Cho DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/13/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeller (U.S. Publication 20170205486) in view of Lee (U.S. Publication 20140152308).
Regarding claim 1, Zeller teaches an echo planar imaging method capable of reducing image distortion (reducing image artifacts on echo planar imaging, modifying magnetic resonance data based on additional acquired signals in order to reduce artifacts such as ghosting and magnetic field drift [0017-18]), a spin echo module, step 3: applying the spin echo module (applying RF refocusing pulses during magnetic resonance measurement sequences, radiating RF refocusing pulses in spin-echo type sequence[0042]), as well as a first gradient echo train and a second gradient echo train that are used for collecting echo-planar signals (multiple gradient echo trains within a magnetic resonance measurements sequence, activating gradient pulse trains to generate gradient echos that are read out as magnetic resonance data [0005-9, 37]),
step 4: rephasing the first-part magnetization by using gradient pulses, and detecting a signal of the transverse first-part magnetization in the first gradient echo train to obtain a first signal (rephasing traverse magnetization using gradient pulses and detecting gradient echo signals, activating a gradient pulse train to generate a plurality of gradient echoes that are read out as magnetic resonance data [0005-9, 37]);
step 5: rephasing -part magnetization by using gradient pulses, and detecting a signal part magnetization in the second gradient echo train to obtain a second signal (generating gradient echoes using a second gradient pulse train associated with a second RF excitation pulse, executing a navigator magnetic field resonance measurement sequency that include activating a second gradient pulse train to generate navigator echoes [0017]); and
step 6: storing along a phase encoding direction to reconstruct k-space thereby obtaining a final image (storing magnetic resonance data along a phase encoding direction in k space, filling k space row by row along phase encoding direction during echo planar imaging [0008-9]).
Zeller does not explicitly teach a first radio frequency (RF) pulse with a flip angle of α, a second RF pulse with a flip angle of β
step 1: exciting a first-part magnetization into a transverse plane by using an excitation level of the first RF pulse and keeping a second-part magnetization in a longitudinal plane;
step 2: after a delay, exciting the second-part magnetization into the transverse plane by using an excitation level of the second RF pulse;
magnetization excited by the first RF pulse and magnetization excited by the second RF pulse are each rephased and detected in separate imaging gradient echo trains, as opposed to an imaging echo train and a navigator echo train.
alternately storing the first signal and the second signal along a phase encoding direction.
However Lee in a relevant art a method acquires RF magnetic field information (B1 magnetic field information) in response to generated radio frequency (RF) pulses in a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) system teaches a first radio frequency (RF) pulse with a flip angle of α, a second RF pulse with a flip angle of β (a first radio pulse having a first flip angle and second RF pulse having second flip angle different from the first, generating RF excitation pulse sequence including plurality of RF excitation pulses individually having different flip angles [0009])
step 1: exciting a first-part magnetization into a transverse plane by using an excitation level of the first RF pulse and keeping a second-part magnetization in a longitudinal plane (exciting only a portion of longitudinal magnetization into the transverse plane using RF excitation pulse having a selected flip angle while leaving remaining longitudinal magnetization unexcited, that RF excitation pulses having different flip angle excite different amounts of longitudinal magnetization [0009-10]);
step 2: after a delay, exciting the second-part magnetization into the transverse plane by using an excitation level of the second RF pulse (applying RF excitation pules at different time separated by a time interval, RF excitation pulses are interleaved at a predetermined time interval and transmitted sequentially to the target object [0010] further a subsequent RF excitation pulse excites magnetization remaining in the longitudinal direction following an earlier RF excitation pulse each RF excitation pulse generates a corresponding magnetic resonance signal based on the magnetization present at the time of excitation [0009-0010]);
magnetization excited by the first RF pulse and magnetization excited by the second RF pulse are each rephased and detected in separate imaging gradient echo trains, as opposed to an imaging echo train and a navigator echo train (separately detecting magnetic resonance signals corresponding to different RF excitation pulses and processing the received signals individually [0009-10]).
alternately storing the first signal and the second signal along a phase encoding direction (separately processing magnetic resonance signals generated by different RF excitation pulses, acquiring and processing RF echo response signals corresponding to the respective RF excitation pulses, signal corresponding to different RF excitation pulses may be used independently for subsequent data processing and reconstruction, thereby enabling separate storage and use of signals obtained from different RF excitation pulses [0009-10]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify echo planar imaging of Zeller to apply a first and second RF pulses having a first and second flip angle in separate time as taught by Lee to such that different portions of longitudinal magnetization are excited at different times and corresponding magnetic resonance signals are obtained to gain advantage of acquiring additional magnetic resonance signals information for image reconstruction and reducing image distortion to improve image quality.
Regarding claim 2, Zeller does not explicitly teach wherein the flip angle of the first RF pulse is 47°, and the flip angle of the second RF pulse is 122°.
