DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by TEICHMANN, (From IDS: US 2019/0268676).
Regarding claim 1: TEICHMANN teaches a grid edge node [¶0037 teaches: transformer module or device 20 for exchanging information upstream and downstream between the communication nodes and a central location] configured to: interface with one or more grid assets of a power grid and one or more telecommunication assets of a telecommunications network [¶0034 teaches: The smart grid network 10 provides the inclusion of wireless communications and data transmission capability into transformer monitoring modules 20.]; monitor one or more conditions of one or more of the grid assets [¶0050 teaches: The sensors that may be used with the transformer monitoring device 20 include, but are not limited to, a thermistor 23b to monitor the ambient temperature, temperature sensors to measure the temperature of the transformer and/or the transformer monitoring device 20, a proximity sensor, a Rogowski coil associated with a transformer 12 to monitor the transformer current, oil temperature, oil level and moisture level.]; and provide wireless communication infrastructure to the telecommunications network [¶0034 teaches: The smart grid network 10 provides the inclusion of wireless communications and data transmission capability into transformer monitoring modules 20; ¶0046 teaches: for communication with the so-called cloud-based server, ¶0050 teaches: In the embodiment of the transformer monitoring device 20 shown in FIG. 1B, the transformer monitoring device 20 includes a WiFi antenna 24a to receive and transmit Wi-Fi signaling and a cellular antenna 24b to receive and transmit cellular signaling, such as 2G, 3G, 4G, 5G, LTE communications.].
Regarding claim 4: the essence of the claim is taught above in the rejection of claim 1.
In addition, TEICHMANN teaches one or more sensors configured to monitor one or more conditions of one or more of the grid assets [¶0050 teaches: The sensors that may be used with the transformer monitoring device 20 include, but are not limited to, a thermistor 23b to monitor the ambient temperature, temperature sensors to measure the temperature of the transformer and/or the transformer monitoring device 20, a proximity sensor, a Rogowski coil associated with a transformer 12 to monitor the transformer current, oil temperature, oil level and moisture level.];
a 5G telecommunication radio access point configured to transmit and receive 5G wireless signals in the telecommunication network and provide 5G base station or access point service to one or more of the telecommunication assets [¶0046 teaches: for communication with the so-called cloud-based server, ¶0050 teaches: In the embodiment of the transformer monitoring device 20 shown in FIG. 1B, the transformer monitoring device 20 includes a WiFi antenna 24a to receive and transmit Wi-Fi signaling and a cellular antenna 24b to receive and transmit cellular signaling, such as 2G, 3G, 4G, 5G, LTE communications]; and
a backhaul connection configured to provide communication between the grid edge node and a cloud-based monitoring system [¶0046 teaches: for communication with the so-called cloud-based server, ¶0050 teaches: In the embodiment of the transformer monitoring device 20 shown in FIG. 1B, the transformer monitoring device 20 includes a WiFi antenna 24a to receive and transmit Wi-Fi signaling and a cellular antenna 24b to receive and transmit cellular signaling, such as 2G, 3G, 4G, 5G, LTE communications; ¶0057 teaches: data transmission backhaul advantages in both emerging market and developed region rural communities using the advantageous features of underutilized broadcasting channels in both the VHF and UHF spectrum.]; wherein the grid edge node is further configured to transmit data indicative of one or more conditions of the one or more of the grid assets to the cloud-based monitoring system via the backhaul connection [¶0050 teaches: The sensors that may be used with the transformer monitoring device 20 include, but are not limited to, a thermistor 23b to monitor the ambient temperature, temperature sensors to measure the temperature of the transformer and/or the transformer monitoring device 20, a proximity sensor, a Rogowski coil associated with a transformer 12 to monitor the transformer current, oil temperature, oil level and moisture level.].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TEICHMANN, (From IDS: US 2019/0268676) in view of HUTSON et al., (US 2023/0077781).
