DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 34-36, 41-43 and 49-51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Heo (US 2015/0296542).
Heo discloses the following features.
Regarding claim 34, a first apparatus (see UE 160a in Fig. 1A) comprising:
at least one processor; and
at least one memory including computer program codes;
the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor (see “memory” and “processor” recited in paragraph [0024]), cause the first apparatus at least to:
receive, from a second apparatus (see “the primary access device (e.g., eNB)” recited in paragraph [0043]; or see eNBs 110a in combination with the secondary access devices 120a in Fig. 1A), configuration information indicating first resources for the first apparatus to perform a random access to a secondary cell of the first apparatus (see “the primary access device (e.g., eNB) may allocate different PRACH time and frequency resources to a UE for PCell and SCell” recited in paragraph [0043]), wherein radio network temporary identifiers corresponding to the first resources are different from radio network temporary identifiers corresponding to second resources configured for a random access to a primary cell of the first apparatus (see “the primary access device (e.g., eNB) may allocate different PRACH time and frequency resources to a UE for PCell and SCell…the corresponding RA-RNTIs associated with the PCell and the SCell may be different” recited in paragraph [0043], wherein “a UE is served by both a primary access device of a PCell” as shown in paragraph [0041]);
select a resource from the first resources; and
transmit, to the second apparatus via the secondary cell, a random access request by using the selected resource (see steps 1010 and 1020 in Fig. 10 and paragraph [0043], wherein the UE transmits a random access preamble using the corresponding RA-RNTI to request random access).
Regarding claim 35, wherein a resource of the first resources is corresponding to: a radio network temporary identifier configured by the second apparatus, a radio network temporary identifier calculated based on a predefined formula (see “The RA-RNTI is generated based on indexes of PRACH time and frequency resources that are used to transmit the random access preamble” recited in paragraph [0042]), or a radio network temporary identifier calculated based on a predefined formula and an offset.
Regarding claim 36, determine a radio network temporary identifier corresponding to the selected resource (paragraph [0043] shows that the UE transmits the random access preamble using the allocated resource in steps 1010-1020; paragraph [0042] shows that RA-RNTI is generated based on the resources used to transmit the random access preamble); and receive, from the second apparatus via the primary cell, a random access response on a control channel addressed to the determined radio network temporary identifier (see “At block 1040, the UE uses RA-RNTI to perform blind decoding of the PDCCH candidates” recited in paragraph [0041]).
Regarding claim 41, a second apparatus (see “the primary access device (e.g., eNB)” recited in paragraph [0043]; or see eNBs 110a in combination with the secondary access devices 120a in Fig. 1A) comprising:
at least one processor; and
at least one memory including computer program codes;
the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor (the eNB must include the processor/memory configuration), cause the second apparatus at least to:
allocate first resources for a first apparatus to perform a random access to a secondary cell of the first apparatus (see “the primary access device (e.g., eNB) may allocate different PRACH time and frequency resources to a UE for PCell and SCell” recited in paragraph [0043]), wherein radio network temporary identifiers corresponding to the first resources are different from radio network temporary identifiers corresponding to second resources configured for a random access to a primary cell of the first apparatus (see “the primary access device (e.g., eNB) may allocate different PRACH time and frequency resources to a UE for PCell and SCell…the corresponding RA-RNTIs associated with the PCell and the SCell may be different” recited in paragraph [0043], wherein “a UE is served by both a primary access device of a PCell” as shown in paragraph [0041]);
transmit, to the first apparatus, configuration information indicating the first resources (see steps 1010-1020 in Fig. 10); and
receive, via the secondary cell, a random access request by using a resource from the first resources (see steps 1010 and 1020 in Fig. 10 and paragraph [0043], wherein the UE transmits a random access preamble using the corresponding RA-RNTI to request random access).
Regarding claim 42, wherein a resource of the first resources is corresponding to: a radio network temporary identifier configured by the second apparatus, a radio network temporary identifier calculated based on a predefined formula (see “The RA-RNTI is generated based on indexes of PRACH time and frequency resources that are used to transmit the random access preamble” recited in paragraph [0042]), or a radio network temporary identifier calculated based on a predefined formula and an offset.