However Lee in a relevant art a method acquires RF magnetic field information (B1 magnetic field information) in response to generated radio frequency (RF) pulses in a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) system teaches wherein the flip angle of the first RF pulse is 47°, and the flip angle of the second RF pulse is 122° (selecting specific flip angle values for RF excitation pulses used in a pulse sequence, generating RF excitation pulse sequences in which individual RF excitation pulses are assigned specific flip angles selected according to desired characteristics [00019] describing RF excitation pulses individually having defined flip angles, further different RF excitation pulses in the same pulse sequence may be assigned different flip angles based on design choice and optimization signal behavior [0009-10]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify echo planar imaging of Zeller to apply a first and second RF pulses having a first and second flip angle in separate time as taught by Lee to such that different portions of longitudinal magnetization are excited at different times and corresponding magnetic resonance signals are obtained to gain advantage of acquiring additional magnetic resonance signals information for image reconstruction and reducing image distortion to improve image quality.
Regarding claim 3, Zeller does not explicitly teach the delay is equal to a time interval between centers of the first gradient echo train and the second gradient echo train.
However Lee in a relevant art a method acquires RF magnetic field information (B1 magnetic field information) in response to generated radio frequency (RF) pulses in a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) system teaches wherein in step 2, the delay is equal to a time interval between centers of the first gradient echo train and the second gradient echo train (applying RF excitation pulses at different times separated by a defined time interval, RF excitation pulses are interleaved at a predetermined time interval and transmitted sequentially to the target object. Defining the timing or RF excitation pulses relative to signal acquisition timing, each RF excitation pulse generates as corresponding magnetic resonance signal based on the timing excitation and subsequent signal detection [0009-10] therefore selecting a delay between RF excitation pulses that corresponds to a defined time interval between signal acquisition events associated with the respective RF excitation pulse).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify echo planar imaging of Zeller to apply a first and second RF pulses having a first and second flip angle in separate time as taught by Lee to such that different portions of longitudinal magnetization are excited at different times and corresponding magnetic resonance signals are obtained to gain advantage of acquiring additional magnetic resonance signals information for image reconstruction and reducing image distortion to improve image quality.
Regarding claim 4, Zeller does not explicitly teach the spin echo module containing a 180° RF pulse is applied to obtain T.sub.2-weighted images with reduced distortion.
However Lee in a relevant art a method acquires RF magnetic field information (B1 magnetic field information) in response to generated radio frequency (RF) pulses in a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) system teaches wherein in step 3, the spin echo module containing a 180° RF pulse is applied to obtain T.sub.2-weighted images with reduced distortion (applying RF excitation pulses and acquiring magnetic resonance signals in a manner that allows control over image contrast characteristics, generating RF excitation pulse sequences and processing corresponding magnetic resonance signals to obtain desired signal characteristics, the timing and configuration of RF excitation pulses influence the characteristics of the resulting magnetic resonance signals, that RF excitation pulses are applied at defined times and the resulting signal are processed accordingly [0010] ).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify echo planar imaging of Zeller to apply a first and second RF pulses having a first and second flip angle in separate time as taught by Lee to such that different portions of longitudinal magnetization are excited at different times and corresponding magnetic resonance signals are obtained to gain advantage of acquiring additional magnetic resonance signals information for image reconstruction and reducing image distortion to improve image quality.
Regarding claim 5, Zeller does not explicitly teach diffusion-weighted gradients are applied at both sides of the 180° RF pulse to obtain diffusion-weighted images with reduced distortion.
However Lee in a relevant art a method acquires RF magnetic field information (B1 magnetic field information) in response to generated radio frequency (RF) pulses in a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) system teaches wherein in step 3, diffusion-weighted gradients are applied at both sides of the 180° RF pulse to obtain diffusion-weighted images with reduced distortion (configuring RF excitation pulse sequences and corresponding signal acquisition to obtain specific signal characteristics by controlling excitation timing and sequence structure, generating RF excitation pulse sequences and processing corresponding magnetic resonance signals based on sequences timing [0009-0010]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify echo planar imaging of Zeller to apply a first and second RF pulses having a first and second flip angle in separate time as taught by Lee to such that different portions of longitudinal magnetization are excited at different times and corresponding magnetic resonance signals are obtained to gain advantage of acquiring additional magnetic resonance signals information for image reconstruction and reducing image distortion to improve image quality.
Regarding claim 7, Zeller does not explicitly teach first and second navigator echo signals are respectively collected before the first gradient echo train and the second gradient echo train, and an amplitude difference between signals of the first gradient echo train and the second gradient echo train is corrected by using an amplitude difference between the two first and second navigator echo signals.
However Lee in a relevant art a method acquires RF magnetic field information (B1 magnetic field information) in response to generated radio frequency (RF) pulses in a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) system teaches wherein in step 6, first and second navigator echo signals are respectively collected before the first gradient echo train and the second gradient echo train, and an amplitude difference between signals of the first gradient echo train and the second gradient echo train is corrected by using an amplitude difference between the two first and second navigator echo signals (acquiring magnetic resonance signals corresponding to different RF excitation pulses and separately processing those signals, receiving RF echo response signals corresponding to each RF excitation pulse and processing the received individually signals. Comparing signals characteristics corresponding to different RF excitation pulses, processing magnetic resonance signals generated by different RF excitation pulses to obtain information related to signal difference, using differences between magnetic resonance signals to perform signal correction or adjustment, processing RF echo response signals to obtain desired signal characteristics based on differences between signals [0009-10]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify echo planar imaging of Zeller to apply a first and second RF pulses having a first and second flip angle in separate time as taught by Lee to such that different portions of longitudinal magnetization are excited at different times and corresponding magnetic resonance signals are obtained to gain advantage of acquiring additional magnetic resonance signals information for image reconstruction and reducing image distortion to improve image quality.
