Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission filed 04/07/2026 includes changes to the claims, remarks and arguments related to the previous rejection. The above have been entered and considered. Claims 1-15 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
With regard to the specification objection:
Applicant has amended the title to reflect the claimed device. Acceptance of the title is reflected in the attached Bib datasheet.
With regard to the 112(b) rejection:
Applicant has amended Claim 1 to resolve the clarity of what the voltage measurement sensor is measuring. The 112(b) rejection of the claims is withdrawn.
With regard to the 103 rejection:
Applicant has amended Claim 1 to add a new limitation that requires additional search and consideration:
wherein a sense connection point between the first resistive sensor and the second resistive sensor is to output a sense voltage that provides an indication of a fluid flow in the conduit, wherein the sense voltage at the sense connection point shifts based on a differential resistance between the first resistive sensor and the second resistive sensor caused by heat from the heater being carried by the fluid flow to one of the first resistive sensor and the second resistive sensor.
Applicant’s arguments and/or amendments with regard to Claims 1- 15 have been considered in light of the previous references. The arguments and amended claims do not overcome the prior art at the time of the filing of the invention. Upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a new combination of the prior references of Hisanaga in view of the new reference of Tetsu.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 & 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hisanaga (JP 05157603: “Hisanaga” translation provided for citations) in view of Tetsu (US 5072614: “Tetsu”).
Claim 1. Hisanaga discloses a fluid flow meter (10) for a conduit to carry a fluid [001: a flowmeter that is applied to measuring the flow rate of a fluid to be measured that flows through a pipe] , comprising: a first voltage connection point (XB1); a second voltage connection point (XB2)[0005]; a heater (4); and a plurality of resistive sensors (5 & 6) comprising a first resistive sensor (5) on a first side of the heater (4) and a second resistive sensor (6) on a second side of the heater (4), wherein the first resistive sensor (5) and the second resistive sensor (6) (Fig. 3: 5 & 6 implied are connected in series by the connected sensing point) between the first voltage connection point (XB1) and the second voltage connection point (XB2), wherein a sense connection point (22) [0029: 22 denotes a differential amplifier that detects the signal difference between the output signal of the upstream temperature-measuring resistance element 5 and the output signal of the downstream temperature-measuring resistance element 6] between the first resistive sensor (5) and the second resistive sensor (6) is to output a sense voltage (23) that provides an indication of a fluid flow (8) in the conduit (11) [0004] [0028-0029] and the sense voltage (23) at the sense connection point (22) shifts based on a differential resistance between the first resistive sensor (5) and the second resistive sensor (6) caused by heat from the heater (4) being carried by the fluid flow to one of the first resistive sensor (5) and the second resistive sensor (6)[0029-0030: holds the output data of the differential amplifier 22. The A/D converter 24 converts the data into digital data, which is then input to the microcomputer 25. The microcomputer 25 performs the aforementioned calculations and outputs the flow rate value].
Hisanaga does not explicitly disclose:
the first resistive sensor and the second resistive sensor are connected in series.
Tetsu teaches a flow detection device (Figs.1, 4 & 7) that can detect flow rates from minute to large with high accuracy with heater (H) and adjacent TH1 and TH2 [Col. 3 last para.]. Tetsu further teaches the first resistive sensor (Fig. 7: Rx) and the second resistive sensor (Fig. 7: Ry) are connected in series [Col. 3 last para: serially connected sensor elements R.sub.X, R.sub.Y to thereby form a voltage follower circuit…with voltage V.sub.R and its output terminal coupled to an end of serially connected sensor elements R.sub.X, R.sub.Y to thereby form a voltage follower circuit] {Col. 1 lines 45-55: FIG. 4 is another simplified circuit in which resistive elements R.sub.X, R.sub.Y are connected in series and output Vz is extracted from connecting point P3 between them. Thus, output Vz is expressed by Vz=V(R.sub.X /(R.sub.X +R.sub.Y)). Resistive element R.sub.X, R.sub.Y are assumed to have a resistance-temperature characteristic as shown in FIG. 5. If a resistance value at 0.degree. C. is R.sub.X0].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Testu’s resistor sensors in series to form a functional voltage divider for flow sensing as Hisanaga’s fluid resistive sensors because the serial resistor arrangement improves temperature detection with a direct voltage comparison provided by serial connection of the voltage output [Tetsu Col. 1 lines 45 -55].
