DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ argument that none of the references cited alone or in combination teach the compression ring recited in claim 14 is not persuasive in view of rejection below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation of claim 22 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim 22 are rejected as best understood. Furthermore the limitation of claims 22-23 where the butt end regions are formed with two steps or staircase-shaped manner is well known to assignee (e.g. Federal-Mogul Burscheid GmbH). Applicant and/or assignee can provide affidavit and/or arguments that to have butt end regions with two steps or staircase-shape manner are not old and examiner will provide evidence reference that this is old and well known in the art. It is noted applicant should see reference JP06281003 on IDS form 1449.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-17, 19-21, 23 and 25-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sturm et al (EP3889471A1). See figure below
Sturm discloses a compression ring (e.g. ring 1 in figure 1), comprising a ring running surface (e.g. see butt end region having recess and protrusion below) on a first butt end region (e.g. figures 2-3), a ring running surface (e.g. see butt end region having recess and protrusion below) on a second butt end region (e.g. figures 2-3), a ring inner surface (e.g. inner diameter of the ring shown in figure 1), a top ring flank surface (e.g. top surface of the ring) and a bottom ring flank surface (e.g. bottom surface of the ring), wherein the ring has overlapping butt end regions (e.g. overlapping of 5 and 6), wherein the first butt end region has a protrusion (e.g. tongue 5) in the circumferential direction, and the second butt end region has a recess (e.g. recess 6) in the circumferential direction, wherein the recess lies radially inward of the protrusion (e.g. see figure below and figure 1), wherein the protrusion (e.g. the tongue 5 and figure below) forms an axial overlap surface (e.g. see figure below) and a radial overlap surface (e.g. axial and radial overlap surfaces of the tongue 5 and see figure below), and the recess (e.g. the recess 6 and figure below) forms an axial overlap surface (e.g. see figure below) and a radial overlap surface which lies at least partially opposite and parallel to the radial overlap surface in order to shift parallel to one another in response to a change of the butt play (e.g. overlap surfaces of the recess 6 and figure below), wherein the axial recess surface is provided with an axial wear element and the radial recess surface is provided with a radial wear element (e.g. see figure below and when 31 is applied to recess instead of the protrusion as stated in the reference, “A gas barrier is arranged on at least one of the locking ends, preferably on the tongue, more preferably on the radially inwardly facing sliding surface of the tongue and/or on the axial sliding surface of the tongue. The gas barrier at least partly bridges the radial and/or axial space which exists between the overlapping locking ends without any pressure.”), wherein the wear element (e.g. figure 5) is made of a temperature-resistant metallic material (e.g. coating that is formed by electroplating), wherein the material of the wear element (e.g. figures) has a lower wear resistance than the base material of the compression ring (e.g. direct quotes from reference, “Alternatively the protrusion may have a hardness which is lower than the hardness of the core of the piston ring.” and “The protrusion may comprise a soft metal, for example aluminum, bronze, non-ferrous metal, soft iron”). Direct quotes from reference: “Preferably the gas barrier has a hardness which is lower than the hardness of the core of the piston ring.” and “The surface of the gas barrier rubs flat when the diameter of the piston ring changes and the locking ends move relatively to each other”. Regarding claim 29, applicant should review barrier or coating or layer 31 in figure 15.
Regarding claim 15: Wherein the ring has the overlapping butt end regions in the nominal diameter (e.g. figures 1-5 show this).
Regarding claim 16: Wherein the surfaces, which can be shifted parallel to one another, lie at least partially opposite one another in the nominal diameter (e.g. figure 3 shows this).
Regarding claim 17: Wherein the wear element has a minimum thickness of 0.005 mm (e.g. document states this range, see description of protrusion 20).
Regarding claim 19: Wherein the wear element overlaps or covers, respectively, 10-100 of the surface, on which the wear element is arranged (e.g. see figures 5-6).
Regarding claim 20: Wherein the wear element is arranged in the axial direction and/or radial direction at a distance from an edge of the surface on which the wear element is arranged (e.g. figure 6 shows this, edge 28).
Regarding claim 21: Wherein the butt end regions are formed with a single step (e.g. figures 1-6 show this).
Regarding claim 23: Wherein the butt end regions are formed in a staircase-shaped manner (e.g. figures 1-6 show this).
Regarding claim 25: Wherein a strength of the wear element is in the range of 1-80% less than a strength of the compression ring (e.g. see material of the wear element which is softer metal than iron).
Regarding claim 26: Sturm discloses a method for counter-sinking a compression ring according to claim 14, wherein the method comprises the steps of applying a wear element by means of wire rolling into a groove, laser remelting, laser metal deposition, deposition welding, thermal spraying and/or galvanic or chemical deposition or sintering (e.g. see entire document and rejection of claim 14 above) and moving the butt end regions against one another in order to create a wear of the wear element, until the nominal size in the axial and/or radial direction of the compression ring is reached (e.g. this would occur during operation of a machine with a compression ring and the wear element is softer than the core element of the compression ring).
Regarding claim 27: Wherein the range is 0-40% (again the wear element is made of metal that is softer than the core material of the compression ring).
Regarding claim 28: Wherein the range is 1-20% (again the wear element is made of metal that is softer than the core material of the compression ring).
It is further noted that the reference teaches to have barrier or layer or coating on surface 6 and in other embodiment the coating is placed on plurality of surfaces as shown in figure 15. In conclusion to have coating formed on two of the surface of recess 6 would be well known in the art and considered to be art equivalent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sturm in view of Examiners Official Notice.
Sturm discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to disclose the wear element has different wear layers arranged one on top of the other, which include different materials. Examiner takes official notice that to have a coating on a member, where the coating is formed by multiple layers where 1st layers is primer layer and 2nd layers is a metallic layers different than the primer layer is well known in the art. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the wear element of Sturm be formed of different wear layers as taught by Examiners Official Notice, with reasonable expectation of success to provide better bonding between the core element of the piston ring and the metallic layer (inherent to provide better bonding).
See evidence references provided on form 892.
Claim(s) 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sturm in view of Dodd (US.1064300).
Sturm discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to disclose wherein the butt end regions are formed with two steps. Dodd teaches to have a piston ring with multiple steps at butt end regions (see figure 4, B or figures 1-3). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the butt end regions to have plurality of steps as taught by Dodd with reasonable expectation of success, to provide a compression with larger thickness (e.g. see thickness of ring taught by Dodd).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VISHAL A PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675