DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 8 objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 2, the limitation “30 mm~200 mm” should be corrected to --30 mm to 200 mm--.
Regarding claim 8, the limitation “100 mm~500 mmx100 mm~500 mm” should be corrected to --100 mm to 500 mm x 100 mm to 500 mm--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Currently, no claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Annotated Figure 1. Fig. 1 disclosed by Wang, annotated to show claimed limitations.
Claims 1-5 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 105967180 A) in view of Ayme-Jouve (EP 0012681 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a graphitization furnace (graphitization furnace [Figs. 1-3, 0057]), comprising:
a furnace body (furnace body 101 [Fig. 1, 0057]);
a lining disposed and attached to an inner wall of the furnace body (furnace body 101 designates the entire wall of the furnace, which is illustrated to have a lining in Fig. 1; see Annotated Figure 1), the lining being provided with a first through hole (furnace chambers 102 and 103 designate through holes in the lining [Fig. 1, 0058]) with an axis (“axis of the furnace chamber 102” [0063]); and
a positive electrode (upper electrode 104 [Fig. 1, 0059]) and a negative electrode (lower electrode 107 [Fig. 1, 0059]), the positive electrode being disposed vertically (“upper electrode 104 is vertically arranged” [Fig. 1, 0072]), a lower end of the positive electrode being disposed within the lining (the bottom of the upper electrode 104 extends into furnace chamber 102 [Fig. 1, 0072]), the negative electrode being disposed horizontally (see Annotated Figure 1 and [0071]), a middle part of the negative electrode being provided with a second through hole for passing raw ingredients (discharging part 105 of lower electrode 107 is ring-shaped [0071]), the second through hole of the negative electrode being coaxially disposed with the first through hole (see Annotated Figure 1), and the negative electrode being disposed inside the lining (discharging part 105 is located within furnace chambers 102 and 103 [0071]).
Wang does not expressly teach the composition or layering structure of the lining of the furnace body.
Annotated Figure 2. Fig. 4 disclosed by Ayme-Jouve, annotated to show brick-laying pattern for furnace lining.
Ayme-Jouve teaches a lining for an arc furnace, comprising a layered brick structure [Figs. 1-4, 0002, 0020]. See Annotated Figure 2. Specifically, the bricks (blocks 2 and 3 in Fig. 1 [0030] or blocks 12 and 13 in Figs. 2-4 [0031]; blocks 2 and 12 are made of refractory material based on oxides and blocks 3 and 13 are graphite [0030-0031]) are laid out in rows in an alternating pattern. Because this lining is made of bricks laid out in rows [0011-0012, 0030], Ayme-Jouve teaches a furnace lining which can distinguish an upper lining, an insulation lining, and a lower lining defined by the rows of bricks.
Wang discloses a graphitization furnace, including a lining defining a through hole, but does not disclose the structure of the lining. Ayme-Jouve teaches a lining for an arc furnace comprising rows of bricks, in which an upper lining, an insulation lining, and a lower lining can be defined. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teaching of Ayme-Jouve for a brick-laid lining to modify the lining disclosed by Wang, whose structure is not disclosed. Specifically, one of ordinary skill in the art would have used the patterned brick arrangement taught by Ayme-Jouve to line the interior of the furnace body disclosed by Wang, including the graphite blocks and refractory material based oxide blocks. Each of the rows of bricks laid out in this manner would be considered to define a section of the lining. Thus, this arrangement of bricks would result in an upper lining, an insulation lining, and a lower lining. The positioning of the electrodes disclosed by Wang are such that the lower end of the positive electrode would be within an upper lining and the negative electrode would be in a lower lining. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Wang does not disclose the materials of the furnace body lining and further “The walls produced according to the invention [taught by Ayme-Jouve] exhibit exceptionally high and substantially uniform wear resistance in service” [Ayme-Jouve: 0033]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in this modification because the lining composition taught by Ayme-Jouve is intended for use in an arc furnace, such as that disclosed by Wang.
Regarding claim 2, Wang in view of Ayme-Jouve teaches that (with citations directed to Ayme-Jouve) a vertical thickness of the insulating lining is 30 mm ~ 200 mm. The height of the blocks (and thus each row, one of which defines each section of lining) is taught to be 75-250 mm [0022].
Regarding claim 3, Wang in view of Ayme-Jouve teaches that (with citations directed to Ayme-Jouve) the insulating lining is cast from a refractory material (refractory material based on oxides [0030-0031]), and the refractory material is any one selected from the group consisting of: high alumina bricks, zirconia bricks, corundum bricks and clay bricks. The blocks of refractory material taught by Ayme-Jouve contain: MgO, Cr2O3, FeO, Al2O3, SiO2, CaO, and TiO2 [0031], and are thus cast from the claimed materials.
