Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21, 24-25, 27-29, 32-33 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being by ZTE, Title: Support registration for incompatible network slices(s) in UE’s current serving RA or different one, S2-2006519 (Submitted in the IDS).
Claims 21 and 29:
ZTE discloses a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising a processor configured to: send a first registration request message, wherein the first registration request message comprises (i) an indication that the WTRU is capable of maintaining a simultaneous registration with more than one AMF (See page 6, 1. UE indicates its capability for “Network Slice incompatibility Support” in the registration message. In other words, incompatibility support means that if one AMF is incapable of supporting network slice then UE will register with another AMF which supports the network slice simultaneously, see fig. 6.X.3.2-1 step 9), and (ii) a requested network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI), wherein the requested NSSAI comprises an indication of a plurality of network slices (See page 6, “1. The UE initiates the Registration Procedure with Requested NSSAI, wherein the requested NSSAI based on the Default Configured NSSAI, the Configured for the Serving PLMN and the Allowed NSSAI if available. The Requested NSSAI may include incompatible S-NSSAI(s), e.g. S-NSSAI(s) are supported by the same TA but by different AMF(s). In addition, UE indicates its capability for “Network Slice Incompatibility Support”. See page 6, section 6.X.3.2 Scenario 2: Incompatible network slices supported by same TA; “1. Registration Request (Requested NSSAI.)” in Figure 6.X.3.2-1: The UE indicates its capability for “Network Slice Incompatibility Support” in the Registration Request message); receive a registration accept message, wherein the registration accept message indicates that one or more of the plurality of network slices are allowed with a first access and mobility management function (AMF) and at least one of the plurality of network slices is rejected, wherein the registration accept message further indicates that the rejected network slice was rejected based on the first AMF being unable to serve the rejected network slice and the one or more of the allowed network slices (See page 6, "2. The AMF/NSSF performs network slice selection. The AMF/NSSF determines the Registration Area and the Allowed NSSAI. The AMF/NSSF may determine by configuration that one or more S-NSSAIs in the Requested NSSAI are incompatible with the Allowed NSSAI, e.g. the requested S-NSSAI is not supported by the current AMF or the requested S-NSSAI is supported by the AMF but is incompatible with the Allowed NSSAI. If the UE is capable of "Network Slice Incompatibility Support", then AMF puts it in the Rejected NSSAI with a reject cause indicating the S-NSSAI is supported in the Registration Area but is incompatible with the Allowed NSSAI. 3. The AMF sends a Registration Accept message to the UE as per current procedure and includes the Allowed NSSAI, the Rejected S-NSSAI(s) with cause value and the Registration Area." page 6, section 6.X.3.2 Scenario 2: Incompatible network slices supported by same TA; "3. Registration Accept (Allowed NSSAI, Rejected NSSAI with cause value, Registration Area)" in Figure 6.X.3.2-1); and send a second registration request message to a second AMF, wherein the second registration request message indicates a preference to maintain a first non-access stratum (NAS) connection with the first AMF, and wherein the second registration request message comprises a second requested NSSAI, wherein the second requested NSSAI indicates a request for the rejected network slice (("5. If the requested S-NSSAI is within the Rejected NSSAI with cause value indicating that the S-NSSAI is supported in the Registration Area but incompatible with the Allowed NSSAI, the UE initiates Mobility Registration procedure. The UE may set the new requested S-NSSAI that the UE requests in the RRC message the NG-RAN can select a new proper AMF. The UE includes the requested NSSAI in NAS message. When the RAN reselects a different AMF, the following option B is performed. Option B: 9. The RAN performs AMF selection based on the Requested NSSAI 12. The AMF2 sends a Registration Accept message to in the RRC message to the RAN as per current procedure." page 6, section 6.X.3.2 Scenario 2: Incompatible network slices supported by same TA; "5. Registration Request (new Requested NSSAI)”, “9. AMF selection” in Figure 6.X.3.2-1: As result, UE registers with two AMFs simultaneously – cf. “3. Registration Accept (Allowed NSSAI, …, Registration Area)” from AMF1 and “12. Registration Accept (new allowed NSSAI…)” from AMF2 in Figure 6.X.3.2-1).
Claims 24 and 32:
ZTE discloses to set a registration type to a value that indicates the second registration request message is for a network slice addition (("5. If the requested S-NSSAI is within the Rejected NSSAI with cause value indicating that the S-NSSAI is supported in the Registration Area but incompatible with the Allowed NSSAI, the UE initiates Mobility Registration procedure. The UE may set the new requested S-NSSAI that the UE requests in the RRC message the NG-RAN can select a new proper AMF. The UE includes the requested NSSAI in NAS message. When the RAN reselects a different AMF, the following option B is performed. Option B: 9. The RAN performs AMF selection based on the Requested NSSAI 12. The AMF2 sends a Registration Accept message to in the RRC message to the RAN as per current procedure." page 6, section 6.X.3.2 Scenario 2: Incompatible network slices supported by same TA; "5. Registration Request (new Requested NSSAI)”, “9. AMF selection” in Figure 6.X.3.2-1: As result, UE registers with two AMFs simultaneously – cf. “3. Registration Accept (Allowed NSSAI, …, Registration Area)” from AMF1 and “12. Registration Accept (new allowed NSSAI…)” from AMF2 in Figure 6.X.3.2-1).
Claims 25 and 33:
ZTE discloses that the processor is further configured to: communicate with the first AMF via the first NAS connection; and communicate with the second AMF a via a second NAS connection (See page 6, 5. NAS connection for AMF2 and page Option A: 11. NAS connection for AMF1/default AMF).
Claims 27 and 35:
ZTE discloses that the first registration request message further comprises an indication of a number of connection management (CM) states that the WTRU is capable of simultaneously maintaining (See page 6, 1. UE indicates its capability for “Network Slice incompatibility Support” which means a number of CM states. Also see table 6.0-1: maximum number of sessions).
Claim 28:
ZTE discloses each of the plurality of network slices is associated with one or more network functions and a respective service type (See page 6, 4. “the UE first derives the requested S-NSSAI that matches the application based on the URSP rules or the UE Local Configuration”. See page, 1. Background, “request a set of slices from the UE’s serving PLMN to enable its’ services/applications that may not be compatible with each other”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 36-40 are allowed.
Claims 22-23 & 30-31 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With regards to claims 21 and 29, one page 2 of the applicant’s remarks, the applicant argues “ZTE does not specifically describe maintaining simultaneous registration with more than one AMF”.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. See ZTE’s page 6, 1. UE indicates its capability for “Network Slice incompatibility Support” in the registration message. In other words, incompatibility support means that if one AMF is incapable of supporting network slice then UE will register with another AMF which supports the network slice simultaneously, see fig. 6.X.3.2-1 step 9.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
HASHIM S. BHATTI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2472
/HASHIM S BHATTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475