DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s Response dated 1/5/2026. Applicant has filed a provisional application and thus the domestic benefit of 9/14/2021 is the effective filing date. Claims 1-9 and 13-16 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments, see page 8 of 12, filed 1/5/2026, with respect to drawing objections, specification objections, claim objections, and 112(b) rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The drawing objections, specification objections, claim objections, and 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-12 of 12, filed 1/5/2026, with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Claims 1-3 and 13-16 are now rejected under Cervantes et al. (US-2016/0016619; hereinafter Cervantes; already of record) in view of Carrier (US-2012/0185129).
A detailed rejection follows below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cervantes et al. (US-2016/0016619; hereinafter Cervantes; already of record) in view of Carrier (US-2012/0185129).
Regarding claim 1, Cervantes discloses a multi-units road vehicle (MURV) (see Cervantes at least Abs) comprising at least:
a set of multiple vehicle units (VUs) (see Cervantes at least [0155] "FIGS. 12 and 13 represent a road convoy 110 on the road 22. In this example, this convoy 110 is formed of vehicles 20, 62 and 68 coupled to one another in pairs by means of hitches 34, 36, 60 and 66…"), wherein each vehicle unit (VU) of the MURV is removably connectable to at least one other VU (see Cervantes at least [0113] "FIGS. 7 and 8 represent in more detail the hitches 34 and 36, respectively. The hitches 34 and 36 are situated at the front and at the rear of the vehicle 20, respectively. Here these hitches 34 and 36 are anchored to the portions 24 and 26, respectively, of the chassis with no degree of freedom in rotation in yaw." and [0119] "In the uncoupled position, these two vehicles 20 and 62 are uncoupled from each other and are free to move independently of each other.") and comprises at least:
a VU body (see Cervantes at least [0155] "FIGS. 12 and 13 represent a road convoy 110 on the road 22. In this example, this convoy 110 is formed of vehicles 20, 62 and 68 coupled to one another in pairs by means of hitches 34, 36, 60 and 66…");
…
…
...
However, while Cervantes describes a motor which propels a vehicle, it is not explicit that Cervantes discloses the following:
…two or more wheel sets, wherein each wheel set comprises at least one wheel, and wherein each wheel set connects to a respective different lateral side of the VU body…
…two or more controllable motors, each motor configured to controllably operate one or more wheels of a specific wheel set of the each VU, wherein each motor of each wheel set of the each VU is independently and separately controllable, for independent and separate controlling of operation of the at least one wheel…
…wherein, since each wheel set is located at the respective different lateral side of each VU and separately controlled, each different lateral side of the each VU can be separately and independently driven, thereby enabling differential steering of each VU.
Carrier, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…two or more wheel sets, wherein each wheel set comprises at least one wheel, and wherein each wheel set connects to a respective different lateral side of the VU body (see Carrier at least Fig 2 and [0045] "Importantly, the ability to control the power system provides for counter rotation of wheels 120 and 122 (e.g. left) rotate and or drive in forward motion while wheels 120 and 122 (e.g., right) rotate and or drive in reverse motion or vice versa, skid steering where one side (e.g. left) of wheels 120 and 122 are precluded from moving and the other side (e.g., right) wheels 120 and 122 are under power of movement, as well as forward and reverse movement of wheels 120 and 122 and turn steer capabilities where as wheels 120 and 122 (e.g., left) rotate or drive forward at full power and wheels 120 and 122 (e.g., right) rotate or drive at a reduced power or vice versa which creates a slow, smooth gradual turning like that of an automobile...")…
…two or more controllable motors, each motor configured to controllably operate one or more wheels of a specific wheel set of the each VU, wherein each motor of each wheel set of the each VU is independently and separately controllable, for independent and separate controlling of operation of the at least one wheel (see Carrier at least Fig 2 and [0045] "Importantly, the ability to control the power system provides for counter rotation of wheels 120 and 122 (e.g. left) rotate and or drive in forward motion while wheels 120 and 122 (e.g., right) rotate and or drive in reverse motion or vice versa, skid steering where one side (e.g. left) of wheels 120 and 122 are precluded from moving and the other side (e.g., right) wheels 120 and 122 are under power of movement, as well as forward and reverse movement of wheels 120 and 122 and turn steer capabilities where as wheels 120 and 122 (e.g., left) rotate or drive forward at full power and wheels 120 and 122 (e.g., right) rotate or drive at a reduced power or vice versa which creates a slow, smooth gradual turning like that of an automobile... The vehicle 100 includes more than four wheels, such as six and preferably eight wheels but could be of even a greater number of wheels which are connected to the vehicle and powered by independent hydraulic and or other propel means wheel motors.")…