Regarding claim 4, Wang in view of Ayme-Jouve teaches that (with citations directed to Ayme-Jouve) inner diameters of the upper lining, the insulating lining and the lower lining are identical (the lining is “suitable for construction of a cylindrical wall” [0031]; for a wall to be cylindrical, each of the rows of bricks would need to be laid out in an identical diameter to the row below).
Regarding claim 5, Wang in view of Ayme-Jouve teaches (with citations directed to Wang) at least two supporting rods (two connecting parts 106 [Fig. 1, 0071]; see Annotated Figure 1), one end of each of the supporting rods being disposed outside the graphitization furnace (one end of each of the connecting parts 106 extends out of the peripheral surface of the furnace body 101 [Fig. 1, 0071]), and the other end of each of the supporting rods being disposed inside the graphitization furnace and connected to the negative electrode (one end of each of the connecting parts 106 is connected to the outer peripheral surface of the discharge part 105 [Fig. 1, 0071]).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Wang in view of Ayme-Jouve teaches each of the limitations of claims 2 and 3, as discussed above and further teaches that (with citations directed to Ayme-Jouve) inner diameters of the upper lining, the insulating lining and the lower lining are identical (the lining is “suitable for construction of a cylindrical wall” [0031]; for a wall to be cylindrical, each of the rows of bricks would need to be laid out in an identical diameter to the row below).
Regarding claims 13-15, Wang in view of Ayme-Jouve teaches each of the limitations of claims 2, 3 and 4, as discussed above and further teaches (with citations directed to Wang) at least two supporting rods (two connecting parts 106 [Fig. 1, 0071]), one end of each of the supporting rods being disposed outside the graphitization furnace (one end of each of the connecting parts 106 extends out of the peripheral surface of the furnace body 101 [Fig. 1, 0071]), and the other end of each of the supporting rods being disposed inside the graphitization furnace and connected to the negative electrode (one end of each of the connecting parts 106 is connected to the outer peripheral surface of the discharge part 105 [Fig. 1, 0071]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 105967180 A) in view of Ayme-Jouve (EP 0012681 A1) and further in view of Soo (KR 101180417 B1).
Regarding claim 6, Wang in view of Ayme-Jouve teaches that (hereinafter referred to as the combination, with citations directed to Wang unless otherwise noted) the other end of the supporting rod is connected to the negative electrode [0071] and further teaches that the term “connect” can refer to a fixed, detachable, integral, direct, or indirect mechanical connection [0055]. Wang does not disclose further detail on the exact mechanism used to connect the support rods to the negative electrode. Thus, the combination does not expressly teach that the other end of each of the supporting rods is provided with a groove, and an outer periphery of the negative electrode is embedded in the groove of each of the supporting rods.
Soo teaches a device for holding an electrode rod in an electric furnace [Figs. 1 and 2, title, abstract]. The holding device includes a holder with a groove (see curved recess in 13 in Fig 2), an arm, and a support column (holder 10, arm 20, and support column 30 [Figs. 1 and 2, 0024]). The holder, which is connected to the arm, includes a body (holder body 12) with a mounting hole (mounting hole 11), a pressure member (pressure member 13), a cylinder (cylinder 14), and an elastic member (elastic member 15) [0026-0030]. The arm is connected to an electrode (electrode rod E) to hold the electrode in place by driving the cylinder toward the electrode, pushing the pressure member into the electrode such that the electrode is embedded into the curve of the pressure member, holding it in place in the mounting hole of the body [0026].
The combination teaches a furnace with two support rods, each with one end disposed outside of the furnace body and the other end being connected to the negative electrode, but does not expressly teach structural detail of the connection. Soo teaches a support rod with a holder which connects to and holds a rod-shaped electrode for an electric furnace. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support rods taught by the combination to include a holder at the end of each rod, as taught by Soo. Because there are two support rods taught by the combination, one of ordinary skill in the art would have specifically added the pressurizing member with the cylinder and elastic member taught by Soo to each support rod taught by the combination in order to achieve the effect that two pressurizing members on each side of the electrode would embed the electrode into their curves, securing it into place therebetween. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination does not teach a mechanism for this connection and Soo teaches a connection mechanism which is stable and can be attached and detached for ease of manufacturing and maintenance [Soo: 0020]. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success with this modification because the connection mechanism taught by Soo is configured with a groove in the form of a curved surface, capable of applying pressure to a cylindrical electrode and would thus be able to hold the electrode taught by the combination which is configured as a ring with a cylindrical outer surface, i.e. a cylindrical cross-section.
