DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The claims 1-9 are currently pending and have been examined. Applicant amended claims 1, 4, 6.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
The amendment filed December 23, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-9 are currently pending in the Application.
Applicant's arguments regarding claims 1-9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s reference to the factual inquiries of Graham v. Deere is acknowledged. However, Applicant does not identify any specific deficiency in the Office’s analysis of the scope and content of the prior art. The rejection sets forth the relevant teachings of the cited references and provides a reasoned explanation for the combination. Applicant asserts that Dolan fails to teach “a target object including a site that should not be a detection target in an aspect in which the electromagnetic waves are irradiated onto the target object by the detection system.” However, Dolan teaches generating simulated sensor returns for objects in an environment including trees, rocks, buildings, and road signs (See paragraph [0020], [0043].). These objects produce sensor return data and correspond to environmental features that are not intended detection targets. Accordingly, Dolan teaches the claimed feature. Applicant additionally asserts that NAM fails to disclose “changing a surface state of the portion at which the predetermined reflection and scattering occur on the target object so that the predetermined reflection and scattering at the portion at which the predetermined reflection and scattering occur on the target object are suppressed.” However, NAM explicitly teaches modifying structural characteristics of an electromagnetic wave absorber, including thickness and configuration of layers, to alter electromagnetic wave absorption performance (See paragraph [0061].). Such modifications constitute changes to the surface state affecting reflection and scattering behavior. Accordingly, NAM teaches the claimed feature. Applicant asserts that a person of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to combine Dolan with NAM and KILDAL. This argument is not persuasive. As set forth in the rejection, NAM teaches modifying surface structures to suppress reflection and scattering (See paragraph [0061].), and KILDAL teaches evaluating electromagnetic wave behavior based on detection thresholds and arrival directions (See paragraph [0038].). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate such teachings into Dolan’s simulation system in order to increase performance and survivability, as taught by NAM (See paragraph [0003].), and to improve testing accuracy and calibration, as taught by KILDAL (See paragraph [0005].), with a reasonable expectation of success. Applicant additionally asserts that Dolan fails to disclose “identifying, based on the information, a portion at which predetermined reflection and scattering occur on the target object.” However, as previously explained, Dolan generates simulated sensor returns from objects under varying conditions and uses such data for object identification and environment analysis (See paragraph [0043], [0068].). The process necessarily involves determining portions of objects responsible for reflection and scattering. Applicant lastly asserts that KILDAL fails to disclose the recited features of claim 4. However, KILDAL teaches a vehicle-related electromagnetic test environment within an enclosed chamber in which electromagnetic waves are transmitted and measured (See paragraph [0015], [0027].). The Examiner relies on KILDAL in combination with Dolan and NAM, not as a standalone reference, to teach aspects of the claimed environment and electromagnetic wave evaluation. Accordingly, Applicant’s argument attacking KILDAL individually is not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments are directed to the references individually rather than the combination set forth in the rejection, and therefore are not persuasive. Accordingly, the rejection of claims 1-9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dolan (US 20200184027 A1) in view of NAM (US 20230136149 A1) and KILDAL (US 20170012714 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Dolan teaches A design method for a target object, the design method comprising: acquiring information through simulation or measurement about states of reflection and scattering of electromagnetic waves on a target object including a site that should not be a detection target in an aspect in which the electromagnetic waves are irradiated onto the target object by the detection system in a case in which the electromagnetic waves are irradiated onto the target object (See at least paragraph [0013], “The present document describes a system that creates a simulated environment which includes objects constructed based on real-world sensor data. In various examples, an object generator is able to create object models for a class of objects using various object parameters. In one example, a vegetation generator creates an object model for a tree using a set of parameters that specify the size of the trunk, the height of the tree, the tree species, the color of the foliage and so on. In another example, a rock generator generates a rock given the parameters of width, height, color, and texture. In yet another example, a vehicle generator generates a vehicle given the parameters of type, color, length, and width. In order to generate an accurate simulation of a real-world environment, it is desirable to replicate the objects in the real-world environment with objects that respond similarly in the simulation”, paragraph [0020], “In an example, the system uses the sensor data collected by the instrumented vehicle 102 to create an accurate simulation 106 of the real-world environment which is hosted by a simulation host 108. The real-world environment includes a number of different objects such as trees, rocks, buildings, and road signs. For each type of object, an object generator is provided that generates an object model given a set of parameters particular to the object type. In one example, the simulation 106 is generated by configuring an object-generation interface for each object generator that converts sensor data collected by the instrumented vehicle 102 into a set of object parameters that are compatible with the object generator. In at least some examples, such collected sensor data may additionally, or alternatively, be used to generate a map (such as a mesh) of the corresponding environment. Examples of such map generation is described in U.S. patent application Ser. No. 15/674,853 entitled “Vehicle Sensor Calibration and Localization” and U.S. patent application Ser. No. 15/675,487 entitled “Sensor Perturbation,” the entire contents of which are hereby incorporated by reference. Once configured, the object-generation interface and the object generator may be used to generate object models for real-world objects in the real-world environment using the sensor data collected by the instrumented vehicle 102”, paragraph [0042], “At block 410, the object generator generates an object model in accordance with the supplied parameters. The object model is a mathematical representation of a three-dimensional object. In some examples, the object model includes texture mapping and/or color maps to provide a realistic model that can be rendered and presented as a three-dimensional rendering in a computer simulation. In examples where LIDAR is used a ray casting of light sources can be created given a specified secularity of a surface. In some examples, models need not be physically realistic in all modalities. For example, we some implementations may generate radar/LIDAR returns that may differ substantially from the optical model in simulation. In various examples, a simulation is a mathematical model of an environment that generally defines a coordinate space and physical rules that govern the environment. For example, the physical rules can describe gravity, air resistance, and signal transmission within the environment. When an object model is added to a simulation, a simulated object is created that interacts with the environment and other objects in the simulation”, and paragraph [0043], “At block 414, the object-generation interface generates a set of simulated sensor returns for the object. Individual sensor returns are generated from a variety of angles, distances, lighting conditions, and environmental conditions (differing backgrounds, snow, ice, time of day, season, etc.). In some implementations, the object is placed into a simulated environment, and the simulation subjects the object to simulated sensors that generate simulated sensor return data. The simulated sensor return data and the object parameters are provided 416 to a machine learning algorithm. The system uses the object parameters and