 10. With the help of said first pinching members a first standoff distance between the linear ultrasonic transducer array 98 and the blade stiffener flange 4 is established - para. [0058], Fig. 9B
passively reorienting a second portion, housing the at least two first pinching members and the at least two second pinching members, relative to a first portion and about at least two mechanical degrees of freedom to maintain the first and second specified standoff distances during the translating. (34(a-c), 35c, 52, 97-98 fig. 10, ‘’upper subassembly’, ‘52-1st & 2nd linear slide tables’, ‘1st & 2nd non-destructive inspection (NDI) probe/pulse echo phased arrays’ ; ‘Linear pneumatic slide table 52 is arranged slidable in the z-direction - para. [0046], Fig. 10. Left upper subassembly 34a and right upper subassembly 34b, which are mounted on linear pneumatic slide table 52 can therefore be linearly moved towards lower assembly 34c – para. [0060], Fig. 10. Hence, the arrangements 34a, 35c & 52 as well as 34b, 35c & 52 form the first pinching members - Fig. 10. With the help of said first pinching members a first standoff distance between the linear ultrasonic transducer array 98 and the blade stiffener flange 4 is established - para. [0058], Fig. 9B
In regards to claim 63, Fetzer teaches a method of claim 62, (see claim rejection 62) comprising displacing, via the at least two first pinching members, at least one of the test head or the article under test as the second portion during the translating. (fig(s) 2,3, 3A, 3B, 6, 10)
In regards to claim 64, Fetzer teaches a method of claim 63, (see claim rejection 63) comprising centering at least one of the test head or the article relative to at least one medial plane of the second portion during the translating. (fig(s) 2,3, 3A, 3B, 6, 10)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 65-68 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fetzer (EP-3751276-A1)
In regards to claim 65, Fetzer teaches a non-destructive inspection test head comprising: (abstract; 10, 12 fig(s) 1, 2, 2A, 3(A-B), 4(A-D), 5, 9B, 10-12, ‘non-destructive inspection test head’, ‘tool frame assembly’)
a first portion; and (12 fig(s) 1, 2, 2A, 3(A-B), 4(A-D), 5, 9B, 10-12, ‘tool frame assembly’; para [0033])
a second portion (para [0033]; 34 fig(s) 1, 2, 2A, 3(A-B), 4(A-D), 5, 9B, 10-12, ‘inspection radius NDI probe assembly’) including at least one non-destructive test (NDT) transducer assembly, (34(a-c), 35c, 52, 97-98 fig. 10, ‘’upper subassembly’, ‘52-1st & 2nd linear slide tables’, ‘1st & 2nd non-destructive inspection (NDI) probe/pulse echo phased arrays’) the second portion configured to rotate relative to the first portion via a first pivot point arranged about a first axis (‘Rotation of probe frame assembly 50 around axis of rotatable shafts 88a and 88b - fig. 4D’) and a second pivot point arranged about a second axis orthogonal to the first axis, (‘By tilting the probe frame assembly 50 in such a way as illustrated in figure 4D, the probe frame assembly 50 is rotated around its axis of symmetry, which lies in the middle thereof, and which is perpendicular to the axis of rotatable shafts 88a and 88b - fig. 40’) and
two or more pinching members coupled to the second portion, the pinching members arranged to apply force towards each other and towards an insertion channel extending through the second portion; (34(a-c), 35c, 52, 97-98 fig. 10, ‘’upper subassembly’, ‘52-1st & 2nd linear slide tables’, ‘1st & 2nd non-destructive inspection (NDI) probe/pulse echo phased arrays’ ; ‘Linear pneumatic slide table 52 is arranged slidable in the z-direction - para. [0046], fig. 10. Left upper subassembly 34a and right upper subassembly 34b, which are mounted on linear pneumatic slide table 52 can therefore be linearly moved towards lower assembly 34c – para. [0060], Fig. 10. Hence, the arrangements 34a, 35c & 52 as well as 34b, 35c & 52 form the first pinching members - Fig. 10. With the help of said first pinching members a first standoff distance between the linear ultrasonic transducer array 98 and the blade stiffener flange 4 is established - para. [0058], Fig. 9B)
wherein:
the pinching members are configured to maintain a specified standoff distance between a test object passing through the insertion channel; and (34(a-c), 35c, 52, 97-98 fig. 10, ‘’upper subassembly’, ‘52-1st & 2nd linear slide tables’, ‘1st & 2nd non-destructive inspection (NDI) probe/pulse echo phased arrays’ ; ‘Linear pneumatic slide table 52 is arranged slidable in the z-direction - para. [0046], fig. 10. Left upper subassembly 34a and right upper subassembly 34b, which are mounted on linear pneumatic slide table 52 can therefore be linearly moved towards lower assembly 34c – para. [0060], fig. 10. Hence, the arrangements 34a, 35c & 52 as well as 34b, 35c & 52 form the first pinching members - fig. 10. With the help of said first pinching members a first standoff distance between the linear ultrasonic transducer array 98 and the blade stiffener flange 4 is established - para. [0058], fig. 9B’)
the second portion is configured to passively rotate relative to the first portion via both the first and second pivot points to follow a varying curvature of an article under test passing through the insertion channel. (‘With the before described rotations, the probe frame assembly 50 is adapted to follow a varying curvature of an article under test passing through the insertion channel.’)
In regards to claim 66, Fetzer teaches a test head of claim 65, (see claim rejection 65) wherein the two or more pinching members are configured to displace at least one of the test head or the article under test as the second portion is translated along the article. (fig(s) 2,3, 3A, 3B, 6, 10)
In regards to claim 67, Fetzer teaches a test head of claim 65, (see claim rejection 65) wherein the two or more first pinching members include rollers. (‘Each of the left and right upper subassemblies 32a and 32b of flange NDI probe assembly 32 further includes a respective pair of rollers 96, one pair of which is shown in section in FIG. 9B. In addition, the lower assembly 32c of flange NDI probe assembly 32 includes four rollers 96, two of which is shown in section in FIG. 9B. The rollers 96 contact the upper and lowers surfaces of the flange of a blade stiffener and enable the flange NDI probe assembly 32 to roll along the flange during an inspection operation while inspecting the flange from the bottom’; para(s) [0057-0059])
In regards to claim 68, Fetzer teaches a test head of claim 65, (see claim rejection 65) wherein the two or more first pinching members are biased toward each other. (42(A-B) fig(s), ‘constant force spring assemblies’; para [0029])
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references cited Guimond (WO-2025156041), Fetzer (US 2017/0059531), and Sarr (US-9395339) references further describe a non-destructive (NDT) probe as described by the claims.
/K.C.B/Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/STEPHANIE E BLOSS/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852