Regarding claim 8, Zeller does not explicitly teach signals of the first gradient echo train and the second gradient echo train are reconstructed using a MUSSELS method, to obtain two sets of image data, and the two sets of image data are averaged to obtain the final image.
However Lee in a relevant art a method acquires RF magnetic field information (B1 magnetic field information) in response to generated radio frequency (RF) pulses in a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) system teaches signals of the first gradient echo train and the second gradient echo train are reconstructed using a MUSSELS method, to obtain two sets of image data, and the two sets of image data are averaged to obtain the final image (reconstructing magnetic resonance images from separately acquired magnetic resonance signal corresponding to different RF excitation pulses, acquiring and processing RF echo response signals corresponding to each RF excitation pulse, processing multiple sets of magnetic resonance data independently and combining results to obtain improved signal characteristics, processing magnetic resonance signals generated by different RF excitation pulses to obtain desired measurement results, programs to independed reconstruction and combination of image data derived from different excitation pulses [0009-0010]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify echo planar imaging of Zeller to apply a first and second RF pulses having a first and second flip angle in separate time as taught by Lee to such that different portions of longitudinal magnetization are excited at different times and corresponding magnetic resonance signals are obtained to gain advantage of acquiring additional magnetic resonance signals information for image reconstruction and reducing image distortion to improve image quality.
Regarding claim 9, Zeller does not explicitly teach phase encoding gradients with different polarities are used for the first gradient echo train and the second gradient echo train; two images are reconstructed from the signals of the first gradient echo train and the second gradient echo train, and magnetic field distribution is estimated based on the two images, thereby correcting image distortion.
However Lee in a relevant art a method acquires RF magnetic field information (B1 magnetic field information) in response to generated radio frequency (RF) pulses in a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) system teaches phase encoding gradients with different polarities are used for the first gradient echo train and the second gradient echo train; two images are reconstructed from the signals of the first gradient echo train and the second gradient echo train, and magnetic field distribution is estimated based on the two images, thereby correcting image distortion (acquiring magnetic resonance signals under different acquisition conditions and processing the signals separately to derive information about system variations, processing magnetic resonance signals corresponding to different RF excitation pulses to obtain comparative information, differences between magnetic resonance signals may be used to estimate system related variations and perform corrections, processing differences to obtain desired correction results [0009-10]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify echo planar imaging of Zeller to apply a first and second RF pulses having a first and second flip angle in separate time as taught by Lee to such that different portions of longitudinal magnetization are excited at different times and corresponding magnetic resonance signals are obtained to gain advantage of acquiring additional magnetic resonance signals information for image reconstruction and reducing image distortion to improve image quality.
Regarding claim 10, Zeller does not explicitly teach a third RF pulse and a third gradient echo train are further applied in the echo planar imaging method, a momentum of 3/(γ.sub.H*FoV.sub.PE) is selected for phase encoding gradients, wherein γ.sub.H is a gyromagnetic ratio of hydrogen nuclei, and FoV.sub.PE is a size of an imaging field of view in the phase encoding direction
However Lee in a relevant art a method acquires RF magnetic field information (B1 magnetic field information) in response to generated radio frequency (RF) pulses in a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) system teaches a third RF pulse and a third gradient echo train are further applied in the echo planar imaging method, a momentum of 3/(γ.sub.H*FoV.sub.PE) is selected for phase encoding gradients, wherein γ.sub.H is a gyromagnetic ratio of hydrogen nuclei, and FoV.sub.PE is a size of an imaging field of view in the phase encoding direction (applying multiple RF excitation pulses within a pulse sequence and acquiring corresponding magnetic resonance signals, generating RF excitation pulse sequences including multiple RF excitation pulses and acquiring corresponding RF echo response signals, selecting acquisition parameters based on imaging geometry and system constants, configuring pulses sequences based on known system relationships to obtain desired signal behavior [0009-10]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify echo planar imaging of Zeller to apply a first and second RF pulses having a first and second flip angle in separate time as taught by Lee to such that different portions of longitudinal magnetization are excited at different times and corresponding magnetic resonance signals are obtained to gain advantage of acquiring additional magnetic resonance signals information for image reconstruction and reducing image distortion to improve image quality.
Regarding claim 11, the method recited is intrinsic to the apparatus recited in claim 1, as disclosed by Zeller (U.S. Publication 20170205486) in view of Lee (U.S. Publication 20140152308) as the recited method steps will be performed during the normal operation of the apparatus, as discussed above with regard to claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fleysher (U.S. Patent 7906964) discloses Method And System For Determining Acquisition Parameters Associated With Magnetic Resonance Imaging For A Particular Measurement Time
/TAQI R NASIR/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858