Applicant's request for reconsideration of the finality of the rejection of the last Office action is persuasive and, therefore, the finality of that action is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kazuhiro et al. (EP-3057278-A1) (hereinafter "KAZUHIRO").
Regarding claim 1, KAZUHIRO discloses a transmission apparatus comprising: a scheme identification unit, a function control unit, and a signal processing unit. Specifically, KAZUHIRO discloses the preamble limitation of "A transmission apparatus comprising:". KAZUHIRO teaches a T2 frame signal processing apparatus 12 (paragraph [0055]) and a signal processing apparatus 201 (paragraph [0161]). KAZUHIRO's T2 frame signal processing apparatus 12 is interpreted as disclosing the claimed limitation of "A transmission apparatus comprising:" because it is an apparatus capable of processing signals for transmission or reception under its plain and ordinary meaning. This interpretation is supported by KAZUHIRO's disclosure that "The received multiplexed signal is forwarded from the antenna 11 to the T2 frame signal processing apparatus 12 and FEF signal processing apparatus 13" (paragraph [0055]), which demonstrates signal processing capabilities. See also paragraph [0174].
KAZUHIRO discloses the limitation of "a scheme identification unit configured to identify a frame format of a signal received, the identification of the frame format being performed on a basis of a bit string pattern of a demodulated preamble of the signal received;". Specifically, KAZUHIRO teaches a P1 detector 23 and a P2 detector 24 (paragraph [0094]). KAZUHIRO's P1 detector 23 is interpreted as disclosing the claimed limitation of "a scheme identification unit configured to identify a frame format of a signal received, the identification of the frame format being performed on a basis of a bit string pattern of a demodulated preamble of the signal received;" because the P1 detector detects and processes the P1 preamble signal to determine whether the frame is a T2 frame or an FEF part. This interpretation is supported by KAZUHIRO's disclosure that "P1 contains identification information as signaling (error correcting coding) for determining whether the frame in question is a T2 frame or an FEF part" (paragraph [0060]), which demonstrates identifying a frame format based on a bit string pattern of a demodulated preamble. See also paragraph [0058].
KAZUHIRO discloses the limitation of "a function control unit configured to perform control to cause a signal processing function to operate, the signal processing function depending on a result of identification of the at least one of the modulation scheme, the frame format, or the encoding scheme by the scheme identification unit; and". Specifically, KAZUHIRO teaches control logic associated with the P2 detector 24 (paragraph [0062]). KAZUHIRO's P2 detector 24 control logic is interpreted as disclosing the claimed limitation of "a function control unit configured to perform control to cause a signal processing function to operate, the signal processing function depending on a result of identification of the at least one of the modulation scheme, the frame format, or the encoding scheme by the scheme identification unit; and" because it controls the operation or halting of the P2 detection and demodulation blocks based on whether a T2 frame or FEF part is identified. This interpretation is supported by KAZUHIRO's disclosure that "If the identification information included in P1 indicates a T2 frame, then the P2 detector 24 detects P2 contained in the multiplexed signal coming from the A/D converter 22 on the basis of the information included in P1 and desired for the demodulation process. If the identification information included in P1 indicates an FEF part, then the P2 detector 24 stops its operation until the next T2 frame is detected" (paragraph [0062]), which demonstrates a function control unit controlling signal processing based on identification results. See also paragraph [0125].
KAZUHIRO discloses the limitation of "a signal processing unit configured to be controlled to operate by the function control unit and process the signal received,". Specifically, KAZUHIRO teaches a T2 frame demodulation block 26 (paragraph [0068]). KAZUHIRO's T2 frame demodulation block 26 is interpreted as disclosing the claimed limitation of "a signal processing unit configured to be controlled to operate by the function control unit and process the signal received," because it is controlled by the preceding detection and control stages to demodulate and process the received multiplexed signal. This interpretation is supported by KAZUHIRO's disclosure that "The T2 frame demodulation block 26 demodulates the T2 frame using the information from the P1 detector 23 as well as the information from the P2 detector 24" (paragraph [0068]), which demonstrates a signal processing unit controlled to operate and process the received signal. See also paragraph [0057].
KAZUHIRO discloses the limitation of "wherein the function control unit is configured to perform control to cause a frame detection function to operate, the frame detection function depending on the frame format identified by the scheme identification unit." Specifically, KAZUHIRO teaches an FEF duration detection block 25 (paragraph [0067]). KAZUHIRO's FEF duration detection block 25 is interpreted as disclosing the claimed limitation of "wherein the function control unit is configured to perform control to cause a frame detection function to operate, the frame detection function depending on the frame format identified by the scheme identification unit." because the control blocks trigger or halt frame detection (FEF duration detection) depending on the identified frame format (T2 or FEF) from the preamble. This interpretation is supported by KAZUHIRO's disclosure that "If in step S13 the frame of the multiplexed signal is not found to be a T2 frame, then the P2 detector 24 stops its operation and does not forward the information included in P2 to the FEF duration detection block 25. That means the information about the FEF duration will not be detected" (paragraph [0082]), which demonstrates the claimed functional dependency. See also paragraph [0127].
