DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-11 are pending. Claims 10-11 are new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 8/7/26, have been fully considered but are not persuasive, except where noted below.
Applicant’s comments regarding the Abstract (page 8) are noted and the objection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments regarding deficiencies in the combination of Hegedus and Han (page 11) are moot in view of the newly cited reference, Miller.
For at least these reasons, the rejection of the claims is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hegedus et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 20040139985 (hereinafter Hegedus) in view of Han et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 20220397515 (hereinafter Han) and further in view of Miller et al. U.S. Patent No. 6136719 (hereinafter Miller).
Regarding claim 1, Hegedus teaches a substrate processing apparatus [0033-0044, Figs. 1-5 — the single-wafer (substrate) cleaning device 102… a wafer 316], comprising:
a substrate holder that holds a substrate [0033-0044, Figs. 1-5 — wafer holder 330];
a processing liquid supply that supplies a processing liquid to the substrate [0030-0044, Figs. 1-5 — fluid dispenser 314 to dispense a cleaning fluid onto the wafer 316];
a component abundance meter that measures abundance of a specific component of an object to be removed on the substrate [0023, Fig. 2 — rate monitor 104 includes an optical measuring device 206 ("measurement device") to optically monitor characteristics of the wafer, such as making optical measurements that relate to a thickness (abundance of a specific component) of a thin film (object to be removed), or other material, on a wafer (substrate) inside of the single-wafer cleaning device 102; 0028-0032, Fig. 3 — rate monitor 300 may include an in situ ellipsometer 306 inside of one embodiment of the single-wafer cleaning device 102 connected to the process controller 208.; 0030-0044, Figs. 4-5 — cleaning device 102 includes an in situ ellipsometer 306 having a transmitter 310 with a laser 490 (e.g., a 632.8 nm helium/neon laser) to generate a laser light beam ("light beam") and a polarizer 491 to provide polarization of a light beam. The angle of the polarizer 491 can be varied to provide linearly polarized light, elliptically polarized light, or circularly polarized light. Cf. paragraph 0099 of the Instant Application/PGPub]; and
a controller that controls the substrate holder, the processing liquid supply, and the component abundance meter [0022-0024, Fig. 2 — rate monitor 102 may include hardware and/or software, or be interconnected with devices that contain hardware and/or software (e.g., a computer), to assist in controlling components of the single-wafer cleaning device 102… the process controller 208 may include a signal processor 210 to receive optical measurement signals from the optical measuring device 206 and convert the optical measurement signals into machine-readable data or "optical measurement data."; 0030-0031, Fig. 3 — fluid flow controller 322 is connected to the valve 321 to open and close the valve 321 to produce a required fluid flow. The fluid flow controller 322 may also be connected to the process controller 208… rotation controller 334 may be attached to the motor to control the motor 332 to produce variable rotation of the wafer holder 330. The rotation controller 334 may also be connected to the process controller 208; 0057, Fig. 6 — a computer system 600 that may be utilized in conjunction with embodiments of the invention… computer system 600 may represent an example of the computers 212 or 350 described in conjunction with FIGS. 2 and 3 above], wherein the controller is configured to:
acquire a temporal change in the abundance of the specific component of the object to be removed based on the abundance of the specific component of the object to be removed on the substrate measured through the component abundance meter while the processing liquid supply is supplying the processing liquid to the substrate [0019 — The rate monitor may include an optical measuring device, such as an ellipsometer, to make optical measurements that relate to a thickness of a thin film on the wafer…the optical measurements are made in real time, or as the wet process is occurring, and the optical measurements may be utilized to determine an etch rate and to predict an endpoint of the wet cleaning process based on the etch rate; 0022-0025 — rate monitor 104 is to monitor changes to at least a portion of the wafer, such to a thin film that overlies a wafer, as the wet cleaning process is being performed. The changes to the wafer are monitored to predict an endpoint in time when the wafer cleaning process will terminate, or transition from one phase to another….The term "endpoint" herein represents a point in time at which a phase of the wet cleaning process would end. However, a wet cleaning etch may require many endpoints depending on how many phases of the cleaning etch process needed to be performed, and the computer 212 may predict endpoints relating to any phase of the cleaning etch process… Another endpoint may represent a point in time that a thin film layer will be etched only to a pre-determined thickness. Other endpoints, however, may only represent the transition (or switch) from one fluid to another, according to the flow of the cleaning process]; and
change, based on output information, a substrate processing condition for processing a specific substrate, the specific substrate being the substrate or another substrate to be processed after the substrate [0022-0025 — rate monitor 104 is to monitor changes to at least a portion of the wafer, such to a thin film that overlies a wafer, as the wet cleaning process is being performed. The changes to the wafer are monitored to predict an endpoint in time when the wafer cleaning process will terminate, or transition from one phase to another….The term "endpoint" herein represents a point in time at which a phase of the wet cleaning process would end. However, a wet cleaning etch may require many endpoints depending on how many phases of the cleaning etch process needed to be performed, and the computer 212 may predict endpoints relating to any phase of the cleaning etch process… Another endpoint may represent a point in time that a thin film layer will be etched only to a pre-determined thickness. Other endpoints, however, may only represent the transition (or switch) from one fluid to another (change a substrate processing condition), according to the flow of the cleaning process; 0054 — Once the endpoint is determined, the endpoint can be utilized to control timing of the wet cleaning etch. For example, if the wet etch is divided into different phases, the endpoint will represent a point in time that a phase of the cleaning etch will end, (e.g., the end of the first etching phase). During the first phase, the liquid layer 520 may comprise a etch chemical to etch the thin film layer 510 to a certain thickness. Once etched, a second phase may need to be performed, such as performing a rinse… These "switching" actions may require time to perform, of which the process controller 208 is aware. Thus, if an endpoint is predicted for the first phase, the process controller 208 can produce control signals that will begin the switching actions for the second phase before the first phase finishes, thus causing the entire process to flow more efficiently.].
