DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the copending Application No. 18/691,916 in view of Da Silva et al. (Pub No.: 2023/0337020).
Instant Application
Co-Pending: 18/691,916
1. A terminal apparatus that communicates with a base station apparatus, the terminal apparatus comprising: a processor configured to perform communication using an MCG and an SCG; and a receiver, wherein the MCG includes at least a PCell, the SCG includes at least a PSCell, the receiver is configured to receive, from the base station apparatus, an RRC message indicating deactivation of the SCG and including information indicating whether to perform beam failure detection on a PSCell of a deactivated SCG, the processor is configured to deactivate the SCG in accordance with the RRC message indicating deactivation of the SCG, the processor is configured to: determine whether the information indicates performing beam failure detection on the PSCell of the deactivated SCG; indicate a MAC entity of the SCG of the terminal apparatus to perform beam failure detection on the PSCell in a deactivated state of the SCG, in a case of determining that the information indicates performing beam failure detection on the PSCell of the deactivated SCG; and indicate the MAC entity of the SCG of the terminal apparatus not to perform beam failure detection on the PSCell in the deactivated state of the SCG, in a case of determining that the information indicates not performing beam failure detection on the PSCell of the deactivated SCG, the receiver is configured to receive, from the base station apparatus, an RRC message indicating activation of the SCG, and the processor is configured to: activate the SCG in accordance with the RRC message indicating activation of the SCG; and indicate the MAC entity of the SCG of the terminal apparatus to resume beam failure detection on the PSCell, in a case that beam failure detection is not being performed.
1. A terminal apparatus that communicates with a base station apparatus, the terminal apparatus comprising: a processor configured to perform communication using an MCG and an SCG; and a receiver, wherein the MCG includes at least a PCell, the SCG includes at least a PSCell, the receiver is configured to receive, from the base station apparatus, an RRC message indicating deactivation of the SCG and including information indicating whether to perform radio link monitoring on a PSCell of a deactivated SCG, the processor is configured to deactivate the SCG in accordance with the RRC message indicating deactivation of the SCG, determine whether the information indicates performing radio link monitoring on the PSCell of the deactivated SCG, perform radio link monitoring on the PSCell of the SCG in a deactivated state of the SCG in a case of determining that the information indicates performing radio link monitoring on the PSCell of the deactivated SCG, and not perform radio link monitoring on the PSCell of the SCG in the deactivated state of the SCG in a case of determining that the information indicates not performing radio link monitoring on the PSCell of the deactivated SCG, the receiver is configured to receive, from the base station apparatus, an RRC message indicating activation of the SCG, and the processor is configured to activate the SCG in accordance with the RRC message indicating activation of the SCG, and resume radio link monitoring on the PSCell of the SCG in a case that radio link monitoring is not being performed.
Regarding claim 1, the Co-Pending application discloses all the limitations with the exception of the RRC message including information indicating whether to perform beam failure detection on a PSCell of a deactivated SCG, the processor is configured to: determine whether the information indicates performing beam failure detection on the PSCell of the deactivated SCG; indicate a MAC entity of the SCG of the terminal apparatus to perform beam failure detection on the PSCell in a deactivated state of the SCG, in a case of determining that the information indicates performing beam failure detection on the PSCell of the deactivated SCG; indicate the MAC entity of the SCG of the terminal apparatus not to perform beam failure detection on the PSCell in the deactivated state of the SCG, in a case of determining that the information indicates not performing beam failure detection on the PSCell of the deactivated SCG; and the processor is configured to: indicate the MAC entity of the SCG of the terminal apparatus to resume beam failure detection on the PSCell, in a case that beam failure detection is not being performed.
