DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Regarding claims 1, 8, 13, there is no support in the original disclosure for thickness of the vent valve less than thickness of the vent and seal plate and thus it constitutes new matter. In particular, the original disclosure is silent regarding thicknesses of the vessel parts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US 2005/0072788 to Lieberman et al. (Lieberman).
Regarding claim 1, Lieberman discloses a spill-resistant drink vessel (Fig 4) comprising a body (112), a lid housing (114) securable to the body and having a top surface from a which a plate seal flange (115) extends downwardly on one side, further having a straw orifice (116) and a vent orifice (118) passing through the lid housing, a vent and seal plate (120) having an integral vent valve (144) and integral liquid valve (124) and further having a lid seal flange (152) on one side, wherein the integral vent valve has a thickness (T1, Fig 5 below) less than a thickness of the vent and seal plate (T2, Fig 5 below), wherein the lid and plate seal flanges are configured to engage with one another to provide a seal between the lid housing and plate (€0043), wherein the vent orifice (118) and integral vent valve (144) are in fluid communication with one another (€0040).
Regarding claim 2, Lieberman further discloses the vent and seal plate (120) further comprising an integral straw extension (134, Fig 5).
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US Patent No. 6,230,923 to Hung.
Regarding claim 1, Hung discloses a spill-resistant drink vessel (Fig 2) comprising a body (10), a lid housing (20) securable to the body and having a top surface from a which a plate seal flange (21, Fig 4) extends downwardly on one side, further having a straw orifice (23’) and a vent orifice (24) passing through the lid housing, a vent and seal plate (30) having an integral vent valve (311) and integral liquid valve (324) and further having a lid seal flange (321) on one side, wherein the integral vent valve has a thickness (T1, Fig 3 below) less than a thickness of the vent and seal plate (T2, Fig 3 below), wherein the lid and plate seal flanges are configured to engage with one another to provide a seal between the lid housing and plate (col. 3, ll. 15-20), wherein the vent orifice (24) and integral vent valve (311) are in fluid communication with one another (col. 3, ll. 45-50).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-6, 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lieberman in view of US 2010/0127005 to Sanbrook et al. (Sanbrook)
Regarding claim 3, Lieberman discloses the vessel of claim 1 but does not teach integral straw extension including upper and lower portions with the valve in between. However, Sanbrook discloses a drinking vessel and in particular discloses a vent and seal plate (flow control element 24) comprising an integral straw extension with upper (59) and lower portions (57) and liquid valve (64) configured between upper and lower portions (Fig 3). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute the straw extension of Lieberman with a functionally equivalent straw extension including upper and lower portions with valve in between as suggested by Sanbrook in order to facilitate dispensing.
Regarding claim 4, the modified Lieberman teaches the vessel of claim 3 and further teaches upper straw part comprising a flange (66, Sanbrook) configured to seal against the plate.
Regarding claim 5, Lieberman further discloses lid housing (114) comprising a straw orifice (119) to allow upper straw part to pass through housing since it has the structure as recited.
Regarding claim 6, Lieberman further discloses lid housing comprising an annular skirt (114) having internal screw threads configured to engage external screw threads on the body (112) (Fig 4) and wherein the plate seal flange (152) is configured to fit concentrically between annular skirt and lid seal flange (115) when the housing and plate are assembled onto the body, the plate seal flange (152) extending upwardly from vent and seal plate relative to body and annular skirt and lid seal flange extending downwardly from lid housing relative to body, wherein the plate seal flange is compressed between lid housing and rim of the body as lid housing is screwed onto the body (Fig 4).
Regarding claim 8-9, Lieberman discloses a spill-resistant drink vessel (Fig 4) comprising a body (112) having a rim at an open top end and external screw threads extending circumferentially around the body adjacent the rim (Fig 3), a lid housing (14) securable to the body (112) and having a top surface from which a plate seal flange (115) extends downwardly on one side, further having a straw orifice (116) and vent orifice (118) passing through lid housing, the vent orifice (118) and integral vent valve are in fluid communication with one another, lid housing (14) further comprising an annular skirt having internal screw threads configured to engage external screw threads on the body (Fig 4), a vent and seal plate (120) comprising the integral vent valve (144), lid seal flange (132) on one side extending upwardly from vent and seal plate relative to body, the integral vent valve having a thickness (T1, Fig 5 above) less than thickness of the vent and seal plate (T2, Fig 5 above), the plate seal flange (132) configured to fit concentrically between annular skirt and lid seal flange when lid housing and plate are assembled, the plate seal flange (132) compressed between lid housing and rim of the body as the lid housing is screwed on the body (Fig 4). Lieberman does not teach an integral straw extension as recited. However, Sanbrook discloses a drinking vessel and in particular discloses a vent and seal plate (flow control element 24) comprising an integral straw extension with upper (59) and lower portions (57) and liquid valve (64) configured between upper and lower portions (Fig 3). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute the straw extension of Lieberman with a functionally equivalent straw extension including upper and lower portions with valve in between as suggested by Sanbrook in order to facilitate dispensing.