…wherein, since each wheel set is located at the respective different lateral side of each VU and separately controlled, each different lateral side of the each VU can be separately and independently driven, thereby enabling differential steering of each VU (see Carrier at least Fig 4, [0039] "Each of the first and second chassis 102 and 104 include a plurality of wheels 120 and 122, respectively, which can each preferably be operably connected to a hydraulic or other propel means wheel motor 124 and 126, respectively..." and [0045] "Importantly, the ability to control the power system provides for counter rotation of wheels 120 and 122 (e.g. left) rotate and or drive in forward motion while wheels 120 and 122 (e.g., right) rotate and or drive in reverse motion or vice versa, skid steering where one side (e.g. left) of wheels 120 and 122 are precluded from moving and the other side (e.g., right) wheels 120 and 122 are under power of movement, as well as forward and reverse movement of wheels 120 and 122 and turn steer capabilities where as wheels 120 and 122 (e.g., left) rotate or drive forward at full power and wheels 120 and 122 (e.g., right) rotate or drive at a reduced power or vice versa which creates a slow, smooth gradual turning like that of an automobile...").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the MURV as disclosed by Cervantes with wheel sets located on lateral sides of each VU such as taught by Carrier with a reasonable expectation of success so as to provide variable and accurate steering capabilities to the MURV (see Carrier at least [0011] and [0025]).
Regarding claim 2, Cervantes in view of Carrier teach the MURV of claim 1, wherein the independent and separate controlling of operation of the at least one wheel comprises controlling one or more of:
rotation speed of each wheel of each wheel set;
steering position of each wheel of each wheel set (see Cervantes at least Fig 4, Fig 10, and [0127] "FIG. 10 represents an example of the device 32 for modifying the direction of the path of the vehicle 20. The device 32 is adapted to modify the steering angle φ (FIG. 4) of the wheel 42 in response to a command from a driver of the vehicle 20…");
elevation level of each wheel of each wheel set.
Regarding claim 3, Cervantes in view of Carrier teach the MURV of claim 1, wherein the set of multiple VUs comprises at least one main VU and one or more carriage VUs, removably connectable in a chained sequence to one another (see Cervantes at least [0119] "In the uncoupled position, these two vehicles 20 and 62 are uncoupled from each other and are free to move independently of each other." [0157] "...The towed vehicles 20 and 68 follow a single track relative to the set of wheels 120 of the head vehicle 62, i.e. the centers of the respective sets of wheels of each towed vehicle are all at the same distance from the center 132…" and [0290] "A variant of the convoy 400 includes non-motorized vehicles. For example the convoy 400 is formed of a motor vehicle and a trailer.").
Regarding claim 13, Cervantes in view of Carrier teach a method (see Cervantes at least [0001]) comprising at least:
providing a MURV according to claim 1 (see Cervantes at least [0001] & claim 1 above);
determining or receiving, separately for each wheel set of each VU of the MURV, control commands associated with wheel state of each wheel of each wheel set of each VU of the MURV (see Cervantes at least [0106] "Here the actuator 33 is mechanically connected directly between the portions 24 and 26. In addition to locking the articulation 31, the actuator 33 here makes it possible alternately to push away from each other and pull toward each other these portions 24, 26 by causing them to pivot about the axis 39. The actuator 33 is adapted to move the portions 24 and 26 in response to a command to produce a predetermined value of the angle θ and then to maintain the angle θ at this value until a new command is received. For example, the actuator 33 includes one or more cylinders such as hydraulic cylinders."); and
controlling each wheel of each wheel set of each VU of the MURV, according to the determined or received control commands associated therewith (see Cervantes at least [0106] "Here the actuator 33 is mechanically connected directly between the portions 24 and 26. In addition to locking the articulation 31, the actuator 33 here makes it possible alternately to push away from each other and pull toward each other these portions 24, 26 by causing them to pivot about the axis 39. The actuator 33 is adapted to move the portions 24 and 26 in response to a command to produce a predetermined value of the angle θ and then to maintain the angle θ at this value until a new command is received. For example, the actuator 33 includes one or more cylinders such as hydraulic cylinders.").