Claims 7, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 105967180 A) in view of Ayme-Jouve (EP 0012681 A1) and further in view of Elkins (EP 0036049 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Wang in view of Ayme-Jouve teaches that (hereinafter referred to as the combination, with citations directed to Ayme-Jouve, unless otherwise noted):
an inner side surface of the upper lining comprises one or more refractory layer(s) (one layer) disposed in sequence in a radial direction (the brick arrangement is laid out with intrados and extrados surfaces such that it creates a cylindrical wall [0031]), and extended in a circumferential direction and/or in a direction of a generatrix (the pattern is extended in the circumferential direction to create a cylindrical wall [0031]), and at least one refractory layer of the one or more refractory layer(s) comprises a plurality of first refractory bricks (block 13 [Figs. 2-4, 0031]) and second refractory bricks (block 12 [Figs. 2-4, 0031]) disposed at an interval (a pattern is created by alternating block 12 with block 13 [Fig. 4]; thus creating an interval where each block 12 is surrounded only by blocks 13 and each block 13 is surrounded only by blocks 12 [Fig. 4, 0011-0012, 0031]);
an oxidation temperature of the second refractory bricks is higher than the oxidation temperature of the first refractory bricks. Specifically, the second refractory bricks are oxide-based refractory blocks [0031] and it is further taught that without the oxide-based refractory blocks, the graphite blocks would not withstand the high-temperature oxidizing atmospheres [0020].
The combination does not expressly teach that a refractoriness under load of the first refractory bricks is > 3200°C.
Elkins teaches an arc furnace [shown in Figs. 1-3] comprising a chamber constructed of several walls and a floor (top and side walls 32, 24, and 26 and graphite members 40 and 42 [Figs. 1-3, p. 1 line 5 and p. 3 line 6]). In particular, the floor includes two pairs of graphite members (graphite members 40 and 42). Elkins further teaches that these graphite members will withstand temperatures of 3315°C [p. 7 lines 19-20].
The combination teaches a furnace with first and second refractory bricks, of which the first refractory brick is graphite, but whose refractoriness under load is not disclosed. Elkins teaches an arc furnace with a floor constructed of graphite members, wherein the graphite members are able to withstand a temperature of 3315°C. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used the teaching of Elkins for graphite members which are able to withstand (i.e., have refractoriness under load up to) temperature reaching 3315°C and applied this teaching to the graphite bricks taught by the combination. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to ensure that the lining maintains its structure under the high temperatures needed to achieve graphitization. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success with this modification as both the combination references and Elkins teach materials for a furnace chamber undergoing a high temperature process.
Regarding claim 9, Wang in view of Ayme-Jouve and further in view of Elkins teaches that (with citations directed to Ayme-Jouve) the first refractory bricks are at least one selected from the group consisting of: blast furnace carbon bricks, graphite carbon bricks (blocks 13 are graphite blocks [0031], as modified by the teaching of Elkins discussed regarding claim 7) and microporous composite carbon bricks.
Regarding claim 10, Wang in view of Ayme-Jouve and further in view of Elkins teaches that (with citations directed to Ayme-Jouve) the second refractory bricks are at least one selected from the group consisting of: high alumina bricks, mullite bricks, silica bricks, corundum bricks, zirconia bricks, and silicon carbide bricks. The blocks of refractory material (blocks 12 [0031]) taught by Ayme-Jouve contain: MgO, Cr2O3, FeO, Al2O3, SiO2, CaO, and TiO2 [0031], and thus contain at least one of the claimed materials.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art relevant to claim 8 is Wang (CN 105967180 A) in view of Ayme-Jouve (EP 0012681 A1) and further in view of Elkins (EP 0036049 A1). Specifically, Wang in view of Ayme-Jouve and further in view of Elkins teaches that (with citations directed to Ayme-Jouve) dimensions of fire-facing surface of the second refractory brick is 100 mm~500 mmx100 mm~500 mm (the dimensions of block 12 are given as a width between 80 and 150 mm and a height of 75 to 250 mm [0021-0022], thus overlapping with the claimed range for these dimensions). However, dimensions of the first refractory block (block 13) are provided as a width between 10 and 50 mm and a height of 75 to 250 mm [0021-0022], and thus the width is below the claimed range.
It is known in the art to have furnace lining bricks with dimensions which lie within the claimed range, such as the second refractory bricks taught by the combination. However, any such teaching for a brick with a larger fire-facing surface area applied to the first refractory brick taught by the combination would not be an appropriate modification of this furnace lining. This is because the teaching of Ayme-Jouve for the dimensions of these bricks asserts that the width of the first refractory brick must be kept below 50 mm, as a width above this “makes graphite blocks more vulnerable to oxidation attack” [Ayme-Jouve: 0021]. Thus, any modification to the dimensions of this brick which bring it into the claimed range would be teaching away from this reference.
Conclusion
/MARISSA RAE BOSS/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/TOPAZ L. ELLIOTT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761