Regarding claim 10, the modified Lieberman teaches the vessel of claim 9 and further teaches upper straw part comprising a flange (66, Sanbrook) configured to seal against the plate.
Regarding claim 11, Lieberman further discloses lid housing (114) comprising a straw orifice (119) to allow upper straw part to pass through housing since it has the structure as recited.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lieberman in view of US Patent No. 8,256,642 to McNamara et al. (McNamara).
Regarding claim 7, Lieberman discloses the vessel of claim 1 but does not teach the plate further comprising a projection from underside of the plate and adjacent a periphery of the plate. However, McNamara discloses a drinking vessel (Fig 1) and in particular discloses a valve plate (50) comprising a projection (66) from underside of the plate and adjacent a periphery of the plate (Fig 4). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate a projection to the underside of the Lieberman plate as suggested by McNamara in order to facilitate grasping in order to remove and insert the plate (McNamara, col. 5, ll. 20-25).
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lieberman in view of Sanbrook and US Patent No. 6,102,245 to Haberman.
Regarding claim 12, the modified Lieberman teaches the vessel of claim 8 but does not teach the plate further comprising at least one projection as recited. Haberman discloses a drinking vessel (1, Fig 2) and in particular discloses a vent and seal plate (10) comprising at least one projection (integral lip at 13, col. 4, ll. 15-20) extending from underside of the plate adjacent a periphery (13) of the plate and configured to engage rim of the body when the plate is assembled onto the body in order to strengthen the periphery and provide a sealing effect around the periphery. Taken as a whole, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate a projection at the underside of the modified Lieberman plate as suggested by Haberman in order to strengthen the periphery and provide a sealing effect.
Regarding claim 13, Lieberman discloses a spill-resistant drink vessel (Fig 4) comprising a body (112) having a rim at an open top end and external screw threads extending circumferentially around the body adjacent the rim (Fig 3), a lid housing (14) securable to the body (112) and having a top surface from which a plate seal flange (115) extends downwardly on one side, further having a straw orifice (116) and vent orifice (118) passing through lid housing, the vent orifice (118) and integral vent valve are in fluid communication with one another, lid housing (14) further comprising an annular skirt having internal screw threads configured to engage external screw threads on the body (Fig 4), a vent and seal plate (120) comprising integral vent valve (144), lid seal flange (132) on one side extending upwardly from vent and seal plate relative to body, integral vent valve (144) having a thickness (T1, Fig 5 above) less than thickness (T2, Fig 5 above) of the vent and seal plate (120), the plate seal flange (132) configure to fit concentrically between annular skirt and lid seal flange when lid housing and plate are assembled, the plate seal flange (132) compressed between lid housing and rim of the body as the lid housing is screwed on the body (Fig 4). Lieberman does not teach an integral straw extension as recited. However, Sanbrook discloses a drinking vessel and in particular discloses a vent and seal plate (flow control element 24) comprising an integral straw extension with upper (59) and lower portions (57) and liquid valve (64) configured between upper and lower portions (Fig 3). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute the straw extension of Lieberman with a functionally equivalent straw extension including upper and lower portions with valve in between as suggested by Sanbrook in order to facilitate dispensing. The modified Lieberman does not teach the plate further comprising at least one projection as recited. Haberman discloses a drinking vessel (1, Fig 2) and in particular discloses a vent and seal plate (10) comprising at least one projection (integral lip at 13, col. 4, ll. 15-20) extending from underside of the plate adjacent a periphery (13) of the plate and configured to engage rim of the body when the plate is assembled onto the body in order to strengthen the periphery and provide a sealing effect around the periphery. Taken as a whole, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate a projection at the underside of the modified Lieberman plate as suggested by Haberman in order to strengthen the periphery and provide a sealing effect.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Initially, it is noted that applicant does not argue the rejection of the dependent claims. Applicant argues that prior art does not teach the integral vent valve having a thickness less than a thickness of the vent and seal plate. Assuming arguendo that applicant has support for such a limitation, applicant’s argument is not persuasive because as shown in the marked figures above, the integral vent valve of both Lieberman and Hung have thickness less than thickness of the plate from which the vent valve protrudes from.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT POON/Examiner, Art Unit 3735