DETAILED ACTION
Claims 8 and 16 objected to because of the following informalities:
The phrase “analyzing the determined characteristics the first electrical current”, should read ”analyzing the determined characteristics of the first electrical current”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 9, and 17 recite: determine whether to output a message, and in response to the determination, refrain from causing the communication circuitry to output the message. It is not clear which previous determination within the claim is being referred to. Additionally, as written, the claim refrains from outputting the message no matter the determination. To promote compact prosecution the Examiner will interpret the limitation to mean that in response to the determination that a message is not warranted, refrain from causing the communication circuitry to output the message.
Claims 2-8, 10-16, and 18-20 are rejected for their dependences on claims 1, 9, and 17, respectively.
Claims 4 and 12 recites the limitation "energy harvester" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. To promote compact prosecution the Examiner will interpret energy harvester to refer to the energy harvesting circuitry.
Claims 8 16, and 20 recites the limitation "the analyzed first electrical current" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. To promote compact prosecution the Examiner will interpret the analyzed first electrical current to refer to the analyzed characteristics the first electrical current.
Claim 16 recites: the processing circuitry, it is not clear whether this refers to the first or second processing circuitry of the claims from which it depends. To promote compact prosecution the Examiner will interpret the processing circuitry to refer to the second processing circuitry of claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-12, 14-17, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Courtney et al. (US 20210118279 A1), hereinafter “Courtney”.
Regarding Claim 1, Courtney teaches a device, comprising:
a plurality of electrical conductors configured to carry alternating current (AC)power (Courtney [0038] Device 300 may be attached to or otherwise coupled to a wire, for example, the power cord, a power wire, or the like, of the equipment. For example, device 300 may be a part of a clamping mechanism that is clamped around the power cord of an equipment. As another example, device 300 may be integrated into a power cord of an equipment, or as a connection interface between the power plug of the equipment and the power socket of a building. Also see [0056] Sensor hub 402 may also receive operating power from a low voltage A/C source 416 via connection 404. In some examples, sensor hub 402 may be located to monitor operation of an HVAC system, which may transform line power to a low voltage A/C source for use by the HVAC system. Sensor hub 402 may use a low voltage A/C source to directly power sensor hub 402 and/or to charge an energy storage device. In other examples, sensor hub 402 may receive operating power from a D/C source via D/C connector 406. For example, connector 406 may be configured to connect to a D/C switching power supply connected to line power.);
current sensing circuitry. wherein the current sensing circuitry is configured to output a signal identifying characteristics of a first electrical current traveling through a first electrical conductor of the plurality of electrical conductors (Courtney [0039] In this example, the components of the power monitoring device may be integrated into the power plug and the current sensing mechanism may run through the power cord. For example, if the current sensing mechanism is a current transformer, then the current transformer (CT) includes a metal component. Also see [0053] Current transformers 414A-414C are examples of CT 302 described above in relation to FIG. 3 and have similar functions and characteristics. In some examples CT 414A-414C (collectively CT 414) may clamp around a power supply cord for household equipment or equipment to measure the power consumption characteristics over time for the equipment. And [0071] In some examples sensing circuitry 606 may include a current transformer, Hall sensor, or some other sensor configured to measure power, electrical current, vars or other power signals passing through receptacle 610 and power plugs 620 and 630.);
an electromagnetic shield, configured to isolate the current sensing circuitry from sensing a second electrical current traveling through a second electrical conductor of the plurality of electrical conductors, the second electrical conductor being different from the first electrical conductor(Courtney [0039]In this example, the components of the power monitoring device may be integrated into the power plug and the current sensing mechanism may run through the power cord. For example, if the current sensing mechanism is a current transformer, then the current transformer (CT) includes a metal component. In an example where the current transformer is integrated into a power cord or cable, the metal component may be drawn into a thin wire that runs the length or a substantial length of the power cord or cable. This arrangement may allow device 300 to be integrated into standard power cables without significantly increasing the size of the power cord or cable. In cases where the sensing circuitry is integrated into the power cables it is necessarily within the outer shielding of the cable that is meant to protect the inner wires from outside elements and possible interference from other signals);