Da silva et al. from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the receiver to receive, from the base station apparatus, an RRC message indicating deactivation of the SCG and including information indicating whether to perform beam failure detection on a PSCell of a deactivated SCG (Da Silva et al. see para. 0300-0302; In some variants, the different BFD parameters may be configured in the same message indicating that the second cell group is to be deactivated mode of operation.). The UE receives the different BFD configuration including one or more parameters within the RRC deactivation signaling and determines whether to perform BFD on the second cell group (e.g., PSCell) when it is in a deactivated mode,
the processor is configured to:
determine whether the information indicates performing beam failure detection on the PSCell of the deactivated SCG (Da Silva et al. see para. 0301-0302; the different BFD parameters may be configured in CellGroupConfig for the second cell group (e.g., within an RRC Reconfiguration like message), along with some indication that these BFD related parameters are to be used by the UE for the second cell group when the second cell group is in deactivated mode of operation.). Thus, based on the different BFD configuration (e.g., including parameters) the UE determines whether to perform the BFD;
indicate a MAC entity of the SCG of the terminal apparatus to perform beam failure detection on the PSCell in a deactivated state of the SCG, in a case of determining that the information indicates performing beam failure detection on the PSCell of the deactivated SCG (Da Silva et al. see para. 0271, 0296, 0301, 0302; In para. 0271, …a “beam failure detection” (or “BFD” for short) while the second cell group is deactivated generally involves the UE performing monitoring of a set of RS configured for the purpose of BFD, with L1 generating indications (e.g., IS/OOS) to the MAC layer. In para. 0302, … In some variants, an absence of a specific BFD configuration for use in deactivated mode of operation may cause the UE to perform BFD based on the BFD configuration used in normal mode of operation for the second cell group.). An L1 signaling to indicated to the MAC layer/entity of the UE to perform BFD on the SCG (e.g., PSCell). In other words, an absence of a specific BFD configuration/parameter may cause the UE to perform BFD on SCG in deactivated mode based on the BFD configuration used in normal mode, wherein the absence of a specific BFD configuration/parameter serves as the information/indication to perform BFD; and
indicate the MAC entity of the SCG of the terminal apparatus not to perform beam failure detection on the PSCell in the deactivated state of the SCG, in a case of determining that the information indicates not performing beam failure detection on the PSCell of the deactivated SCG (Da Silva et al. see para. 0271, 0296, 0301, 0302; In para. 0271, …a “beam failure detection” (or “BFD” for short) while the second cell group is deactivated generally involves the UE performing monitoring of a set of RS configured for the purpose of BFD, with L1 generating indications (e.g., IS/OOS) to the MAC layer. In para. 0302, …In other variants, an absence of a specific BFD configuration for use in deactivated mode of operation may cause the UE to refrain from performing BFD on the second cell group when it is in deactivated mode of operation). an absence of a specific BFD configuration/parameter may cause the UE to refrain from perform BFD on SCG in deactivated mode, wherein the absence of a specific BFD configuration/parameter serves as the information/indication not to perform BFD;
the processor is configured to:
indicate the MAC entity of the SCG of the terminal apparatus to resume beam failure detection on the PSCell, in a case that beam failure detection is not being performed (Da Silva et al. see para. 0271, 0298; the UE performs BFD only for the SpCell of the second cell group. Thus, even if BFD is configured for SCell(s) of the second cell group, when the second cell group is deactivated the UE stops BFD for the SCell(s) and only continues BFD for the PSCell. When the UE activates the dormant SCG (e.g., receives an indication to resume the SCG operation), the UE again performs BFD also for the SCell(s).). The UE receives the indication to resume the SCG operation, the UE again perform BFD for PSCell and also for the SCells.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of the Co-Pending application and to implement with the features as taught by Da Silva et al. to receive RRC message indicating deactivation of the SCG and including information whether to perform BFD on deactivated SCG (e.g., PSCell), and to determine whether to perform or not perform BFD based on the information; and further to receive resume RRC signaling to resume BFD on the activated SCG (e.g., PSCell).
The motivation would be to reduce energy consumption.