But Hegedus fails to clearly specify an abundance of a specific component contained in an object to be removed on the substrate, the output information being acquired by entering input information into a trained model, the input information including a temporal change in the abundance of the specific component contained in the object to be removed acquired by the controller, the trained model being built through machine learning from learning data that contains a processing condition and processing results for a substrate to be learned, the processing condition and the processing results being associated with each other.
However, Han teaches the output information being acquired by entering input information into a trained model, the input information being on a temporal change in the abundance of the specific component acquired by the controller, the trained model being built through machine learning from learning data that contains a processing condition and processing results for a substrate to be learned, the processing condition and the processing results being associated with each other [0072-0085, Fig. 4 — a method 400 for training a machine learning model… . At block 412, process logic obtains spectral data associated with a substrate processed at a process chamber of a manufacturing system. In some embodiments, the spectral data can be received from one or more sensors disposed within or coupled to the process chamber… At block 414, process logic obtains metrology data for the substrate. As described previously, metrology data can include a value of one or more of film property data (e.g., wafer spatial film properties), dimensions (e.g., thickness, height, etc.), dielectric constant, dopant concentration, density, defects, etc…. At block 420, process logic generates an input/output mapping. The input/output mapping refers to the training input that includes or is based on data for the substrate, and the target output for the training input, where the target output identifies a metrology measurement value for the substrate, and where the training input is associated with (or mapped to) the target output… At block 426, process logic provides the training set T to train the machine learning model; 0087, Fig. 7 — spectral data can correspond to an amplitude of a light wave having a particular wavelength of a light signal, as detected by sensors or endpoint detection equipment disposed within or coupled to a process chamber during respective time periods of a substrate process. For example, spectral data can correspond to an amplitude of wavelengths X, Y, and Z as detected by endpoint detection equipment 124 during initial (e.g., at time 0 seconds), intermediate (e.g., at time 1 seconds to time N−1 seconds) and final (e.g., at time N seconds) time periods of an etch process for a substrate; 0034, Fig. 1 — endpoint detection equipment 124 can include an optical fiber bundle and a collimator assembly that are configured to direct incident light from a light source to a surface of a substrate and transmit reflected light from the substrate surface to a light detection component. A processing device (e.g., a system controller for the process tool) coupled to endpoint detection equipment 124 can generate the spectral data for the substrate profile based on the reflected light transmitted to the light detection component].
Hegedus and Han are analogous art. They relate to semiconductor substrate processing systems.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above substrate processing apparatus, as taught by Hegedus, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Han.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to improve the accuracy of processing the substrate, preventing over or under processing, as taught by Han [0027], e.g. improving the determination of when to change the substrate processing condition.
But the combination of Hegedus and Han fails to clearly specify a specific component contained in an object to be removed on the substrate.
However, Miller teaches a specific component contained in an object to be removed on the substrate [col. 4 lines 29-67, col. 7 line 39 – col. 8 line 19 — light source unit 66 is configured to produce infrared light at an intensity level which facilitates endpoint detection of the semiconductor wafer 10 during etching thereof. In particular, the light source unit 66 produces infrared light which passes through the resist layer 16 layered on semiconductor wafer 10. The intensity level of the infrared light is attenuated or otherwise reduced as the light passes through the semiconductor wafer 10. It should be understood that the infrared light is particularly attenuated as it passes through the resist layer 16 since an amount of the infrared light is absorbed by the electromagnetic radiation absorbing compound 312 present in the resist layer 16 (specific component contained in an object to be removed on the substrate). It should also be understood that the attenuated infrared light has the same wavelength as the infrared light being emitted from light source unit 66. For example, if light source 66 is emitting an electromagnetic signal having a wavelength of about 760 nm (i.e. infrared light) then the attenuated light which passes through semiconductor wafer 10 will also have a wavelength of about 760 nm. The degree or magnitude of such attenuation of the intensity level of the infrared light is dependent on how much of the infrared light is absorbed by the electromagnetic radiation absorbing compound 312 present in the resist layer 16. Therefore, as the thickness of the resist layer 16 decreases due to etching thereof, the amount of radiation absorbing compound 312 present on the semiconductor wafer 10 also decreases. Therefore, the degree of attenuation or reduction of the intensity level of the infrared light likewise decreases. Hence, the intensity level of infrared light which has passed through an etched semiconductor wafer 10 is greater relative to the intensity level of infrared light which has passed through an unetched semiconductor wafer 10; col. 1 — portions of the resist are then removed by etching (developing) the resist with a wet chemical etchant or by utilizing a dry etching process, e.g., plasma etching or reactive ion etching. The resulting pattern defined in the resist is then transferred into the underlying substrate by, for example, etching or metallizing the substrate through the patterned resist].
Hegedus, Han and Miller are analogous art. They relate to etching systems, particularly for semiconductor substrate processing systems.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above substrate processing apparatus, as taught by the combination of Hegedus and Han, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Miller.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to avoid potential disadvantages of optical interferometric techniques, as suggested by Miller [col. 1 line 56 – col. 2 line 67].
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Hegedus, Han and Miller teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Hegedus teaches the component abundance meter measures the abundance of the specific component of the object to be removed on the substrate using light [0030-0044, Figs. 4-5 — cleaning device 102 includes an in situ ellipsometer 306 having a transmitter 310 with a laser 490 (e.g., a 632.8 nm helium/neon laser) to generate a laser light beam ("light beam") and a polarizer 491 to provide polarization of a light beam. The angle of the polarizer 491 can be varied to provide linearly polarized light, elliptically polarized light, or circularly polarized light].
Further, Han teaches infrared light [0076 — “light” refers to electromagnetic radiation of any spectral range, including visible, far and near infrared (IR), far and near ultraviolet (UV), and so forth.].
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to simply substitute known infrared light, as taught by Han, for the known light, as taught by Hegedus, for the predictable result of a substrate processing apparatus utilizing infrared light.