communication circuitry configured to communicate with an external computing device separate from the device (Courtney [0057] In other examples, processing circuitry 410 may cause communication circuitry 420 to transmit the received signals to gateway 430 and/or server 436 for more detailed analysis by more powerful processing circuitry at gateway 430 or server 436. Also see [0058] Communication circuitry 420 is an example of communication circuitry 308 described above in relation to FIG. 3 and may have similar functions and characteristics. In some examples communication circuitry 420 may also have characteristics of other communication circuitry such as WLAN 160 and WWAN 150 described above in relation to FIG. 1. In other examples, communication circuitry 420 may also include wired communication circuitry such as Ethernet and may connect to gateway 430 and/or server 436 with an RJ45 or similar wired connection.);
processing circuitry operatively coupled to the current sensing circuitry and a memory (Courtney [0054] Processing circuitry 410 is an example of processor 304 described above in relation to FIG. 3 and has similar functions and characteristics. Processing circuitry 410 may receive and analyze power consumption signals from input components 408A-408D, as well as any sensors connected to sensor connector 412, control the operation of communication circuitry 420 and of energy harvester 405. Additionally, processing circuitry may include, or be coupled to computer readable storage media (not shown in FIG. 4).), the processing circuitry configured to:
receive the signal from the current sensing circuitry (Courtney [0054] Processing circuitry 410 may receive and analyze power consumption signals from input components 408A-408D, as well as any sensors connected to sensor connector 412. Also see [0057] Sensor connector 412 may provide connection terminals for processing circuitry 410 to receive signals from other sensors.);
determine the characteristics of the first electrical current based on the signal (Courtney [0063] In operation, sensor hubs 402A-402D may perform rudimentary analysis of sensor inputs such as power consumption signals and other sensor inputs in some examples. Rudimentary analysis may include comparing, at various scales, signatures in the power consumption signals to expected power consumption signals, include real and reactive power, to determine whether the equipment is performing normally, e.g. as expected.);
determine whether to cause the communication circuitry to output an electronic message based on the determined characteristics of the first electrical current (Courtney [0063] In some examples, the sensor hub may communicate only that the equipment completed an operational cycle as expected. In other examples, the sensor hub may provide more or less information about an operational cycle at varying level of detail. In some examples, the sensor hub may only provide information if a monitored equipment appears to depart from the expected characteristic power consumption signature, e.g. by more than a threshold amount.);
compare the determined characteristics to one or more threshold limits stored at the memory (Courtney [0078] The processing circuitry may output an indication of the state of health based on the comparison (708). In some examples, the processing circuitry may cause communication circuitry to indicate that the equipment if functioning normally in the example when the measured power consumption signature approximately matches the expected signature. In other examples, the processing circuitry may only output an alert or other indication of the state of health if the processing circuitry detects that the measured signature is outside an allowable performance boundary of time or magnitude from the expected signature.);
based on the comparison, determine whether to output a message to the external computing device (Courtney [0078] The processing circuitry may output an indication of the state of health based on the comparison (708). In some examples, the processing circuitry may cause communication circuitry to indicate that the equipment if functioning normally in the example when the measured power consumption signature approximately matches the expected signature. In other examples, the processing circuitry may only output an alert or other indication of the state of health if the processing circuitry detects that the measured signature is outside an allowable performance boundary of time or magnitude from the expected signature.); and
in response to the determination, refrain from causing the communication circuitry to output the message (Courtney [0078] In other examples, the processing circuitry may only output an alert or other indication of the state of health if the processing circuitry detects that the measured signature is outside an allowable performance boundary of time or magnitude from the expected signature.).
Regarding Claim 2, Courtney further teaches energy harvesting circuitry coupled to at least one electrical conductor of the plurality of electrical conductors, wherein the energy harvesting circuitry is configured to draw power from the at least one electrical conductor (Courtney [0055] Energy harvester 405 is an example of energy harvester 305 described above in relation to FIG. 3. Energy harvester 405 may comprise circuitry that receives current generated by CT 414, caused by current used by a monitored equipment (not shown in FIG. 4) passing through CT 414, and use the current to trickle charge an energy storage device, such as energy storage unit 306 described above in relation to FIG. 3 (not shown in FIG. 4). In some examples, energy harvester 405 may directly provide electrical power to processing circuitry 410, communication circuitry 420 and other components of sensor hub 402 or extend the life of the energy storage device.).