2. A base station apparatus that communicates with a terminal apparatus, the base station apparatus comprising: a processor configured to communicate with the terminal apparatus; and a transmitter, wherein an SCG configured for the terminal apparatus includes at least a PSCell, the transmitter is configured to cause the terminal apparatus to deactivate the SCG by transmitting an RRC message indicating deactivation of the SCG and including information indicating whether to perform beam failure detection on a PSCell of a deactivated SCG, the base station apparatus is configured to cause the terminal apparatus to: determine whether the information indicates that beam failure detection is performed on the PSCell of the deactivated SCG; indicate a MAC entity of the SCG of the terminal apparatus to perform beam failure detection on the PSCell in a deactivated state of the SCG, in a case that the base station apparatus causes the terminal apparatus to determine that the information indicates that beam failure detection is performed on the PSCell of the deactivated SCG; indicate the MAC entity of the SCG of the terminal apparatus not to perform beam failure detection on the PSCell in the deactivated state of the SCG in a case that the base station apparatus causes the terminal apparatus to determine that the information indicates that beam failure detection is not performed on the PSCell of the deactivated SCG; activate the SCG by transmitting an RRC message indicating activation of the SCG; and indicate the MAC entity of the SCG of the terminal apparatus to resume beam failure detection on the PSCell, in a case that beam failure detection is not being performed.
2. A base station apparatus that communicates with a terminal apparatus, the base station apparatus comprising: a processor configured to communicate with the terminal apparatus; and a transmitter, wherein an SCG configured for the terminal apparatus includes at least a PSCell, the transmitter is configured to cause the terminal apparatus to deactivate the SCG by transmitting, to the terminal apparatus, an RRC message indicating deactivation of the SCG and including information indicating whether to perform radio link monitoring on a PSCell of a deactivated SCG, the base station apparatus is configured to, through the information indicating that radio link monitoring is not performed on the PSCell of the deactivated SCG, cause the terminal apparatus to determine not to perform radio link monitoring on the PSCell in a deactivated state of the SCG, and cause the terminal apparatus not to perform radio link monitoring on the PSCell of the SCG in the deactivated state of the SCG, the base station apparatus is configured to, through the information indicating that radio link monitoring is performed on the PSCell of the deactivated SCG, cause the terminal apparatus to determine to perform radio link monitoring on the PSCell in the deactivated state of the SCG, and cause the terminal apparatus to perform radio link monitoring on the PSCell of the SCG in the deactivated state of the SCG, and the base station apparatus causes the terminal apparatus to activate the SCG by transmitting an RRC message indicating activation of the SCG to the terminal apparatus, and the base station apparatus causes the terminal apparatus to initiate (resume) radio link monitoring on the PSCell of the SCG in a case that the terminal apparatus is not performing radio link monitoring on the PSCell of the SCG.
Regarding claim 2, the Co-Pending application discloses all the limitations with the exception of the transmitter for transmitting an RRC message indicating deactivation of the SCG and including information indicating whether to perform beam failure detection on a PSCell of a deactivated SCG, the base station apparatus is configured to cause the terminal apparatus to: determine whether the information indicates that beam failure detection is performed on the PSCell of the deactivated SCG; indicate a MAC entity of the SCG of the terminal apparatus to perform beam failure detection on the PSCell in a deactivated state of the SCG, in a case that the base station apparatus causes the terminal apparatus to determine that the information indicates that beam failure detection is performed on the PSCell of the deactivated SCG; indicate the MAC entity of the SCG of the terminal apparatus not to perform beam failure detection on the PSCell in the deactivated state of the SCG in a case that the base station apparatus causes the terminal apparatus to determine that the information indicates that beam failure detection is not performed on the PSCell of the deactivated SCG; and indicate the MAC entity of the SCG of the terminal apparatus to resume beam failure detection on the PSCell, in a case that beam failure detection is not being performed.