Regarding claim 2: the essence of the claim is taught above in the rejection of claim 1.
However, it does not appear that TEICHMANN explicitly teaches a memory configured to store data indicative of one or more of the monitored conditions.
In a related field of endeavor, HUTSON teaches a memory configured to store data indicative of one or more of the monitored conditions [¶0120 teaches: The memory and logic 165 may also be arranged to store data that controls the electric power industry structure monitor 100a (e.g., initialization data, control parameters, and the like), and data generated by other modules of the electric power industry structure monitor 100a (e.g., sensor circuitry 170, data recording sensors 194].
Given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate HUTSON’s teaching of memory to store data on monitored conditions into TEICHMANN’s grid edge node for the benefit, as taught by HUTSON, of safety benefits in an electric power grid. [¶0215, HUTSON]
In addition, TEICHMANN teaches a backhaul connection configured to provide communication between the grid edge node and a cloud-based monitoring system [¶0046 teaches: for communication with the so-called cloud-based server, ¶0050 teaches: In the embodiment of the transformer monitoring device 20 shown in FIG. 1B, the transformer monitoring device 20 includes a WiFi antenna 24a to receive and transmit Wi-Fi signaling and a cellular antenna 24b to receive and transmit cellular signaling, such as 2G, 3G, 4G, 5G, LTE communications; ¶0057 teaches: data transmission backhaul advantages in both emerging market and developed region rural communities using the advantageous features of underutilized broadcasting channels in both the VHF and UHF spectrum.]; wherein the grid edge node is further configured to transmit data indicative of one or more of the monitored conditions to the cloud-based monitoring system via the backhaul connection [¶0046 teaches: for communication with the so-called cloud-based server; ¶0050 teaches: The sensors that may be used with the transformer monitoring device 20 include, but are not limited to, a thermistor 23b to monitor the ambient temperature, temperature sensors to measure the temperature of the transformer and/or the transformer monitoring device 20, a proximity sensor, a Rogowski coil associated with a transformer 12 to monitor the transformer current, oil temperature, oil level and moisture level.].
Regarding claim 12: the essence of the claim is taught above in the rejection of claim 2.
In addition, TEICHMANN teaches a telecommunications radio configured to transmit and receive wireless telecommunications signals to and from one or more of the telecommunication assets; wherein the telecommunications radio is a 5G telecommunications radio configured to transmit and receive 5G wireless signals in the telecommunications network [[¶0046 teaches: for communication with the so-called cloud-based server, ¶0050 teaches: In the embodiment of the transformer monitoring device 20 shown in FIG. 1B, the transformer monitoring device 20 includes a WiFi antenna 24a to receive and transmit Wi-Fi signaling and a cellular antenna 24b to receive and transmit cellular signaling, such as 2G, 3G, 4G, 5G, LTE communications].
Regarding claim 13: the essence of the claim is taught above in the rejection of claim 2.
In addition, HUTSON teaches wherein the backhaul connection is a fiber optic backhaul connection [¶0064 teaches a wired telecommunication backhaul connection. It is understood that these wired connections are in some cases separate wired connections (e.g., copper wire, fiber optic cable, industrial Ethernet cable, or the like)].
The motivation to combine is the same as for claim 1. [See teaching above]
Regarding claim 14: the essence of the claim is taught above in the rejection of claim 12.
In addition, HUTSON teaches wherein the backhaul connection is configured to provide communication between the telecommunications radio and one or more of the telecommunication assets of the telecommunications network [¶0061 teaches: In addition, because each smart sensor device 2a, 4a-4h is equipped with communication capabilities…The communicative relationship from each of the plurality of power poles and light fixtures with a smart sensor device 4a-4h to the power pole and light fixture 2 with a small cell networking device 2a may be a direct communication or an indirect communication.].
The motivation to combine is the same as for claim 1. [See teaching above]
Claim(s) 3, 5-6, 9, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TEICHMANN in view of BEAUDET et al., (US 2019/0277898).
