DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for using current-based and voltage-based control arrangements to measure the resonant frequency characteristic of the piezoelectric transducer disposed on the microfluidic substrate and subsequently using this information to inform selection/control of the trapping signal frequency, does not reasonably provide enablement for using a trapping signal of arbitrary frequency. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Claim 1 recites:
A system for acoustic trapping microchannel resonance detection and control, the system comprising:
a signal generator to generate an alternating current signal;
a transducer amplifier to generate a first trapping signal based on the alternating current signal; and
a piezoelectric transducer disposed on a microfluidic substrate to generate a first acoustic standing wave at a first resonance frequency based on the first trapping signal, the first acoustic standing wave to separate a first particle type from a second particle type.
The claim language “a signal generator to generate an alternating current signal” and “a transducer amplifier to generate a first trapping signal based on the alternating current signal” has a scope that includes generating by a signal generator an alternating current signal of any frequency, and subsequently amplifying the alternating current signal by a transducer amplifier to generate a trapping signal of the same frequency. The claim language “a piezoelectric transducer disposed on a microfluidic substrate to generate a first acoustic standing wave at a first resonance frequency based on the first trapping signal”, as understood in light of the disclosure, requires the frequency of the trapping signal to be selected/controlled based on the resonant frequency of the piezoelectric transducer disposed on the microfluidic substrate. That is to say, stimulating the piezoelectric transducer disposed on the microfluidic substrate to generate the first acoustic standing wave at the first resonance frequency cannot be realized using a trapping signal of arbitrary frequency. Rather, the specification teaches that the frequency of the trapping signal is suitably selected/controlled based on a priori measurements of the resonant frequency characteristic of the piezoelectric transducer disposed on the microfluidic substrate. For example, Figs. 4-5 and paragraphs 34-38 of the specification disclose an embodiment that uses a current-based control arrangement for selecting/controlling the stimulation frequency of the piezoelectric transducer by performing frequency sweeps and analyzing averaged amplifier supply currents obtained during the frequency sweeps. As a further example, Figs. 9 and paragraphs 46-49 of the specification disclose a voltage-based control arrangement that uses a peak detector to monitor voltage drop at the output of an amplifier over different frequencies to determine the resonant frequency of a piezoelectric transducer coupled to the amplifier output. The specification therefore teaches use of current-based and voltage-based control arrangements for measuring the resonant frequency characteristic of the piezoelectric transducer disposed on the microfluidic substrate and subsequently using this information to inform selection/control of the trapping signal frequency. The scope of claim 1 is substantially broader than the disclosure because claim 1 has a scope that includes generating by the signal generator an alternating current signal of any frequency, subsequently amplifying the alternating current signal by the transducer amplifier to generate the trapping signal of the same frequency, and then generating, by the piezoelectric transducer disposed on the microfluidic substrate, the first acoustic standing wave at the first resonance frequency based on the trapping signal.