the simulated sensor return data as training input to a machine learning algorithm that is configured to derive an inverse function capable of predicting object parameters from a given set of sensor return data. At block 416, the object-generation interface updates a machine learned model based on the provided object parameters and simulated sensor return data.” The system uses sensor data collected by an instrumented vehicle, then sensor return values are generated (radar images). The sensor return values represent the states of reflection and scattering of electromagnetic waves on the target object. The sensor data is collected from a simulated or real-world environment including various objects such as trees, rocks, and buildings, which produce sensor return data and correspond to sites that are not detection targets in the detection system.); identifying, based on the information, a portion at which predetermined reflection and scattering occur on the target object; wherein the predetermined reflection and scattering occur (See at least paragraph [0043], “At block 414, the object-generation interface generates a set of simulated sensor returns for the object. Individual sensor returns are generated from a variety of angles, distances, lighting conditions, and environmental conditions (differing backgrounds, snow, ice, time of day, season, etc.). In some implementations, the object is placed into a simulated environment, and the simulation subjects the object to simulated sensors that generate simulated sensor return data. The simulated sensor return data and the object parameters are provided 416 to a machine learning algorithm. The system uses the object parameters and the simulated sensor return data as training input to a machine learning algorithm that is configured to derive an inverse function capable of predicting object parameters from a given set of sensor return data. At block 416, the object-generation interface updates a machine learned model based on the provided object parameters and simulated sensor return data” and paragraph [0068], “FIG. 10 illustrates an example of elements that might be used according to an architecture 1000 of an autonomous vehicle. The autonomous vehicle might be characterized as having an autonomous vehicle operation system 1002, coupled to various controllers, which in turn are coupled to various components of the autonomous vehicle to handle locomotion, power management, etc. Elements of the autonomous vehicle operation system 1002 provide for a computational system for implementing object identification and environment analysis, as described herein. These elements might find use in other applications outside of autonomous vehicles.” The system identifies objects based on sensor return data. Simulated sensor returns and object parameters are used to train a machine learning model capable of predicting object parameters from given sensor return data, corresponding to identifying portions of the object responsible for reflection and scattering.).
Dolan does not explicitly disclose, however, NAM, in the same field of endeavor, teaches changing a surface state of the portion at which the predetermined reflection and scattering occur on the target object so that the predetermined reflection and scattering at the portion at which the predetermined reflection and scattering occur on the target object are suppressed (See at least paragraph [0061], “In the electromagnetic wave absorber having a honeycomb sandwich structure according to the embodiment, the return loss of the electromagnetic wave absorber was measured by allowing electromagnetic waves to be incident on the electromagnetic wave absorber while changing the thicknesses of the first honeycomb core layer 110a and second honeycomb core layer 110b from 1 mm to 20 mm. As a result of the measurement, it can be seen that the thicker the honeycomb core layer, the higher the electromagnetic wave absorption performance. However, thickening the core layer is limited in the practical application of a sandwich structure composed of the honeycomb core layer and the skin layer. Thus, in an embodiment, the honeycomb core layer 120 may be processed to a thickness of 4 mm in order to design the total thickness of the electromagnetic wave absorber to 10 mm. In this case, it can be confirmed that the return loss of the electromagnetic wave absorber according to an embodiment in the 4.7 to 18 GHz band exhibits excellent electromagnetic wave absorption performance lower than −10 dB.” The system alters the thickness of the honeycomb core layer to change the absorber’s surface and shows that the modification reduces reflection (return loss is less than -10dB).); and acquiring in the same manner as the acquisition step described above states of the predetermined reflection and scattering of the electromagnetic waves on the target object in a case in which the electromagnetic waves are irradiated onto the target object having the changed surface state (See at least paragraph [0061], “In the electromagnetic wave absorber having a honeycomb sandwich structure according to the embodiment, the return loss of the electromagnetic wave absorber was measured by allowing electromagnetic waves to be incident on the electromagnetic wave absorber while changing the thicknesses of the first honeycomb core layer 110a and second honeycomb core layer 110b from 1 mm to 20 mm. As a result of the measurement, it can be seen that the thicker the honeycomb core layer, the higher the electromagnetic wave absorption performance. However, thickening the core layer is limited in the practical application of a sandwich structure composed of the honeycomb core layer and the skin layer. Thus, in an embodiment, the honeycomb core layer 120 may be processed to a thickness of 4 mm in order to design the total thickness of the electromagnetic wave absorber to 10 mm. In this case, it can be confirmed that the return loss of the electromagnetic wave absorber according to an embodiment in the 4.7 to 18 GHz band exhibits excellent electromagnetic wave absorption performance lower than −10 dB.” The system measures the return loss of the absorber by allowing electromagnetic waves to be incident on the absorber, and measures the return loss again after adjusting the thickness of the absorber using the same measurement approach.).
Dolan and NAM do not explicitly disclose, however, KILDAL, in the same field of endeavor, teaches in a case in which there is the electromagnetic wave arrival direction in which a change amount of the detection value is larger than a threshold value (See at least paragraph [0038], “It is important to emphasize that the above radiation patterns do not need to be very accurate in the classical sense, because the purpose is here to characterize MIMO performance in random-LOS. E.g., there is now no requirement to the sense of the polarizations of the two linear arrays only that they are orthogonal. Further, there is no need to know very accurately the angle of the far field and the low sidelobe levels. However, preferably the cumulative distribution function of the received signal power within the desired angular range is correct, and only to a 95-99% level of the PoD. The PoD is the probability of having a received signal higher than the detection threshold of the base station emulator, so that 95% PoD means that 95% of the levels within the desired angular range are above the detection threshold.” The system evaluates received signal levels relative to a detection threshold and determines that received signal levels within an angular range exceed the detection threshold.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Dolan with the teachings of NAM and KILDAL such that the simulation system of Dolan is further configured to change a surface state of the portion at which the predetermined reflection and scattering occur on the target object so that the predetermined reflection and scattering at the portion at which the predetermined reflection and scattering occur on the target object are suppressed and acquiring in the same manner as the acquisition step described above states of the predetermined reflection and scattering of the electromagnetic waves on the target object in a case in which the electromagnetic waves are irradiated onto the target object having the changed surface state, as taught by NAM (See paragraph [0061].), and in a case in which there is the electromagnetic wave arrival direction in which a change amount of the detection value is larger than a threshold value, as taught by KILDAL (See paragraph [0038].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to increase the vehicle survivability limit and performance, as taught by NAM (See paragraph [0003].). The motivation for doing so would be to improve accuracy of testing, appropriate calibration, and practical improvements, as taught by KILDAL (See paragraph [0005].).