Regarding claim 3: the essence of the claim is taught above in the rejection of claim 1.
However, it does not appear that TEICHMANN explicitly teaches a power supply comprising a bidirectional power converter configured to: receive input power from one of the grid assets comprising a power transformer configured to be mounted to a utility pole; and
provide power to the grid edge node.
In a related field of endeavor, BEAUDET teaches a power supply comprising a bidirectional power converter [¶0319 teaches: power lines 2607 that deliver power to transformer 2601 and up the line to transformer 2602 and transformer 2603. On each transformer 2601-2603, a transformer monitoring device 2400 or 2700 is installed on a low voltage side of each transformer 2601 -2603] configured to:
receive input power from one of the grid assets comprising a power transformer [¶0319 teaches: a transformer monitoring device 2400 or 2700 is installed on a low voltage side of each transformer].
Given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate BEAUDET’s teaching of a power supply into TEICHMANN’s grid edge node for the benefit, as taught by BEAUDET, of directly integrating the Monitoring Devices with the sensors directly in their Supervisory Control and Data Acquisition (SCADA) systems or other monitoring and control systems. [¶0272, BEAUDET]
In addition, TEICHMANN teaches configured to be mounted to a utility pole [¶0029 teaches: The pole, pad or underground mounted transformer monitor/smart data collector device]; and
provide power to the grid edge node [¶0029 teaches: establishing a data capture and delivery capability wherever there is power]; and
a backhaul connection configured to provide communication between the grid edge node and a cloud-based monitoring system [¶0046 teaches: for communication with the so-called cloud-based server, ¶0050 teaches: In the embodiment of the transformer monitoring device 20 shown in FIG. 1B, the transformer monitoring device 20 includes a WiFi antenna 24a to receive and transmit Wi-Fi signaling and a cellular antenna 24b to receive and transmit cellular signaling, such as 2G, 3G, 4G, 5G, LTE communications; ¶0057 teaches: data transmission backhaul advantages in both emerging market and developed region rural communities using the advantageous features of underutilized broadcasting channels in both the VHF and UHF spectrum.]; wherein the grid edge node is further configured to: transmit data indicative of one or more conditions of the power transformer [¶0017 teaches:” monitoring, by the apparatus, activities of a transformer arranged in a utility grid.] to the cloud-based monitoring system via the backhaul connection [¶0046 teaches: for communication with the so-called cloud-based server; ¶0057 teaches: data transmission backhaul advantages in both emerging market and developed region rural communities using the advantageous features of underutilized broadcasting channels in both the VHF and UHF spectrum.]; and be mounted to the utility pole upon which the power transformer is mounted [¶0029 teaches: The pole, pad or underground mounted transformer monitor/smart data collector device]; and wherein one or more of the conditions of the power transformer is selected from a group consisting of faults, abnormal output voltages, output current of one or more phase legs of the power transformer, vibration signatures of the power transformer, temperature of the power transformer, output power of the power transformer, tilting of the utility pole, a voltage output of the power transformer, a current output of the power transformer, and a power factor of the power transformer [¶0050 teaches: The sensors that may be used with the transformer monitoring device 20 include, but are not limited to, a thermistor 23b to monitor the ambient temperature, temperature sensors to measure the temperature of the transformer and/or the transformer monitoring device 20, a proximity sensor, a Rogowski coil associated with a transformer 12 to monitor the transformer current, oil temperature, oil level and moisture level.].
Regarding claim 5: the essence of the claim is taught above in the rejection of claim 4.
However, it does not appear that TEICHMANN explicitly teaches a power supply comprising a bidirectional power converter configured to: receive input power from one of the grid assets comprising a power transformer.