The question of whether one skilled in the art could make and use the entire scope of the invention of claim 1 without undue experimentation is now considered in light of so-called Wands factors. See MPEP 2164.01(a). The nature of the invention is drawn to a system for acoustic trapping microchannel resonance detection and control that includes signal generator and transducer amplifier circuitry for driving a piezoelectric transducer to generate an acoustic standing wave at a resonance frequency, with the acoustic standing wave being used for particle separation. Although levels of ordinary skill and predictability in field of acoustic trapping are generally high, claim 1 has a scope considerably broader than the scope of the disclosure because the claimed trapping signal is not limited or controlled to any particular frequency. On the other hand, the specification discloses that in order for the piezoelectric transducer disposed on the microfluidic substrate to generate the acoustic standing wave at the resonance frequency based on the trapping signal, current-based and voltage-based control arrangements are used to first measure the resonant frequency characteristic of the piezoelectric transducer disposed on the microfluidic substrate, with this information then being used to inform selection/control of the trapping signal frequency. At the time of the application was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been aware of various techniques for monitoring/measuring the resonant frequency of a piezoelectric transducer in order to generate a stimulation signal suitable to drive the piezoelectric transducer at its resonant frequency. Although the present specification provides direction and guidance regarding current-based and voltage-based control arrangements for measuring the resonant frequency characteristic of the piezoelectric transducer disposed on the microfluidic substrate and subsequently using this information to suitably select/control the stimulation frequency of the trapping signal, the specification is not understood to provide any direction or guidance regarding how the piezoelectric transducer is to generate the acoustic standing wave at the first resonance frequency without such measurements. Weighing the above-identified factors, particularly the breadth of the claim with respect to the disclosure and the amount of direction and guidance provided, the examiner concludes that one skilled in the art could only make the entire scope of the claimed invention by resorting to undue experimentation. Claim 1 is therefore rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) because the scope of enablement provided to one skilled in the art by the disclosure is not commensurate with the scope of protection sought by the claims. Because none of dependent claims 2-10 appear to address this deficiency, claims 2-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), scope of enablement, by virtue of their dependence from claim 1. Independent claim 11 and claims 12-20 depending therefrom, and independent claim 21 and claims 22-25 depending therefrom, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) scope of enablement for the analogous reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9-11 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by applicant-cited Clark et al., Real Time Electronic Feedback for Improved Acoustic Trapping of Micron-Scale Particles, Micromachines 2019, 10(7), 489 (Clark).
Regarding claim 1, Clark discloses a system for acoustic trapping microchannel resonance detection and control, the system comprising:
a signal generator to generate an alternating current signal (Clark, e.g., page 4, section 2.1, electronic components of the instrument include a waveform generator (Hantek DDS-3X25, Hantek, Shandong, China), oscilloscope (Hantek 6052BE, Hantek, Shandong, China), and home-built amplifier, which provide control over the applied acoustic frequency);
a transducer amplifier to generate a first trapping signal based on the alternating current signal (Clark, e.g., page 4, section 2.1, electronic components of the instrument include a waveform generator (Hantek DDS-3X25, Hantek, Shandong, China), oscilloscope (Hantek 6052BE, Hantek, Shandong, China), and home-built amplifier, which provide control over the applied acoustic frequency); and
a piezoelectric transducer disposed on a microfluidic substrate to generate a first acoustic standing wave at a first resonance frequency based on the first trapping signal, the first acoustic standing wave to separate a first particle type from a second particle type (Clark, e.g., Fig. 1 and page 4, section 2.1, Figure 1 shows the simplified schematics of the circuit used for precise measurement of the AC voltage amplitude across the piezo transducer; note the chip in Fig. 1; also see Fig. 2 and pages 5-6, section 3.1, a glass-PDMS-glass microchip was used for the resonator domain, with a poly(methyl)methacrylate (PMMA) layer affixed for sample reservoirs and downstream collection chambers; microfluidic architecture was designed in computer-assisted drawing software, and features ablated using CO2 laser-etching; layers were adhered through solvent bonding, plasma oxidation, and pressure-sensitive adhesive; by using both electronic measurements and visual camera-based monitoring of the trap site, the optimal trapping frequency can be determined for that specific microchip; the piezo frequency was maintained at the previously determined optimal frequency (typically between 7.4–7.8 MHz) to retain all trapped cells in the trap zone, while wash buffer flowed from reservoir 3 to remove any residual free DNA or cellular debris from the pellet; note in Fig. 2 that “downstream” reservoirs 4, 5, and 6 are for the collection of the sperm fraction, non-sperm fraction, and waste fraction, respectively).
Regarding claim 9, Clark discloses a sample pump to convey a particle sample through the first acoustic standing wave, the particle sample including the first particle type and the second particle type (Clark, e.g., pages 4-5, section 2.1, three syringe pumps; also see page 6, Fig. 2B, syringes for pneumatically mobilizing samples containing lysed E-cells and intact sperm cells).