Regarding Claim 2, Dolan, NAM, and KILDAL teach The design method for a target object according to Claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Dolan does not explicitly disclose, however, NAM, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein, the changing of the surface state of the portion at which the predetermined reflection and scattering occur on the target object includes at least one of changing a shape of a surface of the portion at which the predetermined reflection and scattering occur on the target object, disposing an electromagnetic wave absorbent material on the surface of the portion at which the predetermined reflection and scattering occur on the target object, and disposing an electromagnetic wave reflecting material on the surface of the portion at which the predetermined reflection and scattering occur on the target object (See at least paragraph [0060], “Referring to FIG. 7, the electromagnetic wave absorber having a honeycomb sandwich structure according to the embodiment may comprise: the first honeycomb core layer 110a and second honeycomb core layer 110b which are formed of the first electromagnetic wave absorbing layer formed by impregnating the nickel-coated second glass fiber 12 having a complex permittivity of 11.23-j21.86 at 10 GHz with an epoxy resin; the bottom layer 120a and top layer 120c which contain two sheet layers formed by impregnating the glass fiber 10 with an epoxy resin; and the intermediate layer 120b containing one sheet layer formed by impregnating the glass fiber 10 with an epoxy resin and several layers of the second electromagnetic wave absorbing layer formed by impregnating the nickel-coated first glass fiber 11 with an epoxy resin, and the electromagnetic wave absorber having a honeycomb sandwich structure according to the embodiment may be formed by sequentially laminating the bottom layer 120a, the first honeycomb core layer 110a, the intermediate layer 120b, the second honeycomb core layer 110b, and the top layer 120c in the Z-axis direction” and paragraph [0061], “In the electromagnetic wave absorber having a honeycomb sandwich structure according to the embodiment, the return loss of the electromagnetic wave absorber was measured by allowing electromagnetic waves to be incident on the electromagnetic wave absorber while changing the thicknesses of the first honeycomb core layer 110a and second honeycomb core layer 110b from 1 mm to 20 mm. As a result of the measurement, it can be seen that the thicker the honeycomb core layer, the higher the electromagnetic wave absorption performance. However, thickening the core layer is limited in the practical application of a sandwich structure composed of the honeycomb core layer and the skin layer. Thus, in an embodiment, the honeycomb core layer 120 may be processed to a thickness of 4 mm in order to design the total thickness of the electromagnetic wave absorber to 10 mm. In this case, it can be confirmed that the return loss of the electromagnetic wave absorber according to an embodiment in the 4.7 to 18 GHz band exhibits excellent electromagnetic wave absorption performance lower than −10 dB.” The system alters the thickness of the honeycomb core layer, corresponding to changing the shape of a surface. The structure includes electromagnetic wave absorbing layers (nickel-coated glass fibers) and laminated skin layers, corresponding respectively to disposing absorber and reflecting materials.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Dolan with the teachings of NAM and KILDAL such that the simulation system of Dolan is further configured to change a surface state of the portion at which the predetermined reflection and scattering occur on the target object so that the predetermined reflection and scattering at the portion at which the predetermined reflection and scattering occur on the target object are suppressed and acquiring in the same manner as the acquisition step described above states of the predetermined reflection and scattering of the electromagnetic waves on the target object in a case in which the electromagnetic waves are irradiated onto the target object having the changed surface state; change of the surface state of the portion at which the predetermined reflection and scattering occur on the target object including at least one of changing a shape of a surface of the portion at which the predetermined reflection and scattering occur on the target object, disposing an electromagnetic wave absorbent material on the surface of the portion at which the predetermined reflection and scattering occur on the target object, and disposing an electromagnetic wave reflecting material on the surface of the portion at which the predetermined reflection and scattering occur on the target object, as taught by NAM (See paragraph [0060], [0061].), and in a case in which there is the electromagnetic wave arrival direction in which a change amount of the detection value is larger than a threshold value, as taught by KILDAL (See paragraph [0038].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to increase the vehicle survivability limit and performance, as taught by NAM (See paragraph [0003].). The motivation for doing so would be to improve accuracy of testing, appropriate calibration, and practical improvements, as taught by KILDAL (See paragraph [0005].).
Regarding Claim 3, Dolan, NAM, and KILDAL teach The design method for a target object according to Claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Dolan does not explicitly disclose, however, NAM, in the same field of endeavor, teaches further comprising: determining whether or not the predetermined reflection and scattering on the target object are verified to be equal to or less than a reference at the verifying, and performing the identifying, the changing, and the verifying again by using a verification result in the verifying in a case in which a determination is not made that the predetermined reflection and scattering on the target object are equal to or less than the reference (See at least paragraph [0061], “In the electromagnetic wave absorber having a honeycomb sandwich structure according to the embodiment, the return loss of the electromagnetic wave absorber was measured by allowing electromagnetic waves to be incident on the electromagnetic wave absorber while changing the thicknesses of the first honeycomb core layer 110a and second honeycomb core layer 110b from 1 mm to 20 mm. As a result of the measurement, it can be seen that the thicker the honeycomb core layer, the higher the electromagnetic wave absorption performance. However, thickening the core layer is limited in the practical application of a sandwich structure composed of the honeycomb core layer and the skin layer. Thus, in an embodiment, the honeycomb core layer 120 may be processed to a thickness of 4 mm in order to design the total thickness of the electromagnetic wave absorber to 10 mm. In this case, it can be confirmed that the return loss of the electromagnetic wave absorber according to an embodiment in the 4.7 to 18 GHz band exhibits excellent electromagnetic wave absorption performance lower than −10 dB.” The system varies the thickness of the honeycomb core layer from 1 mm to 20 mm and measures the return loss for each thickness. The results are compared to a reference value (-10 dB) to confirm acceptable performance, and a thickness of 4 mm is selected to achieve the target absorption, teaching iterative verification and adjustment until the reference condition is satisfied.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Dolan with the teachings of NAM and KILDAL such that the simulation system of Dolan is further configured to change a surface state of the portion at which the predetermined reflection and scattering occur on the target object so that the predetermined reflection and scattering at the portion at which the predetermined reflection and scattering occur on the target object are suppressed and acquiring in the same manner as the acquisition step described above states of the predetermined reflection and scattering of the electromagnetic waves on the target object in a case in which the electromagnetic waves are irradiated onto the target object having the changed surface state; determine whether or not the predetermined reflection and scattering on the target object are verified to be equal to or less than a reference at the verifying, and performing the identifying, the changing, and the verifying again by using a verification result in the verifying in a case in which a determination is not made that the predetermined reflection and scattering on the target object are equal to or less than the reference, as taught by NAM (See paragraph [0061].), and in a case in which there is the electromagnetic wave arrival direction in which a change amount of the detection value is larger than a threshold value, as taught by KILDAL (See paragraph [0038].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to increase the vehicle survivability limit and performance, as taught by NAM (See paragraph [0003].). The motivation for doing so would be to improve accuracy of testing, appropriate calibration, and practical improvements, as taught by KILDAL (See paragraph [0005].).