Further, Miller teaches the specific component contained in the object to be removed [col. 4 lines 29-67, col. 7 line 39 – col. 8 line 19 — light source unit 66 is configured to produce infrared light at an intensity level which facilitates endpoint detection of the semiconductor wafer 10 during etching thereof. In particular, the light source unit 66 produces infrared light which passes through the resist layer 16 layered on semiconductor wafer 10. The intensity level of the infrared light is attenuated or otherwise reduced as the light passes through the semiconductor wafer 10. It should be understood that the infrared light is particularly attenuated as it passes through the resist layer 16 since an amount of the infrared light is absorbed by the electromagnetic radiation absorbing compound 312 present in the resist layer 16 (specific component contained in an object to be removed on the substrate). It should also be understood that the attenuated infrared light has the same wavelength as the infrared light being emitted from light source unit 66. For example, if light source 66 is emitting an electromagnetic signal having a wavelength of about 760 nm (i.e. infrared light) then the attenuated light which passes through semiconductor wafer 10 will also have a wavelength of about 760 nm. The degree or magnitude of such attenuation of the intensity level of the infrared light is dependent on how much of the infrared light is absorbed by the electromagnetic radiation absorbing compound 312 present in the resist layer 16. Therefore, as the thickness of the resist layer 16 decreases due to etching thereof, the amount of radiation absorbing compound 312 present on the semiconductor wafer 10 also decreases. Therefore, the degree of attenuation or reduction of the intensity level of the infrared light likewise decreases. Hence, the intensity level of infrared light which has passed through an etched semiconductor wafer 10 is greater relative to the intensity level of infrared light which has passed through an unetched semiconductor wafer 10].
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Hegedus, Han and Miller teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Hegedus teaches the controller is further configured to predict a temporal change in the abundance of the specific component of the substrate based on measurement results of the abundance of the specific component to be removed on the substrate by the component abundance meter while the processing liquid supply is supplying the processing liquid to the substrate, and the controller changes the substrate processing condition for processing the specific substrate based on the temporal change in the abundance of the specific component predicted by the controller [0022-0025 — rate monitor 104 is to monitor changes to at least a portion of the wafer, such to a thin film that overlies a wafer, as the wet cleaning process is being performed. The changes to the wafer are monitored to predict an endpoint in time when the wafer cleaning process will terminate, or transition from one phase to another….The term "endpoint" herein represents a point in time at which a phase of the wet cleaning process would end. However, a wet cleaning etch may require many endpoints depending on how many phases of the cleaning etch process needed to be performed, and the computer 212 may predict endpoints relating to any phase of the cleaning etch process… Another endpoint may represent a point in time that a thin film layer will be etched only to a pre-determined thickness. Other endpoints, however, may only represent the transition (or switch) from one fluid to another (change a substrate processing condition), according to the flow of the cleaning process; 0054 — Once the endpoint is determined, the endpoint can be utilized to control timing of the wet cleaning etch. For example, if the wet etch is divided into different phases, the endpoint will represent a point in time that a phase of the cleaning etch will end, (e.g., the end of the first etching phase). During the first phase, the liquid layer 520 may comprise a etch chemical to etch the thin film layer 510 to a certain thickness. Once etched, a second phase may need to be performed, such as performing a rinse… These "switching" actions may require time to perform, of which the process controller 208 is aware. Thus, if an endpoint is predicted for the first phase, the process controller 208 can produce control signals that will begin the switching actions for the second phase before the first phase finishes, thus causing the entire process to flow more efficiently; 0022-0024, Fig. 2 — rate monitor 102 may include hardware and/or software, or be interconnected with devices that contain hardware and/or software (e.g., a computer), to assist in controlling components of the single-wafer cleaning device 102… the process controller 208 may include a signal processor 210 to receive optical measurement signals from the optical measuring device 206 and convert the optical measurement signals into machine-readable data or "optical measurement data."; 0030-0031, Fig. 3 — fluid flow controller 322 is connected to the valve 321 to open and close the valve 321 to produce a required fluid flow. The fluid flow controller 322 may also be connected to the process controller 208… rotation controller 334 may be attached to the motor to control the motor 332 to produce variable rotation of the wafer holder 330. The rotation controller 334 may also be connected to the process controller 208; 0057, Fig. 6 — a computer system 600 that may be utilized in conjunction with embodiments of the invention… computer system 600 may represent an example of the computers 212 or 350 described in conjunction with FIGS. 2 and 3 above].
Further, Miller teaches the specific component contained in the object to be removed [col. 4 lines 29-67, col. 7 line 39 – col. 8 line 19 — light source unit 66 is configured to produce infrared light at an intensity level which facilitates endpoint detection of the semiconductor wafer 10 during etching thereof. In particular, the light source unit 66 produces infrared light which passes through the resist layer 16 layered on semiconductor wafer 10. The intensity level of the infrared light is attenuated or otherwise reduced as the light passes through the semiconductor wafer 10. It should be understood that the infrared light is particularly attenuated as it passes through the resist layer 16 since an amount of the infrared light is absorbed by the electromagnetic radiation absorbing compound 312 present in the resist layer 16 (specific component contained in an object to be removed on the substrate). It should also be understood that the attenuated infrared light has the same wavelength as the infrared light being emitted from light source unit 66. For example, if light source 66 is emitting an electromagnetic signal having a wavelength of about 760 nm (i.e. infrared light) then the attenuated light which passes through semiconductor wafer 10 will also have a wavelength of about 760 nm. The degree or magnitude of such attenuation of the intensity level of the infrared light is dependent on how much of the infrared light is absorbed by the electromagnetic radiation absorbing compound 312 present in the resist layer 16. Therefore, as the thickness of the resist layer 16 decreases due to etching thereof, the amount of radiation absorbing compound 312 present on the semiconductor wafer 10 also decreases. Therefore, the degree of attenuation or reduction of the intensity level of the infrared light likewise decreases. Hence, the intensity level of infrared light which has passed through an etched semiconductor wafer 10 is greater relative to the intensity level of infrared light which has passed through an unetched semiconductor wafer 10].