Regarding claim 43, determine a radio network temporary identifier corresponding to the used resource (paragraph [0043] shows that the UE transmits the random access preamble using the allocated resource in steps 1010-1020; paragraph [0042] shows that RA-RNTI is generated based on the resources used to transmit the random access preamble); and transmit, to the first apparatus via the primary cell, a random access response on a control channel addressed to the determined radio network temporary identifier (see “At block 1040, the UE uses RA-RNTI to perform blind decoding of the PDCCH candidates” recited in paragraph [0041]).
Regarding claim 49, a method comprising, by a first apparatus (see UE 160a in Fig. 1A):
receiving, from a second apparatus (see “the primary access device (e.g., eNB)” recited in paragraph [0043]; or see eNBs 110a in combination with the secondary access devices 120a in Fig. 1A), configuration information indicating first resources for the first apparatus to perform a random access to a secondary cell of the first apparatus (see “the primary access device (e.g., eNB) may allocate different PRACH time and frequency resources to a UE for PCell and SCell” recited in paragraph [0043]), wherein radio network temporary identifiers corresponding to the first resources are different from radio network temporary identifiers corresponding to second resources configured for a random access to a primary cell of the first apparatus (see “the primary access device (e.g., eNB) may allocate different PRACH time and frequency resources to a UE for PCell and SCell…the corresponding RA-RNTIs associated with the PCell and the SCell may be different” recited in paragraph [0043], wherein “a UE is served by both a primary access device of a PCell” as shown in paragraph [0041]);
selecting a resource from the first resources; and
transmitting, to the second apparatus via the secondary cell, a random access request by using the selected resource (see steps 1010 and 1020 in Fig. 10 and paragraph [0043], wherein the UE transmits a random access preamble using the corresponding RA-RNTI to request random access).
Regarding claim 50, wherein a resource of the first resources is corresponding to: a radio network temporary identifier configured by the second apparatus, a radio network temporary identifier calculated based on a predefined formula (see “The RA-RNTI is generated based on indexes of PRACH time and frequency resources that are used to transmit the random access preamble” recited in paragraph [0042]), or a radio network temporary identifier calculated based on a predefined formula and an offset.
Regarding claim 51, determining a radio network temporary identifier corresponding to the selected resource (paragraph [0043] shows that the UE transmits the random access preamble using the allocated resource in steps 1010-1020; paragraph [0042] shows that RA-RNTI is generated based on the resources used to transmit the random access preamble); and receive, from the second apparatus via the primary cell, a random access response on a control channel addressed to the determined radio network temporary identifier (see “At block 1040, the UE uses RA-RNTI to perform blind decoding of the PDCCH candidates” recited in paragraph [0041]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 37-38, 44-45 and 52-53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo as applied to claims 34, 36, 41, 43, 49 and 51 above, and further in view of Wang (US 2021/0392691).
Heo discloses the features as shown above.
Heo does not disclose the following features: regarding claims 37 and 52, select, from the secondary cell and the primary cell, a cell indicated in the random access response; and transmit a message to the second apparatus via the selected cell; regarding claims 38 and 53, receive, from the second apparatus via the secondary cell, a grant for transmission from the first apparatus to the second apparatus as a contention resolution for the random access to the secondary cell; regarding claim 44, wherein the random access response indicates a cell of the secondary cell and the primary cell; and the second apparatus receives a message from the first apparatus via the indicated cell; regarding claim 45, transmit, to the first apparatus via the secondary cell, a grant for transmission from the first apparatus to the second apparatus as a contention resolution for the random access to the secondary cell.
Wang discloses the following features.
Regarding claims 37 and 52, select, from the secondary cell and the primary cell, a cell indicated in the random access response (see “Thus the terminal device may receive one or multiple grants (which may be across different cells) carried by the RAR messages” recited in paragraph [0076] and different cell selection methods in paragraphs [0077]-[0079]); and transmit a message to the second apparatus via the selected cell (see Fig. 1A, wherein msg3 is transmitted in response to the RA response; and see “multiple grants may be used to transmit multiple Msg3 messages if the LBT operations for all of the multiple grants succeed” recited in paragraph [0080], wherein Msg3 may be transmitted in grants selected in paragraphs [0076]-[0079]).
Regarding claims 38 and 53, receive, from the second apparatus via the secondary cell, a grant for transmission from the first apparatus to the second apparatus as a contention resolution for the random access to the secondary cell (see Fig. 1A, wherein the UE receives Msg4 as contention resolution from the eNB in response to the Msg3; paragraphs [0076]-[0080] shows that the Msg3 being sent to selected grants received in the RA response, which, as shown in Heo above or Fig. 2 of Wang, may be received via an SCell).