Regarding Claim 3, Courtney further teaches wherein the energy harvesting circuitry is configured to draw power from a signal associated with the current sensing circuitry (Courtney [0055] Energy harvester 405 is an example of energy harvester 305 described above in relation to FIG. 3. Energy harvester 405 may comprise circuitry that receives current generated by CT 414, caused by current used by a monitored equipment (not shown in FIG. 4) passing through CT 414, and use the current to trickle charge an energy storage device, such as energy storage unit 306 described above in relation to FIG. 3 (not shown in FIG. 4). In some examples, energy harvester 405 may directly provide electrical power to processing circuitry 410, communication circuitry 420 and other components of sensor hub 402 or extend the life of the energy storage device.).
Regarding Claim 4, Courtney further teaches an energy storage device electrically coupled to the energy harvesting circuitry, wherein energy harvested by the energy harvester charges the energy storage device (Courtney [0046] Energy harvester 305 uses this to charge energy storage unit 306. Energy storage unit 306 may be a rechargeable battery or may be another type of component that can store energy.).
Regarding Claim 6, Courtney further teaches wherein the device is configured to be coupled between a power supply and electrically powered equipment (Courtney [0041] In other examples current sensing mechanism 302 may be separate from housing 301. For example, current sensing mechanism 302 may be attached to a power cord of the equipment and connected to housing 301 via input component 303.), and
wherein the message comprises data indicating a state of health of the equipment based on the characteristics of the first electrical current (Courtney [0057] Processing circuitry 410 may use the inputs from the multiple sensors to determine a state of health for the monitored equipment. [0078] The processing circuitry may output an indication of the state of health based on the comparison (708). In some examples, the processing circuitry may cause communication circuitry to indicate that the equipment if functioning normally in the example when the measured power consumption signature approximately matches the expected signature. In other examples, the processing circuitry may only output an alert or other indication of the state of health if the processing circuitry detects that the measured signature is outside an allowable performance boundary of time or magnitude from the expected signature.).
Regarding Claim 7, Courtney further teaches wherein one or more characteristics of the first electrical current comprise: a current draw, a cycle time, real power. reactive power and current variability (Courtney [0020] To identify the cause of failures, different equipment performance information may be collected by analyzing the current signal, for example, current draw, real and reactive power, cycle times, current variability and the like. Also see [0063] Rudimentary analysis may include comparing, at various scales, signatures in the power consumption signals to expected power consumption signals, include real and reactive power, to determine whether the equipment is performing normally, e.g. as expected. In some examples, the sensor hub may communicate only that the equipment completed an operational cycle as expected. In other examples, the sensor hub may provide more or less information about an operational cycle at varying level of detail.).
Regarding Claim 8, Courtney further teaches identify parameters of the equipment by analyzing the determined characteristics the first electrical current (Courtney [0023] In some examples, the device may analyze the current signal and determine that the magnitude of current used by the equipment, e.g. the current draw for the equipment, is within an expected range. In other examples, the device may analyze the current signal and determine that the current draw is higher than expected. Also see [0063] Rudimentary analysis may include comparing, at various scales, signatures in the power consumption signals to expected power consumption signals, include real and reactive power, to determine whether the equipment is performing normally, e.g. as expected.);
receive an expected power consumption signature from the external computing device (Courtney [0072] Also, communication circuitry 608 may receive an identification and characteristics of the apparatus to which it is connected, such as expected power consumption signals. Also see [0063] Rudimentary analysis may include comparing, at various scales, signatures in the power consumption signals to expected power consumption signals, include real and reactive power, to determine whether the equipment is performing normally, e.g. as expected. And [0076] The processing circuitry may compare the power consumption signature to an expected power consumption signature (704). […] The processing circuitry may determine whether the measured power consumption signature matches the expected power consumption signature within allowed tolerances. The expected signal must be stored somewhere for use.); and
determine a state of health of the equipment based on comparing the analyzed first electrical current to the expected power consumption signature (Courtney [0076] The processing circuitry may compare the power consumption signature to an expected power consumption signature (704). […] The processing circuitry may determine whether the measured power consumption signature matches the expected power consumption signature within allowed tolerances.).
