DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 202111683444.6, filed on 12/31/2021.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 04/03/2026. Claims 1-20 have been amended and remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cai et al. CN 105526658 A, April 27, 2016 (hereinafter “Cai”).
Regarding claim 1, Cai discloses a humidifying apparatus comprising a water tank having a water storage chamber (fig. 4, water tank 90, paragraph 0063), having a water storage chamber, a water pump (fig. 4, water lifting device 98) having a water inlet in communication with the water storage chamber, and a wet curtain assembly (figs. 4-7, humidifying medium 10, and humidifying medium frame 50; paragraph 0050) disposed above the water storage chamber, and having a water supply port (fig. 2, water inlet 341, paragraphs 0060-0065) and drain port (fig. 4, drain outlet 402). Cai further discloses a water passage arrangement including a water inlet channel (404) and a return water channel (drain outlet 402 and drain pipeline 94) for circulating water between the water storage chamber and the wet curtain assembly (fig.4, paragraph 0060). Additionally, Cai discloses that the water channels are disposed adjacent one another within a common structural body and are separated by internal walls defining respective flow paths (fig. 4 below).
Regarding claim 2, Cai discloses a humidifying apparatus including a water tank (fig. 4, water tank 90, paragraph 0063), wherein the return water channel (fig. 4, water discharge pipe 94) and the inlet pipe (fig. 4, inlet pipe 92) formed adjacent one another within a single structural body. The channels are separated by internal structural walls that define and guide the respective water flows. Because the return channel is formed adjacent the inlet channel within the same integrated body, the partitioning wall forms water directing surface that extends from top to bottom and is oriented toward the adjacent inlet channel to guide water flow along the defined return path as shown in figure 4 below.
Regarding claim 3, Cai discloses that the bottom of the wet curtain assembly (figs. 4-7, wet film 10, paragraph 0050) is provided with a downwardly recessed water collecting tank (90), the drainage port (fig. 8, drainage hole 58) is arranged in a side wall of the water collecting tank, and a top end of the water directing surface is configured to extend to a side opposite to the drainage port (paragraph 0065).
Regarding claim 4, Cai discloses a bottom end of the return water channel (fig. 4, water discharge pipe 94) is configured to extend to a bottom of the water storage chamber as shown in figure four above.
Regarding claim 5, Cai discloses herein the water pump (fig. 4, water lifting device 98) is disposed below the water tank (90); the water tank (90) has a drain outlet (fig. 4, an overflow outlet 91); and the water inlet (92) of the water pump (98) is in communication with the drain outlet of the water tank (paragraph 0063).
Regarding claim 18, Cai discloses that the water pump (fig. 4, water lifting device 98) is disposed below the water tank (fig. 4, water tank 90, paragraph 0063), the water tank has a drain outlet (fig. 4, an overflow outlet 91); and the water inlet of the water pump is in communication with the drain outlet of the water tank.
Regarding claim 19, Cai discloses that the water pump (fig. 4, water lifting device 98) is disposed below the water tank (fig. 4, water tank 90, paragraph 0063), the water tank has a drain outlet (fig. 4, an overflow outlet 91); and the water inlet of the water pump is in communication with the drain outlet of the water tank.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-12, 14-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai et al. CN 105526658 A, April 27, 2016 (hereinafter “Cai”) in view of Lin et al. CN 205066076 U, March 02, 2015 (hereinafter “Lin”).
Cai is relied upon as above.
Regarding claim 6, Cai discloses a humidifier with a water outlet (fig. 4, water outlet 92) of the water pump (fig. 4, water lifting device 98) disposed below the tank, and a water outlet that communicates with the tank. Figure four shows the outlet portion of the tank extending towards the pump so that water is delivered from the storage chamber to the pump inlet. However, Cia fails to disclose an annular wall is arranged on the bottom wall of the water storage chamber and surrounds the water outlet of the water pump; and the water inlet channel is sealingly connected to the annular wall through a first sealing ring.