Regarding claim 44, wherein the random access response indicates a cell of the secondary cell and the primary cell (see “Thus the terminal device may receive one or multiple grants (which may be across different cells) carried by the RAR messages” recited in paragraph [0076] and different cell selection methods in paragraphs [0077]-[0079]); and the second apparatus receives a message from the first apparatus via the indicated cell (see Fig. 1A, wherein msg3 is transmitted in response to the RA response; and see “multiple grants may be used to transmit multiple Msg3 messages if the LBT operations for all of the multiple grants succeed” recited in paragraph [0080], wherein Msg3 may be transmitted in grants selected in paragraphs [0076]-[0079]).
Regarding claim 45, transmit, to the first apparatus via the secondary cell, a grant for transmission from the first apparatus to the second apparatus as a contention resolution for the random access to the secondary cell (see Fig. 1A, wherein the UE receives Msg4 as contention resolution from the eNB in response to the Msg3; paragraphs [0076]-[0080] shows that the Msg3 being sent to selected grants received in the RA response, which, as shown in Heo above or Fig. 2 of Wang, may be received via an SCell).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current application to modify the system of Heo using features, as taught by Wang, in order to allow the UE to communicate its identifier for contention resolution (see paragraph [0042] of Wang).
Claim(s) 39 and 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo as applied to claims 34 and 41 above, and further in view of Takahashi (US 11,202,321 B2).
Heo discloses the features as shown above.
Heo does not disclose the following features: regarding claim 39, the first apparatus select the resource form the first resources by: receiving, from the second apparatus, mask information indicating a subset of the first resources; and selecting, from the subset of the resources, the resource used to transmit the random access request; regarding claim 46, transmit, to the first apparatus, mask information indicating a subset of the first resources, wherein the used resources is selected from the subset of the first resources by the first apparatus
Takahashi discloses the following feature.
Regarding claim 39, the first apparatus select the resource form the first resources by: receiving, from the second apparatus, mask information indicating a subset of the first resources (see “Information indicated by the NR-PDCCH order may include preamble index information, mask index information…The mask index information is information indicating an index of a PRACH resource available for transmission of a random access preamble in the time domain and/or the frequency domain” recited in column 20, lines 13-36); and selecting, from the subset of the resources, the resource used to transmit the random access request (see “the terminal apparatus 1 may select one synchronization signal block out of one or more received synchronization signal blocks, and may transmit a random access preamble by using preamble index information and/or mask index information associated with the selected synchronization signal block” recited in column 20, lines 44-52).
Regarding claim 46, transmit, to the first apparatus, mask information indicating a subset of the first resources (see “Information indicated by the NR-PDCCH order may include preamble index information, mask index information…The mask index information is information indicating an index of a PRACH resource available for transmission of a random access preamble in the time domain and/or the frequency domain” recited in column 20, lines 13-36), wherein the used resources is selected from the subset of the first resources by the first apparatus (see “the terminal apparatus 1 may select one synchronization signal block out of one or more received synchronization signal blocks, and may transmit a random access preamble by using preamble index information and/or mask index information associated with the selected synchronization signal block” recited in column 20, lines 44-52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current application to modify the system of Heo using features, as taught by Takahashi, in order to indicate resource available for transmission of a random access preamble (see column 20 of Takahashi).
Claim(s) 40 and 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo as applied to claims 34 and 41 above, and further in view of Kim (US 2015/0327218).
Heo discloses the features as shown above.
Heo does not disclose the following features: regarding claims 40 and 47, wherein the first resources are different from third resources indicated in system information broadcast for the secondary cell by the second apparatus and configured for a further random access to the secondary cell.
Kim discloses the following features.
Regarding claims 40 and 47, wherein the first resources are different from third resources indicated in system information broadcast for the secondary cell by the second apparatus and configured for a further random access to the secondary cell (see “first random access procedure…based on the RACH information…The RACH information may be system information used in the SCell” in paragraphs [0009]-[0010]; and “The method may further include receiving from the PCell a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) order message indicating execution of a second random access procedure for acquiring uplink synchronization” recited in paragraph [0011], wherein a first RACH procedure and the second RACH procedure corresponds to different RACH procedures using different resources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current application to modify the system of Heo using features, as taught by Kim, in order to execute of additional random access procedure for acquiring uplink synchronization (see paragraph [0011] of Kim).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 48 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JUTAI KAO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473