DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-6, in the reply filed on November 4, 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 7 and 8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claims 3 and 6, the last clause of each of the claims recites “in the step f, if the mixture is discharged through the nozzle”. The limiting effect of the recitation is unclear. It is not clear whether the word “if” is intending to make discharging the mixture through the nozzle an optional step or whether a different word with a more clear and appropriate meaning in the context was intended. It appears to the examiner that this is a grammatical issue. If the intent is to make the discharging step optional, the limitation would be improper under 35 USC 112(d) since the claims from which the claims depend already require the mixture to be discharged through the nozzle. Appropriate correction and clarification are required.
Further, claims 3 and 6 recite “the pores”. The recitation lacks antecedent basis in the claims.
Further still, claims 3 and 6 recite “so that electrolytes are filled into the pores”. The limiting effect of the recitation is unclear. It is not clear whether electrolytes are filled into the pores necessarily as a result of the formed bubbles or whether electrolytes are merely able to be filled into the pores. This is the first mention of electrolytes in the claims. It is not clear whether the active materials and the conductive additives are the electrolytes in the written context or whether electrolytes are added from another source or whether the intent is to form pores within which electrolytes can be added. Appropriate correction and clarification are required.
Regarding claim 4, the claim recites “the secondarily heated and agitated mixture” at step e. The recitation lacks antecedent basis in the claim. There is a primary heating step recited in step b, but there is no secondary heating step recited in claim 4 (note: claim 1 does have an explicitly secondary heating step, but this is not positively recited in claim 4). Appropriate correction and clarification are required.
Claim 5 is rejected as a dependent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aladjov et al. (US 2004/019194) in view of either one of Song et al. (US 2021/0336241; published October 28, 2021; filed September 11, 2020, with a priority date of April 28, 2020) or Eastin et al. (US 2003/0205835).
Regarding claim 1, Aladjov et al. teach method for manufacturing a dry electrode capable of/suitable for a secondary battery (Abstract; paragraphs [0002]-[0007] and [0032]) the method comprising mixing active materials and binders to make a mixture and putting the mixture to a screw mixer (Figure 1 (60) (68); paragraphs [0033], [0037]-[0042], [0097]-[0109]); rotating the screw mixer to move the mixture forward and allowing the mixture to be primarily heated and melted (Figure 1; paragraphs [0034]-[0041]); rotating the screw mixer to move the heated and melted mixture forward and allowing the mixture to be agitated (Figure 1; paragraphs [0034]-[0038]); rotating the screw mixer to move the agitated mixture forward and allowing the mixture to be secondarily heated and agitated (Figure 1; paragraphs [0034]-[0038]); rotating the screw mixer to pressurize the secondarily heated and agitated mixture forward and allowing the mixture to move to the end of a nozzle/die (Figure 1 (72); paragraphs [0036] and [0042]); allowing the mixture discharged to the form of a film through the nozzle/die to be compressed with rolls (paragraphs [0044] and [0077]) and attaching the film to a metal foil to manufacture the dry electrode (paragraphs [0044], [0077], and [0078]). Aladjov et al. generally teach compressing/compacting with rolls (paragraphs [0044] and [0077]), but do not explicitly teach the compressing with rolls is performed with rolls located above and under/below the mixture as claimed .
However, each of Song et al. (Figure 1 (40) (41); paragraphs [0087]-[0094]) and Eastin et al. (paragraphs [0054], [0057], [0068] – 2 roll mill) teach analogous methods wherein the formed mixture is compressed/compacted with rolls located above and under/below the formed mixture as claimed.
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Aladjov et al. and either one of Song et al. or Eastin et al. and to have compressed/compacted the formed mixture of Aladjov et al. with rollers located above and under/below the formed mixture, as suggested by either one of Song et al. or Eastin et al., for the purpose, as suggested by the references, of effectively compressing/compacting the formed mixture into a uniform layer having desired properties ready for further use.
As to claim 2, Aladjov et al teach adding conductive additives to the mixture (paragraphs [0050] and [0051]).
As to claim 3, Aladjov et al. teach and suggest organic or inorganic foaming agents that are dissolved to gases by means of heat are added to the mixture (paragraphs [0052]-[0055]); the primary heating temperature is higher than a melting temperature of the binders so that the binders are melted and mixed with the active materials, the conductive additives, and the foaming agents (paragraphs [0033], [0037]-[0042] and [0050]-[0055]); the secondary heating temperature is higher than an evaporation temperature of the foaming agents so that the foaming agents are evaporated and mixed with the melted binders (paragraphs [0052]-[005]); the agitated mixture is pressurized and moves forward so that the evaporated foaming agents are mixed with the melted binders (paragraphs [0052]-[0055]); and the mixture is discharged through the nozzle, the foaming agents mixed with the melted binder are expanded to form air bubbles so that electrolytes are filled into the pores formed by the air bubbles (paragraphs [0042], [0052]-[0055]); see section 112b rejection above). It is further noted that these recited steps are conventional steps coupled with the conventional results associated with the conventional steps as one having ordinary skill in the extrusion and foaming art will recognize.