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Hegedus, Han and Miller teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Hegedus teaches the controller changes, based on the temporal change in the abundance of the specific component acquired by the controller [0022-0025 — rate monitor 104 is to monitor changes to at least a portion of the wafer, such to a thin film that overlies a wafer, as the wet cleaning process is being performed. The changes to the wafer are monitored to predict an endpoint in time when the wafer cleaning process will terminate, or transition from one phase to another….The term "endpoint" herein represents a point in time at which a phase of the wet cleaning process would end. However, a wet cleaning etch may require many endpoints depending on how many phases of the cleaning etch process needed to be performed, and the computer 212 may predict endpoints relating to any phase of the cleaning etch process… Another endpoint may represent a point in time that a thin film layer will be etched only to a pre-determined thickness. Other endpoints, however, may only represent the transition (or switch) from one fluid to another (change a substrate processing condition), according to the flow of the cleaning process; 0054 — Once the endpoint is determined, the endpoint can be utilized to control timing of the wet cleaning etch. For example, if the wet etch is divided into different phases, the endpoint will represent a point in time that a phase of the cleaning etch will end, (e.g., the end of the first etching phase). During the first phase, the liquid layer 520 may comprise a etch chemical to etch the thin film layer 510 to a certain thickness. Once etched, a second phase may need to be performed, such as performing a rinse… These "switching" actions may require time to perform, of which the process controller 208 is aware. Thus, if an endpoint is predicted for the first phase, the process controller 208 can produce control signals that will begin the switching actions for the second phase before the first phase finishes, thus causing the entire process to flow more efficiently],
at least one substrate processing condition selected from the group consisting of a flow rate of the processing liquid for processing the specific substrate, a concentration of the processing liquid for processing the specific substrate, a temperature of the processing liquid for processing the specific substrate, a substrate rotation speed at which the specific substrate is rotated by the substrate holder, and a processing liquid supply period during which the processing liquid is supplied [0022-0025 — Other endpoints, however, may only represent the transition (or switch) from one fluid to another (change a substrate processing condition), according to the flow of the cleaning process; 0038 — nozzle 451 can apply the fluids 423, 424, 425, and 427 at a flow rate to maintain a coating of the fluids 423, 424, 425, and 427 on the wafer topside 416 surface — Note that changing fluids implies changing flow rates of each fluid.].
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Hegedus, Han and Miller teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Hegedus teaches the controller changes the substrate processing condition under which the substrate to which the processing liquid supply supplies the processing liquid is processed [0022-0025 — rate monitor 104 is to monitor changes to at least a portion of the wafer, such to a thin film that overlies a wafer, as the wet cleaning process is being performed. The changes to the wafer are monitored to predict an endpoint in time when the wafer cleaning process will terminate, or transition from one phase to another….The term "endpoint" herein represents a point in time at which a phase of the wet cleaning process would end. However, a wet cleaning etch may require many endpoints depending on how many phases of the cleaning etch process needed to be performed, and the computer 212 may predict endpoints relating to any phase of the cleaning etch process… Another endpoint may represent a point in time that a thin film layer will be etched only to a pre-determined thickness. Other endpoints, however, may only represent the transition (or switch) from one fluid to another (change a substrate processing condition), according to the flow of the cleaning process; 0054 — Once the endpoint is determined, the endpoint can be utilized to control timing of the wet cleaning etch. For example, if the wet etch is divided into different phases, the endpoint will represent a point in time that a phase of the cleaning etch will end, (e.g., the end of the first etching phase). During the first phase, the liquid layer 520 may comprise a etch chemical to etch the thin film layer 510 to a certain thickness. Once etched, a second phase may need to be performed, such as performing a rinse… These "switching" actions may require time to perform, of which the process controller 208 is aware. Thus, if an endpoint is predicted for the first phase, the process controller 208 can produce control signals that will begin the switching actions for the second phase before the first phase finishes, thus causing the entire process to flow more efficiently].
Regarding claim 9, Hegedus teaches a substrate processing method [0046 — a method of monitoring and controlling a wet etch within a cleaning process], comprising:
measuring abundance of a specific component of an object to be removed on a substrate while the substrate is supplied with a processing liquid [0023, Fig. 2 — rate monitor 104 includes an optical measuring device 206 ("measurement device") to optically monitor characteristics of the wafer, such as making optical measurements that relate to a thickness (abundance of a specific component) of a thin film (object to be removed), or other material, on a wafer (substrate) inside of the single-wafer cleaning device 102; 0028-0032, Fig. 3 — rate monitor 300 may include an in situ ellipsometer 306 inside of one embodiment of the single-wafer cleaning device 102 connected to the process controller 208.; 0030-0044, Figs. 4-5 — cleaning device 102 includes an in situ ellipsometer 306 having a transmitter 310 with a laser 490 (e.g., a 632.8 nm helium/neon laser) to generate a laser light beam ("light beam") and a polarizer 491 to provide polarization of a light beam. The angle of the polarizer 491 can be varied to provide linearly polarized light, elliptically polarized light, or circularly polarized light. Cf. paragraph 0099 of the Instant Application/PGPub; 0030-0044, Figs. 1-5 — fluid dispenser 314 to dispense a cleaning fluid onto the wafer 316];
acquiring a temporal change in the abundance of the specific component of the object to be removed on the substrate based on the abundance of the specific component of the object to be removed on the substrate measured in the measuring while the processing liquid is being supplied to the substrate [0019 — The rate monitor may include an optical measuring device, such as an ellipsometer, to make optical measurements that relate to a thickness of a thin film on the wafer…the optical measurements are made in real time, or as the wet process is occurring, and the optical measurements may be utilized to determine an etch rate and to predict an endpoint of the wet cleaning process based on the etch rate; 0022-0025 — rate monitor 104 is to monitor changes to at least a portion of the wafer, such to a thin film that overlies a wafer, as the wet cleaning process is being performed. The changes to the wafer are monitored to predict an endpoint in time when the wafer cleaning process will terminate, or transition from one phase to another….The term "endpoint" herein represents a point in time at which a phase of the wet cleaning process would end. However, a wet cleaning etch may require many endpoints depending on how many phases of the cleaning etch process needed to be performed, and the computer 212 may predict endpoints relating to any phase of the cleaning etch process… Another endpoint may represent a point in time that a thin film layer will be etched only to a pre-determined thickness. Other endpoints, however, may only represent the transition (or switch) from one fluid to another, according to the flow of the cleaning process]; and
changing, based on output information, a substrate processing condition for processing a specific substrate, the specific substrate being the substrate or another substrate to be processed after the substrate [0022-0025 — rate monitor 104 is to monitor changes to at least a portion of the wafer, such to a thin film that overlies a wafer, as the wet cleaning process is being performed. The changes to the wafer are monitored to predict an endpoint in time when the wafer cleaning process will terminate, or transition from one phase to another….The term "endpoint" herein represents a point in time at which a phase of the wet cleaning process would end. However, a wet cleaning etch may require many endpoints depending on how many phases of the cleaning etch process needed to be performed, and the computer 212 may predict endpoints relating to any phase of the cleaning etch process… Another endpoint may represent a point in time that a thin film layer will be etched only to a pre-determined thickness. Other endpoints, however, may only represent the transition (or switch) from one fluid to another (change a substrate processing condition), according to the flow of the cleaning process; 0054 — Once the endpoint is determined, the endpoint can be utilized to control timing of the wet cleaning etch. For example, if the wet etch is divided into different phases, the endpoint will represent a point in time that a phase of the cleaning etch will end, (e.g., the end of the first etching phase). During the first phase, the liquid layer 520 may comprise a etch chemical to etch the thin film layer 510 to a certain thickness. Once etched, a second phase may need to be performed, such as performing a rinse… These "switching" actions may require time to perform, of which the process controller 208 is aware. Thus, if an endpoint is predicted for the first phase, the process controller 208 can produce control signals that will begin the switching actions for the second phase before the first phase finishes, thus causing the entire process to flow more efficiently].