Regarding claim 10, Clark discloses a first reservoir to retain the first particle type after separation by the piezoelectric transducer; and a second reservoir to retain the second particle type after separation by the piezoelectric transducer (Clark, e.g., Fig. 2 and pages 5-6, section 3.1, “downstream” reservoirs 4, 5, and 6 are for the collection of the sperm fraction, non-sperm fraction, and waste fraction, respectively).
Claim 11 recites a method for acoustic trapping microchannel resonance detection and control, the method comprising:
generating an alternating current signal at a signal generator;
generating a first trapping signal at a transducer amplifier based on the alternating current signal;
generating a first acoustic standing wave at a first resonance frequency at a piezoelectric transducer disposed on a microfluidic substrate based on the first trapping signal; and
passing a particle sample through the first acoustic standing wave to separate a first particle type from a second particle type,
and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as anticipated by Clark for reasons analogous to those discussed above in connection with the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 19 recites wherein a sample pump passes the particle sample through the first acoustic standing wave and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as anticipated by Clark for reasons analogous to those discussed above in connection with the rejection of claim 9.
Claim 20 recites:
retaining the first particle type within a first reservoir after separation by the piezoelectric transducer; and
retaining the second particle type within a second reservoir after separation by the piezoelectric transducer,
and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as anticipated by Clark for reasons analogous to those discussed above in connection with the rejection of claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clark.
Regarding claim 21, for reasons discussed above in connection with the rejection of claim 1, Clark discloses performing the functions of:
generate an alternating current signal at a signal generator;
generate a first trapping signal at a transducer amplifier based on the alternating current signal;
generate a first acoustic standing wave at a first resonance frequency at a piezoelectric transducer disposed on a microfluidic substrate based on the first trapping signal; and
pass a particle sample through the first acoustic standing wave to separate a first particle type from a second particle type.
Clark discloses (Clark, e.g., pages 4-5, section 2.1, Instrumentation for Real Time Electronic Feedback) the use of processor circuitry of a computer-controlled device (e.g., LabView software) for data acquisition, but does not explicitly disclose the use of processor circuitry of a computer-controlled device for performing the functions set forth above (see, e.g., section 2.1, page 5, “The voltage data was plotted in real time
through LabView software, which displays the output voltage as a function of time. This information was then used by the operator to select a new acoustic frequency during sample trapping.”) Clark nonetheless recognizes that practical applications of the process must be faster and more automated than the current differential extraction protocols, and to this end proposes incorporating automated feedback into the ADE system by writing a program that will detect the minimum voltage output of the piezo and adjust the optimal trapping frequency independent of any operator in order to provide a form of ‘cruise control’ such that the system will be able to adapt to any sample type in real time (Clark, e.g., pages 11-12, section 4). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Clark to include at least one non-transitory machine-readable storage medium, comprising instructions that, responsive to being executed with processor circuitry of a computer-controlled device, cause the processor circuitry to perform the recited functions. In this way, the process can be made faster and more automated than the current differential extraction protocols.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clark in view of US 2017/0294882 to Tucker (Tucker).
Regarding claim 7, Clark is not relied upon as explicitly disclosing wherein the transducer amplifier includes a plurality of sub-amplifiers disposed in parallel. The use of a plurality of amplifiers disposed in parallel is known (Tucker, e.g., paragraph 3, it is often desired to amplify AC electrical signal; if this cannot be done by a single amplifier it is known to connect a plurality of such amplifiers together in parallel; the outputs of the amplifiers are then combined together to produce the final amplified signal). The prior art included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. For these reasons, the recitation that the transducer amplifier includes a plurality of sub-amplifiers disposed in parallel does not patentably define over Clark when considered in light of the teachings of Tucker.
Claim 17 recites wherein the transducer amplifier includes a plurality of sub-amplifiers disposed in parallel and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Clark in view of Tucker for reasons analogous to those discussed above in connection with the rejection of claim 7.