Regarding Claim 4, Dolan teaches including a site that should not be a detection target in an aspect in which the electromagnetic waves are irradiated onto the target object by the detection system (See at least paragraph [0020], “In an example, the system uses the sensor data collected by the instrumented vehicle 102 to create an accurate simulation 106 of the real-world environment which is hosted by a simulation host 108. The real-world environment includes a number of different objects such as trees, rocks, buildings, and road signs. For each type of object, an object generator is provided that generates an object model given a set of parameters particular to the object type. In one example, the simulation 106 is generated by configuring an object-generation interface for each object generator that converts sensor data collected by the instrumented vehicle 102 into a set of object parameters that are compatible with the object generator. In at least some examples, such collected sensor data may additionally, or alternatively, be used to generate a map (such as a mesh) of the corresponding environment. Examples of such map generation is described in U.S. patent application Ser. No. 15/674,853 entitled “Vehicle Sensor Calibration and Localization” and U.S. patent application Ser. No. 15/675,487 entitled “Sensor Perturbation,” the entire contents of which are hereby incorporated by reference. Once configured, the object-generation interface and the object generator may be used to generate object models for real-world objects in the real-world environment using the sensor data collected by the instrumented vehicle 102” and paragraph [0043], “At block 414, the object-generation interface generates a set of simulated sensor returns for the object. Individual sensor returns are generated from a variety of angles, distances, lighting conditions, and environmental conditions (differing backgrounds, snow, ice, time of day, season, etc.). In some implementations, the object is placed into a simulated environment, and the simulation subjects the object to simulated sensors that generate simulated sensor return data. The simulated sensor return data and the object parameters are provided 416 to a machine learning algorithm. The system uses the object parameters and the simulated sensor return data as training input to a machine learning algorithm that is configured to derive an inverse function capable of predicting object parameters from a given set of sensor return data. At block 416, the object-generation interface updates a machine learned model based on the provided object parameters and simulated sensor return data.” The sensor data is collected from a simulated or real-world environment including various objects such as trees, rocks, and buildings, which produce sensor return data and correspond to sites that are not detection targets in the detection system.); identifying, based on the information, a portion at which predetermined reflection and scattering occur on the target object; wherein the predetermined reflection and scattering occur (See at least paragraph [0043], “At block 414, the object-generation interface generates a set of simulated sensor returns for the object. Individual sensor returns are generated from a variety of angles, distances, lighting conditions, and environmental conditions (differing backgrounds, snow, ice, time of day, season, etc.). In some implementations, the object is placed into a simulated environment, and the simulation subjects the object to simulated sensors that generate simulated sensor return data. The simulated sensor return data and the object parameters are provided 416 to a machine learning algorithm. The system uses the object parameters and the simulated sensor return data as training input to a machine learning algorithm that is configured to derive an inverse function capable of predicting object parameters from a given set of sensor return data. At block 416, the object-generation interface updates a machine learned model based on the provided object parameters and simulated sensor return data” and paragraph [0068], “FIG. 10 illustrates an example of elements that might be used according to an architecture 1000 of an autonomous vehicle. The autonomous vehicle might be characterized as having an autonomous vehicle operation system 1002, coupled to various controllers, which in turn are coupled to various components of the autonomous vehicle to handle locomotion, power management, etc. Elements of the autonomous vehicle operation system 1002 provide for a computational system for implementing object identification and environment analysis, as described herein. These elements might find use in other applications outside of autonomous vehicles.” The system identifies objects based on sensor return data. Simulated sensor returns and object parameters are used to train a machine learning model capable of predicting object parameters from given sensor return data, corresponding to identifying portions of the object responsible for reflection and scattering.).
Dolan does not explicitly disclose, however, NAM, in the same field of endeavor, teaches changing a surface state of the portion at which the predetermined reflection and scattering occur on the target object so that the predetermined reflection and scattering at the portion at which the predetermined reflection and scattering occur on the target object are suppressed (See at least paragraph [0061], “In the electromagnetic wave absorber having a honeycomb sandwich structure according to the embodiment, the return loss of the electromagnetic wave absorber was measured by allowing electromagnetic waves to be incident on the electromagnetic wave absorber while changing the thicknesses of the first honeycomb core layer 110a and second honeycomb core layer 110b from 1 mm to 20 mm. As a result of the measurement, it can be seen that the thicker the honeycomb core layer, the higher the electromagnetic wave absorption performance. However, thickening the core layer is limited in the practical application of a sandwich structure composed of the honeycomb core layer and the skin layer. Thus, in an embodiment, the honeycomb core layer 120 may be processed to a thickness of 4 mm in order to design the total thickness of the electromagnetic wave absorber to 10 mm. In this case, it can be confirmed that the return loss of the electromagnetic wave absorber according to an embodiment in the 4.7 to 18 GHz band exhibits excellent electromagnetic wave absorption performance lower than −10 dB.” The system alters the thickness of the honeycomb core layer to change the absorber’s surface and shows that the modification reduces reflection (return loss is less than -10dB).); and acquiring in the same manner as the acquisition step described above states of the predetermined reflection and scattering of the electromagnetic waves on the target object in a case in which the electromagnetic waves are irradiated onto the target object having the changed surface state (See at least paragraph [0061], “In the electromagnetic wave absorber having a honeycomb sandwich structure according to the embodiment, the return loss of the electromagnetic wave absorber was measured by allowing electromagnetic waves to be incident on the electromagnetic wave absorber while changing the thicknesses of the first honeycomb core layer 110a and second honeycomb core layer 110b from 1 mm to 20 mm. As a result of the measurement, it can be seen that the thicker the honeycomb core layer, the higher the electromagnetic wave absorption performance. However, thickening the core layer is limited in the practical application of a sandwich structure composed of the honeycomb core layer and the skin layer. Thus, in an embodiment, the honeycomb core layer 120 may be processed to a thickness of 4 mm in order to design the total thickness of the electromagnetic wave absorber to 10 mm. In this case, it can be confirmed that the return loss of the electromagnetic wave absorber according to an embodiment in the 4.7 to 18 GHz band exhibits excellent electromagnetic wave absorption performance lower than −10 dB.” The system measures the return loss of the absorber by allowing electromagnetic waves to be incident on the absorber, and measures the return loss again after adjusting the thickness of the absorber using the same measurement approach.).