But Hegedus fails to clearly specify an abundance of a specific component contained in an object to be removed on the substrate the output information being acquired by entering input information into a trained model, the input information being on a temporal change in the abundance of the specific component contained in the object to be removed acquired in the acquiring, the trained model being built through machine learning from learning data that contains a processing condition and processing results for a substrate to be learned, the processing condition and the processing results being associated with each other.
However, Han teaches the output information being acquired by entering input information into a trained model, the input information being on a temporal change in the abundance of the specific component of the object to be removed on the substrate acquired in the acquiring, the trained model being built through machine learning from learning data that contains a processing condition and processing results for a substrate to be learned, the processing condition and the processing results being associated with each other [0072-0085, Fig. 4 — a method 400 for training a machine learning model… . At block 412, process logic obtains spectral data associated with a substrate processed at a process chamber of a manufacturing system. In some embodiments, the spectral data can be received from one or more sensors disposed within or coupled to the process chamber… At block 414, process logic obtains metrology data for the substrate. As described previously, metrology data can include a value of one or more of film property data (e.g., wafer spatial film properties), dimensions (e.g., thickness, height, etc.), dielectric constant, dopant concentration, density, defects, etc…. At block 420, process logic generates an input/output mapping. The input/output mapping refers to the training input that includes or is based on data for the substrate, and the target output for the training input, where the target output identifies a metrology measurement value for the substrate, and where the training input is associated with (or mapped to) the target output… At block 426, process logic provides the training set T to train the machine learning model; 0087, Fig. 7 — spectral data can correspond to an amplitude of a light wave having a particular wavelength of a light signal, as detected by sensors or endpoint detection equipment disposed within or coupled to a process chamber during respective time periods of a substrate process. For example, spectral data can correspond to an amplitude of wavelengths X, Y, and Z as detected by endpoint detection equipment 124 during initial (e.g., at time 0 seconds), intermediate (e.g., at time 1 seconds to time N−1 seconds) and final (e.g., at time N seconds) time periods of an etch process for a substrate].
Hegedus and Han are analogous art. They relate to semiconductor substrate processing systems.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above substrate processing method, as taught by Hegedus, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Han.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to improve the accuracy of processing the substrate, preventing over or under processing, as taught by Han [0027], e.g. improving the determination of when to change the substrate processing condition.
But the combination of Hegedus and Han fails to clearly specify a specific component contained in an object to be removed on the substrate.
However, Miller teaches a specific component contained in an object to be removed on the substrate [col. 4 lines 29-67, col. 7 line 39 – col. 8 line 19 — light source unit 66 is configured to produce infrared light at an intensity level which facilitates endpoint detection of the semiconductor wafer 10 during etching thereof. In particular, the light source unit 66 produces infrared light which passes through the resist layer 16 layered on semiconductor wafer 10. The intensity level of the infrared light is attenuated or otherwise reduced as the light passes through the semiconductor wafer 10. It should be understood that the infrared light is particularly attenuated as it passes through the resist layer 16 since an amount of the infrared light is absorbed by the electromagnetic radiation absorbing compound 312 present in the resist layer 16 (specific component contained in an object to be removed on the substrate). It should also be understood that the attenuated infrared light has the same wavelength as the infrared light being emitted from light source unit 66. For example, if light source 66 is emitting an electromagnetic signal having a wavelength of about 760 nm (i.e. infrared light) then the attenuated light which passes through semiconductor wafer 10 will also have a wavelength of about 760 nm. The degree or magnitude of such attenuation of the intensity level of the infrared light is dependent on how much of the infrared light is absorbed by the electromagnetic radiation absorbing compound 312 present in the resist layer 16. Therefore, as the thickness of the resist layer 16 decreases due to etching thereof, the amount of radiation absorbing compound 312 present on the semiconductor wafer 10 also decreases. Therefore, the degree of attenuation or reduction of the intensity level of the infrared light likewise decreases. Hence, the intensity level of infrared light which has passed through an etched semiconductor wafer 10 is greater relative to the intensity level of infrared light which has passed through an unetched semiconductor wafer 10; col. 1 — portions of the resist are then removed by etching (developing) the resist with a wet chemical etchant or by utilizing a dry etching process, e.g., plasma etching or reactive ion etching. The resulting pattern defined in the resist is then transferred into the underlying substrate by, for example, etching or metallizing the substrate through the patterned resist].
