DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of group I in the reply filed on 03/01/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Ogawa discloses a siloxane based polymer architecture bearing acryloxy functionality within the polymer and in many embodiments multiple curing mechanisms with crosslinkers/catalysts. This is not found persuasive because “applicant must look to the whole reference for what it teaches. Applicant cannot merely rely on the examples and argue that the reference did not teach others.” In re Courtright, 377 F.2d 647, 153 USPQ 735,739 (CCPA 1967). Ogawa does meet the common feature of claim 1 as set forth below.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected groups, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 03/01/2026.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18/691,858 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reason.
Regarding claims 1-11, the copending claims disclose the same curable organopolysiloxane composition as presently claimed except that the copending claims further recite organopolysiloxane resin containing a siloxane unit expressed by M unit and Q unit. However, in light of the open language of the present claims, i.e. comprising, it is clear that the present claims are open to the inclusion of additional ingredients including organopolysiloxane resin containing a siloxane unit expressed by M unit and Q unit as disclosed in the copending claims. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “the mass ratio of an organopolysiloxane resin component to the sum of the mass of component a and B2 is in range of 0 to 0.1.” It is not clear If organopolysiloxane resin refers to component A, B2 or an additional resin. For, examination purpose, the examiner interprets the organopolysiloxane resin as a component B2.
Claim 4 recites “may”. The phrase "may" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ogawa et al. (WO 2019/084397). It is noted that when utilizing (WO 2019/084397), the disclosures of the reference are based on (US 2020/0347230) which is an English language equivalent of the reference. Therefore, the column and line numbers cited with respect to (WO 2019/084397)) are found in (US 2020/0347230).
Regarding claims 1, 3 and 5, Ogawa discloses a curable polyorganosiloxane composition (abstract) comprising 50.9 to 62.8 wt% of siloxane based polymer containing a chain organopolysiloxane with two or more alkenyl groups in each molecule, i.e. component A, (0019, 0021, 0026, 0037, table 3), 1 to 50 wt% of acrylate monomer such as 2 ethylhexyl acrylate or isononyl acrylate, i.e. radical reactive component of monofunctional or polyfunctional vinyl monomer B1 (0099, table 3) and 0.1 to 10 wt% of a radical polymerization photoinitiator (0075, 0077, table 3). Given that Ogawa is silent regarding B2, B2 in Ogawa is considered to be 0 and therefore the sum of component A and component B2 is 50.9 to 62.8 wt%.
Regarding claim 2, Ogawa discloses the curable organopolysiloxane composition of claim 1, wherein the sum of component A and component B2 is 50.9 to 62.8 wt% and given that B2 is 0, the mass ratio of B2 to the sum of the mass of components A and B2 is also 0.
Regarding claim 4, Ogawa discloses the curable organopolysiloxane composition of claim 1 wherein given that the component B is B1 in claim 1, B2 is optional and not required by the prior art.
Regarding claim 6, Ogawa discloses the curable organopolysiloxane composition of claim 1 wherein given that Ogawa discloses identical composition as claimed in present claim, it is clear that the curable composition of Ogawa would inherently have the same properties as presently claimed.
Regarding claims 7-8, Ogawa discloses the curable organopolysiloxane composition of claim 1 wherein the composition may appropriately select an organic solvent from 0.001 to 90 wt% and the examples do not disclose solvent, i.e. low solvent type or solvent-free, (0105, table 3).
Regarding claim 9, Ogawa discloses the curable organopolysiloxane composition of claim 1 wherein the viscosity is 5500 to 14500 cP, i.e. 5500 to 14500 mPa, (table 4). Alternatively, given that Ogawa discloses identical composition as claimed in present claim, it is clear that the curable composition of Ogawa would inherently have the same properties as presently claimed.
Regarding claim 10, Ogawa discloses the curable organopolysiloxane composition of claim 1 wherein the initiator is a photoradical polymerization initiator and is photo curable by ultraviolate light, i.e. irradiation with a high energy beam, (0066).
Regarding claim 11, Ogawa discloses the curable organopolysiloxane composition of claim 1 wherein the initiator is ultraviolet heat radical polymerization initiator and is heat curable, i.e. thermal initiator, (0066).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa et al. (WO 2019/084397) in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 5789485).
Regarding claim 4, Ogawa discloses the curable organopolysiloxane composition of claim 1 but fails to disclose B2.
Kobayashi discloses curable silicon composition comprising organopolysiloxane having at least two alkenyl groups per molecule (col. 1, lines 39-44) and 1 to 150 weight parts of component B having the same compound (col. 1, lines 44-45, col. 3, lines 15-20) as claimed in present claim to obtain oil resistant and wear resistant coatings (col. 1, lines 5-8, col. 7, lines 25-50).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the specific component B of Kobayashi in the composition of Ogawa to obtain oil resistant and wear resistant coatings.
Conclusion
/SAMIR SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787