Dolan and NAM do not explicitly disclose, however, KILDAL, in the same field of endeavor, teaches A design method for a vehicle driving test device including a traveling path on which a test target vehicle moves, a condition reproduction mechanism that reproduces a test condition of the test target vehicle, and a building that covers the traveling path and the condition reproduction mechanism, the design method comprising: acquiring information through simulation or measurement about states of reflection and scattering of electromagnetic waves in a case in which the electromagnetic waves are irradiated from an inside of the building onto a target object including the traveling path, the condition reproduction mechanism, and an inner surface of the building (See at least paragraph [0015], “According to a first aspect of the invention there is provided an apparatus for measuring over-the-air (OTA) wireless communication performance in an automotive application of a device under test arranged on or in a vehicle, such as a car or a bus, comprising: a chamber defining an internal cavity therein, and a platform for supporting the vehicle, wherein the chamber is adapted to enclose the platform, wherein the platform is a rotatable platform that can rotate the vehicle, and wherein the floor of the chamber is inwardly reflective, and optionally covered with a top layer to resemble asphalt or other road covers”, paragraph [0027], “According to one group of embodiments, the chamber is a reverberation chamber (RC). The RC test chamber generally correspond in its structure, use and operation to the ones discussed in U.S. Pat. No. 7,444,264, U.S. Pat. No. 7,286,961 and WO 12/171562, each of said documents hereby being incorporated in their entirety by reference. The reverberation chamber preferably has walls of an inwardly reflective material, rendering the walls reflective to electromagnetic waves, thereby simulating a multi-path environment, and preferably a rich isotropic multipath (RIMP) environment; at least one chamber antenna arranged in the cavity; and a measuring instrument connected to the device under test and the chamber antenna, for measuring the transmission between them”, paragraph [0070], “The rotatable platform is preferably capable of rotating the vehicle completely, i.e. 360°. The rotation may be controlled by a control PC, in same way as for the per se known platform stirring used in U.S. Pat. No. 7,444,264, U.S. Pat. No. 7,286,961 and WO 12/171562, so that rotation can be performed intermittently or continuously during measurement. Preferably, the platform also has means to allow the vehicle to be measured with the wheels rolling and the engine working. To this end, the platform may e.g. comprise rotatable rollers on which the wheels are supported. The chamber may be intended for measurements of cars only, but may also be for measurement on busses, as well as other types of vehicles. By rotation of the vehicle during measurement, either intermittently or continuously, it has been found that a very efficient stirring of the mode distribution is obtained within the chamber. Thus, there is in most cases no need for any additional mode stirrers, even though such additional mode stirrers may optionally be provided”, and paragraph [0075], “In another embodiment, illustrated in FIG. 2, the chamber is a random-LOS chamber 1′, having inwardly absorbing walls. The random-LOS chamber is essentially the same as in the previously discussed RC chamber, but this chamber has absorbers on the walls, as seen in FIG. 2. This chamber can be made approximately equally small as the RC chamber, or only to a small extent larger. The random-LOS chamber has absorbers on most, and preferably all walls, rendering the walls absorbing to electromagnetic waves, thereby simulating a random-LOS environment. The internal chamber formed in the chamber is preferably completely shielded, having reflecting material, such as metal, on all walls and floor and ceiling, and having absorbers being provided on all or most walls and ceiling, but not on the floor. The floor is preferably of metal (or conductive), but the metal can be covered with something to resemble a top layer of asphalt or other road covers.” The vehicle driving test device comprises a building (chamber) that encloses the platform, a traveling path and condition reproduction mechanism (rotatable platform with rollers allowing the wheels to roll and the engine to operate), and irradiation from inside the building by antennas with reflective or absorber-lined interior surfaces.); in a case in which there is the electromagnetic wave arrival direction in which a change amount of the detection value is larger than a threshold value (See at least paragraph [0038], “It is important to emphasize that the above radiation patterns do not need to be very accurate in the classical sense, because the purpose is here to characterize MIMO performance in random-LOS. E.g., there is now no requirement to the sense of the polarizations of the two linear arrays only that they are orthogonal. Further, there is no need to know very accurately the angle of the far field and the low sidelobe levels. However, preferably the cumulative distribution function of the received signal power within the desired angular range is correct, and only to a 95-99% level of the PoD. The PoD is the probability of having a received signal higher than the detection threshold of the base station emulator, so that 95% PoD means that 95% of the levels within the desired angular range are above the detection threshold.” The system evaluates received signal levels relative to a detection threshold and determines that received signal levels within an angular range exceed the detection threshold.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Dolan with the teachings of NAM and KILDAL such that the simulation system of Dolan is further configured to change a surface state of the portion at which the predetermined reflection and scattering occur on the target object so that the predetermined reflection and scattering at the portion at which the predetermined reflection and scattering occur on the target object are suppressed and acquiring in the same manner as the acquisition step described above states of the predetermined reflection and scattering of the electromagnetic waves on the target object in a case in which the electromagnetic waves are irradiated onto the target object having the changed surface state, as taught by NAM (See paragraph [0061].), and to utilize a design method for a vehicle driving test device including a traveling path on which a test target vehicle moves, a condition reproduction mechanism that reproduces a test condition of the test target vehicle, and a building that covers the traveling path and the condition reproduction mechanism, the design method comprising: acquiring information through simulation or measurement about states of reflection and scattering of electromagnetic waves in a case in which the electromagnetic waves are irradiated from an inside of the building onto a target object including the traveling path, the condition reproduction mechanism, and an inner surface of the building; in a case in which there is the electromagnetic wave arrival direction in which a change amount of the detection value is larger than a threshold value, as taught by KILDAL (See paragraph [0015], [0027], [0038], [0070], [0075].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to increase the vehicle survivability limit and performance, as taught by NAM (See paragraph [0003].). The motivation for doing so would be to improve accuracy of testing, appropriate calibration, and practical improvements, as taught by KILDAL (See paragraph [0005].).