Regarding claim 6, KAZUHIRO discloses a function control apparatus comprising: a function control unit. Specifically, KAZUHIRO discloses the preamble limitation of "A function control apparatus comprising:". KAZUHIRO teaches a signal processing apparatus 201 (paragraph [0161]) and a T2 frame signal processing apparatus 12 (paragraph [0055]). KAZUHIRO's signal processing apparatus is interpreted as disclosing the claimed limitation of "A function control apparatus comprising:" because it functions collectively as a function control apparatus designed to process and route distinct frames within a multiplexed signal. This interpretation is supported by KAZUHIRO's disclosure that "The embodiments of the present invention have been made in view of the above circumstances and provide a signal processing apparatus, a signal processing method, and a reception system adapted to reduce the scale of circuitry and lower power dissipation" (paragraph [0025]), which demonstrates a control apparatus. See also Claim 13.
KAZUHIRO discloses the limitation of "a function control unit configured to receive, from a transmission apparatus, information on a result of identification of a frame format of a signal received, identification of the frame format being performed on a basis of a bit string pattern of a demodulated preamble of the signal received by the transmission apparatus, and perform control to cause a signal processing function to operate in the transmission apparatus, the signal processing function depending on the result of identification received,". Specifically, KAZUHIRO teaches an information input terminal 33 and an FEF demodulation block 34 (paragraph [0071]). KAZUHIRO's information input terminal 33 and FEF demodulation block 34 are interpreted as disclosing the claimed limitation of "a function control unit configured to receive, from a transmission apparatus, information on a result of identification of a frame format of a signal received, identification of the frame format being performed on a basis of a bit string pattern of a demodulated preamble of the signal received by the transmission apparatus, and perform control to cause a signal processing function to operate in the transmission apparatus, the signal processing function depending on the result of identification received," because the FEF apparatus receives frame format identification data (FEF duration) derived from a demodulated preamble (P1 signal) and controls signal processing blocks (such as demodulation or power-saving halts) depending on the identified frame type. This interpretation is supported by KAZUHIRO's disclosure that "The information input terminal 33 inputs the information about the FEF duration from the T2 frame signal processing apparatus 12 and forwards the information to the FEF demodulation block 34" (paragraph [0071]), which demonstrates receiving identification information and performing control. See also paragraph [0138].
KAZUHIRO discloses the limitation of "wherein the function control unit is configured to perform control to cause a frame detection function to operate, the frame detection function depending on the frame format identified." Specifically, KAZUHIRO teaches an FEF duration detection section 25 (paragraph [0127]). KAZUHIRO's FEF duration detection section 25 is interpreted as disclosing the claimed limitation of "wherein the function control unit is configured to perform control to cause a frame detection function to operate, the frame detection function depending on the frame format identified." because the control unit initiates and manages frame-specific detection functions which are directly dependent on the detected frame format. This interpretation is supported by KAZUHIRO's disclosure that "In step S117, the FEF duration detection section 25 detects an FEF duration in the multiplexed signal based on the FEF length and FEF interval out of the information fed from the P2 detector 24" (paragraph [0127]), which demonstrates a frame detection function operating based on the identified frame format. See also paragraph [0151].
Regarding claim 7, KAZUHIRO discloses a system comprising a terminal apparatus and a transmission apparatus. Specifically, KAZUHIRO discloses the preamble limitation of "A system comprising a terminal apparatus and a transmission apparatus, wherein". KAZUHIRO teaches a signal processing system 1 constituted by an antenna 11, a T2 frame signal processing apparatus 12, and an FEF signal processing apparatus 13 (paragraph [0054]). KAZUHIRO's signal processing system 1 is interpreted as disclosing the claimed limitation of "A system comprising a terminal apparatus and a transmission apparatus, wherein" because the antenna and signal processing apparatuses function together as a terminal and transmission system. This interpretation is supported by KAZUHIRO's disclosure that "The signal processing system 1 is constituted by an antenna 11, a T2 frame signal processing apparatus 12, and an FEF signal processing apparatus 13" (paragraph [0054]), which demonstrates the claimed system. See also paragraph [0162].