Da silva et al. from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the transmitter is configured to cause the terminal apparatus to deactivate the SCG by transmitting an RRC message indicating deactivation of the SCG and including information indicating whether to perform beam failure detection on a PSCell of a deactivated SCG (Da Silva et al. see para. 0300-0302; In some variants, the different BFD parameters may be configured in the same message indicating that the second cell group is to be deactivated mode of operation.). The network node transmits the different BFD configuration including one or more parameters within the RRC deactivation signaling to the UE. The UE determines whether to perform BFD on the second cell group (e.g., PSCell) when it is in a deactivated mode,
the base station apparatus is configured to cause the terminal apparatus to:
determine whether the information indicates that beam failure detection is performed on the PSCell of the deactivated SCG (Da Silva et al. see para. 0301-0302; the different BFD parameters may be configured in CellGroupConfig for the second cell group (e.g., within an RRC Reconfiguration like message), along with some indication that these BFD related parameters are to be used by the UE for the second cell group when the second cell group is in deactivated mode of operation.). Thus, based on the different BFD configuration (e.g., including parameters) the UE determines whether to perform the BFD;
indicate a MAC entity of the SCG of the terminal apparatus to perform beam failure detection on the PSCell in a deactivated state of the SCG, in a case that the base station apparatus causes the terminal apparatus to determine that the information indicates that beam failure detection is performed on the PSCell of the deactivated SCG (Da Silva et al. see para. 0271, 0296, 0301, 0302; In para. 0271, …a “beam failure detection” (or “BFD” for short) while the second cell group is deactivated generally involves the UE performing monitoring of a set of RS configured for the purpose of BFD, with L1 generating indications (e.g., IS/OOS) to the MAC layer. In para. 0302, … In some variants, an absence of a specific BFD configuration for use in deactivated mode of operation may cause the UE to perform BFD based on the BFD configuration used in normal mode of operation for the second cell group.). An L1 signaling to indicated to the MAC layer/entity of the UE to perform BFD on the SCG (e.g., PSCell). In other words, an absence of a specific BFD configuration/parameter may cause the UE to perform BFD on SCG in deactivated mode based on the BFD configuration used in normal mode, wherein the absence of a specific BFD configuration/parameter serves as the information/indication to perform BFD;
indicate the MAC entity of the SCG of the terminal apparatus not to perform beam failure detection on the PSCell in the deactivated state of the SCG in a case that the base station apparatus causes the terminal apparatus to determine that the information indicates that beam failure detection is not performed on the PSCell of the deactivated SCG (Da Silva et al. see para. 0271, 0296, 0301, 0302; In para. 0271, …a “beam failure detection” (or “BFD” for short) while the second cell group is deactivated generally involves the UE performing monitoring of a set of RS configured for the purpose of BFD, with L1 generating indications (e.g., IS/OOS) to the MAC layer. In para. 0302, …In other variants, an absence of a specific BFD configuration for use in deactivated mode of operation may cause the UE to refrain from performing BFD on the second cell group when it is in deactivated mode of operation). an absence of a specific BFD configuration/parameter may cause the UE to refrain from perform BFD on SCG in deactivated mode, wherein the absence of a specific BFD configuration/parameter serves as the information/indication not to perform BFD; and
indicate the MAC entity of the SCG of the terminal apparatus to resume beam failure detection on the PSCell, in a case that beam failure detection is not being performed (Da Silva et al. see para. 0271, 0298; the UE performs BFD only for the SpCell of the second cell group. Thus, even if BFD is configured for SCell(s) of the second cell group, when the second cell group is deactivated the UE stops BFD for the SCell(s) and only continues BFD for the PSCell. When the UE activates the dormant SCG (e.g., receives an indication to resume the SCG operation), the UE again performs BFD also for the SCell(s).). The UE receives the indication to resume the SCG operation, the UE again perform BFD for PSCell and also for the SCells.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of the Co-Pending application and to implement with the features as taught by Da Silva et al. to transmit RRC message indicating deactivation of the SCG and including information whether to perform BFD on deactivated SCG (e.g., PSCell), and to determine whether to perform or not perform BFD based on the information; and further to transmit resume RRC signaling to resume BFD on the activated SCG (e.g., PSCell).
The motivation would be to reduce energy consumption.
Claim 3 is rejected similarly to claim 2.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Da Silva et al. (Pub No.: 2023/0337020).