Regarding claim 14, Cervantes in view of Carrier teach the method of claim 13 further comprising receiving updated sensor data from sensors located in one or more of the VUs of the MURV and analyzing received updated sensor data for determining control commands of each wheel set of each VU (see Cervantes at least [0087] "The device 30 allows the portions 24 and 26 to pivot relative to each other about an articulation axis 39 normal to a rolling plane of the vehicle in order to modify an articulation angle θ of the vehicle 20 (FIG. 4)…" [0097]-[0099] "Here this mechanism 31C includes: ... a sensor 33B for measuring the angle θ." [0106] "Here the actuator 33 is mechanically connected directly between the portions 24 and 26. In addition to locking the articulation 31, the actuator 33 here makes it possible alternately to push away from each other and pull toward each other these portions 24, 26 by causing them to pivot about the axis 39. The actuator 33 is adapted to move the portions 24 and 26 in response to a command to produce a predetermined value of the angle θ and then to maintain the angle θ at this value until a new command is received. For example, the actuator 33 includes one or more cylinders such as hydraulic cylinders.").
Regarding claim 15, Cervantes in view of Carrier teach the method of claim 14, further comprising accumulating sensor data over time for each VU of the MURV, analyzing the accumulated sensor data and adjusting analysis of received updated sensor data, based on results of the analyzing the accumulated sensor data (see Cervantes at least [0087] "The device 30 allows the portions 24 and 26 to pivot relative to each other about an articulation axis 39 normal to a rolling plane of the vehicle in order to modify an articulation angle θ of the vehicle 20 (FIG. 4)…" [0097]-[0099] "Here this mechanism 31C includes: ... a sensor 33B for measuring the angle θ." [0106] "Here the actuator 33 is mechanically connected directly between the portions 24 and 26. In addition to locking the articulation 31, the actuator 33 here makes it possible alternately to push away from each other and pull toward each other these portions 24, 26 by causing them to pivot about the axis 39. The actuator 33 is adapted to move the portions 24 and 26 in response to a command to produce a predetermined value of the angle θ and then to maintain the angle θ at this value until a new command is received. For example, the actuator 33 includes one or more cylinders such as hydraulic cylinders.").
Regarding claim 16, Cervantes in view of Carrier teach the analogous material of that in claim 1 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Claims 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cervantes in view of Carrier, and further in view of Hu et al. (US-2022/0258723; hereinafter Hu; already of record).
Regarding claim 4, Cervantes in view of Carrier teach the MURV of claim 3. However, neither Cervantes nor Carrier explicitly disclose or teach the following:
…the main VU comprises a main controller configured to directly or indirectly, and separately, control motor operation of each wheel set of each VU, for separate control of one or more wheels of each wheel set of each VU of the MURV.
Hu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…the main VU comprises a main controller configured to directly or indirectly, and separately, control motor operation of each wheel set of each VU, for separate control of one or more wheels of each wheel set of each VU of the MURV (see Hu at least [0055] "At block B112 of FIG. 2, the main controller 50 transmits a closed-loop control signal (CL.fwdarw.T.sub.ACT) to each of the torque actuators, i.e., the electric machines 114E, the brake actuators 26, the steering actuators 25, the differentials 30 and 130, etc., to thereby apply the torque vector {right arrow over (T)} via the front drive axle 119F and/or the second drive axle 119R. The individual torque actuators and associated local controllers thus respond to these instructions with a corresponding output, be it a braking pressure, a steering response, or a motor torque, as appropriate for the actuator typ.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the MURV including two or more motors such as taught by Cervantes in view of Carrier with a main controller for motor controls such as taught by Hu with a reasonable expectation of success so as to provide individualized wheel controls for accurate movements (see Hu at least [0001] and [0033]).
Regarding claim 5, Cervantes in view of Carrier and Hu teach the MURV of claim 4, wherein each of one or more of the VUs of the MURV further comprises a local VU controller that is configured to directly or indirectly transmit control commands or control signals from the main controller to the two or more controllable motors (see Hu at least Fig 1 and [0055] "At block B112 of FIG. 2, the main controller 50 transmits a closed-loop control signal (CL.fwdarw.T.sub.ACT) to each of the torque actuators, i.e., the electric machines 114E, the brake actuators 26, the steering actuators 25, the differentials 30 and 130, etc., to thereby apply the torque vector {right arrow over (T)} via the front drive axle 119F and/or the second drive axle 119R. The individual torque actuators and associated local controllers thus respond to these instructions with a corresponding output, be it a braking pressure, a steering response, or a motor torque, as appropriate for the actuator typ.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the MURV including two or more motors such as taught by Cervantes in view of Carrier with local controllers for motor controls such as further taught by Hu with a reasonable expectation of success so as to provide individualized wheel controls for accurate movements (see Hu at least [0001] and [0033]).
