Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sjostedt et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0129395 in view of Ender, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0168324.
Sjostedt discloses a preform comprising thermoplastic filament combined with high strength fibers. The structure can be formed into braids. See abstract. The carbon filaments correspond to the claimed reinforcement filament in claim 1. See abstract. The amount of reinforcing filaments relative to the volume of the preform would necessarily have a relationship with the strength, bending modulus, bending strength and tensile modulus of the preform. The structure can be braided which meets the limitations of claim 4. See abstract and paragraph 0026. The reinforcing filaments can be carbon which meets the limitations of claim 6. See abstract and paragraphs 0025-0026. The thermoplastic filaments can be any suitable polymer. See paragraph 0053. Sjostedt teaches wrapping the structure around a spool at paragraph 0011.
Sjostedt differs from the claimed invention because it does not disclose employing a majority of natural fibers as claimed.
However, Ender discloses that in addition to glass and ceramic fibers, hemp fibers and other natural fibers can also be used to form fiber preforms. See paragraph 0018.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have employed hemp and/or other natural fibers as the reinforcing fibers in Sjostedt, in view of the teaching of Ender of their art recognized suitability for this intended purpose and to have selected the relative amounts of each type of fiber in order to provide a preform having the desired properties at the most economical price.
Claim(s) 2, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sjostedt et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0129395 in view of Ender as set forth above, and further in view of La Forest et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0151712.
Sjostedt discloses a preform as set forth above.
Sjostedt differs from the claimed invention because it does not disclose a gradient configuration of the thermoplastic filaments.
However, La Forest teaches forming a preform material wherein each layer or portion can be selectively tailored to form a structure with more or less fibers and/or resin to provided particular properties to the structure. For example, La Forest teaches forming a structuring a higher resin content and few fibers at the center of the preform and more fibers at the outer portions of the preform. See paragraph 0020.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have provided a gradient in the thermoplastic fiber distribution in order to provide different properties to different parts of the preform structure as taught by La Forest.
With regard to the filament pairs, the instant specification states that the filament pairs can include a tubular filament with a reinforcing filament within the tube, and that both the tubular filament and the reinforcing filament can be the same. See paragraphs 0045-0046. A structure with a tube and a filler of the same material would reasonably be expected to be the same as a structure of a single fiber of the same material as made up the tube and filler, assuming the same denier for both the single fiber and the tubular fiber plus filler. Therefore, once the gradient disclosed by LaForest was provided in the structure of Sjostedt, assuming an embodiments where the tubular fiber and the filler are the same type of material, the structure as set forth in claim 5 would have been present, and/or it would have been obvious to have selected the position of the fibers to provide a structure having the desired properties of strength, elongation, flexibility, etc.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sjostedt in view of Ender as applied to claims above, and further in view of Okamoto et al, U.S. Patent No. 5,580,642.
Sjostedt discloses employing thermoplastic fibers but does not clearly teach the particularly claimed fibers.
However, Okamoto discloses a reinforcing preform which comprises thermoplastic fibers and reinforcing fibers. See abstract. The fibers can be braided. See figures. The reinforcing fibers can be carbon, glass, or ceramic, while the thermoplastic fibers can be nylon, polyester and polyethylene. See col. 3, lines 13-48. The amount of reinforcing filaments relative to the volume of the preform would necessarily have a relationship with the strength, bending modulus, bending strength and tensile modulus of the preform.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected the particular fibers as taught by Okamoto in view of their suitability for this intended purpose.
Applicant's arguments filed 7/1/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Sjostedt does not teach that the preform is in the form of a rope. However, since Sjostedt teaches that the preform can be in the form of a braid which can be wrapped around a spool, (paragraph 0011). No particular structure is set forth for the rope and therefore, the braided preform which can be wrapped around the spool is equated with the rope.
Applicant argues that Enders does not teach a majority of the reinforcement fibers are natural fibers and that to modify Sjostedt so that the majority of the reinforcement fibers were natural fibers would fundamentally undermine the structural performance Sjostedt is designed to achieve.
However, Sjostedt already teaches a structure including reinforcement fibers and thermoplastic fibers. Enders teaches that natural fibers were a known alternative reinforcement fiber to those disclosed in Sjostedt. Therefore, the substitution of one known equivalent for another would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Additionally, since the natural fibers were disclosed as reinforcing fibers in Enders, one of ordinary skill would have had at least a reasonable expectation that the natural fibers would function as reinforcing fibers in the structure of Sjostedt and to have selected the relative proportions of the reinforcing fibers which produced a material having the desired properties of strength, bending modulus, bending strength and tensile modulus. Additionally, neither Sjostedt nor the instant claims recite particular properties which would not be met by employing natural fibers as the majority of the reinforcement fibers.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). In the instant case, Enders teaches that natural fibers were a known equivalent to ceramic and glass fibers for use in forming composite materials. Therefore, considering the teaching of Enders, one of ordinary skill would have had a reason to employ the natural fibers instead of the ceramic and glass fibers.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CA 2386284A1. CA ‘284 teaches including plant fibers to form yarns in combination with thermoplastic fibers to serve as reinforcing fibers in preforms as substitutes for glass fibers.
/ELIZABETH M IMANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789