Regarding claim 1, Da Silva et al. discloses a terminal apparatus (see UE 3110 in fig. 31) that communicates with a base station apparatus (see network node 3160 (e.g., first network node) in fig. 31), the terminal apparatus comprising:
a processor (see processor 3201 in fig. 32) configured to perform communication using an MCG and an SCG (see abstract; a user equipment (UE) configured to communicate with a wireless network via a master cell group (MCG) and a secondary cell group (SCG)); and
a receiver (see communication subsystem 3231 in fig. 32), wherein the MCG includes at least a PCell (see 0016; …PCell of the MCG),
the SCG includes at least a PSCell (see 0016; …PSCell of the SCG), the receiver is configured to receive, from the base station apparatus (see MCG provided by the first network node in para. 0485), an RRC message (read as the indication in para. 0253 and/or first command in para. 0485) indicating deactivation of the SCG and including information (read as the different BFD parameters in para. 0301) indicating whether to perform beam failure detection on a PSCell of a deactivated SCG (Da Silva et al. see fig. 28, step 2810; para. 0253-0255, 0300-0302, 0485; In para. 0485, …The exemplary method can include operations of block 2810, where the UE can entering a reduced-energy mode for the SCG responsive to receiving a first command via the MCG or the SCG. In para. 0253, … The network node can transmit, to the UE, an indication for the second cell group to enter a deactivated mode of operation (e.g., from a normal mode of operation). In some variants, the different BFD parameters may be configured in the same message indicating that the second cell group is to be deactivated mode of operation.). The different BFD configuration including one or more parameters within the RRC deactivation signaling/command and determines whether to perform BFD on the second cell group (e.g., PSCell) when it is in a deactivated mode,
the processor is configured to deactivate the SCG in accordance with the RRC message indicating deactivation of the SCG (Da Silva et al. see para. 0272; As summarized above, a UE can receive (from a network node) an indication for the UE's second cell group to enter a deactivated mode of operation (e.g., from a normal mode of operation));
the processor is configured to:
determine whether the information indicates performing beam failure detection on the PSCell of the deactivated SCG (Da Silva et al. see para. 0298, 0300-0302; In para. 0300, .. the UE performs at least the actions as described in 3GPP TS 38.213 section 6 (“Link recovery procedures”) for the SpCell of the second cell group, according to a different BFD configuration including one or more new parameters. These may be configured only for use while the second cell group is deactivated..). Thus, based on the different BFD configuration (e.g., including parameters) the UE determines whether to perform the BFD on SPcell of the SCG;
indicate a MAC entity of the SCG of the terminal apparatus to perform beam failure detection on the PSCell in a deactivated state of the SCG, in a case of determining that the information indicates performing beam failure detection on the PSCell of the deactivated SCG (Da Silva et al. see para. 0271, 0296, 0301, 0302; In para. 0271, …a “beam failure detection” (or “BFD” for short) while the second cell group is deactivated generally involves the UE performing monitoring of a set of RS configured for the purpose of BFD, with L1 generating indications (e.g., IS/OOS) to the MAC layer. In para. 0302, … In some variants, an absence of a specific BFD configuration for use in deactivated mode of operation may cause the UE to perform BFD based on the BFD configuration used in normal mode of operation for the second cell group.). Thus, an L1 signaling is indicated to the MAC layer/entity of the UE to perform BFD on the SCG (e.g., PSCell). An absence of a specific BFD configuration/parameter may cause the UE to perform BFD on SCG in deactivated mode based on the BFD configuration used in normal mode, wherein the absence of a specific BFD configuration/parameter serves as the information/indication to perform BFD; and
indicate the MAC entity of the SCG of the terminal apparatus not to perform beam failure detection on the PSCell in the deactivated state of the SCG, in a case of determining that the information indicates not performing beam failure detection on the PSCell of the deactivated SCG (Da Silva et al. see para. 0271, 0296, 0301, 0302; In para. 0271, …a “beam failure detection” (or “BFD” for short) while the second cell group is deactivated generally involves the UE performing monitoring of a set of RS configured for the purpose of BFD, with L1 generating indications (e.g., IS/OOS) to the MAC layer. In para. 0302, …In other variants, an absence of a specific BFD configuration for use in deactivated mode of operation may cause the UE to refrain from performing BFD on the second cell group when it is in deactivated mode of operation). An absence of a specific BFD configuration/parameter may cause the UE to refrain from perform BFD on SCG in deactivated mode, wherein the absence of a specific BFD configuration/parameter serves as the information/indication not to perform BFD;