Regarding Claim 5, Dolan, NAM, and KILDAL teach The design method for a vehicle driving test device according to Claim 4, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Dolan does not explicitly disclose, however, NAM, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the changing includes at least one of changing a shape of a surface of the portion at which the predetermined reflection and scattering occur on the target object, disposing an electromagnetic wave absorbent material on the surface of the portion at which the predetermined reflection and scattering occur on the target object, and disposing an electromagnetic wave reflecting material on the surface of the portion at which the predetermined reflection and scattering occur on the target object (See at least paragraph [0060], “Referring to FIG. 7, the electromagnetic wave absorber having a honeycomb sandwich structure according to the embodiment may comprise: the first honeycomb core layer 110a and second honeycomb core layer 110b which are formed of the first electromagnetic wave absorbing layer formed by impregnating the nickel-coated second glass fiber 12 having a complex permittivity of 11.23-j21.86 at 10 GHz with an epoxy resin; the bottom layer 120a and top layer 120c which contain two sheet layers formed by impregnating the glass fiber 10 with an epoxy resin; and the intermediate layer 120b containing one sheet layer formed by impregnating the glass fiber 10 with an epoxy resin and several layers of the second electromagnetic wave absorbing layer formed by impregnating the nickel-coated first glass fiber 11 with an epoxy resin, and the electromagnetic wave absorber having a honeycomb sandwich structure according to the embodiment may be formed by sequentially laminating the bottom layer 120a, the first honeycomb core layer 110a, the intermediate layer 120b, the second honeycomb core layer 110b, and the top layer 120c in the Z-axis direction” and paragraph [0061], “In the electromagnetic wave absorber having a honeycomb sandwich structure according to the embodiment, the return loss of the electromagnetic wave absorber was measured by allowing electromagnetic waves to be incident on the electromagnetic wave absorber while changing the thicknesses of the first honeycomb core layer 110a and second honeycomb core layer 110b from 1 mm to 20 mm. As a result of the measurement, it can be seen that the thicker the honeycomb core layer, the higher the electromagnetic wave absorption performance. However, thickening the core layer is limited in the practical application of a sandwich structure composed of the honeycomb core layer and the skin layer. Thus, in an embodiment, the honeycomb core layer 120 may be processed to a thickness of 4 mm in order to design the total thickness of the electromagnetic wave absorber to 10 mm. In this case, it can be confirmed that the return loss of the electromagnetic wave absorber according to an embodiment in the 4.7 to 18 GHz band exhibits excellent electromagnetic wave absorption performance lower than −10 dB.” The system alters the thickness of the honeycomb core layer, corresponding to changing the shape of a surface. The structure includes electromagnetic wave absorbing layers (nickel-coated glass fibers) and laminated skin layers, corresponding respectively to disposing absorber and reflecting materials.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Dolan with the teachings of NAM and KILDAL such that the simulation system of Dolan is further configured to change a surface state of the portion at which the predetermined reflection and scattering occur on the target object so that the predetermined reflection and scattering at the portion at which the predetermined reflection and scattering occur on the target object are suppressed and acquiring in the same manner as the acquisition step described above states of the predetermined reflection and scattering of the electromagnetic waves on the target object in a case in which the electromagnetic waves are irradiated onto the target object having the changed surface state; the changing includes at least one of changing a shape of a surface of the portion at which the predetermined reflection and scattering occur on the target object, disposing an electromagnetic wave absorbent material on the surface of the portion at which the predetermined reflection and scattering occur on the target object, and disposing an electromagnetic wave reflecting material on the surface of the portion at which the predetermined reflection and scattering occur on the target object, as taught by NAM (See paragraph [0060], [0061].), and to utilize a design method for a vehicle driving test device including a traveling path on which a test target vehicle moves, a condition reproduction mechanism that reproduces a test condition of the test target vehicle, and a building that covers the traveling path and the condition reproduction mechanism, the design method comprising: acquiring information through simulation or measurement about states of reflection and scattering of electromagnetic waves in a case in which the electromagnetic waves are irradiated from an inside of the building onto a target object including the traveling path, the condition reproduction mechanism, and an inner surface of the building; in a case in which there is the electromagnetic wave arrival direction in which a change amount of the detection value is larger than a threshold value, as taught by KILDAL (See paragraph [0015], [0027], [0038], [0070], [0075].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to increase the vehicle survivability limit and performance, as taught by NAM (See paragraph [0003].). The motivation for doing so would be to improve accuracy of testing, appropriate calibration, and practical improvements, as taught by KILDAL (See paragraph [0005].).