Lin discloses a humidifier water tank structure including a bottom outlet portion surrounded by ring-shaped wall structure (figs. 3-5), the outlet of the water tank is formed with cylindrical collar surrounding the water opening, which functions as a ring-shaped wall arranged on the bottom wall of the tank and surrounding outlet (fig. 12). Lin further discloses that the outlet structure is configured to cooperate with downstream components to guide water flow and facilitate connection between the tank and other components (paragraphs 0036-0044). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the water outlet structure of Cai to include the annular wall surrounding the outlet as taught by Lin in order to guide water flow toward the outlet and improve alignment and sealing between the tank outlet and the pump inlet.
Regarding claim 7, Cai discloses a water tank (fig. 4, water tank 90, paragraph 0063) and a pump (fig. 4, water lifting device 98) connected to the tank outlet to circulate water through the system. However, Cai fails to disclose a first assembly annular groove is formed on an outer side of the lower end of the water inlet channel, and the first sealing ring is arranged inside the first assembly annular groove. Lin discloses an outlet interface structure in which the tank outlet (fig. 4, outlet pipe 13) portion includes annular engagement structures and sealing components (fig. 6, first sealing ring 19, second sealing ring 15) used to form a sealed connection between mating parts of the humidifier assembly. (paragraph 0039-0045). The outlet structure includes annular seating regions configured to receive sealing members for sealing engagement between the tank outlet and connected components. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the water inlet channel connection with an annular groove and sealing ring in order to improve sealing between water inlet channel and the surrounding outlet structure and prevent water leakage at the connection of the interface.
Regarding claim 8, Cai discloses a water tank having a water storage chamber and a wet curtain assembly disposed above the water storage chamber for humidifying air (fig. 4), wet curtain assembly (figs. 4-7, wet film 10, paragraph 0050), a bottom cover, the water supply port (92) and the drainage port (fig. 4, water outlet 402) being both arranged in the bottom cover; wet curtain arranged on the bottom cover. Cai further discloses a liquid distributor (fig. 1, distributor 30, paragraph 0063) located at the top of the wet curtain. Cai discloses a net cover (fig. 7 film frame 50, paragraph 0042-0045) fixedly connected to the bottom cover and surrounding the wet curtain, wherein: the net cover is provided with a liquid distributor located on a top of the wet curtain.
Lin discloses the second seal ring (15) is located below the annular flange and located radially outside the discharging pipe (13), so as to realize the second sealing ring (15) (fig. 4, paragraph 0050). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the wet curtain assembly of Cai to include the surrounding cover structure and add the second sealing ring taught by Lin in order to support the humidifying element and contain water within the humidifying assembly during operation.
Regarding claim 9, Cai discloses a water inlet channel (fig. 4, water inlet channel 404) which extends upward through the humidifier structure to deliver water to the humidifier assembly positioned above the tank. However, Cai fails to disclose a second assembly annular groove is formed on an outer side of the top end of the water inlet channel, and the second sealing ring is arranged inside the second assembly annular groove. Lin discloses an annular engagement and sealing structures (fig. 6, first sealing ring 19, second sealing ring 15) used at fluid interfaces between humidifier components. The humidifier outlet and connection regions include ring-shaped structural portions configured to receive sealing elements that provide a sealed interface between connected components (paragraphs 0039-0045). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the water inlet channel connection at the upper portion of Cai to include an annular groove formed on an outer side of the top end of the water inlet channel, and a sealing ring disposed within the annular groove in order to provide a sealed connection between the water inlet channel and the surrounding humidifier components and prevent water leakage at the fluid interface.
Regarding claim 10, Cai discloses a humidifying apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the wet curtain (figs. 4-7, wet film 10, paragraph 0050), the bottom cover, and the net cover (fig. 7 film frame 50) are arranged inside the water tank (fig. 4, water tank 90, paragraph 0063) and located above the water storage chamber; the wet curtain assembly further comprises a bracket (fig. 3, annular cover plate 32, paragraph 0042-0045) for the wet curtain is fixedly connected to the net cover (fig. 7, film frame 50) and supported on a top of the water tank (fig. 4, water tank 90, paragraph 0063). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include a bracket structure fixedly connected to the surrounding cover in order to provide structural support and stable positioning for the humidifying element within the humidifier assembly.