Regarding Claim 9, Courtney teaches a system comprising:
a gateway comprising first processing circuitry (Courtney [0060] In some examples, gateway 430 may include processing circuitry 432. See Fig. 4 430) coupled to a memory (Courtney [0052] Sensor hub 402A may communicate with server 436 via gateway 430 via communication circuitry 420. Alternatively, or additionally, sensor hub 402A may communicate directly with server 436 (not shown in FIG. 4). Gateway 430 may also communicate with additional sensor hubs, e.g. sensor hubs 402B-402D and may also communicate with server 436. Each of sensor hubs 402B-402D may include one or more power sensors, such as a current transformers or similar power sensor. Gateway 430, server 436, a cloud server (not shown in FIG. 4) may all be examples of an external computing device that communicates with sensor hubs 402A-402D. Also see [0057] processing circuitry 410 may cause communication circuitry 420 to transmit the received signals to gateway 430 and/or server 436 for more detailed analysis by more powerful processing circuitry at gateway 430 or server 436.), the gateway configured to communicate with a server;
a device (Courtney [0051] Power consumption monitoring system 400 is an example of device 300. See Fig. 3 300 and Fig. 4 400), comprising:
a plurality of electrical conductors configured to carry alternating current (AC)power (Courtney [0038] Device 300 may be attached to or otherwise coupled to a wire, for example, the power cord, a power wire, or the like, of the equipment. For example, device 300 may be a part of a clamping mechanism that is clamped around the power cord of an equipment. As another example, device 300 may be integrated into a power cord of an equipment, or as a connection interface between the power plug of the equipment and the power socket of a building. Also see [0056] Sensor hub 402 may also receive operating power from a low voltage A/C source 416 via connection 404. In some examples, sensor hub 402 may be located to monitor operation of an HVAC system, which may transform line power to a low voltage A/C source for use by the HVAC system. Sensor hub 402 may use a low voltage A/C source to directly power sensor hub 402 and/or to charge an energy storage device. In other examples, sensor hub 402 may receive operating power from a D/C source via D/C connector 406. For example, connector 406 may be configured to connect to a D/C switching power supply connected to line power.);
current sensing circuitry. wherein the current sensing circuitry is configured to output a signal identifying characteristics of a first electrical current traveling through a first electrical conductor of the plurality of electrical conductors (Courtney [0039] In this example, the components of the power monitoring device may be integrated into the power plug and the current sensing mechanism may run through the power cord. For example, if the current sensing mechanism is a current transformer, then the current transformer (CT) includes a metal component. Also see [0053] Current transformers 414A-414C are examples of CT 302 described above in relation to FIG. 3 and have similar functions and characteristics. In some examples CT 414A-414C (collectively CT 414) may clamp around a power supply cord for household equipment or equipment to measure the power consumption characteristics over time for the equipment. And [0071] In some examples sensing circuitry 606 may include a current transformer, Hall sensor, or some other sensor configured to measure power, electrical current, vars or other power signals passing through receptacle 610 and power plugs 620 and 630.);
an electromagnetic shield, configured to isolate the current sensing circuitry from sensing a second electrical current traveling through a second electrical conductor of the plurality of electrical conductors, the second electrical conductor being different from the first electrical conductor(Courtney [0039]In this example, the components of the power monitoring device may be integrated into the power plug and the current sensing mechanism may run through the power cord. For example, if the current sensing mechanism is a current transformer, then the current transformer (CT) includes a metal component. In an example where the current transformer is integrated into a power cord or cable, the metal component may be drawn into a thin wire that runs the length or a substantial length of the power cord or cable. This arrangement may allow device 300 to be integrated into standard power cables without significantly increasing the size of the power cord or cable. In cases where the sensing circuitry is integrated into the power cables it is necessarily within the outer shielding of the cable that is meant to protect the inner wires from outside elements and possible interference from other signals);
communication circuitry configured to communicate with the gateway (Courtney [0057] In other examples, processing circuitry 410 may cause communication circuitry 420 to transmit the received signals to gateway 430 and/or server 436 for more detailed analysis by more powerful processing circuitry at gateway 430 or server 436. Also see [0058] Communication circuitry 420 is an example of communication circuitry 308 described above in relation to FIG. 3 and may have similar functions and characteristics. In some examples communication circuitry 420 may also have characteristics of other communication circuitry such as WLAN 160 and WWAN 150 described above in relation to FIG. 1. In other examples, communication circuitry 420 may also include wired communication circuitry such as Ethernet and may connect to gateway 430 and/or server 436 with an RJ45 or similar wired connection.);