Regarding Claim 6, Dolan, NAM, and KILDAL teach The design method for a vehicle driving test device according to Claim 4, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Dolan does not explicitly disclose, however, NAM, in the same field of endeavor, teaches further comprising: determining whether or not the predetermined reflection and scattering on the target object are verified to be equal to or less than a reference at the verifying, and performing the identifying, the changing, and the verification step again by using a verification result at the verifying in a case in which a determination is not made that the predetermined reflection and scattering on the target object are equal to or less than the reference (See at least paragraph [0061], “In the electromagnetic wave absorber having a honeycomb sandwich structure according to the embodiment, the return loss of the electromagnetic wave absorber was measured by allowing electromagnetic waves to be incident on the electromagnetic wave absorber while changing the thicknesses of the first honeycomb core layer 110a and second honeycomb core layer 110b from 1 mm to 20 mm. As a result of the measurement, it can be seen that the thicker the honeycomb core layer, the higher the electromagnetic wave absorption performance. However, thickening the core layer is limited in the practical application of a sandwich structure composed of the honeycomb core layer and the skin layer. Thus, in an embodiment, the honeycomb core layer 120 may be processed to a thickness of 4 mm in order to design the total thickness of the electromagnetic wave absorber to 10 mm. In this case, it can be confirmed that the return loss of the electromagnetic wave absorber according to an embodiment in the 4.7 to 18 GHz band exhibits excellent electromagnetic wave absorption performance lower than −10 dB.” The system varies the thickness of the honeycomb core layer from 1 mm to 20 mm and measures the return loss for each thickness. The results are compared to a reference value (-10 dB) to confirm acceptable performance, and a thickness of 4 mm is selected to achieve the target absorption, teaching iterative verification and adjustment until the reference condition is satisfied.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Dolan with the teachings of NAM and KILDAL such that the simulation system of Dolan is further configured to change a surface state of the portion at which the predetermined reflection and scattering occur on the target object so that the predetermined reflection and scattering at the portion at which the predetermined reflection and scattering occur on the target object are suppressed and acquiring in the same manner as the acquisition step described above states of the predetermined reflection and scattering of the electromagnetic waves on the target object in a case in which the electromagnetic waves are irradiated onto the target object having the changed surface state; determine whether or not the predetermined reflection and scattering on the target object are verified to be equal to or less than a reference at the verifying, and performing the identifying, the changing, and the verification step again by using a verification result at the verifying in a case in which a determination is not made that the predetermined reflection and scattering on the target object are equal to or less than the reference, as taught by NAM (See paragraph [0061].), and to utilize a design method for a vehicle driving test device including a traveling path on which a test target vehicle moves, a condition reproduction mechanism that reproduces a test condition of the test target vehicle, and a building that covers the traveling path and the condition reproduction mechanism, the design method comprising: acquiring information through simulation or measurement about states of reflection and scattering of electromagnetic waves in a case in which the electromagnetic waves are irradiated from an inside of the building onto a target object including the traveling path, the condition reproduction mechanism, and an inner surface of the building; in a case in which there is the electromagnetic wave arrival direction in which a change amount of the detection value is larger than a threshold value, as taught by KILDAL (See paragraph [0015], [0027], [0038], [0070], [0075].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to increase the vehicle survivability limit and performance, as taught by NAM (See paragraph [0003].). The motivation for doing so would be to improve accuracy of testing, appropriate calibration, and practical improvements, as taught by KILDAL (See paragraph [0005].).
Regarding Claim 7, Dolan, NAM, and KILDAL teach The design method for a vehicle driving test device according to Claim 4, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Dolan and NAM do not explicitly disclose, however, KILDAL, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein, the acquiring includes acquiring information about states of reflection and scattering of the electromagnetic waves in a case in which the electromagnetic waves are irradiated from a plurality of positions along the traveling path of the test target vehicle (See at least paragraph [0015], “According to a first aspect of the invention there is provided an apparatus for measuring over-the-air (OTA) wireless communication performance in an automotive application of a device under test arranged on or in a vehicle, such as a car or a bus, comprising: a chamber defining an internal cavity therein, and a platform for supporting the vehicle, wherein the chamber is adapted to enclose the platform, wherein the platform is a rotatable platform that can rotate the vehicle, and wherein the floor of the chamber is inwardly reflective, and optionally covered with a top layer to resemble asphalt or other road covers”, paragraph [0027], “According to one group of embodiments, the chamber is a reverberation chamber (RC). The RC test chamber generally correspond in its structure, use and operation to the ones discussed in U.S. Pat. No. 7,444,264, U.S. Pat. No. 7,286,961 and WO 12/171562, each of said documents hereby being incorporated in their entirety by reference. The reverberation chamber preferably has walls of an inwardly reflective material, rendering the walls reflective to electromagnetic waves, thereby simulating a multi-path environment, and preferably a rich isotropic multipath (RIMP) environment; at least one chamber antenna arranged in the cavity; and a measuring instrument connected to the device under test and the chamber antenna, for measuring the transmission between them”, and paragraph [0070], “The rotatable platform is preferably capable of rotating the vehicle completely, i.e. 360°. The rotation may be controlled by a control PC, in same way as for the per se known platform stirring used in U.S. Pat. No. 7,444,264, U.S. Pat. No. 7,286,961 and WO 12/171562, so that rotation can be performed intermittently or continuously during measurement. Preferably, the platform also has means to allow the vehicle to be measured with the wheels rolling and the engine working. To this end, the platform may e.g. comprise rotatable rollers on which the wheels are supported. The chamber may be intended for measurements of cars only, but may also be for measurement on busses, as well as other types of vehicles. By rotation of the vehicle during measurement, either intermittently or continuously, it has been found that a very efficient stirring of the mode distribution is obtained within the chamber. Thus, there is in most cases no need for any additional mode stirrers, even though such additional mode stirrers may optionally be provided.” The chamber includes antennas inside for irradiation, and the vehicle is mounted on a rotatable platform with rollers simulating a roadway. The combination allows irradiation from different chamber positions and different orientations of the vehicle along the simulated path.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Dolan with the teachings of NAM and KILDAL such that the simulation system of Dolan is further configured to change a surface state of the portion at which the predetermined reflection and scattering occur on the target object so that the predetermined reflection and scattering at the portion at which the predetermined reflection and scattering occur on the target object are suppressed and acquiring in the same manner as the acquisition step described above states of the predetermined reflection and scattering of the electromagnetic waves on the target object in a case in which the electromagnetic waves are irradiated onto the target object having the changed surface state, as taught by NAM (See paragraph [0061].), and to utilize a design method for a vehicle driving test device including a traveling path on which a test target vehicle moves, a condition reproduction mechanism that reproduces a test condition of the test target vehicle, and a building that covers the traveling path and the condition reproduction mechanism, the design method comprising: acquiring information through simulation or measurement about states of reflection and scattering of electromagnetic waves in a case in which the electromagnetic waves are irradiated from an inside of the building onto a target object including the traveling path, the condition reproduction mechanism, and an inner surface of the building; in a case in which there is the electromagnetic wave arrival direction in which a change amount of the detection value is larger than a threshold value; the acquiring includes acquiring information about states of reflection and scattering of the electromagnetic waves in a case in which the electromagnetic waves are irradiated from a plurality of positions along the traveling path of the test target vehicle, as taught by KILDAL (See paragraph [0015], [0027], [0038], [0070], [0075].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to increase the vehicle survivability limit and performance, as taught by NAM (See paragraph [0003].). The motivation for doing so would be to improve accuracy of testing, appropriate calibration, and practical improvements, as taught by KILDAL (See paragraph [0005].).
