DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I and the following species, claims 1-7, 9, 10, 12-16 in the reply filed on 04/24/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim(s) 8, 11, 17-20 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected subject matter, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/24/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)/second paragraph
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites “a photoradical polymerization initiator and is photo-curable” such that it is unclear if the composition is required to be photocurable or if component C itself is required to be photocurable. It would appear remedial to recite “and the composition is photo-curable.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
If this application currently names joint inventors: in considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
When something is indicated as being “obvious” this should be taken as shorthand for “prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains before the effective filing date of the invention”.
When a range is indicated as overlapping a claimed range, unless otherwise noted, this should be taken as short hand to indicate that the claimed range is obvious in view of the overlapping range in the prior art as set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9, 10, 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko (U.S. 5,308,887) in view of Mazurek (U.S. 5,514,730) in view of Liu (U.S. 2018/0208799).
Regarding claims 1-5, 7, 9, 10, 12-16, Ko teaches a pressure sensitive adhesive composition that may be applied to a film substrate having a release layer and cured (with semi-curing occurring prior to full curing) which inherently forms a layer with some elastic properties (as in claims 12-16, col. 12, lines 45-65), wherein the composition includes acrylate monomers as in claims 3 and 5 in order to avoid solvent as in claim 7, as well as a silicone pressure sensitive adhesive mixture which may include a mixture of polydiorganosiloxane (inherently linear/chain) having multiple alkenyl groups and an MQ silicone resin (corresponding to the claimed A and B ingredients) as well as a radical UV (high energy) photopolymerization initiator as in claim 10, with amounts of the above ingredients overlapping the claimed ranges of claim 1, and with a viscosity overlapping claim 9 (room temperature is not disclosed but it would have been obvious to use whatever temperature used during application of the coating, including room temperature, when arriving at the disclosed viscosity) (see abstract, col. 3, lines 5-70, col. 6, lines 30-45, col. 7, line 10-65, col. 9, lines 35-55, col. 10, lines 25-30, col. 11, lines 45-60).
Ko does not disclose the amount of MQ resin relative to polydiorganosiloxane as claimed or the M:Q ratio or the D2 ingredient. However, Mazurek is also directed to compositions having alkenyl functional polydiorganosiloxane and MQ ingredients and discloses that the MQ ingredient may be added at an amount relative to the polydiorganosiloxane that results in an amount overlapping the claimed range (see abstract, col. 9, lines 5-15) and further discloses that an organopolysiloxane with an acrylate group (as in the claimed D2 ingredient in claim 4, col. 10, lines 35-60) may be added in an overlapping range in order to provide/adjust the tackiness/finger appeal of the adhesive composition such that it would have been obvious to have used the amount of MQ resin from Mazurek for the MQ resin already disclosed by Ko and to have included the acrylate functional siloxane ingredient from Mazurek at the disclosed amount in Ko in order to provide/adjust the tackiness/finger appeal of the adhesive composition of Ko.
Furthermore, Liu is also directed to tacky compositions with alkenyl functional polydiorganosiloxane and MQ ingredients and discloses that a suitable ratio of M:Q units for achieving such a tacky composition overlaps the claimed range (see abstract, [0084], [0098]) such that it would have been obvious to have used such a ratio from Liu for the MQ ingredient already generally called for in Ko because Liu shows that the ratio is suitable for providing the desired tackiness.
The above amounts disclosed in the prior art overlap the ranges of claim 2.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko (U.S. 5,308,887) in view of Mazurek (U.S. 5,514,730) in view of Liu (U.S. 2018/0208799), as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Ogawa (U.S. 2018/0327594).
Regarding claims 6, modified Ko teaches all of the above subject matter but does not disclose a thiol compound however Ko suggest crosslinkers and Ogawa is also directed to a composition with alkenyl functional polydiorganosiloxanes and discloses that a thiol functional polyorganosiloxane may crosslink with the alkenyl groups and allow for full curing and improved mechanical strength benefits such that it would have been obvious to have used such an ingredient from Ogawa in Ko for those benefits ([0043]-[0044], [0071]).
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-20 of copending Application No. 18691861 (the copending application) in view of in view of Mazurek (U.S. 5,514,730) in view of Liu (U.S. 2018/0208799). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Although the copending claims do not disclose the claimed MQ resin, it would be obvious to add such an MQ resin as claimed to provide tackiness for the same reasons set forth above with respect to the teachings of Mazurek and Liu.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-12 of copending Application No. 18691858 (the copending application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The copending claims have slightly different ranges for amounts but overlap the pending claims and are therefore not patentably distinct. The copending claims will also inherently result in a “pressure sensitive adhesive layer” as in the pending claims based on the overlapping compositions.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
References cited in any corresponding foreign applications have been considered but would be cumulative to the above. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL B NELSON whose direct telephone number is (571)272-9886 and whose direct fax number is (571)273-9886 and whose email address is Michael.Nelson@USPTO.GOV. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Sat, 7am - 7pm.
/MICHAEL B NELSON/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787