second processing circuitry operatively coupled to the current sensing circuitry (Courtney [0054] Processing circuitry 410 is an example of processor 304 described above in relation to FIG. 3 and has similar functions and characteristics. Processing circuitry 410 may receive and analyze power consumption signals from input components 408A-408D, as well as any sensors connected to sensor connector 412, control the operation of communication circuitry 420 and of energy harvester 405. Additionally, processing circuitry may include, or be coupled to computer readable storage media (not shown in FIG. 4).), the second processing circuitry configured to:
receive the signal from the current sensing circuitry (Courtney [0054] Processing circuitry 410 may receive and analyze power consumption signals from input components 408A-408D, as well as any sensors connected to sensor connector 412. Also see [0057] Sensor connector 412 may provide connection terminals for processing circuitry 410 to receive signals from other sensors.);
determine the characteristics of the first electrical current based on the signal (Courtney [0063] In operation, sensor hubs 402A-402D may perform rudimentary analysis of sensor inputs such as power consumption signals and other sensor inputs in some examples. Rudimentary analysis may include comparing, at various scales, signatures in the power consumption signals to expected power consumption signals, include real and reactive power, to determine whether the equipment is performing normally, e.g. as expected.);
cause the communication circuitry to output a message to the gateway, wherein the message includes the characteristics of the first electrical current (Courtney [0063] In some examples, the sensor hub may communicate only that the equipment completed an operational cycle as expected. In other examples, the sensor hub may provide more or less information about an operational cycle at varying level of detail. In some examples, the sensor hub may only provide information if a monitored equipment appears to depart from the expected characteristic power consumption signature, e.g. by more than a threshold amount.);
the first processing; circuitry of the gateway is configured to:
receive the message with the characteristics of the first electrical current (Courtney [0063] In some examples, the sensor hub may communicate only that the equipment completed an operational cycle as expected. In other examples, the sensor hub may provide more or less information about an operational cycle at varying level of detail. In some examples, the sensor hub may only provide information if a monitored equipment appears to depart from the expected characteristic power consumption signature, e.g. by more than a threshold amount.);
compare the determined characteristics to one or more threshold limits stored at the memory (Courtney [0078] The processing circuitry may output an indication of the state of health based on the comparison (708). In some examples, the processing circuitry may cause communication circuitry to indicate that the equipment if functioning normally in the example when the measured power consumption signature approximately matches the expected signature. In other examples, the processing circuitry may only output an alert or other indication of the state of health if the processing circuitry detects that the measured signature is outside an allowable performance boundary of time or magnitude from the expected signature.);
based on the comparison, determine whether to output a message to the server (Courtney [0078] The processing circuitry may output an indication of the state of health based on the comparison (708). In some examples, the processing circuitry may cause communication circuitry to indicate that the equipment if functioning normally in the example when the measured power consumption signature approximately matches the expected signature. In other examples, the processing circuitry may only output an alert or other indication of the state of health if the processing circuitry detects that the measured signature is outside an allowable performance boundary of time or magnitude from the expected signature.);
in response to the determination, refrain from outputting the message (Courtney [0078] In other examples, the processing circuitry may only output an alert or other indication of the state of health if the processing circuitry detects that the measured signature is outside an allowable performance boundary of time or magnitude from the expected signature.).
Regarding Claim 10, Courtney further teaches energy harvesting circuitry coupled to at least one electrical conductor of the plurality of electrical conductors, wherein the energy harvesting circuitry is configured to draw power from the at least one electrical conductor (Courtney [0055] Energy harvester 405 is an example of energy harvester 305 described above in relation to FIG. 3. Energy harvester 405 may comprise circuitry that receives current generated by CT 414, caused by current used by a monitored equipment (not shown in FIG. 4) passing through CT 414, and use the current to trickle charge an energy storage device, such as energy storage unit 306 described above in relation to FIG. 3 (not shown in FIG. 4). In some examples, energy harvester 405 may directly provide electrical power to processing circuitry 410, communication circuitry 420 and other components of sensor hub 402 or extend the life of the energy storage device.).
Regarding Claim 11, Courtney further teaches wherein the energy harvesting circuitry is configured to draw power from a signal associated with the current sensing circuitry (Courtney [0055] Energy harvester 405 is an example of energy harvester 305 described above in relation to FIG. 3. Energy harvester 405 may comprise circuitry that receives current generated by CT 414, caused by current used by a monitored equipment (not shown in FIG. 4) passing through CT 414, and use the current to trickle charge an energy storage device, such as energy storage unit 306 described above in relation to FIG. 3 (not shown in FIG. 4). In some examples, energy harvester 405 may directly provide electrical power to processing circuitry 410, communication circuitry 420 and other components of sensor hub 402 or extend the life of the energy storage device.).
