CTNF 18/691,993 CTNF 101095 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Specification 07-29 AIA The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: ¶ 0010 recites, “The shock absorber 1 is coupled to the piston 5 at a lower end portion (one end portion) thereof.” This appears inconsistent because the piston rod 6 appears to be coupled to the piston 5 . Applicant should amend the sentence or otherwise clarify. ¶ 0011 recites, “The piston 5 is provided with an extension-side path 11 and a compression-side path 12 which bring the cylinder's upper chamber 2 A and the cylinder's lower chamber 2 B into communication.” ¶ 0011 later recites, “The extension-side path 11 A is provided with a disc valve 13 (relief valve).” The reference numeral 11A appears inconsistent with 11. Applicant should correct the reference numeral or otherwise clarify. ¶ 0018 recites, “A plurality of (FIG. 2 only shows one) paths 67 (grooves) are formed in an outer peripheral surface of a right-side end portion of the plot pin 63 in FIG. 2 .” The term “ plot pin 63 ” appears to be a typographical error because the element is otherwise identified as “ pilot pin 63 .” Applicant should correct the term or otherwise clarify. ¶ 0025 recites, “A solenoid case 110 is formed into a shape like a cylinder that is coaxial with an axis of the actuating rod 106 (axis of the solenoid 10 ; hereinafter referred to as axis).” The reference numeral 110 identifies the solenoid case, while the solenoid is identified as 101 . Applicant should correct the reference numeral or otherwise clarify. ¶ 0025 recites, “The solenoid 110 and the case 25 are joined together by a plurality of (FIG. 2 only shows two) swage portions (crimped portions) 114 that are formed using a swaging jig (not shown).” This appears inconsistent because reference numeral 110 identifies the solenoid case, while the solenoid is identified as 101 . Applicant should correct the reference numeral or otherwise clarify. ¶ 0039 recites, “the hydraulic liquid in the piston's lower chamber 2B flows into the cylinder's upper chamber 2A ,” The phrase “ piston’s lower chamber 2B ” appears inconsistent because lower chamber 2B is identified elsewhere as the cylinder’s lower chamber 2B. Applicant should correct the phrase or otherwise clarify . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori et al. (US 2018/0266514 A1) in view of Hagidaira et al. (US 2016/0223043 A1) . Regarding claim 1, Mori discloses a damping force adjustable shock absorber (1) comprising: a cylinder (inner tube 4/outer tube 2) in which hydraulic fluid is sealingly contained (oil liquid enclosed in inner tube 4; see ¶ 0014); a piston (5) that is slidably fitted in the cylinder (see ¶ 0016); a flow path (oil flow path from rod-side oil chamber B through oil passage 20B of tubular holder 20 and damping force adjustment valve 18 to reservoir chamber A) in which a hydraulic fluid flow is generated by a sliding motion of the piston fitted in the cylinder (oil liquid flows through the damping force adjustment valve 18 during extension and compression strokes caused by movement of piston 5 in inner tube 4; see ¶¶ 0063-66), and a pressure control valve (electromagnetic damping force adjustment device 17/damping force adjustment valve 18) that is provided in the flow path (see ¶ 0027), the pressure control valve in which valve-opening pressure of a damping valve (damping force adjustment valve 18/main disc valve 23) is adjusted by thrust force that is generated by a solenoid (33; see ¶¶ 0067-68), the damping valve (18) comprising: a main valve (23) configured to control the hydraulic fluid flow passing through the flow path to generate damping force (damping force is generated according to the opening degree of main disc valve 23; see ¶ 0067); a main back-pressure chamber (pilot chamber 27) configured to make inner pressure act on the main valve in a valve-closing direction (pilot chamber 27 is formed between main disc valve 23 and pilot body 26, and inner pressure of pilot chamber 27 acts on main disc valve 23 in a closing direction, see ¶ 0034), and a pilot valve including a valve body that is seated on a seat surface and configured to adjust valve-opening pressure of the main valve (valve body 32 forms a pilot valve with pilot body 26, seats on and separates from valve seat part 26E, and adjusts the valve-opening pressure of main disc valve 23 by changing pressure of pilot chamber 27; see ¶¶ 0038 and 0068), the solenoid (33) comprising: a shaft portion that is provided in the valve body and provided inside with a communication path extending in an axial direction (shaft part 44 fixed through fitting to an inner side of valve body 32, with communication passage 44A passing through shaft part 44 in the axial direction; see ¶¶ 0038 and 0056); a plunger in which the shaft portion is inserted (movable iron core 43 fixed to shaft part 44/shaft part 44 provided on an inner peripheral side of moveable iron core 43l; see ¶¶ 0055-56), the plunger being configured to generate thrust force biasing the valve body toward the seat surface side in response to energization of a coil (coil 39 generates magnetic force, moveable iron core 43 generates thrust force, and the thrust force is transmitted through shaft part 44 to valve body 32 toward seat part 