Claim 2. Dependent on the fluid flow meter of claim 1. Hisanaga further discloses the heater (4) when activated produces heat to be carried by the fluid (8) in the conduit (11) to one of the first resistive sensor (5) and the second resistive sensor (6) depending on a direction of the fluid flow (8) in the conduit (11) [0029].
Claim 3. Dependent on the fluid flow meter of claim 1. Hisanaga further discloses the first voltage connection point (Xa) is to connect to a power supply voltage [0014-0015], and the second voltage connection point (Xb)(Fig. 1: reference voltage is neutral voltage in diagram) is to connect to a reference voltage (Xb)[0014-0015].
Claim 4. Dependent on the fluid flow meter of claim 1. Hisanaga further discloses a voltage comparator (22) comprising a first input electrically connected to the sense connection (22) point between the first resistive sensor (5) and the second resistive sensor (6) a second input to receive a threshold voltage (XB) [0014-0015].
Claim 5. Dependent on the fluid flow meter of claim 4. Hisanaga further discloses the voltage comparator (22) is to output an output indication of the fluid flow based on a difference of the sense voltage (XB) and the threshold voltage (XA) [0015] (Fig. 1: E)[0014-0015].
Claim 8. Dependent on the fluid flow meter of claim 4. Hisanga further discloses the threshold voltage is from a voltage divider [0015 Wheatstone Bridge] circuit comprising a first resistor (5) and a second resistor (6) having a matched resistance (Fig. 4 balanced response between upward and downward flow is based on balanced resistors) [0014].
Claim 9. Dependent on the fluid flow meter of claim 1. Hisanaga further discloses comprising an analog-to-digital (ADC) converter (24) comprising an input connected to the sense connection point (22) between the first resistive sensor (5) and the second resistive sensor (6), the ADC converter (24) to produce a digital value based on the sense voltage at the sense connection point (22) between the first resistive sensor (5) and the second resistive sensor (6)[0029-0030].
Claim 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hisanaga in view of Tetsu and in further view of Anderson (US 20210107279: “Anderson”).
Claims 6-7. Dependent on the fluid flow meter of claim 4. Hisanaga, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the voltage comparator is a first voltage comparator, and the threshold voltage is a first threshold voltage, the fluid flow meter further comprising: a second voltage comparator comprising a first input to receive a second threshold voltage, and a second input electrically connected to the sense connection point between the first resistive sensor and the second resistive sensor and the first threshold voltage is different from the second threshold voltage.
Anderson teaches a voltage comparator (110-1) is a first voltage comparator [0044-0045] and the threshold voltage is a first threshold voltage [0044], the fluid flow meter (110) further comprising: a second voltage comparator (110-2) comprising a first input to receive a second threshold voltage [0044], and a second input electrically connected to the sense connection point [106-2] between the first resistive sensor (106-1) and the second resistive sensor (106-2)[0044][0054] the first threshold voltage is different from the second threshold voltage [0045: 32v and 28v].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Anderson’s double threshold analog comparators because the separate comparators improves operating reliability by providing and operating range for determining fluid performance [Anderson 0054].
Claims 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Govyadinov (US 20180023995: “Govyadinov”) in further view of Hisanaga (JP 05157603: “Hisanaga” translation provided for citations) in further view of Tetsu (US 5072614: “Tetsu”).
Claim 10. Govyadinov discloses a fluidic die (Fig. 3) comprising: a fluid conduit (24) to carry a fluid [001: a flowmeter that is applied to measuring the flow rate of a fluid to be measured that flows through a pipe] [0029]; and a flow meter (234) fluidically coupled to the fluid conduit (24), the flow meter (234) comprising: a heater (260), and a plurality of sensors (262) comprising a first sensor (262 Left) on a first side of the heater (260) and a second resistive sensor (262 Right) on a second side of the heater (260), provides an indication of a fluid flow in the fluid conduit [0028: a pair of temperature sensors, one temperature sensor 262 on each side of the heat source to facilitate the sensing of fluid flow direction as well as magnitude].
Govyadinov does not explicitly disclose:
1) a plurality of resistive sensors comprising a first resistive sensor on a first side of the heater and a second resistive sensor on a second side of the heater, wherein the first resistive sensor and the second resistive sensor are connected between a first voltage and a second voltage of the fluidic die, wherein a sense connection point between the first resistive sensor and the second resistive sensor is to output a sense voltage that provides an indication of a fluid flow in the fluid conduit.
2) the first resistive sensor and the second resistive sensor are connected in series.