Regarding Claim 12, Courtney further teaches an energy storage device electrically coupled to the energy harvesting circuitry, wherein energy harvested by the energy harvester charges the energy storage device (Courtney [0046] Energy harvester 305 uses this to charge energy storage unit 306. Energy storage unit 306 may be a rechargeable battery or may be another type of component that can store energy.).
Regarding Claim 14, Courtney further teaches wherein the device is configured to be coupled between a power supply and electrically powered equipment (Courtney [0041] In other examples current sensing mechanism 302 may be separate from housing 301. For example, current sensing mechanism 302 may be attached to a power cord of the equipment and connected to housing 301 via input component 303.), and
wherein the transmitted message comprises state of health of the equipment based on the analyzed characteristic of the first electrical current (Courtney [0057] Processing circuitry 410 may use the inputs from the multiple sensors to determine a state of health for the monitored equipment. [0078] The processing circuitry may output an indication of the state of health based on the comparison (708). In some examples, the processing circuitry may cause communication circuitry to indicate that the equipment if functioning normally in the example when the measured power consumption signature approximately matches the expected signature. In other examples, the processing circuitry may only output an alert or other indication of the state of health if the processing circuitry detects that the measured signature is outside an allowable performance boundary of time or magnitude from the expected signature.).
Regarding Claim 15, Courtney further teaches wherein the one or more characteristics of the first electrical current comprise: a current draw, a cycle time, real power. reactive power and current variability (Courtney [0020] To identify the cause of failures, different equipment performance information may be collected by analyzing the current signal, for example, current draw, real and reactive power, cycle times, current variability and the like. Also see [0063] Rudimentary analysis may include comparing, at various scales, signatures in the power consumption signals to expected power consumption signals, include real and reactive power, to determine whether the equipment is performing normally, e.g. as expected. In some examples, the sensor hub may communicate only that the equipment completed an operational cycle as expected. In other examples, the sensor hub may provide more or less information about an operational cycle at varying level of detail.).
Regarding Claim 16, Courtney further teaches identify parameters of the equipment by analyzing the determined characteristics the first electrical current (Courtney [0023] In some examples, the device may analyze the current signal and determine that the magnitude of current used by the equipment, e.g. the current draw for the equipment, is within an expected range. In other examples, the device may analyze the current signal and determine that the current draw is higher than expected. Also see [0063] Rudimentary analysis may include comparing, at various scales, signatures in the power consumption signals to expected power consumption signals, include real and reactive power, to determine whether the equipment is performing normally, e.g. as expected.);
receive an expected power consumption signature from the external computing device (Courtney [0072] Also, communication circuitry 608 may receive an identification and characteristics of the apparatus to which it is connected, such as expected power consumption signals. Also see [0063] Rudimentary analysis may include comparing, at various scales, signatures in the power consumption signals to expected power consumption signals, include real and reactive power, to determine whether the equipment is performing normally, e.g. as expected. And [0076] The processing circuitry may compare the power consumption signature to an expected power consumption signature (704). […] The processing circuitry may determine whether the measured power consumption signature matches the expected power consumption signature within allowed tolerances. The expected signal must be stored somewhere for use.); and
determine a state of health of the equipment based on comparing the analyzed first electrical current to the expected power consumption signature (Courtney [0076] The processing circuitry may compare the power consumption signature to an expected power consumption signature (704). […] The processing circuitry may determine whether the measured power consumption signature matches the expected power consumption signature within allowed tolerances.).
