Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-15 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/03/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 02/03/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-9 objected to because of the following informalities:
claim 1 should be re-written as following:
A computer-implemented method for controlling sawing of logs, comprising:
obtaining a timber lot order configured to be produced from logs configured to be sawn;
obtaining an optimization objective for a statistical optimization model configured to be used for producing the timber lot, wherein the optimization objective is a combination of two or more of a following: a max quality, a min production capacity, a max material use efficiency, a min costs, or a max line speed so that the timber lot is produced as desired; and
determining a sawing configuration for the timber lot, the sawing configuration comprises sawing patterns for a saw, and wherein the sawing configuration is determined based on at least the optimization objective and sawing properties of said sawing patterns, and wherein the sawing patterns are configured to be used for sawing the logs to timber according to the timber lot order and the optimization objective.
Regarding claims 2-9, in line 1 the phrase “A method according to” should be changed to “The method according to”.
Regarding claim 7, the phrase “at least one of the following sawing properties” should be changed to “at least one of following sawing properties”.
Regarding claim 7, the phrase “used for sawing” should be changed to “for sawing”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, in lines 4-5 the phrase “determined based on at least the optimization objective, logs, and sawing properties of said sawing patterns” render the claim indefinite because it is unclear if “logs” is the same as or different from “logs” that recited in line 2 of the same claim 1.
As best understood and for the purpose of the examination, the Examiner interpreted “logs” is the same as “logs” that recited in line 2 of the same claim 1.
Claims 2-9 are rejected because they depend from claim 1.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the least one sawing pattern" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 4, in line 2 the phrase "one or more sawing pattern" render the claim indefinite because it is unclear if “one or more sawing pattern" is the same as or different from “sawing patterns” that recited in claim 1 which claim 4 depends from.
As best understood and for the purpose of the examination, the Examiner interpreted “one or more sawing pattern" is the same as or different from “sawing patterns” that recited in claim 1; and provide prior art rejection as best as understood.
Regarding claim 4, in line 3 the phrase "the least one sawing pattern" render the claim indefinite because it is unclear if “the least one sawing pattern" is the same as or different from “one or more sawing pattern” that recited in line 2 of the same claim 4.
As best understood and for the purpose of the examination, the Examiner interpreted “the least one sawing pattern" is the same as “one or more sawing pattern” that recited in line 2 of the same claim 4; and provide prior art rejection as best as understood.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the least one sawing pattern" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 5, in line 2 the phrase " sawing properties" render the claim indefinite because it is unclear if “sawing properties" is the same as or different from “sawing properties” that recited in claim 1 which claim 5 depends from.
Regarding claim 5, in line 2 the phrase "the least one sawing pattern" render the claim indefinite because it is unclear if “the least one sawing pattern" is the same as or different from “sawing patterns” that recited in claim 1 which claim 5 depends from.
Regarding claim 5, in line 2 the phrase " the at least two optimization objectives" render the claim indefinite because it is unclear if “the at least two optimization objectives" is the same as or different from “optimization objective” that recited in claim 1 which claim 5 depends from.
As best understood and for the purpose of the examination, the Examiner interpreted claim 5 is depended from claim 4; “the at least two optimization objectives" is the same as “optimization objective” that recited in claim 1; and provide prior art rejection as best as understood.
Regarding claim 7, in line 2 the phrase "sawing properties" render the claim indefinite because it is unclear if “sawing properties" is the same as or different from “sawing properties” that recited in claim 1 which claim 7 depends from.
As best understood and for the purpose of the examination, the Examiner interpreted “sawing properties" is the same as “sawing properties” that recited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, in line 2 the phrase "a sawing pattern" render the claim indefinite because it is unclear if “a sawing pattern" is the same as or different from “sawing patterns” that recited in claim 1 which claim 7 depends from.
As best understood and for the purpose of the examination, the Examiner interpreted “a sawing pattern" is the same as “sawing patterns” that recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Andrew (WO2016172763A1).
Regarding claim 1, Andrew discloses a computer-implemented method for controlling sawing of logs (page 9 lines 6-10, claims 1 and 6), comprising:
obtaining a timber lot order configured to be produced from logs configured to be sawn (claim 7);
obtaining an optimization objective for a statistical optimization model configured to be used for producing the timber lot (page 24 last 13 lines 23-30), which optimization objective is a combination of two or more of the following max quality, min production capacity, max material use efficiency, min costs, or max line speed so that the timber lot can be produced as desired (claims 37-38); and
determining a sawing configuration for the timber lot, which sawing configuration comprises sawing patterns for a saw (figs.2a-4a, 8, 10a-12, 22a-27), and which sawing configuration is determined based on at least the optimization objective, logs, and sawing properties of said sawing patterns, and which sawing patterns are configured to be used for sawing the logs to timber according to the timber lot order and the optimization objective (figs.2a-4a, 8, 10a-12, 22a-27, page 2 lines 1-3 and claim 5:target quality product, page 5 lines 27-28).
Regarding claim 2, Andrew discloses wherein the method further comprises configuring the saw for sawing the logs based on the sawing configuration (page 9 lines 6-9).
Regarding claim 3, Andrew discloses wherein the logs configured to be sawn comprises logs from one or more log classes (page 10 line 23-page 11 line 6; and page 24 lines 12-13).
Regarding claim 4, Andrew discloses wherein the sawing configuration comprises one or more sawing pattern for logs of one log class (page 24 lines 5-21) or information of a number of logs for which the at least one sawing pattern is configured to be used for sawing (page 5 lines 23-24 and page 12 lines 20-21 and figs.2a-4a, 8, 10a-12, 22a-27).
Regarding claim 5, Andrew discloses wherein sawing properties of the at least one sawing pattern are according to the at least two optimization objectives (page 10 line 35-page 11 line 1 and fig.8).
Regarding claim 6, Andrew discloses wherein the method further comprises sawing the logs to timber according to the sawing configuration (abstract and fig.1).
Regarding claim 7, Andrew discloses wherein the method further comprises monitoring at least one of the following sawing properties of a sawing pattern used for sawing (page 24 line 21; claim 6; claims 7-8 and page 9 lines 6-10):
quality of sawn timber,
processing time of the sawn timber,
material use efficiency of the sawn timber, or
processing efficiency of the sawn timber.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 8, the closet prior art is Andrew (WO2016172763A1), however in the opinion of the Examiner that the arts of record neither anticipates nor render obvious the limitations of the claim as recited.
Claim 9 is depended from claim 8.
Claim 8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED S. ALAWADI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725