Regarding claim 4, Aladjov et al. teach a method for manufacturing a dry electrode for a capable of/suitable for a secondary battery (Abstract; paragraphs [0002]-[0007] and [0032]), the method comprising mixing active materials and binders to make a mixture and putting the mixture to a screw mixer (Figure 1 (60) (68); paragraphs [0033], [0037]-[0042], [0097]-[0109]); rotating the screw mixer to move the mixture forward and allowing the mixture to be primarily heated and melted (Figure 1; paragraphs [0034]-[0041]); injecting gases or supercritical fluids into the screw mixer (paragraph [0054]); rotating the screw mixer to move the heated and melted mixture forward and allowing the mixture to be agitated (Figure 1; paragraphs [0034]-[0038]); rotating the screw mixer to pressurize the secondarily heated and agitated mixture forward and allowing the mixture to move to the end of a nozzle/die (Figure 1 (72); paragraphs [0036] and [0042]); allowing the mixture discharged to the form of a film through the nozzle/die to be compressed with rollers (paragraphs [0044] and [0077]); and attaching the film to a metal foil to manufacture the dry electrode (paragraphs [0044], [0077], and [0078]). Aladjov et al. generally teach compressing/compacting with rolls (paragraphs [0044] and [0077]), but do not explicitly teach the compressing with rolls is performed with rolls located above and under/below the mixture.
However, each of Song et al. (Figure 1 (40) (41); paragraphs [0087]-[0094]) and Eastin et al. (paragraphs [0054], [0057], [0068] – 2 roll mill) teach analogous methods wherein the formed mixture is compressed/compacted with rolls located above and under/below the formed mixture.
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Aladjov et la. and either one of Song et al. or Eastin et al. and to have compressed/compacted the formed mixture of Aladjov et al. with rollers located above and under/below the formed mixture, as suggested by either one of Song et al. or Eastin et al., for the purpose, as suggested by the references, of effectively compressing/compacting the formed mixture into a uniform layer having desired properties ready for further use.
As to claim 5, Aladjov et a. teach adding conductive additives to the mixture (paragraphs [0050] and [0051]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aladjov et al. (US 2004/019194) in view of either one of Song et al. (US 2021/0336241; published October 28, 2021; filed September 11, 2020, with a priority date of April 28, 2020) or Eastin et al. (US 2003/0205835), as applied to claims 1-5 above, and further in view of either one of He et al. (US 2019/0312261) or Burnham et al. (US 6,616,434).
As to claim 6, the combination teaches the method set forth above. Aladjov et al. teach injecting gas to form pores (paragraph [0054]), but do not teach gases or supercritical fluids are one or more of the materials as claimed
However, each of He et al. (paragraphs [0119]-[0122], [0128], and [0132]; e.g. pentane, hydrocarbons, carbon dioxide, nitrogen, butane) and Burnham et al. (col. 5, lines 21-35; gases/supercritical fluids, such as carbon dioxide, nitrogen, hydrocarbons, noble gases) teach analogous methods wherein specific and applicable blowing/foaming agent gases or supercritical fluids as claimed are disclosed for use in forming pores.
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Aladjov et al., with either one of He et al. or Burnham et al. and to have utilized the gases/supercritical fluids as claimed in the method of Aladjov et al., as suggested by either one of He et al. or Burnham et al., for the purpose, as suggested by the references, of utilizing art recognized suitable and effective blowing/foaming agents known to form desired porosity in the produced articles. Aladjov et al. generally disclose injecting gases as pore forming materials. Each of the secondary references disclose art recognized pore forming materials. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to seek out and utilize known materials in view of the general teaching of Aladjov et al. Each of the secondary references provide teaching regarding these known and suitable materials. In the combination, the agitated mixture would be pressurized and move forward so that the gases or supercritical fluids injected thereinto are mixed with the melted binders; and the mixture discharged through the nozzle, the gases or supercritical fluids mixed with the melted binders are expanded to form air bubbles so that electrolytes are filled into the pores formed by the air bubbles (also see the section 112b rejection above). It is further noted that these recited steps are conventional steps coupled with the conventional results associated with the conventional steps as one having ordinary skill in the extrusion and foaming art will recognize.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Each of Singh et al. (US 2011/0136017; paragraph [0050]), Barton et al. (US 2003/0054245; paragraphs [0011], [0018], [0019], [0026]-[0041] and [0061]), Bauer (US 2001/0021473), and Subbaraman (US 2021/0280914) disclose analogous methods for producing electrodes.
/JEFFREY M WOLLSCHLAGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742