26E; see ¶¶ 0055-57, and 0068), and a valve body back-pressure chamber configured to make inner pressure act in a direction biasing the valve body toward the seat surface side (back pressure chamber 47 formed by back pressure chamber formation member 46, where oil liquid flows into back pressure chamber 47 through communication passage 44A and generates hydraulic pressure on the end surface of shaft part 44; see ¶¶ 0059 and 0070), Mori does not expressly disclose wherein a first orifice is provided between the valve body back-pressure chamber and the valve body. Hagidaira teaches providing an orifice in a communication passage of a movable electromagnetic valve element (electromagnetic valve element 22 includes communication passage 22e passing through electromagnetic valve element 22 from a forward end to a rear end, and orifice 22f is disposed in the middle of communication passage 22e; see ¶ 0072). Hagidaira further teaches that the communicating space functions as a dashpot during axial movement of the movable electromagnetic valve element (space K communicates with the outside of electromagnetic valve element 22 through communication passage 22e and orifice 22f, causing space K to function as a dashpot when electromagnetic valve element 22 moves in the axial direction, thereby reducing urgent movement and oscillatory motions of 22; see ¶ 0079). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication passage 44A of shaft part 44 of Mori with the orifice 22f disposed in communication passage 22e of moveable electromagnetic valve element 22 of Hagidaira because providing an orifice in a communication passage of a moveable valve element causes the communicating space to function as a dashpot during axial movement, thereby reducing urgent movement and oscillatory motions of the moveable valve element (see Hagidaira ¶ 0079). Regarding claim 2, Mori discloses the damping force adjustable shock absorber according to claim 1, comprising: a second orifice configured to introduce fluid from an upstream side of the main valve toward the main back-pressure chamber side (orifice 24C formed in center hole 24B of pilot pin 24), and a third orifice provided downstream of the second orifice and configured to introduce a part of a fluid flow into the main back-pressure chamber (oil passage 25 formed downstream of orifice 24C and connected to pilot chamber 27; see Mori ¶¶ 0033-34). Mori does not expressly disclose wherein a formula, (area of the first orifice)≤(area of the third orifice), is established. Hagidaira teaches providing an orifice in a communication passage of a movable electromagnetic valve unit (orifice 22f disposed in communication passage 22e of electromagnetic valve element 22; see Hagidaira ¶ 0072). Hagidaira further teaches that the orifice causes a communicating space to function as a dashpot during axial movement of the movable electromagnetic valve element (space K communicates with the outside of electromagnetic valve element 22 through communication passage 22e and orifice 22f, causing space K to function as a dashpot when electromagnetic valve element 22 moves axially, thereby reducing urgent movement and oscillatory motions; see ¶ 0079). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to size the first orifice added to communication passage 44A of shaft part 44 of Mori so that the area of the first orifice is less than or equal to the area of the third orifice because Hagidaira teaches that providing an orifice in a communication passage creates dashpot damping and reduces urgent movement and oscillatory motions of a moveable valve element (see Hagidaira ¶ 0079). Since Mori’s communication passage 44A permits hydraulic fluid to flow between the pilot pin side and back pressure chamber 47, narrowing that passage by providing the first orifice would predictably increase flow resistance/damping in that path and reduce oscillation of the movable valve body/shaft assembly. Regarding claim 3, Mori discloses the damping force adjustable shock absorber according to claim 1. Mori does not expressly disclose wherein the first orifice is formed in a bottom portion of the valve body. Hagidaira teaches forming an orifice in a communication passage of a moveable electromagnetic valve element (electromagnetic valve element 22 includes communication passage 22e passing through 22 from a forward end to a rear end, and orifice 22f is disposed in the middle of communication passage 22e; see Hagidaira ¶ 0072). Hagidaira further teaches that the space on the forward-end side of the movable electromagnetic valve element communicates through the communication passage and orifice so that the space functions as a dashpot during axial movement of the movable electromagnetic valve element (space K communicates with the outside of electromagnetic valve element 22 through communication passage 22e and orifice 22f, causing space K to function as a dashpot when electromagnetic valve element 22 moves in the axial direction, thereby reducing urgent movement and oscillatory motions of electromagnetic valve element 22; see Hagidaira ¶ 0079). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the first orifice added Mori’s valve-body/shaft communication path at a bottom portion of valve body 32 because the orifice would remain in the same fluid communication path between valve body 32 and back pressure chamber 47, and Hagidaira teaches that providing an orifice in such a communication passage causes the communicating space to function as a dashpot during axial movement, thereby reducing urgent movement and oscillatory motions of the moveable valve element. Placing the orifice at the bottom portion of valve body 32 would have been one of a finite number of predictable locations along the same communication flow path for providing the desired flow restriction. Regarding claim 5, Mori discloses the damping force adjustable shock absorber according to claim 1. Mori does not expressly disclose wherein the first orifice is formed in a valve body back-pressure chamber-side end portion of the shaft portion. As discussed above, Hagidaira teaches providing an orifice in a communication passage of a movable electromagnetic valve element to create a dashpot effect and reduce oscillatory movement (orifice 22f disposed in communication passage 22e of electromagnetic valve element 22, wherein space K communicates through communication passage 22e and orifice 22f so that space K functions as a dashpot during axial movement and reduces urgent movement and oscillatory motions; see ¶¶ 0072 and 0079). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form he first orifice added to communication passage 44A at the valve body back pressure chamber side end portion of shaft part 44 of Mori because the orifice would remain in the same fluid communication path between valve body 32 and back pressure chamber 47, and Hagidaira teaches providing an orifice in such a communication passage creates dashpot damping and reduces oscillatory movement. Placing the orifice at the back pressure chamber side end portion of shaft part 44 would have been one of a finite number of predictable locations along communication passage 44A for providing the desired flow restriction. Regarding claim 6, Mori discloses a damping valve (18) configured to be adjusted in valve-opening pressure by thrust force generated by a solenoid (damping force adjustment valve 18 configured to have its valve-opening pressure adjusted by thrust force generated by solenoid 33; see ¶¶ 0027, 0067-68), the damping valve (18) comprising: a main valve (23) configured to control a hydraulic fluid flow to generate damping force (main disc valve 23 controls oil liquid flow through damping force adjustment valve 18, wherein after main disc valve 23 opens, dampening force is generated according to the opening degree of main disc valve 23; see ¶ 0067); a main back-pressure chamber (27) configured to make inner pressure act on the main valve (23) in a valve-closing direction (27 is formed between 23 and pilot body 26, and inner pressure of 27 acts on main disc valve 23 in a closing direction; see ¶ 0034), and a pilot valve (pilot valve formed by valve body 32 and pilot body 26) including a valve body (32) that is seated on a seat surface (valve seat part 26E) and configured to adjust valve-opening pressure of the main valve (32 seats on and separates from valve seat part 26E, and adjusts the valve-opening pressure of main disc valve 23 by changing the pressure of pilot chamber 27; see ¶¶ 0038 and 0068), the solenoid (33) comprising: a shaft portion (44) that is provided in the valve body (44 is fixed through fitting to an inner side of valve body 32) and provided inside with a communication path extending in an axial direction (communication passage 44A passing through shaft part 44 in the axial direction); a plunger (movable iron core 43) in which the shaft portion is inserted (44 provided on an inner peripheral side of 43 / 43 fixed to shaft part 44; see ¶¶ 0055-56), the plunger (43) being configured to generate thrust force biasing the valve body (32) toward the seat surface side (26E side) in response to energization of a coil (coil 39 generates magnetic force, 43 generates thrust force, and the thrust force is transmitted through shaft part 44 to valve body 32 toward valve seat part 26E; see ¶¶ 0055-57 and 0068), and a valve body back-pressure chamber (47) configured to make inner pressure act in a direction biasing the valve body (32) toward the seat surface side (back pressure chamber 47 receives oil liquid through communication passage 44A and generates hydraulic pressure on the end surface of shaft part 44 toward valve seat part 26E side, see ¶¶ 0059 and 0070). Mori does not expressly disclose wherein a first orifice is provided between the valve body back-pressure chamber and the valve body. Hagidaira teaches providing an orifice in a communication passage of a moveable electromagnetic valve element (orifice 22f disposed in communication passage 22e of electromagnetic valve element 22, see Hagidaira ¶ 0072). Hag Hagidaira further teaches that the communicating space functions as a dashpot during axial movement of the movable electromagnetic valve element (space K communicates with the outside of electromagnetic valve element 22 through communication passage 22e and orifice 22f, causing space K to function as a dashpot when electromagnetic valve element 22 moves in the axial direction, thereby reducing urgent movement and oscillatory motions of electromagnetic valve element 22; see ¶ 0079). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication passage 44A of shaft part 44 of Mori to include a narrowed orifice portion as taught by Hagidaira’s orifice 22f in communication passage 22e, because Hagidaira teaches that providing an orifice in a communication passage causes the communicating space to function as a dashpot during axial movement, thereby reducing urgent movement and oscillatory motions of the movable element (see Hagidaira ¶ 0079). Regarding claim 7, Mori discloses a solenoid (33) configured to adjust valve-opening pressure of a damping valve (solenoid 33 configured to adjust valve-opening pressure of damping force adjustment valve 18 / main disc valve 23), the damping valve (18) comprising a main valve (23) configured to control a hydraulic fluid flow to generate damping force (main disc valve 23 controls oil liquid flow through damping force adjustment valve 18, wherein after main disc valve 23 opens, damping force is generated according to the opening degree of main disc valve 23, see ¶ 0067), a main back-pressure chamber (27) configured to make inner pressure act on the main valve (23) in a valve-closing direction (pilot chamber 27 is formed between main disc valve 23 and pilot body 26, and inner pressure of pilot chamber 27 acts on main disc valve 23 in a closing direction; see ¶ 0034), and a pilot valve (pilot valve formed by valve 23 and pilot body 26, and inner pressure of pilot chamber 27 acts on main disc valve 23 in a closing direction) including a valve body (32) that is seated on a seat surface (26E) and configured to adjust valve-opening pressure of the main valve (valve body 32 seats on and separates from valve seat part 26E, and adjusts the valve-opening pressure of main disc valve 23 by changing the pressure of pilot chamber 27, see ¶¶ 0038 and 0068), the solenoid comprising (33): a shaft portion (44) provided in the valve body and provided inside with a communication path extending in an axial direction (communication passage 44A passing through shaft part 44 in the axial direction); a plunger (43) in which the shaft portion is inserted (44 provided on an inner peripheral side of 43 / 43 fixed to shaft part 44; see ¶¶ 0055-56), the plunger (43) being configured to generate thrust force biasing the valve body (32) toward the seat surface side (26E side) in response to energization of a coil (39), and a valve body back-pressure chamber (47) configured to make inner pressure act in a direction biasing the valve body (32) toward the seat surface side (back pressure chamber 47 receives oil liquid through communication passage 44A and generates hydraulic pressure on the end surface of shaft part 44 toward valve seat part 26E side, see ¶¶ 0059 and 0070). Mori does not expressly disclose wherein a first orifice is provided between the valve body back-pressure chamber and the valve body. Hagidaira teaches providing an orifice in a communication passage of a moveable electromagnetic valve element (orifice 22f disposed in communication passage 22e of electromagnetic valve element 22, see Hagidaira ¶ 0072). Hag Hagidaira further teaches that the communicating space functions as a dashpot during axial movement of the movable electromagnetic valve element (space K communicates with the outside of electromagnetic valve element 22 through communication passage 22e and orifice 22f, causing space K to function as a dashpot when electromagnetic valve element 22 moves in the axial direction, thereby reducing urgent movement and oscillatory motions of electromagnetic valve element 22; see ¶ 0079). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication passage 44A of shaft part 44 of Mori to include a narrowed orifice portion as taught by Hagidaira’s orifice 22f in communication passage 22e, because Hagidaira teaches that providing an orifice in a communication passage causes the communicating space to function as a dashpot during axial movement, thereby reducing urgent movement and oscillatory motions of the movable element (see Hagidaira ¶ 0079) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Karem Akram Algarash whose telephone number is (571)272-5789. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert Siconolfi can be reached at 571-272-7124. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /K.A.A./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616 /Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/691,993 Page 2 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/691,993 Page 3 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/691,993 Page 4 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/691,993 Page 5 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/691,993 Page 6 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/691,993 Page 7 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/691,993 Page 8 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/691,993 Page 9 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/691,993 Page 10 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/691,993 Page 11 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/691,993 Page 12 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/691,993 Page 13 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/691,993 Page 14 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/691,993 Page 15 Art Unit: 3616