With regard to 1) Hisanaga teaches a plurality of resistive sensors (5 & 6) comprising a first resistive (5) sensor on a first side of the heater (4) and a second resistive sensor (6) on a second side of the heater (4), wherein the first resistive sensor (5) and the second resistive sensor (6) are connected in series (Fig. 3: 5 and 6 are tied in series) between a first voltage (XB1) and a second voltage (XB2) of the fluidic device (106), wherein a sense connection point between the first resistive sensor (5) and the second resistive sensor (6) is to output a sense voltage (22) that provides the flow indication [0028-0029].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Hisanaga’s arrangement of flow sensing resistive sensors as Govyadinov’s fluid sensor because a resistor sensor improves reliability by providing a reliable electrical measurement in a dynamic fluidic environment [Hisanaga 0004].
With regard to 2) Tetsu teaches a flow detection device (Figs.1, 4 & 7) that can detect flow rates from minute to large with high accuracy with heater (H) and adjacent TH1 and TH2 [Col. 3 last para.]. Tetsu further teaches the first resistive sensor (Fig. 7: Rx) and the second resistive sensor (Fig. 7: Ry) are connected in series [Col. 3 last para: serially connected sensor elements R.sub.X, R.sub.Y to thereby form a voltage follower circuit…with voltage V.sub.R and its output terminal coupled to an end of serially connected sensor elements R.sub.X, R.sub.Y to thereby form a voltage follower circuit] {Col. 1 lines 45-55: FIG. 4 is another simplified circuit in which resistive elements R.sub.X, R.sub.Y are connected in series and output Vz is extracted from connecting point P3 between them. Thus, output Vz is expressed by Vz=V(R.sub.X /(R.sub.X +R.sub.Y)). Resistive element R.sub.X, R.sub.Y are assumed to have a resistance-temperature characteristic as shown in FIG. 5. If a resistance value at 0.degree. C. is R.sub.X0].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Testu’s resistor sensors in series to form a functional voltage divider for flow sensing as Hisanaga’s fluid resistive sensors because the serial resistor arrangement improves temperature detection with a direct voltage comparison provided by serial connection of the voltage output [Tetsu Col. 1 lines 45 -55].
Claim 11. Dependent on the fluidic die of claim 10. Govyadinov further discloses a nozzle to eject a fluid droplet [0024], wherein the flow meter (234) is to provide an indication of the fluid flow in the conduit responsive to ejection of the fluid droplet through the nozzle [0024].
Claim 12. Dependent on the fluidic die of claim 10. Govyadinov does not explicitly disclose:
a voltage comparator comprising a first input electrically connected to the sense connection point between the first resistive sensor and the second resistive sensor and a second input to receive a threshold voltage, wherein the voltage comparator is to output an output indication of the fluid flow based on a difference of the sense voltage and the threshold voltage; and a threshold voltage generator comprising a voltage divider circuit to produce the threshold voltage, the voltage divider circuit comprising a first resistor and a second resistor, wherein a first ratio of a resistance of the first resistor to a resistance of the second resistor matches a second ratio of a resistance of the first resistive sensor to a resistance of the second resistive sensor.
Hisanaga teaches a voltage comparator (22) comprising a first input electrically connected to the sense connection point between the first resistive sensor (5) and the second resistive sensor (6), and a second input to receive a threshold voltage (Fig. 4 neutral value is a threshold value), wherein the voltage comparator (22) is to output an output indication of the fluid flow [0013-0015] based on a difference of the sense voltage and the threshold voltage and a threshold voltage generator comprising a voltage divider circuit [0005: wheatstone bridge] to produce the threshold voltage, the voltage divider circuit [0005] comprising a first resistor (5) and a second resistor , wherein a first ratio of a resistance of the first resistor (5) to a resistance of the second resistor (6) matches a second ratio of a resistance of the first resistive sensor (5) to a resistance of the second resistive sensor (6)[0013-0015].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Hisanaga’s arrangement of flow sensing resistive sensors as Govyadinov’s fluid sensor because a resistor sensor improves reliability by providing a reliable electrical measurement in a dynamic fluidic environment [Hisanaga 0004].