Hegedus, Han and Miller are analogous art. They relate to etching systems, particularly for semiconductor substrate processing systems.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above substrate processing method, as taught by the combination of Hegedus and Han, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Miller.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to avoid potential disadvantages of optical interferometric techniques, as suggested by Miller [col. 1 line 56 – col. 2 line 67].
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Hegedus, Han and Miller teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, the Hegedus teaches the output information includes at least one of: substrate processing condition change information indicating a change in the substrate processing condition for processing the specific substrate; and temporal-change prediction information indicating a prediction result of a temporal change in the abundance of the specific component of the object to be removed on the substrate [0022-0025 — rate monitor 104 is to monitor changes to at least a portion of the wafer, such to a thin film that overlies a wafer, as the wet cleaning process is being performed. The changes to the wafer are monitored to predict an endpoint in time when the wafer cleaning process will terminate, or transition from one phase to another….The term "endpoint" herein represents a point in time at which a phase of the wet cleaning process would end. However, a wet cleaning etch may require many endpoints depending on how many phases of the cleaning etch process needed to be performed, and the computer 212 may predict endpoints relating to any phase of the cleaning etch process… Another endpoint may represent a point in time that a thin film layer will be etched only to a pre-determined thickness. Other endpoints, however, may only represent the transition (or switch) from one fluid to another (change a substrate processing condition), according to the flow of the cleaning process; 0054 — Once the endpoint is determined, the endpoint can be utilized to control timing of the wet cleaning etch. For example, if the wet etch is divided into different phases, the endpoint will represent a point in time that a phase of the cleaning etch will end, (e.g., the end of the first etching phase). During the first phase, the liquid layer 520 may comprise a etch chemical to etch the thin film layer 510 to a certain thickness. Once etched, a second phase may need to be performed, such as performing a rinse… These "switching" actions may require time to perform, of which the process controller 208 is aware. Thus, if an endpoint is predicted for the first phase, the process controller 208 can produce control signals that will begin the switching actions for the second phase before the first phase finishes, thus causing the entire process to flow more efficiently.].
Further, Miller teaches a specific component contained in an object to be removed on the substrate [col. 4 lines 29-67, col. 7 line 39 – col. 8 line 19 — light source unit 66 is configured to produce infrared light at an intensity level which facilitates endpoint detection of the semiconductor wafer 10 during etching thereof. In particular, the light source unit 66 produces infrared light which passes through the resist layer 16 layered on semiconductor wafer 10. The intensity level of the infrared light is attenuated or otherwise reduced as the light passes through the semiconductor wafer 10. It should be understood that the infrared light is particularly attenuated as it passes through the resist layer 16 since an amount of the infrared light is absorbed by the electromagnetic radiation absorbing compound 312 present in the resist layer 16 (specific component contained in an object to be removed on the substrate). It should also be understood that the attenuated infrared light has the same wavelength as the infrared light being emitted from light source unit 66. For example, if light source 66 is emitting an electromagnetic signal having a wavelength of about 760 nm (i.e. infrared light) then the attenuated light which passes through semiconductor wafer 10 will also have a wavelength of about 760 nm. The degree or magnitude of such attenuation of the intensity level of the infrared light is dependent on how much of the infrared light is absorbed by the electromagnetic radiation absorbing compound 312 present in the resist layer 16. Therefore, as the thickness of the resist layer 16 decreases due to etching thereof, the amount of radiation absorbing compound 312 present on the semiconductor wafer 10 also decreases. Therefore, the degree of attenuation or reduction of the intensity level of the infrared light likewise decreases. Hence, the intensity level of infrared light which has passed through an etched semiconductor wafer 10 is greater relative to the intensity level of infrared light which has passed through an unetched semiconductor wafer 10; col. 1 — portions of the resist are then removed by etching (developing) the resist with a wet chemical etchant or by utilizing a dry etching process, e.g., plasma etching or reactive ion etching. The resulting pattern defined in the resist is then transferred into the underlying substrate by, for example, etching or metallizing the substrate through the patterned resist].
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Hegedus, Han and Miller teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, the Hegedus teaches the output information includes at least one of: substrate processing condition change information indicating a change in the substrate processing condition for processing the specific substrate; and temporal-change prediction information indicating a prediction result of a temporal change in the abundance of the specific component of the object to be removed on the substrate [0022-0025 — rate monitor 104 is to monitor changes to at least a portion of the wafer, such to a thin film that overlies a wafer, as the wet cleaning process is being performed. The changes to the wafer are monitored to predict an endpoint in time when the wafer cleaning process will terminate, or transition from one phase to another….The term "endpoint" herein represents a point in time at which a phase of the wet cleaning process would end. However, a wet cleaning etch may require many endpoints depending on how many phases of the cleaning etch process needed to be performed, and the computer 212 may predict endpoints relating to any phase of the cleaning etch process… Another endpoint may represent a point in time that a thin film layer will be etched only to a pre-determined thickness. Other endpoints, however, may only represent the transition (or switch) from one fluid to another (change a substrate processing condition), according to the flow of the cleaning process; 0054 — Once the endpoint is determined, the endpoint can be utilized to control timing of the wet cleaning etch. For example, if the wet etch is divided into different phases, the endpoint will represent a point in time that a phase of the cleaning etch will end, (e.g., the end of the first etching phase). During the first phase, the liquid layer 520 may comprise a etch chemical to etch the thin film layer 510 to a certain thickness. Once etched, a second phase may need to be performed, such as performing a rinse… These "switching" actions may require time to perform, of which the process controller 208 is aware. Thus, if an endpoint is predicted for the first phase, the process controller 208 can produce control signals that will begin the switching actions for the second phase before the first phase finishes, thus causing the entire process to flow more efficiently.].