Regarding Claim 17, Courtney teaches a method comprising:
outputting. by current sensing circuitry, a signal identifying characteristics of a first electrical current traveling through a first electrical conductor of a plurality of electrical conductors (Courtney [0039] In this example, the components of the power monitoring device may be integrated into the power plug and the current sensing mechanism may run through the power cord. For example, if the current sensing mechanism is a current transformer, then the current transformer (CT) includes a metal component. Also see [0053] Current transformers 414A-414C are examples of CT 302 described above in relation to FIG. 3 and have similar functions and characteristics. In some examples CT 414A-414C (collectively CT 414) may clamp around a power supply cord for household equipment or equipment to measure the power consumption characteristics over time for the equipment. And [0071] In some examples sensing circuitry 606 may include a current transformer, Hall sensor, or some other sensor configured to measure power, electrical current, vars or other power signals passing through receptacle 610 and power plugs 620 and 630.);
receiving, by processing circuitry of a device, the signal from the current sensing circuitry (Courtney [0054] Processing circuitry 410 may receive and analyze power consumption signals from input components 408A-408D, as well as any sensors connected to sensor connector 412. Also see [0057] Sensor connector 412 may provide connection terminals for processing circuitry 410 to receive signals from other sensors.), wherein the device comprises an electromagnetic shield, configured to isolate the current sensing circuitry from sensing a second electrical current traveling through a second electrical conductor of the plurality of electrical conductors, the second electrical conductor being different from the first electrical conductor (Courtney [0039] In this example, the components of the power monitoring device may be integrated into the power plug and the current sensing mechanism may run through the power cord. For example, if the current sensing mechanism is a current transformer, then the current transformer (CT) includes a metal component. In an example where the current transformer is integrated into a power cord or cable, the metal component may be drawn into a thin wire that runs the length or a substantial length of the power cord or cable. This arrangement may allow device 300 to be integrated into standard power cables without significantly increasing the size of the power cord or cable. In cases where the sensing circuitry is integrated into the power cables it is necessarily within the outer shielding of the cable that is meant to protect the inner wires from outside elements and possible interference from other signals);
determining, by the processing circuitry, the characteristics of the first electrical current based on the received signal (Courtney [0063] In operation, sensor hubs 402A-402D may perform rudimentary analysis of sensor inputs such as power consumption signals and other sensor inputs in some examples. Rudimentary analysis may include comparing, at various scales, signatures in the power consumption signals to expected power consumption signals, include real and reactive power, to determine whether the equipment is performing normally, e.g. as expected.);
comparing, by the processing circuitry, the determined characteristics to one or more threshold limits stored at the memory (Courtney [0078] The processing circuitry may output an indication of the state of health based on the comparison (708). In some examples, the processing circuitry may cause communication circuitry to indicate that the equipment if functioning normally in the example when the measured power consumption signature approximately matches the expected signature. In other examples, the processing circuitry may only output an alert or other indication of the state of health if the processing circuitry detects that the measured signature is outside an allowable performance boundary of time or magnitude from the expected signature.);
based on the comparison, determining, by the processing circuitry, whether to cause communication circuitry coupled to the processing circuitry to output an electronic message based on the characteristics of the first electrical current (Courtney [0078] The processing circuitry may output an indication of the state of health based on the comparison (708). In some examples, the processing circuitry may cause communication circuitry to indicate that the equipment if functioning normally in the example when the measured power consumption signature approximately matches the expected signature. In other examples, the processing circuitry may only output an alert or other indication of the state of health if the processing circuitry detects that the measured signature is outside an allowable performance boundary of time or magnitude from the expected signature.); and
in response to the determination, refraining from causing the communication circuitry to output the message (Courtney [0078] In other examples, the processing circuitry may only output an alert or other indication of the state of health if the processing circuitry detects that the measured signature is outside an allowable performance boundary of time or magnitude from the expected signature.).
Regarding Claim 19, Courtney further teaches wherein the first electrical current powers electrically powered equipment (Courtney [0041] In other examples current sensing mechanism 302 may be separate from housing 301. For example, current sensing mechanism 302 may be attached to a power cord of the equipment and connected to housing 301 via input component 303.), and
wherein the message comprises data indicating a state of health of the equipment based on the characteristics of the first electrical current (Courtney [0057] Processing circuitry 410 may use the inputs from the multiple sensors to determine a state of health for the monitored equipment. [0078] The processing circuitry may output an indication of the state of health based on the comparison (708). In some examples, the processing circuitry may cause communication circuitry to indicate that the equipment if functioning normally in the example when the measured power consumption signature approximately matches the expected signature. In other examples, the processing circuitry may only output an alert or other indication of the state of health if the processing circuitry detects that the measured signature is outside an allowable performance boundary of time or magnitude from the expected signature.).