KAZUHIRO discloses the limitation of "the terminal apparatus is configured to transmit a signal to the transmission apparatus, and". Specifically, KAZUHIRO teaches an antenna 11 forwarding received signals (paragraph [0055]). KAZUHIRO's antenna 11 is interpreted as disclosing the claimed limitation of "the terminal apparatus is configured to transmit a signal to the transmission apparatus, and" because the antenna acts as a terminal apparatus that forwards (transmits) received multiplexed signals to subsequent digital converters and detectors in the processing apparatus. This interpretation is supported by KAZUHIRO's disclosure that "The received multiplexed signal is forwarded from the antenna 11 to the T2 frame signal processing apparatus 12 and FEF signal processing apparatus 13" (paragraph [0055]), which demonstrates transmitting a signal to the transmission apparatus. See also paragraph [0076].
KAZUHIRO discloses the limitation of "the transmission apparatus includes:". Specifically, KAZUHIRO teaches the components of the T2 frame signal processing apparatus 12 (paragraph [0094]). KAZUHIRO's T2 frame signal processing apparatus 12 is interpreted as disclosing the claimed limitation of "the transmission apparatus includes:" because it explicitly lists the components included in the signal processing apparatus. This interpretation is supported by KAZUHIRO's disclosure that "The T2 frame signal processing apparatus 12 is made up of a signal input terminal 21, an A/D (analog-digital) converter 22, a P1 detector 23, a P2 detector 24, an FEF duration detection block 25, a T2 frame demodulation block 26, and an information output terminal 27" (paragraph [0094]), which demonstrates the structural inclusion. See also Claim 13.
KAZUHIRO discloses the limitation of "a scheme identification unit configured to identify a frame format of a signal received, the identification of the frame format being performed on a basis of a bit string pattern of a demodulated preamble of the signal received from the terminal apparatus;". Specifically, KAZUHIRO teaches a P1 detector 23 (paragraph [0060]). KAZUHIRO's P1 detector 23 is interpreted as disclosing the claimed limitation of "a scheme identification unit configured to identify a frame format of a signal received, the identification of the frame format being performed on a basis of a bit string pattern of a demodulated preamble of the signal received from the terminal apparatus;" because it analyzes the coded signaling bit pattern of received preambles to identify distinct frame formats within the multiplexed signal. This interpretation is supported by KAZUHIRO's disclosure that "P1 contains identification information as signaling (error correcting coding) for determining whether the frame in question is a T2 frame or an FEF part" (paragraph [0060]), which demonstrates identifying a frame format based on a preamble. See also paragraph [0058].
KAZUHIRO discloses the limitation of "a function control unit configured to perform control to cause a signal processing function to operate, the signal processing function depending on a result of identification of the frame format by the scheme identification unit; and". Specifically, KAZUHIRO teaches a P2 detector 24 acting as a control unit (paragraph [0078]). KAZUHIRO's P2 detector 24 is interpreted as disclosing the claimed limitation of "a function control unit configured to perform control to cause a signal processing function to operate, the signal processing function depending on a result of identification of the frame format by the scheme identification unit; and" because it triggers or suppresses downstream signal processing operations depending on the identified frame format. This interpretation is supported by KAZUHIRO's disclosure that "If in step S13 the frame of the multiplexed signal is found to be a T2 frame, then the P2 detector 24 goes to step S14. In step S14, the P2 detector 24 detects P2 included in the multiplexed signal from the A/D converter 22 based on the P1 information" (paragraph [0078]), which demonstrates control depending on the frame format. See also paragraph [0062].
KAZUHIRO discloses the limitation of "a signal processing unit configured to be controlled to operate by the function control unit and process the signal received,". Specifically, KAZUHIRO teaches an FEF demodulation block 34 (paragraph [0072]). KAZUHIRO's FEF demodulation block 34 is interpreted as disclosing the claimed limitation of "a signal processing unit configured to be controlled to operate by the function control unit and process the signal received," because it is controlled and parameterized by the preceding detection blocks to process the received signal. This interpretation is supported by KAZUHIRO's disclosure that "By determining that that FEF duration in the multiplexed signal from the A/D converter 32 which is indicated by the information from the FEF duration detection block 183 is formed by an FEF part, the FEF demodulation block 34 demodulates the FEF part" (paragraph [0072]), which demonstrates a controlled signal processing unit. See also paragraph [0095].
KAZUHIRO discloses the limitation of "wherein the function control unit is configured to perform control to cause a frame detection function to operate, the frame detection function depending on the frame format identified by the scheme identification unit." Specifically, KAZUHIRO teaches an FEF duration detection block 25 (paragraph [0067]). KAZUHIRO's FEF duration detection block 25 is interpreted as disclosing the claimed limitation of "wherein the function control unit is configured to perform control to cause a frame detection function to operate, the frame detection function depending on the frame format identified by the scheme identification unit." because subsequent frame detection stages are conditionally triggered or halted based on the frame format identified by the initial preamble detection block. This interpretation is supported by KAZUHIRO's disclosure that "Based on the FEF length and FEF interval fed from the P2 detector 24, the FEF duration detection block 25 detects a duration of FEF parts (called the FEF duration hereunder) from the multiplexed signal" (paragraph [0067]), which demonstrates the frame detection function depending on the identified frame format. See also paragraph [0083].
