DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 03/14/2024 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-19 are currently pending. Claims 1, 7, 13, and 19 are currently amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 refers to nozzles. Claim 13 (from which claim 17 depends on) and claim 18 (which depends on claim 17) refer to only one nozzle. Clarity is needed on whether there are one nozzle or more than one nozzle.
Claim 18 rejected under 112 due to dependency on claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. CN111593391 (henceforth referred to as Wang-391) in view of Ji et al. CN 207148520 (henceforth referred to as Ji) and Wang et al. CN112301409 (henceforth referred to as Wang-409).
As to claim 1, (Currently Amended) Wang-391 teaches an electroplating device, comprising a process chamber (FIG. 11 paragraph [0057] electroplating bath), a paddle plate and a driving mechanism (paragraph [0090] agitator 66 and fourth drive mechanism or stirring component 68 with internal gear 5 read on the claimed paddle plate and driving mechanism), the driving mechanism for driving the paddle plate to move back and forth to make the paddle plate stir the electroplating solution in the process chamber when a substrate is electroplated (paragraph [0064] the stirring devices stirs the electroplating solution in the bath), the electroplating device further comprising:
a cleaning assembly for spraying a cleaning solution onto the electroplated substrate (FIG. 11 paragraph [0106] nozzle 32 sprays water on the surface of the wafer 78);
a connecting bracket, wherein one end of the connecting bracket is connected to the paddle plate, and the other end of the connecting bracket is connected to the driving mechanism, and the driving mechanism drives the paddle plate to move back and forth via the connecting bracket (FIG. 10 paragraph [0089] mounting bracket 41 and/or 42).
Wang-391 differs from the instant claim in failing to teach the connecting bracket is opened with a hollowed-out area, and the cleaning solution sprayed onto the substrate is collected after passing through the hollowed-out area.
Ji teaches a wafer treating device (paragraph [0039] photoresist coating device 10). Ji teaches a hollowed-out area (paragraph [0048] perforated dots 103), and the cleaning solution sprayed onto the substrate is collected after passing through the hollowed-out area (paragraph [0054] the defective process material will pass through the perforated dots 103 and enter the space between the first baffle 101 and the second baffle 102. The perforated dots read on the claimed hollowed-out area.).
Ji’s perforated dots would allow for defective process material (i.e. spent solvent) to be removed from the treatment area and not splashed back onto the wafer (paragraphs [0040]-[0042]). The combination of Wang and Ji will result in a connecting bracket that is opened with a hollowed-out area.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electroplating device as taught by Wang-391 with a hollowed out area as taught by Ji. It would have been obvious to have a hollowed-out area to allow liquids to pass through a barrier (such as a bracket) to allow for spent liquids to be removed from a treatment area in order to prevent splashing back and subsequently, pattern defects (paragraphs [0040]-[0042] and [0053]-[0054]).
Alternatively to Wang-391’s agitator 66 and stirring component 68, Wang-409 teaches a wafer treating device (paragraph [0002] semiconductor processing, in particular to an electroplating solution stirring module and a wafer electroplating system). Wang-409 teaches a paddle plate (FIGS. 1-2 and 4-5 paragraph [0082] the stirring module 2 includes a rotating part 22 and a turbulence-inducing part 23 that read on the claimed paddle plate) and a driving mechanism (paragraph [0086] the stirring module 2 includes a driving component for driving the rotating part 22 to rotate).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electroplating device as taught by Wang-391 with a paddle plate as taught by Wang-409. It is known in the art to agitate an electroplating liquid and having a plate shape (as taught by Wang-409) is one of the embodiments that can be used to agitate the liquid.
As to claim 3, (Original) Ji further teaches the hollowed-out area of the connecting bracket has at least one stiffener bridged within the hollowed-out area (See following Figure 5).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (The areas between the hollowed out areas read on the claimed stiffener bridge)]
As to claim 12, (Original) Wang-391 further teaches the electroplating device comprises two connecting brackets (FIG. 10 paragraph [0089] mounting bracket 41 and/or 42), the two connecting brackets being disposed opposite each other (FIG. 10 mounting brackets 41 and 42 are disposed opposite each other).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4-11 and 13-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 17-18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 2, there is no motivation to combine Wang-391 and Ji with a reference the connecting bracket comprises a support portion, a connection portion and a fixation portion, the connection portion connecting the support portion and the fixation portion, the support portion being opened with the hollowed-out area, the fixation portion connecting the paddle plate, the fixation portion including one end of the connecting bracket, and the support portion including the other end of the connecting bracket.
As to claim 4, there is no motivation to combine Wang-391 and Ji with a reference regarding the shape of the hollowed-out area is a rectangle, with a stiffener bridged between two opposite sides of the rectangle to divide the hollowed-out area into a first hollowed-out area and a second hollowed-out area.
As to claim 8, there is no motivation to combine Wang-391 with a reference regarding the connecting bracket extending through the shroud in the height direction of the shroud.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Woodruff et al. WO2008094838 teaches a paddle plate, driving mechanism, and a connecting bracket that extends in the height (vertical) direction.
/L.G.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1711
/MICHAEL E BARR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1711