Further, Miller teaches a specific component contained in an object to be removed on the substrate [col. 4 lines 29-67, col. 7 line 39 – col. 8 line 19 — light source unit 66 is configured to produce infrared light at an intensity level which facilitates endpoint detection of the semiconductor wafer 10 during etching thereof. In particular, the light source unit 66 produces infrared light which passes through the resist layer 16 layered on semiconductor wafer 10. The intensity level of the infrared light is attenuated or otherwise reduced as the light passes through the semiconductor wafer 10. It should be understood that the infrared light is particularly attenuated as it passes through the resist layer 16 since an amount of the infrared light is absorbed by the electromagnetic radiation absorbing compound 312 present in the resist layer 16 (specific component contained in an object to be removed on the substrate). It should also be understood that the attenuated infrared light has the same wavelength as the infrared light being emitted from light source unit 66. For example, if light source 66 is emitting an electromagnetic signal having a wavelength of about 760 nm (i.e. infrared light) then the attenuated light which passes through semiconductor wafer 10 will also have a wavelength of about 760 nm. The degree or magnitude of such attenuation of the intensity level of the infrared light is dependent on how much of the infrared light is absorbed by the electromagnetic radiation absorbing compound 312 present in the resist layer 16. Therefore, as the thickness of the resist layer 16 decreases due to etching thereof, the amount of radiation absorbing compound 312 present on the semiconductor wafer 10 also decreases. Therefore, the degree of attenuation or reduction of the intensity level of the infrared light likewise decreases. Hence, the intensity level of infrared light which has passed through an etched semiconductor wafer 10 is greater relative to the intensity level of infrared light which has passed through an unetched semiconductor wafer 10; col. 1 — portions of the resist are then removed by etching (developing) the resist with a wet chemical etchant or by utilizing a dry etching process, e.g., plasma etching or reactive ion etching. The resulting pattern defined in the resist is then transferred into the underlying substrate by, for example, etching or metallizing the substrate through the patterned resist].
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Hegedus, Han and Miller in view of Weber U.S. Patent Publication No. 20190047906 (hereinafter Weber).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Hegedus, Han and Miller teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Hegedus teaches the controller changes a processing liquid condition based on the temporal change in the abundance of the specific component acquired by the controller [0022-0025 — rate monitor 104 is to monitor changes to at least a portion of the wafer, such to a thin film that overlies a wafer, as the wet cleaning process is being performed. The changes to the wafer are monitored to predict an endpoint in time when the wafer cleaning process will terminate, or transition from one phase to another….The term "endpoint" herein represents a point in time at which a phase of the wet cleaning process would end. However, a wet cleaning etch may require many endpoints depending on how many phases of the cleaning etch process needed to be performed, and the computer 212 may predict endpoints relating to any phase of the cleaning etch process… Another endpoint may represent a point in time that a thin film layer will be etched only to a pre-determined thickness. Other endpoints, however, may only represent the transition (or switch) from one fluid to another (change a substrate processing condition), according to the flow of the cleaning process; 0054 — Once the endpoint is determined, the endpoint can be utilized to control timing of the wet cleaning etch. For example, if the wet etch is divided into different phases, the endpoint will represent a point in time that a phase of the cleaning etch will end, (e.g., the end of the first etching phase). During the first phase, the liquid layer 520 may comprise a etch chemical to etch the thin film layer 510 to a certain thickness. Once etched, a second phase may need to be performed, such as performing a rinse… These "switching" actions may require time to perform, of which the process controller 208 is aware. Thus, if an endpoint is predicted for the first phase, the process controller 208 can produce control signals that will begin the switching actions for the second phase before the first phase finishes, thus causing the entire process to flow more efficiently.] and a processing liquid supply period being a period of time during which the processing liquid supply supplies the processing liquid [0022-0025 — rate monitor 104 is to monitor changes to at least a portion of the wafer, such to a thin film that overlies a wafer, as the wet cleaning process is being performed. The changes to the wafer are monitored to predict an endpoint in time when the wafer cleaning process will terminate, or transition from one phase to another….The term "endpoint" herein represents a point in time at which a phase of the wet cleaning process would end. However, a wet cleaning etch may require many endpoints depending on how many phases of the cleaning etch process needed to be performed, and the computer 212 may predict endpoints relating to any phase of the cleaning etch process… Another endpoint may represent a point in time that a thin film layer will be etched only to a pre-determined thickness. Other endpoints, however, may only represent the transition (or switch) from one fluid to another (change a substrate processing condition), according to the flow of the cleaning process; 0048 — The method may continue, as shown in FIG. 5C, with beginning a first phase of a cleaning etch by dispensing a liquid layer 520 over the thin film layer 510 at a constant flow rate to maintain a uniform liquid layer 520 thickness; 0054 — Once the endpoint is determined, the endpoint can be utilized to control timing of the wet cleaning etch. For example, if the wet etch is divided into different phases, the endpoint will represent a point in time that a phase of the cleaning etch will end, (e.g., the end of the first etching phase). During the first phase, the liquid layer 520 may comprise a etch chemical to etch the thin film layer 510 to a certain thickness. Once etched, a second phase may need to be performed, such as performing a rinse… These "switching" actions may require time to perform, of which the process controller 208 is aware. Thus, if an endpoint is predicted for the first phase, the process controller 208 can produce control signals that will begin the switching actions for the second phase before the first phase finishes, thus causing the entire process to flow more efficiently].
But the combination of Hegedus and Han fails to clearly specify changing a processing period based on the temporal change in the abundance of the specific component.
However, Weber teaches changing a processing period based on the temporal change in the abundance of the specific component [0110 — higher etch rates (temporal change) may lead to shorter processing time to remove the comparable amount of material, thus increasing process throughput and output].
Hegedus, Han, Miller and Weber are analogous art. They relate to etching systems; and Hegedus, Han and Miller relate to semiconductor substrate processing systems.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above substrate processing apparatus, as taught by the combination of Hegedus, Han and Miller, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Weber.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to increase process throughput and output, as suggested by Weber [0110].