the receiver is configured to receive, from the base station apparatus, an RRC message indicating activation of the SCG (Da Silva et al. see fig. 28, step 2841; para. 0517; (2841) receiving, from the first network node, a second command indicating an activated mode for the SCG;); and
the processor is configured to:
activate the SCG in accordance with the RRC message indicating activation of the SCG (Da Silva et al. see para. 0436, 0518; exiting the reduced-energy mode for the SCG and entering the activated mode for the SCG); and
indicate the MAC entity of the SCG of the terminal apparatus to resume beam failure detection on the PSCell, in a case that beam failure detection is not being performed (Da Silva et al. see para. 0271, 0298; the UE performs BFD only for the SpCell of the second cell group. Thus, even if BFD is configured for SCell(s) of the second cell group, when the second cell group is deactivated the UE stops BFD for the SCell(s) and only continues BFD for the PSCell. When the UE activates the dormant SCG (e.g., receives an indication to resume the SCG operation), the UE again performs BFD also for the SCell(s).). The UE receives the indication to resume the SCG operation, the UE again perform BFD for PSCell and also for the SCells.
Regarding claim 2, Da Silva et al. discloses a base station apparatus (see network node 3160 (e.g., first network node) in fig. 31), that communicates with a terminal apparatus (see UE 3110 in fig. 31), the base station apparatus comprising:
a processor (see processor 3170 in fig. 31) configured to communicate with the terminal apparatus; and
a transmitter (see interface 3190 in fig. 31), wherein an SCG configured for the terminal apparatus includes at least a PSCell (see 0016; …PSCell of the SCG),
the transmitter is configured to cause the terminal apparatus to deactivate the SCG by transmitting an RRC message (read as the indication in para. 0253 and/or first command in para. 0485) indicating deactivation of the SCG and including information (read as the different BFD parameters in para. 0301) indicating whether to perform beam failure detection on a PSCell of a deactivated SCG (Da Silva et al. see fig. 28, step 2810; para. 0253-0255, 0300-0302, 0485; In para. 0485, …The exemplary method can include operations of block 2810, where the UE can entering a reduced-energy mode for the SCG responsive to receiving a first command via the MCG or the SCG. In para. 0253, … The network node can transmit, to the UE, an indication for the second cell group to enter a deactivated mode of operation (e.g., from a normal mode of operation). In some variants, the different BFD parameters may be configured in the same message indicating that the second cell group is to be deactivated mode of operation.). The different BFD configuration including one or more parameters within the RRC deactivation signaling/command and determines whether to perform BFD on the second cell group (e.g., PSCell) when it is in a deactivated mode,
the base station apparatus is configured to cause the terminal apparatus to:
determine whether the information indicates that beam failure detection is performed on the PSCell of the deactivated SCG (Da Silva et al. see para. 0301-0302; the different BFD parameters may be configured in CellGroupConfig for the second cell group (e.g., within an RRC Reconfiguration like message), along with some indication that these BFD related parameters are to be used by the UE for the second cell group when the second cell group is in deactivated mode of operation.). Thus, based on the different BFD configuration (e.g., including parameters) the UE determines whether to perform the BFD on the SPcell of the SCG;
indicate a MAC entity of the SCG of the terminal apparatus to perform beam failure detection on the PSCell in a deactivated state of the SCG, in a case that the base station apparatus causes the terminal apparatus to determine that the information indicates that beam failure detection is performed on the PSCell of the deactivated SCG (Da Silva et al. see para. 0271, 0296, 0301, 0302; In para. 0271, …a “beam failure detection” (or “BFD” for short) while the second cell group is deactivated generally involves the UE performing monitoring of a set of RS configured for the purpose of BFD, with L1 generating indications (e.g., IS/OOS) to the MAC layer. In para. 0302, … In some variants, an absence of a specific BFD configuration for use in deactivated mode of operation may cause the UE to perform BFD based on the BFD configuration used in normal mode of operation for the second cell group.). Thus, an L1 signaling to indicated to the MAC layer/entity of the UE to perform BFD on the SCG (e.g., PSCell). An absence of a specific BFD configuration/parameter may cause the UE to perform BFD on SCG in deactivated mode based on the BFD configuration used in normal mode, wherein the absence of a specific BFD configuration/parameter serves as the information/indication to perform BFD;