Regarding claim 11, Cai discloses a humidifying apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the bracket (fig. 3, annular cover plate 32, paragraph 0042-0045) for the wet curtain (figs. 4-7, wet film 10, paragraph 0050), has a through hole (see figure four above) corresponding to a center of the wet curtain; the bracket for the wet curtain is provided with a water guiding surface (fig. 3, elongated holes 321) surrounding the through hole; and the water guiding surface is configured to guide water to flow to the bottom cover. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide a wet curtain support structure to include a bracket with central holes and surrounding water guiding surface in order to align the water distribution structure with the center of the humidifying element and to guide water downward toward the lower humidifier structures.
Regarding claim 12, Cai fails to disclose that an annular groove is formed on a bottom wall of the water storage chamber, and the lower end of the return water channel is embedded in the annular groove. Lin discloses that the water tank bottom is provided with a second annular groove (paragraph 0015). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the lower end of the return water channel so that it is positioned within a circular recessed grove formed on the bottom of the water storage chamber in order to stabilize the chamber and guide returning water toward the storage chamber.
Regarding claim 14, Cai fails to discloses that the lower end of the water inlet channel is configured to penetrate a bottom wall of the water storage chamber and then to be connected to the water outlet of the water pump, and the water inlet channel is sealingly connected to the bottom wall of the water storage chamber. However, Lin discloses a humidifier water tank structure including fluid channels extending through the tank wall and sealed (fig. 6, first sealing ring 19, second sealing ring 15) at the interface between the channel and the tank body to prevent leakage (paragraphs 0035-0049). The sectional structure shown in figures 2-4 illustrate fluid passages extending through the tank structure with sealing engagement between the passage structure and the tank body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to configure the water inlet channel of Cai so that the channel penetrating the bottom wall of the water storage chamber forms a sealing connection with the tank wall as taught by Lin, in order to prevent leakage of water from the tank while maintaining fluid communication between the pump and the humidifier assembly.
Regarding claim 15, Cai discloses that a wet curtain (figs. 4-7, wet film 10, paragraph 0050), has an annular configuration (see figure 7 below). It would have been obvious to provide the wet film of Cai with the annular shape in view of Lin.
Regarding claim 16, Cai discloses that the net cover (fig. 7, film frame 50) is a hollowed-out supporter. Cai teaches the film frame support structure having open regions supporting the humidifying element (see figure 7 below). It would have been obvious to provide the net cover of Cai with a hollowed-out support frame in view of Lin.
Regarding claim 17, Cai discloses a net cover (fig. 7, film frame 50, paragraph 0061) is provided with a buckle and is connected to the bottom cover by the buckle (paragraphs 0064-0065). It would have been obvious to provide the net cover with a buckle connected to the bottom cover of Cai to secure the net cover in view of Lin.
Regarding claim 20, Cai discloses a wet curtain assembly (figs. 4-7, wet film 10, paragraph 0050) comprises: a bottom cover, the water supply port(fig. 4, inlet passage 404, paragraph 0065) and the return conduits (fig. 4, water outlet 402) being both arranged in the bottom cover (see figure 4); a wet curtain arranged on the bottom cover; a net cover (fig. 7, film frame 50, paragraph 0061) fixedly connected to the bottom cover and surrounding the wet curtain, wherein: the net cover is provided with a liquid distributor ((fig. 1, distributor 30, paragraph 0063) located on a top of the wet curtain; a water supply channel is arranged inside the net cover (fig. 7, film frame 50, paragraph 0061), and a top end of the water supply channel is in communication with the liquid distributor. However, Cai fails to disclose that the top end of the water inlet channel is configured to pass through the water supply port and to be sealingly connected to a bottom end of the water supply channel through a second sealing ring.