Regarding claim 6, Cervantes in view of Carrier and Hu teach the MURV of claim 4, wherein one or more of the VUs of the MURV further comprises one or more sensors for sensing one or more external and/or internal parameters of a VU to which they are attached and/or of the entire MURV (see Cervantes at least [0143] "Here the actuator 97C also includes a sensor 97E for measuring the steering angle φ adapted to communicate with the unit 97D to supply the value of this angle φ." [0147] "The sensor 97B senses the coupled and uncoupled positions of the hitch 34 and delivers this information to the control units 33A and 97D..." [0200] "…The man-machine interface may include the steering wheel 23 associated with a sensor for sensing the angular position of this steering wheel...").
Regarding claim 7, Cervantes in view of Carrier and Hu teach the MURV of claim 6, wherein the one or more sensors comprise one or more of: accelerometer, camera, GPS (see Carrier at least [0073] "One computer system in the vehicle 100 is of the type that can be quickly released and be removable so that in the event a solder or other operator has to abandon the vehicle 100 in an event such as the vehicle becomes incapacitated or inoperable due to attack or equipment failure the vehicle 100 operator and crew can perform an escape and evade taking all collected information and data with them as well as still having a working GPS system in the computer to assist in escape and evade as well as extraction and search and recover missions."), pressure sensor (see Carrier at least [0043] "...Additionally, sensors 152 can be provided on all valves 146, 150,154, 156, 157, 158 to detect when there is a pressure differential change in the connections and the vehicle 100 can preferably automatically and or manually actuate the appropriate valves 146, 150, 154, 156, 157, 158 in a manner to maintain pressure and or flow equilibration in the hydraulic flow..."), thermometer (see Carrier at least [0068] "...It is contemplated that the vehicle 100 can include improved thermal sensors integrated with cool thermal systems incorporating wide fields of view and narrow fields of view giving the ability to scan more of the field to then zoom and detect various targets..."), microphone.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the MURV as disclosed by Cervantes with a variety of sensors such as further taught by Carrier with a reasonable expectation of success to allow for active monitoring of vehicle systems during use (see Carrier at least [0065]).
Regarding claim 8, Cervantes in view of Carrier and Hu teach the MURV of claim 6, wherein the main controller is configured to receive and analyze updated sensor data from the sensors, in real time or near real time, to determine one or more control parameters for controlling each wheel of each wheel set of each VU of the MURV, wherein the one or more control parameters comprise one or more of: wheel speed, steering position, wheel elevation position (see Cervantes at least [0087] "The device 30 allows the portions 24 and 26 to pivot relative to each other about an articulation axis 39 normal to a rolling plane of the vehicle in order to modify an articulation angle θ of the vehicle 20 (FIG. 4)…" [0097]-[0099] "Here this mechanism 31C includes: ... a sensor 33B for measuring the angle θ." [0106] "Here the actuator 33 is mechanically connected directly between the portions 24 and 26. In addition to locking the articulation 31, the actuator 33 here makes it possible alternately to push away from each other and pull toward each other these portions 24, 26 by causing them to pivot about the axis 39. The actuator 33 is adapted to move the portions 24 and 26 in response to a command to produce a predetermined value of the angle θ and then to maintain the angle θ at this value until a new command is received. For example, the actuator 33 includes one or more cylinders such as hydraulic cylinders.").
Regarding claim 9, Cervantes in view of Carrier teach the MURV of claim 1. However, neither Cervantes nor Carrier explicitly disclose or teach the following:
…each wheel set of each VU further comprises a separate per-wheel-set controller, for direct per wheel set control of each wheel set.
Hu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…each wheel set of each VU further comprises a separate per-wheel-set controller, for direct per wheel set control of each wheel set (see Hu at least Fig 1 and [0055] "At block B112 of FIG. 2, the main controller 50 transmits a closed-loop control signal (CL.fwdarw.T.sub.ACT) to each of the torque actuators, i.e., the electric machines 114E, the brake actuators 26, the steering actuators 25, the differentials 30 and 130, etc., to thereby apply the torque vector {right arrow over (T)} via the front drive axle 119F and/or the second drive axle 119R. The individual torque actuators and associated local controllers thus respond to these instructions with a corresponding output, be it a braking pressure, a steering response, or a motor torque, as appropriate for the actuator typ.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the MURV including two or more motors such as taught by Cervantes in view of Carrier with a local controllers for motor controls such as taught by Hu with a reasonable expectation of success so as to provide individualized wheel controls for accurate movements (see Hu at least [0001] and [0033]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wada et al. (US-2017/0327000) teaches a machine with transmission belts which allow for skid steering capabilities.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.P.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663