Claim 13. Govyadinov discloses a system (Fig. 3) comprising: a fluid control device (246 & 248); and a fluidic device (20) having a fluid port [0025] fluidically coupled to the fluid control device (246 & 248), the fluidic device (20) comprising a fluid conduit (24) to carry a fluid [0028], and a flow meter (234) fluidically coupled to the fluid conduit (24) wherein the flow meter (234) is to output a flow indication of a fluid flow in the fluid conduit (24)[0028] that is subject to an operation of the fluid control device (246 & 248), wherein the fluidic device (20) further comprises a flow meter (234) fluidically coupled to the fluid conduit (24) the flow meter (234) comprising: a heater (260), and a plurality of sensors (262 right and left) comprising a first sensor (262 L) on a first side of the heater (260) and a second sensor (262 L) on a second side of the heater (260), wherein the first sensor (262 L) and the second sensor (262 R) that provides the flow indication [0028: a pair of temperature sensors, one temperature sensor 262 on each side of the heat source to facilitate the sensing of fluid flow direction as well as magnitude]. Govyadinov does not explicitly disclose:
1) a plurality of resistive sensors comprising a first resistive sensor on a first side of the heater and a second resistive sensor on a second side of the heater, wherein the first resistive sensor and the second resistive sensor are connected between a first voltage and a second voltage of the fluidic die, wherein a sense connection point between the first resistive sensor and the second resistive sensor is to output a sense voltage that provides an indication of a fluid flow in the fluid conduit.
2) the first resistive sensor and the second resistive sensor are connected in series.
With regard to 1) Hisanaga teaches a plurality of resistive sensors (5 & 6) comprising a first resistive (5) sensor on a first side of the heater (4) and a second resistive sensor (6) on a second side of the heater (4), wherein the first resistive sensor (5) and the second resistive sensor (6) are connected in series (Fig. 3: 5 and 6 are tied in series) between a first voltage (XB1) and a second voltage (XB2) of the fluidic device (106), wherein a sense connection point between the first resistive sensor (5) and the second resistive sensor (6) is to output a sense voltage (22) that provides the flow indication [0028-0029].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Hisanaga’s arrangement of flow sensing resistive sensors as Govyadinov’s fluid sensor because a resistor sensor improves reliability by providing a reliable electrical measurement in a dynamic fluidic environment [Hisanaga 0004].
With regard to 2) Tetsu teaches a flow detection device (Figs.1, 4 & 7) that can detect flow rates from minute to large with high accuracy with heater (H) and adjacent TH1 and TH2 [Col. 3 last para.]. Tetsu further teaches the first resistive sensor (Fig. 7: Rx) and the second resistive sensor (Fig. 7: Ry) are connected in series [Col. 3 last para: serially connected sensor elements R.sub.X, R.sub.Y to thereby form a voltage follower circuit…with voltage V.sub.R and its output terminal coupled to an end of serially connected sensor elements R.sub.X, R.sub.Y to thereby form a voltage follower circuit] {Col. 1 lines 45-55: FIG. 4 is another simplified circuit in which resistive elements R.sub.X, R.sub.Y are connected in series and output Vz is extracted from connecting point P3 between them. Thus, output Vz is expressed by Vz=V(R.sub.X /(R.sub.X +R.sub.Y)). Resistive element R.sub.X, R.sub.Y are assumed to have a resistance-temperature characteristic as shown in FIG. 5. If a resistance value at 0.degree. C. is R.sub.X0].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Testu’s resistor sensors in series to form a functional voltage divider for flow sensing as Hisanaga’s fluid resistive sensors because the serial resistor arrangement improves temperature detection with a direct voltage comparison provided by serial connection of the voltage output [Tetsu Col. 1 lines 45 -55].
Claim 14. Dependent on the system of claim 13. Govyadinov discloses the fluid control device (246 & 248) comprises a fluid pump [0029], and the system further comprises a controller (54) to test the fluid pump [0029] using measurements from the flow meter (234)[0029].
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Govyadinov in view of Hisanaga and Tetsu and in further view of Keefe (US 20130169710: “Keefe”).
Claim 15. Dependent on the system of claim 13. Govyadinov discloses a fluid control device (246 & 248) and the system further comprises a controller (54) to test the fluid control device using measurements from the flow meter [0028-0029].
Govyadinov, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
The fluid control device is a backpressure regulator.
Keefe teaches a print module includes a printhead die, an input regulator to regulate input fluid pressure to the die, and an output regulator to regulate output fluid pressure from the die [Abstract]. Keefe further teaches a fluid control device is a backpressure regulator (204)[0022-0024: output regulator 204 is chosen such that the backpressure set point is slightly higher (i.e., more negative) than the backpressure set point for the input regulator 202. This creates pressure-driven flow from the outlet of input regulator 202 to the inlet of output regulator 204].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Keefe’s monitoring of flow and pressure values to control a backpressure regulator as Govyadinov’s device monitored for fluid control because regulating consistent pressure improves print quality [Keefe 0002].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MONICA S YOUNG/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/PETER J MACCHIAROLO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855