indicate the MAC entity of the SCG of the terminal apparatus not to perform beam failure detection on the PSCell in the deactivated state of the SCG in a case that the base station apparatus causes the terminal apparatus to determine that the information indicates that beam failure detection is not performed on the PSCell of the deactivated SCG (Da Silva et al. see para. 0271, 0296, 0301, 0302; In para. 0271, …a “beam failure detection” (or “BFD” for short) while the second cell group is deactivated generally involves the UE performing monitoring of a set of RS configured for the purpose of BFD, with L1 generating indications (e.g., IS/OOS) to the MAC layer. In para. 0302, …In other variants, an absence of a specific BFD configuration for use in deactivated mode of operation may cause the UE to refrain from performing BFD on the second cell group when it is in deactivated mode of operation). An absence of a specific BFD configuration/parameter may cause the UE to refrain from perform BFD on SCG in deactivated mode, wherein the absence of a specific BFD configuration/parameter serves as the information/indication not to perform BFD;
activate the SCG by transmitting an RRC message indicating activation of the SCG (Da Silva et al. see fig. 28, step 2841; para. 0517; (2841) receiving, from the first network node, a second command indicating an activated mode for the SCG;). The first network node transmits the resume/activation of the SCG via RRC message; and
indicate the MAC entity of the SCG of the terminal apparatus to resume beam failure detection on the PSCell, in a case that beam failure detection is not being performed (Da Silva et al. see para. 0271, 0298; the UE performs BFD only for the SpCell of the second cell group. Thus, even if BFD is configured for SCell(s) of the second cell group, when the second cell group is deactivated the UE stops BFD for the SCell(s) and only continues BFD for the PSCell. When the UE activates the dormant SCG (e.g., receives an indication to resume the SCG operation), the UE again performs BFD also for the SCell(s).). The UE receives the indication to resume the SCG operation, the UE again perform BFD for PSCell and also for the SCells.
Claim 3 is rejected similarly to claim 2.
Examiner's Note
The Applicant is welcome to request a telephonic interview if the Applicant has any questions or requires any additional information that would further or expedite the prosecution of the application.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim et al. (Pub No.: 2024/0349088) discloses a failure recovery in wireless communications. According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, a user equipment (UE) in a dual connectivity of a first cell group and a second cell group may determine a timer value for a recovery procedure of a failure on the first cell group based on at least one of i) a state of the second cell group, ii) whether a random access procedure to the second cell group is required for the recovery procedure, or iii) a time duration required for the random access procedure.
Min (Pub No.: 2024/0214842) discloses a terminal deactivates a secondary cell group according to a state of the secondary cell group. The terminal also transmits failure information of the secondary cell group to a network. When a failure of the secondary cell group in an inactive state occurs, the terminal transmits failure information including an information element indicating a state of cells of the secondary cell group.
Wang et al. (Pub No.: 2022/0167445) discloses a a communication method, and a communications apparatus. The communication method includes: An access network device sends a deactivation indication or an activation indication to a terminal. The deactivation indication is used to indicate that a primary secondary cell in a secondary cell group is in a deactivated state, and the activation indication is used to indicate that the primary secondary cell is in an activated state. The access network device is a master node or a secondary node of the terminal. In receiving the deactivation indication or the activation indication, the terminal performs a deactivation operation on the secondary cell group according to the deactivation indication, or activates the secondary cell group according to the activation indication.
/KAN YUEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464