In a related field of endeavor, BEAUDET teaches a power supply comprising a bidirectional power converter [¶0319 teaches: power lines 2607 that deliver power to transformer 2601 and up the line to transformer 2602 and transformer 2603. On each transformer 2601-2603, a transformer monitoring device 2400 or 2700 is installed on a low voltage side of each transformer 2601 -2603] configured to: receive input power from one of the grid assets comprising a power transformer [¶0319 teaches: a transformer monitoring device 2400 or 2700 is installed on a low voltage side of each transformer].
Given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate BEAUDET’s teaching of a power supply into TEICHMANN’s grid edge node for the benefit, as taught by BEAUDET, of directly integrating the Monitoring Devices with the sensors directly in their Supervisory Control and Data Acquisition (SCADA) systems or other monitoring and control systems. [¶0272, BEAUDET]
In addition, TEICHMANN teaches configured to be mounted to a utility pole [¶0029 teaches: The pole, pad or underground mounted transformer monitor/smart data collector device]; and provide power to the grid edge node [¶0029 teaches: establishing a data capture and delivery capability wherever there is power]; wherein the grid edge node is further configured to: transmit data indicative of one or more conditions of the power transformer [¶0017 teaches:” monitoring, by the apparatus, activities of a transformer arranged in a utility grid.] to the cloud-based monitoring system via the backhaul connection [¶0046 teaches: for communication with the so-called cloud-based server; ¶0057 teaches: data transmission backhaul advantages in both emerging market and developed region rural communities using the advantageous features of underutilized broadcasting channels in both the VHF and UHF spectrum.]; wherein the grid edge node is further configured to be mounted to the utility pole upon which the power transformer is mounted [¶0029 teaches: The pole, pad or underground mounted transformer monitor/smart data collector device].
Regarding claim 6: the essence of the claim is taught above in the rejection of claim 5.
In addition, TEICHMANN teaches wherein one or more of the sensors is a current sensor configured as a Rogowski coil [¶0050 teaches: a Rogowski coil associated with a transformer 12 to monitor the transformer current].
Regarding claim 9: the essence of the claim is taught above in the rejection of claim 6.
In addition, TEICHMANN teaches wherein one or more of the sensors is selected from a group consisting of a vibration sensor configured to monitor vibrations of the power transformer,
an accelerometer configured to monitor vibrations of the power transformer, a temperature sensor configured to monitor a temperature of a casing of the power transformer, a temperature sensor configured to monitor a temperature of an oil temperature inside the power transformer, and an acoustic sensor configured to monitor acoustics generated by the power transformer [¶0050 teaches: The sensors that may be used with the transformer monitoring device 20 include, but are not limited to, a thermistor 23b to monitor the ambient temperature, temperature sensors to measure the temperature of the transformer and/or the transformer monitoring device 20, a proximity sensor, a Rogowski coil associated with a transformer 12 to monitor the transformer current, oil temperature, oil level and moisture level.].
Regarding claim 24: the essence of the claim is taught above in the rejection of claim 1.
In addition, TEICHMANN teaches a utility pole servicing the power grid comprising an electric utility grid [¶0029 teaches: The pole, pad or underground mounted transformer monitor/smart data collector device]; and the telecommunications network comprising a telecommunications utility network [¶0050 teaches: In the embodiment of the transformer monitoring device 20 shown in FIG. 1B, the transformer monitoring device 20 includes a WiFi antenna 24a to receive and transmit Wi-Fi signaling and a cellular antenna 24b to receive and transmit cellular signaling, such as 2G, 3G, 4G, 5G, LTE communications].
However, it does not appear that TEICHMANN explicitly teaches one of the grid assets comprising a power transformer mounted to the utility pole and configured to exchange electrical power between the electric utility grid and one or more other grid assets comprising electrical assets.