Lin discloses sealing rings (fig. 6, first sealing ring 19, second sealing ring 15) used between the interface channels, and groove structures that retain the seals to maintain a sealed connection between water distribution structures (paragraphs 0035-0049). The sectional structure shown in figures 2-4 illustrate fluid channels extending through structural portions of the humidifier assembly and sealed connections between the channels and surrounding structures. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the humidifier assembly to incorporate the water distribution channel and sealed channel connection structure taught by Lin in order to improve water distribution to the humidifying element and to prevent leakage at the channel connection interface.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai et al. CN 105526658 A, April 27, 2016 (hereinafter “Cai”) in view of Zhu CN 110207359 A, September 09, 2019 (hereinafter “Zhu”).
Cai is relied upon as above.
Regarding claim 13, Cai fails to disclose that wires supplying power to the water pump are disposed outside the water tank. Zhu discloses that the output end is electrically connected to the input ends of the ultrasonic atomizer and the water pump via wires (paragraph 0029). The input terminal of the button is electrically connected to the output terminal of the power module
via a wire (fig. 6, paragraph 0014). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrange the power wires supplying the pump outside the water tank device of Cai, because routing electrical wire outside the water tank prevents exposure of electrical conductors to water within the tank and avoids electrical hazards.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Cai fails to disclose a water passage structure being an integrated structure and further fails to disclose that an upper end of the water inlet channel is sealingly connected to the water supply port, that a lower end of the water inlet channel is sealingly connected to the water outlet of the water pump, and that an upper end of the return water channel is directly connected to the drainage port.
Regarding the recited “integrated structure,” claim 1 does not recite that water passage structure must be a one-piece molded component, or unitary member. Nor does the claim provide a special definition of the term “integrated structure.” Accordingly, under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) consistent with the specification, an “integrated structure” reasonably encompasses components incorporated into a common assembly and functioning together as a single water passage arrangement. MPEP 2111.
As shown in Cai Figure 4, the water inlet channel (404) and the return flow path associated with drain outlet (402) are both incorporated with barrel body (41) and extend through the same housing structure. The inlet and return passages are maintained as separated flow paths while being incorporated into a common structural arrangement of the humidifying device. Thus, Cai discloses water inlet and return channels that are “spaced apart” from one another while being “integrated” into a common water passage assembly.
Applicant’s argument that water inlet pipeline (92) and drain pipeline (94) are separate conduits is not persuasive because claim 1 does not exclude the use of conduits connected to the channels, nor does claim 1 require water inlet channel and return water channel to constitute the sole flow-conducting members of the apparatus. The issue is whether Cai discloses an integrated water passage arrangement including separate inlet and return flow passages. Figure 4 and paragraph [0060] of Cai show that water inlet pipeline (92) passes through water inlet channel (404) to convey water from water tank (90) and pump (98) to the humidifying assembly.
Applicant argues that Cai fails to discloses the claimed sealing connections. However, Figure 4 disclose a closed-loop water circulation system in which water is pumped from water tank (90) through inlet pipeline (92), through water inlet channel (404), and into the humidifying assembly. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the disclosed fluid pathway necessarily requires fluid-tight interfaces between the connected water-conveying components in order to transport water to the humidifying assembly without leakage. Accordingly, the connection between the water-conveying components reads on the claimed “sealingly connected” limitation under BRI of the claim language.
Applicant further argues that Cai fails to disclose an upper end of the return water channel being directly connected to the drainage port. However, Cai discloses drain outlet (404) located at the lower portion of the barrel body (41), where water flowing downward from the humidifying medium passes through the drain outlet and into drain pipeline (94) for return to water tank (90). The drain outlet and associated return flow passage form a continuous return-water pathway from the humidifying assembly to the water tank. Claim 1 does not require the absence of every intermediate structural feature between the drainage port and the return-water channel, but require fluid communication between those components. Therefore, Cai disclosed return flow arrangement teaches the claimed direct connection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.N.E./
Examiner, Art Unit 1776
/Jennifer Dieterle/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1776