Claims 8, 18 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clark in view of Xu et al., Isolation of a Low Number of Sperm Cells from Female DNA in a Glass–PDMS–Glass Microchip via Bead-Assisted Acoustic Differential Extraction, Anal. Chem. 5 February 2019; 91 (3): 2186–2191 (Xu).
Regarding claim 8, Clark discloses a coupling layer, the piezoelectric transducer disposed on the coupling layer; and a reflecting layer disposed opposite from the coupling layer, the reflecting layer to reflect the first acoustic standing wave back to the piezoelectric transducer (Clark, e.g., pages 5-6, section 3.1, glass-PDMS-glass microchip was used for the resonator domain/chamber; optimal trapping frequency is specific to the height of the resonant chamber; also see page 2, section 1, ADE approach generates a standing acoustic wave within a microfluidic chamber; also see pages 7-8, section 3.3, the piezo is bonded to a glass coupling layer; one of ordinary skill will understand from at least these portions of Clark’s disclosure that a first layer of the glass-PDMS-glass microchip serves as the coupling layer on which the piezoelectric transducer disposed, while the second glass layer serves as a reflecting layer to reflect the first acoustic standing wave back to the piezoelectric transducer).
To the extent that one of ordinary skill would not understand that Clark’s second glass layer serves as a reflecting layer to reflect the first acoustic standing wave back to the piezoelectric transducer, Xu discloses such an arrangement (Xu, e.g., page 2186, Abstract; also see page 2189, Fig. 3). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Clark such that the second glass layer serves as a reflecting layer to reflect the first acoustic standing wave back to the piezoelectric transducer. In this way, the Q factor of the resonator can be maximized (Xu, e.g., page 2189, col. 1).
Claim 18 recites:
transmitting the first acoustic standing wave from the piezoelectric transducer disposed on a coupling layer; and
reflecting the first acoustic standing wave from a reflecting layer back to the piezoelectric transducer,
and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Clark in view of Xu for reasons analogous to those discussed above in connection with the rejection of claim 8.
Claim 25 recites the instructions further causing the processor circuitry to:
transmit the first acoustic standing wave from the piezoelectric transducer disposed on a coupling layer; and
reflect the first acoustic standing wave from a reflecting layer back to the piezoelectric transducer,
and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Clark in view of Xu for reasons analogous to those discussed above in connection with the rejection of claim 8, further recognizing the benefits of performing the functions using processor circuitry noted above in connection with the rejection of claim 21, e.g., the process can be made faster and more automated than the current differential extraction protocols.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
L. Johansson et al., "Temperature and Trapping Characterization of an Acoustic Lateral Trap for μTAS," TRANSDUCERS 2007 - 2007 International Solid-State Sensors, Actuators and Microsystems Conference, Lyon, France, 2007, pp. 739-742, relates to an acoustic lateral trap for application in non-contact trapping of cells or particles in a
microfluidic channel in a μTAS (Micro Total Analysis System); see, e.g., Fig. 3.
R. Musiak, et al., "Design of a control system for acoustophoretic separation," 2013 IEEE 56th International Midwest Symposium on Circuits and Systems (MWSCAS), Columbus, OH, USA, 2013, pp. 1120-1123, relates to the design and implementation of an embedded digital control system for an acoustophoretic separation technique; see, e.g., Fig. 2.
J. Abbaszadeh et al., "Design and implementation a microcontroller based high power ultrasonic dispersion system with self frequency adjusting property," 4th International Conference on Power Engineering, Energy and Electrical Drives, Istanbul, Turkey, 2013, pp. 670-676, relates to an ultrasonic dispersion system for the cleaning application or dispersing of particles which are mixed in liquid; see, e.g., Fig. 5.
V. Farmehini et al., "On-Chip Impedance for Quantifying Parasitic Voltages During AC Electrokinetic Trapping," in IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Engineering, vol. 67, no. 6, pp. 1664-1671, June 2020, relates to electrical means to identify
device geometry variations that are responsible for the poor trapping in the context of electrokinetic or acoustic trapping; see, e.g., Figs. 1a-e.
/DANIEL R MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858