In a related field of endeavor, BEAUDET teaches one of the grid assets comprising a power transformer mounted to the utility pole [¶0134 teaches: [¶0319 teaches: power lines 2607 that deliver power to transformer 2601 and up the line to transformer 2602 and transformer 2603. On each transformer 2601-2603, a transformer monitoring device 2400 or 2700 is installed on a low voltage side of each transformer 2601 -2603] and configured to exchange electrical power between the electric utility grid and one or more other grid assets comprising electrical assets [¶0319 teaches: power lines 2607 that deliver power to transformer 2601 and up the line to transformer 2602 and transformer 2603. On each transformer 2601-2603, a transformer monitoring device 2400 or 2700 is installed on a low voltage side of each transformer 2601 -2603].
The motivation to combine is the same as for claim 3. [See teaching above]
In addition, TEICHMANN teaches wherein the grid edge node is mounted to the utility pole and configured to monitor one or more conditions of the power transformer and to transmit and receive wireless telecommunications signals to and from one or more of the telecommunication assets comprising remote devices utilizing the telecommunications utility network [¶0046 teaches: for communication with the so-called cloud-based server, ¶0050 teaches: In the embodiment of the transformer monitoring device 20 shown in FIG. 1B, the transformer monitoring device 20 includes a WiFi antenna 24a to receive and transmit Wi-Fi signaling and a cellular antenna 24b to receive and transmit cellular signaling, such as 2G, 3G, 4G, 5G, LTE communications; ¶0057 teaches: data transmission backhaul advantages in both emerging market and developed region rural communities using the advantageous features of underutilized broadcasting channels in both the VHF and UHF spectrum.].
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TEICHMANN modified by BEAUDET and in view of OSTROVSKY et al., (US 2020/0052482).
Regarding claim 7: the essence of the claim is taught above in the rejection of claim 6.
However, it does not appear that TEICHMANN modified by BEAUDET, explicitly teaches wherein the Rogowski coil is configured as clip-on Rogowski coil.
In a related field of endeavor, OSTROVSKY teaches wherein the Rogowski coil is configured as clip-on Rogowski coil [¶0082 teaches: In some implementations, the clip 500 is to house a Rogowski coil current sensor, such as that depicted in FIG. 2B. The clip 500 may include a c-clamp 502 that may be attached to a line side phase connection, such as the line side phase connection 202/301/302.].
Given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate OSTROVSKY’s teaching of clip-on Rogowski coil into TEICHMANN modified by BEAUDET’s grid edge node for the benefit, as taught by OSTROVSKY, of a shielded current sensor. [¶0089, OSTROVSKY]
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TEICHMANN modified by BEAUDET and in view of HUTSON.
Regarding claim 20: the essence of the claim is taught above in the rejection of claim 3.
However, it does not appear that TEICHMANN modified by BEAUDET explicitly teaches wherein the power supply further comprises a battery configured to provide backup power supply to the grid edge node when power is unavailable from the power transformer.
In a related field of endeavor, Hutson teaches wherein the power supply further comprises a battery configured to provide backup power supply to the grid edge node when power is unavailable from the power transformer [¶0191 teaches: [0191] A main circuit board 352 of the alternate second embodiment of an electric power industry structure monitor 100b is identified in FIG. 7D. An energy storage means 354 and an energy storage means holder 356 are mounted to the main circuit board 352. The energy storage means 354 may be a battery, capacitor, or some other energy storage device and its associated circuitry.].
The motivation to combine is the same as for claim 2. [See teaching above]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 16, 21, 25 and 45-46 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Prior art not relied upon: Please refer to the references listed in an attached PTO-892 and that are not relied upon for the claim rejections detailed above. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
In particular, BANTING et al., (US 2008/0100436) teaches an electrical power system control communications network;
DEAVER et al., (US 2008/0109387) teaches a power theft detection system1;
RADTKE et al., (US 2009/0115427) teaches a system for determining the impedance of a medium voltage power line;
FOSTER et al., (US 2017/0048598) teaches a transformer monitor with a communications and data collection device; and
BOGDAN et al., (US 2018/0157231) teaches utilities management via guided wave communication.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/MARNIE A MATT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485