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Hegedus, Han, Miller and Weber teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Han teaches the controller changes a processing liquid condition based on the temporal change in the abundance of the specific component acquired by the controller [0022-0025 — rate monitor 104 is to monitor changes to at least a portion of the wafer, such to a thin film that overlies a wafer, as the wet cleaning process is being performed. The changes to the wafer are monitored to predict an endpoint in time when the wafer cleaning process will terminate, or transition from one phase to another….The term "endpoint" herein represents a point in time at which a phase of the wet cleaning process would end. However, a wet cleaning etch may require many endpoints depending on how many phases of the cleaning etch process needed to be performed, and the computer 212 may predict endpoints relating to any phase of the cleaning etch process… Another endpoint may represent a point in time that a thin film layer will be etched only to a pre-determined thickness. Other endpoints, however, may only represent the transition (or switch) from one fluid to another (change a substrate processing condition), according to the flow of the cleaning process; 0054 — Once the endpoint is determined, the endpoint can be utilized to control timing of the wet cleaning etch. For example, if the wet etch is divided into different phases, the endpoint will represent a point in time that a phase of the cleaning etch will end, (e.g., the end of the first etching phase). During the first phase, the liquid layer 520 may comprise a etch chemical to etch the thin film layer 510 to a certain thickness. Once etched, a second phase may need to be performed, such as performing a rinse… These "switching" actions may require time to perform, of which the process controller 208 is aware. Thus, if an endpoint is predicted for the first phase, the process controller 208 can produce control signals that will begin the switching actions for the second phase before the first phase finishes, thus causing the entire process to flow more efficiently.] and a processing liquid supply period [0022-0025 — rate monitor 104 is to monitor changes to at least a portion of the wafer, such to a thin film that overlies a wafer, as the wet cleaning process is being performed. The changes to the wafer are monitored to predict an endpoint in time when the wafer cleaning process will terminate, or transition from one phase to another….The term "endpoint" herein represents a point in time at which a phase of the wet cleaning process would end. However, a wet cleaning etch may require many endpoints depending on how many phases of the cleaning etch process needed to be performed, and the computer 212 may predict endpoints relating to any phase of the cleaning etch process… Another endpoint may represent a point in time that a thin film layer will be etched only to a pre-determined thickness. Other endpoints, however, may only represent the transition (or switch) from one fluid to another (change a substrate processing condition), according to the flow of the cleaning process; 0048 — The method may continue, as shown in FIG. 5C, with beginning a first phase of a cleaning etch by dispensing a liquid layer 520 over the thin film layer 510 at a constant flow rate to maintain a uniform liquid layer 520 thickness; 0054 — Once the endpoint is determined, the endpoint can be utilized to control timing of the wet cleaning etch. For example, if the wet etch is divided into different phases, the endpoint will represent a point in time that a phase of the cleaning etch will end, (e.g., the end of the first etching phase). During the first phase, the liquid layer 520 may comprise a etch chemical to etch the thin film layer 510 to a certain thickness. Once etched, a second phase may need to be performed, such as performing a rinse… These "switching" actions may require time to perform, of which the process controller 208 is aware. Thus, if an endpoint is predicted for the first phase, the process controller 208 can produce control signals that will begin the switching actions for the second phase before the first phase finishes, thus causing the entire process to flow more efficiently].
Further, Weber teaches shortening the processing period based on the temporal change in the abundance of the specific component [0110 — higher etch rates (temporal change) may lead to shorter processing time to remove the comparable amount of material, thus increasing process throughput and output].
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above substrate processing apparatus, as taught by the combination of Hegedus, Han and Miller, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Weber.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to increase process throughput and output, as suggested by Weber [0110].
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Hegedus, Han and Miller in view of Kanno U.S. Patent Publication No. 20160225682 (hereinafter Kanno).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Hegedus, Han and Miller teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Hegedus teaches the controller changes the substrate processing condition, under which a substrate is processed, based on the temporal change in the abundance of the specific component acquired by the controller [0022-0025 — rate monitor 104 is to monitor changes to at least a portion of the wafer, such to a thin film that overlies a wafer, as the wet cleaning process is being performed. The changes to the wafer are monitored to predict an endpoint in time when the wafer cleaning process will terminate, or transition from one phase to another….The term "endpoint" herein represents a point in time at which a phase of the wet cleaning process would end. However, a wet cleaning etch may require many endpoints depending on how many phases of the cleaning etch process needed to be performed, and the computer 212 may predict endpoints relating to any phase of the cleaning etch process… Another endpoint may represent a point in time that a thin film layer will be etched only to a pre-determined thickness. Other endpoints, however, may only represent the transition (or switch) from one fluid to another (change a substrate processing condition), according to the flow of the cleaning process; 0054 — Once the endpoint is determined, the endpoint can be utilized to control timing of the wet cleaning etch. For example, if the wet etch is divided into different phases, the endpoint will represent a point in time that a phase of the cleaning etch will end, (e.g., the end of the first etching phase). During the first phase, the liquid layer 520 may comprise a etch chemical to etch the thin film layer 510 to a certain thickness. Once etched, a second phase may need to be performed, such as performing a rinse… These "switching" actions may require time to perform, of which the process controller 208 is aware. Thus, if an endpoint is predicted for the first phase, the process controller 208 can produce control signals that will begin the switching actions for the second phase before the first phase finishes, thus causing the entire process to flow more efficiently].
But the combination of Hegedus and Han fails to clearly specify the controller changes the substrate processing condition, under which a different substrate is processed, based on the temporal change acquired by the controller, the different substrate being different from the substrate from which the controller has acquired the temporal change.
However, Kanno teaches the controller changes the substrate processing condition, under which a different substrate is processed, based on the temporal change acquired by the controller, the different substrate being different from the substrate from which the controller has acquired the temporal change [0030 — The controller performs a control to stop the supply of the second processing liquid from the second processing liquid supply unit when the concentration of the first processing liquid becomes a predetermined threshold value or less (temporal change for first substrate). Further, the controller stores a supply time of the second processing liquid when the concentration of the first processing liquid becomes the preset threshold value or less, and sets the stored time as a supply time of the second processing liquid when a next substrate is processed (set processing condition for different substrate)].
Hegedus, Han, Miller and Kanno are analogous art. They relate to semiconductor substrate processing systems.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above substrate processing apparatus, as taught by the combination of Hegedus, Han and Miller, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Kanno.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification to facilitate consistency when processing substrates and to remove the need to reevaluate the temporal change for each substrate.
Note that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BERNARD G LINDSAY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119