Regarding Claim 20, Courtney further teaches identifying parameters of the equipment by analyzing the determined characteristics the first electrical current (Courtney [0023] In some examples, the device may analyze the current signal and determine that the magnitude of current used by the equipment, e.g. the current draw for the equipment, is within an expected range. In other examples, the device may analyze the current signal and determine that the current draw is higher than expected. Also see [0063] Rudimentary analysis may include comparing, at various scales, signatures in the power consumption signals to expected power consumption signals, include real and reactive power, to determine whether the equipment is performing normally, e.g. as expected.);
receive an expected power consumption signature from an external computing device (Courtney [0072] Also, communication circuitry 608 may receive an identification and characteristics of the apparatus to which it is connected, such as expected power consumption signals. Also see [0063] Rudimentary analysis may include comparing, at various scales, signatures in the power consumption signals to expected power consumption signals, include real and reactive power, to determine whether the equipment is performing normally, e.g. as expected. And [0076] The processing circuitry may compare the power consumption signature to an expected power consumption signature (704). […] The processing circuitry may determine whether the measured power consumption signature matches the expected power consumption signature within allowed tolerances. The expected signal must be stored somewhere for use.); and
determine a state of health of the equipment based on comparing the analyzed first electrical current to the expected power consumption signature (Courtney [0076] The processing circuitry may compare the power consumption signature to an expected power consumption signature (704). […] The processing circuitry may determine whether the measured power consumption signature matches the expected power consumption signature within allowed tolerances.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 13, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Courtney (as stated above) in view of Keister et al. (US 20180321285 A1), hereinafter “Keister”.
Regarding Claim 5, Courtney is not relied upon to explicitly teach wherein the electromagnetic shield is configured to act as an antenna for the communication circuitry.
Keister teaches wherein the electromagnetic shield is configured to act as an antenna for the communication circuitry (Keister [0026] The current sensor and energy harvesting coil are housed within a Faraday cage that is open in the direction of the power line to shield the current sensor from electromagnetic contamination from other sources. The voltage sensor and communications antenna are configured as capacitive foil patches carried on the electronics board positioned at the bottom of the Faraday cage. The Faraday cage surrounds the perimeter of the electronics board to shield the voltage sensors and the antenna elements from electromagnetic interference propagating from the sides of the ICS unit. The Faraday cage is open at the bottom in the direction of the power line to facilitate the operation of the voltage sensors. […] The Faraday cage is also open at the bottom in the downward direction to facilitate radio signals in that direction from the foil patch antenna elements one the electronics board.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify Courtney in view of Keister to explicitly teach wherein the electromagnetic shield is configured to act as an antenna for the communication circuitry, by allowing signals to only enter in a specific way or direction, while blocking interference from unwanted signals (Keister [0026]).
Regarding Claim 13, Courtney is not relied upon to explicitly teach wherein the electromagnetic shield is configured to act as an antenna for the communication circuitry.
Keister teaches wherein the electromagnetic shield is configured to act as an antenna for the communication circuitry (Keister [0026] The current sensor and energy harvesting coil are housed within a Faraday cage that is open in the direction of the power line to shield the current sensor from electromagnetic contamination from other sources. The voltage sensor and communications antenna are configured as capacitive foil patches carried on the electronics board positioned at the bottom of the Faraday cage. The Faraday cage surrounds the perimeter of the electronics board to shield the voltage sensors and the antenna elements from electromagnetic interference propagating from the sides of the ICS unit. The Faraday cage is open at the bottom in the direction of the power line to facilitate the operation of the voltage sensors. […] The Faraday cage is also open at the bottom in the downward direction to facilitate radio signals in that direction from the foil patch antenna elements one the electronics board.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify Courtney in view of Keister to explicitly teach wherein the electromagnetic shield is configured to act as an antenna for the communication circuitry, by allowing signals to only enter in a specific way or direction, while blocking interference from unwanted signals (Keister [0026]).
Regarding Claim 18, Courtney is not relied upon to explicitly teach wherein the electromagnetic shield is configured to act as an antenna for the communication circuitry.
Keister teaches wherein the electromagnetic shield is configured to act as an antenna for the communication circuitry (Keister [0026] The current sensor and energy harvesting coil are housed within a Faraday cage that is open in the direction of the power line to shield the current sensor from electromagnetic contamination from other sources. The voltage sensor and communications antenna are configured as capacitive foil patches carried on the electronics board positioned at the bottom of the Faraday cage. The Faraday cage surrounds the perimeter of the electronics board to shield the voltage sensors and the antenna elements from electromagnetic interference propagating from the sides of the ICS unit. The Faraday cage is open at the bottom in the direction of the power line to facilitate the operation of the voltage sensors. […] The Faraday cage is also open at the bottom in the downward direction to facilitate radio signals in that direction from the foil patch antenna elements one the electronics board.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify Courtney in view of Keister to explicitly teach wherein the electromagnetic shield is configured to act as an antenna for the communication circuitry, by allowing signals to only enter in a specific way or direction, while blocking interference from unwanted signals (Keister [0026]).
Conclusion
/CHRISTIAN T BRYANT/Examiner, Art Unit 2857