Regarding Claim 8, Dolan, NAM, and KILDAL teach The design method for a vehicle driving test device according to Claim 4, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Dolan and NAM do not explicitly disclose, however, KILDAL, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the predetermined reflection and scattering are reflection and scattering on the inner surface of the building (See at least paragraph [0032], “According to another group of embodiments, the chamber is a random-LOS chamber, having inwardly absorbing walls. Preferably, the random-LOS chamber has absorbers on all walls, rendering the walls absorbing to electromagnetic waves, thereby simulating a random-LOS environment, at least one chamber antenna arranged in the cavity; and a measuring instrument connected to the device under test and the chamber antenna, for measuring the transmission between them. The Random-LOS chamber is to a large extent similar to or the same as in the previously discussed RC chamber, but with the exceptions that the Random-LOS chamber has absorbers on the walls, and that there is no shield around the chamber antenna, and that the chamber antenna is different. This chamber can be made approximately equally small, or only to a small extent larger (due to the absorbers), than the previously discussed RC chamber” and paragraph [0033], “The chamber is preferably completely shielded, having reflecting material, such as metal, on all walls and floor and ceiling, and absorbers being provided on all or most reflecting walls and ceiling, but not on the floor. The floor is preferably of metal (or conductive), but the metal can be covered with something to resemble a top layer of asphalt or other road covers.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Dolan with the teachings of NAM and KILDAL such that the simulation system of Dolan is further configured to change a surface state of the portion at which the predetermined reflection and scattering occur on the target object so that the predetermined reflection and scattering at the portion at which the predetermined reflection and scattering occur on the target object are suppressed and acquiring in the same manner as the acquisition step described above states of the predetermined reflection and scattering of the electromagnetic waves on the target object in a case in which the electromagnetic waves are irradiated onto the target object having the changed surface state, as taught by NAM (See paragraph [0061].), and to utilize a design method for a vehicle driving test device including a traveling path on which a test target vehicle moves, a condition reproduction mechanism that reproduces a test condition of the test target vehicle, and a building that covers the traveling path and the condition reproduction mechanism, the design method comprising: acquiring information through simulation or measurement about states of reflection and scattering of electromagnetic waves in a case in which the electromagnetic waves are irradiated from an inside of the building onto a target object including the traveling path, the condition reproduction mechanism, and an inner surface of the building; in a case in which there is the electromagnetic wave arrival direction in which a change amount of the detection value is larger than a threshold value; wherein the predetermined reflection and scattering are reflection and scattering on the inner surface of the building, as taught by KILDAL (See paragraph [0015], [0027], [0032], [0033], [0038], [0070], [0075].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to increase the vehicle survivability limit and performance, as taught by NAM (See paragraph [0003].). The motivation for doing so would be to improve accuracy of testing, appropriate calibration, and practical improvements, as taught by KILDAL (See paragraph [0005].).
Regarding Claim 9, Dolan, NAM, and KILDAL teach The design method for a vehicle driving test device according to Claim 8, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Dolan and NAM do not explicitly disclose, however, KILDAL, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the inner surface of the building has a pillar portion, a beam portion, a wall portion, and a ceiling portion constituting the building, a building ancillary facility, and at least one surface of a structure installed in the building (See at least Fig. 2, paragraph [0032], “According to another group of embodiments, the chamber is a random-LOS chamber, having inwardly absorbing walls. Preferably, the random-LOS chamber has absorbers on all walls, rendering the walls absorbing to electromagnetic waves, thereby simulating a random-LOS environment, at least one chamber antenna arranged in the cavity; and a measuring instrument connected to the device under test and the chamber antenna, for measuring the transmission between them. The Random-LOS chamber is to a large extent similar to or the same as in the previously discussed RC chamber, but with the exceptions that the Random-LOS chamber has absorbers on the walls, and that there is no shield around the chamber antenna, and that the chamber antenna is different. This chamber can be made approximately equally small, or only to a small extent larger (due to the absorbers), than the previously discussed RC chamber” and paragraph [0033], “The chamber is preferably completely shielded, having reflecting material, such as metal, on all walls and floor and ceiling, and absorbers being provided on all or most reflecting walls and ceiling, but not on the floor. The floor is preferably of metal (or conductive), but the metal can be covered with something to resemble a top layer of asphalt or other road covers.” The environment includes inner wall and ceiling surfaces, and the presence of pillars, beams, and ancillary structures is part of the chamber’s construction, as is evident from Fig. 2.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Dolan with the teachings of NAM and KILDAL such that the simulation system of Dolan is further configured to change a surface state of the portion at which the predetermined reflection and scattering occur on the target object so that the predetermined reflection and scattering at the portion at which the predetermined reflection and scattering occur on the target object are suppressed and acquiring in the same manner as the acquisition step described above states of the predetermined reflection and scattering of the electromagnetic waves on the target object in a case in which the electromagnetic waves are irradiated onto the target object having the changed surface state, as taught by NAM (See paragraph [0061].), and to utilize a design method for a vehicle driving test device including a traveling path on which a test target vehicle moves, a condition reproduction mechanism that reproduces a test condition of the test target vehicle, and a building that covers the traveling path and the condition reproduction mechanism, the design method comprising: acquiring information through simulation or measurement about states of reflection and scattering of electromagnetic waves in a case in which the electromagnetic waves are irradiated from an inside of the building onto a target object including the traveling path, the condition reproduction mechanism, and an inner surface of the building; in a case in which there is the electromagnetic wave arrival direction in which a change amount of the detection value is larger than a threshold value; wherein the predetermined reflection and scattering are reflection and scattering on the inner surface of the building; wherein the inner surface of the building has a pillar portion, a beam portion, a wall portion, and a ceiling portion constituting the building, a building ancillary facility, and at least one surface of a structure installed in the building, as taught by KILDAL (See paragraph [0015], [0027], [0032], [0033], [0038], [0070], [0075].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to increase the vehicle survivability limit and performance, as taught by NAM (See paragraph [0003].). The motivation for doing so would be to improve accuracy of testing, appropriate calibration, and practical improvements, as taught by KILDAL (See paragraph [0005].).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEWEL A KUNTZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666