DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 22-39 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 11/19/2025.
Applicant argues that JP’ 2006315725 is not the closest prior art that discloses a vent for pipeliner as claims 1 and 22 both require. Examiner maintains the restriction, Group I and Group II are directed to method and product respectively which require different field of search would be classified in different categories. Also, the technical feature of two groups require overmoulding the porous element with the polymer body which is used for vent fabrication that is being disclosed by JP 2006315725 hereinafter JP’725
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 14-17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO’0233298, translation provided hereinafter, WO’298, listed in IDS 03/14/2024, in view of JP 2006315725 hereinafter JP’725, translation attached listed in IDS dated 03/14/2024.
Regarding Claim 1 WO’298, discloses method of manufacturing a vent for a pipeline liner (Figure 1, page-7 line 2-7), the method comprising … to form a vent in which the porous element extends across a through-passage formed in the body (Figure 1, page 3, line 2-6, page 7 , line 12-17). WO’298 didn’t disclose that manufacturing a vent for a pipeline liner, comprising overmoulding a porous element with a polymer body. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, JP’725 discloses overmoulding a porous element with a polymer body (Figure 3, [0028], [0039], [0044], porous element-17, polymer body-13 molded together to form the vent)
It would be obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine WO’298 with the teaching of molding a polymer and the porous element together by JP’725 for the purpose of firm bonding of the two components to form the prefabricated vent assembly.
Regarding Claim 2, WO’ 298 forming at least one internal flange in the through-passage during overmoulding, the flange being positioned to restrain the porous element against movement along the through- passage ( Figure 1, non return valve-7 form a flange, page -8 line 19-26) and having a central aperture that maintains fluid communication between the porous element and the through-passage (Figure 1).
3 Regarding claim 3 WO’298/JP’725 discloses that the method , comprising forming a pair of said internal flanges/projections in mutual opposition about the porous element (Figure 1, shows flange surface form by -7 have two mutual opposition surfaces about the vent assembly-5, JP’725 discloses that the vent assembly is formed by molding together a porous element and a polymer body as discussed in Claim 1 ).
4. Regarding claim 4 JP’725 discloses comprising engaging a polymer material of the body with a textured surface of the porous element, while the polymer material is in a flowable state during overmoulding ([0028]).
5. Regarding Claim 5 JP’725 discloses , comprising forming a molecular bond between the polymer body and the porous element ([0028]).
6. Regarding Claim 6 JP’725 discloses, comprising interposing a resilient insert between the porous element and the body during overmoulding ([0039], backing sheet/insert-21).
7. Regarding Claim 7 JP’725 discloses,wherein the insert embraces an edge of the porous element and exposes a central region of the porous element (Figure 5-6, [0031], backing sheet/insert-21, voids-21a).
8. Regarding Claim 8 JP’725, comprising forming the insert around the porous element in a preliminary overmoulding step. ([0030], porous element-17 is configured by laminating with backing sheet/insert-21),
9. Regarding Claim 9 JP’725, comprising engaging a material of the insert, while in a flowable state during overmoulding, with a textured surface of the porous element ([0039]).
10. Regarding Claim 10 JP’725 discloses ,comprising forming a molecular bond between the insert and the polymer body ([0051], the sheet fixing portion of the vent-16 is heat sealed with the backing sheet insert/-21) and/or the porous element ([0039]).
11. Regarding Claim 11, JP’725 discloses wherein the polymer body is a thermoplastic and is overmoulded onto the porous element when the thermoplastic is molten ([0028], [0039]).
12. Regarding Claim 14, JP’725 discloses comprising supporting the porous element in a mould cavity clamped between opposed internal mould forrmations that define at least part of the through-passage (Figure 6, [0038], dies-23, porous element-17 is placed in the cavity which defines the thorugh hole-15).
15. Regarding Claim 15 WO’298 discloses method of manufacturing a pipeline liner, comprising inserting a vent manufactured by the method of 1 into a wall of the liner (page 7, line 1-7).
16. Regarding Claim 16 WO’298 discloses , comprising fusing the body of the vent with the wall of the line upon insertion of the vent into the wall of the liner (page 7 line 1-7).
17. Regarding claim 17 WO’298 discloses , comprising heating interface surface regions of the body and the wall of the liner to a softening or melting temperature before inserting the vent into the wall of the liner ([0028], [0051], JP ).
18. Regarding Claim 19 WO’298 discloses,comprising forming a molecular bond between the polymer body and the wall of the liner ([0010], [0013], venting means is a prefabricated unit-[0030]).
20. Regarding Claim 20 WO’298 discloses,further comprising inserting the liner in to a pipeline or a pipe joint after inserting the vent into the wall of the liner (page-7 line 1-3).
21. Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO’0233298, translation provided hereinafter, WO’298 in view of JP 2006315725 hereinafter JP’725, translation attached as applied in Claim 1 further in view of WO-0008368.translation provided listed in IDA .
22. Regarding Claim 12, WO’298, discloses method of manufacturing a vent for a pipeline liner (Figure 1, page-7 line 2-7), the method to form a vent in which the porous element extends across a through-passage formed in the body (Figure 1, page 3, line 2-6, page 7 , line 12-17) but WO’298 didn’t disclose that wherein the porous element is a frit or sinter. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, WO’368 discloses the porous element is a sinter (page 7, line 27-31).
23. It would be obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine WO’298 teaching with that of WO’368 sinter porous element for the purpose of preventing any fluid leak.
24. Regarding Claim 13 WO’298/JP’725/WO’368 disclose , wherein the porous element is a sinter of a polymer (page 7 line 27-33, WO’368); JP’725 discloses a molecular bond between the polymer body and the porous element ([0028]) therefore the claim limitation is met.
25. Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO’0233298, translation provided hereinafter, WO’298, listed in IDS 03/14/2024, in view of JP 2006315725 hereinafter JP’725, translation attached listed in IDS dated 03/14/2024 as applied in Claim 17 further in view of Nyquist (US 20100043961).
26. Regarding claim 18 , WO’298 discloses welding the vent to the wall of the liner (page 7, line 1-7) but did not disclose socket fusion welding the vent to the wall of the liner. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Nyquist discloses two parts of the pipe components are welded together with socket fusion ([0029]).
27. It would be obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine WO’298 teaching with that of Nyquist’s socket fusion for the purpose of strong bond formed between the liner and the vent.
28. Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO’0233298, translation provided hereinafter, WO’298, listed in IDS 03/14/2024, in view of JP 2006315725 hereinafter JP’725, translation attached listed in IDS dated 03/14/2024 as applied in Claim 1 further in view of Barnes (US 20220341515)
29. Regarding Claim 21 WO’298 discloses WO’298 discloses,further comprising inserting the liner in to a pipeline or a pipe joint after inserting the vent into the wall of the liner (page-7 line 1-3) but didn’t disclose specifically die-drawing the liner after inserting the vent into the wall of the liner and before inserting the liner into the pipeline or pipe joint. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, reducing the diameter of the liner comprises pulling the liner through a swaging die ([0023]).
30. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to modify WO’298 with the teaching of Barnes to pull aliner through a die to reduce the diameter of the liner before inserting into the pipe and provide a pulling force for the liner to be pulled through the pipe.
Conclusion
/DEBJANI ROY/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741