Regarding claim 8, KAZUHIRO discloses a signal processing method, comprising: identifying a frame format, performing control to cause a signal processing function to operate, and performing control to cause the signal processing function to operate depending on the result of identification. Specifically, KAZUHIRO discloses the preamble limitation of "A signal processing method, comprising:". KAZUHIRO teaches a signal processing method (paragraph [0031]) and a demodulation process (paragraph [0101]). KAZUHIRO's demodulation process is interpreted as disclosing the claimed limitation of "A signal processing method, comprising:" because it systematically outlines a signal processing method executed by a receiving apparatus or system to handle incoming multiplexed signals. This interpretation is supported by KAZUHIRO's disclosure that "Described below in reference to the flowchart of Fig. 9 is the demodulation process performed by the T2 frame signal processing apparatus 111 in Fig. 8 for signal processing" (paragraph [0101]), which demonstrates a signal processing method. See also Claim 14.
KAZUHIRO discloses the limitation of "identifying a frame format of a signal received, the identification of the frame format being performed on a basis of a bit string pattern of a demodulated preamble of the signal received;". Specifically, KAZUHIRO teaches identifying whether a frame is a T2 frame or an FEF part based on P1 signaling (paragraph [0060]). KAZUHIRO's P1 signaling detection is interpreted as disclosing the claimed limitation of "identifying a frame format of a signal received, the identification of the frame format being performed on a basis of a bit string pattern of a demodulated preamble of the signal received;" because it describes identifying the frame format based on signaling data extracted from a detected preamble signal (P1). This interpretation is supported by KAZUHIRO's disclosure that "P1 contains identification information as signaling (error correcting coding) for determining whether the frame in question is a T2 frame or an FEF part" (paragraph [0060]), which demonstrates identifying a frame format based on a demodulated preamble. See also paragraph [0058].
KAZUHIRO discloses the limitation of "performing control to cause a signal processing function to operate, the signal processing function depending on a result of identification of the frame format; and". Specifically, KAZUHIRO teaches demodulating based on preamble information (paragraph [0044]). KAZUHIRO's demodulation control is interpreted as disclosing the claimed limitation of "performing control to cause a signal processing function to operate, the signal processing function depending on a result of identification of the frame format; and" because it activates or deactivates specific processing functions depending on whether the received frame is identified as a T2 frame or an FEF part. This interpretation is supported by KAZUHIRO's disclosure that "The other of the first and the second signals in the multiplexed signal is then demodulated based on the information included in the first preamble signal, on the information included in the second preamble signal, and on the information about the second signal duration" (paragraph [0044]), which demonstrates control depending on the result of identification. See also paragraph [0062].
KAZUHIRO discloses the limitation of "performing control to cause the signal processing function to operate depending on the result of identification to process the signal received,". Specifically, KAZUHIRO teaches demodulating the FEF part based on FEF duration information (paragraph [0090]). KAZUHIRO's demodulation of the FEF part is interpreted as disclosing the claimed limitation of "performing control to cause the signal processing function to operate depending on the result of identification to process the signal received," because the actual demodulation and processing of the received signal are executed by specific processing functions that are controlled and selected based on the identified frame format. This interpretation is supported by KAZUHIRO's disclosure that "As described above, the FEF parts in the multiplexed signal are demodulated on the basis of the FEF duration information from the T2 frame signal processing apparatus 12. This enables the FEF demodulation block 34 to exclude the influence of T2 frames on the demodulation of FEF parts" (paragraph [0090]), which demonstrates performing control to cause the signal processing function to operate depending on the result of identification. See also paragraph [0130].
KAZUHIRO discloses the limitation of "wherein, in the control of the causing the signal processing function, control to cause a frame detection function to operate is performed, the frame detection function depending on the frame format." Specifically, KAZUHIRO teaches detecting a second preamble signal following the first preamble signal (Claim 6). KAZUHIRO's detection of the second preamble is interpreted as disclosing the claimed limitation of "wherein, in the control of the causing the signal processing function, control to cause a frame detection function to operate is performed, the frame detection function depending on the frame format." because it outlines control of frame detection functions, such as P2 detection and FEF duration detection, where the specific detection algorithm or block activated is dependent on the identified frame structure. This interpretation is supported by KAZUHIRO's disclosure that "if information which is included in the detected first preamble signal and which identifies each of said plurality of signals indicates a first signal, then causing said signal processing apparatus to detect a second preamble signal following said first preamble signal;" (Claim 6), which demonstrates a frame detection function operating depending on the frame format. See also paragraph [0151].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KENNETH N VANDERPUYE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2634