DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of the application’s status as a continuation of CN202111078728
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) were submitted on 06/12/2024, 11/06/2024, and 02/25/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (Li, L., Chen, Y. C., Cheng, Y., Gan, Z., Yu, L., & Liu, J. (2020, November). Hero: Hierarchical encoder for video+ language omni-representation pre-training. In Proceedings of the 2020 conference on empirical methods in natural language processing (EMNLP) (pp. 2046-2065)).
Claim(s) 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (Li, L., Chen, Y. C., Cheng, Y., Gan, Z., Yu, L., & Liu, J. (2020, November). Hero: Hierarchical encoder for video+ language omni-representation pre-training. In Proceedings of the 2020 conference on empirical methods in natural language processing (EMNLP) (pp. 2046-2065)) in view of Yu (US 20220019744 A1).
Claims 2-10 and 14-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (Li, L., Chen, Y. C., Cheng, Y., Gan, Z., Yu, L., & Liu, J. (2020, November). Hero: Hierarchical encoder for video+ language omni-representation pre-training. In Proceedings of the 2020 conference on empirical methods in natural language processing (EMNLP) (pp. 2046-2065)).
Regarding claim 1, discloses A multi-modal pre-training method, comprising: (Section 1 “we present a new video-and-language large-scale pre-training frame work- HERO…HERO encodes multimodal inputs”)
sampling a video in a video-text pair to obtain a first video frame sequence; (Section 3.1 “takes the frames of a video clip and the textual tokens of subtitle sentences as inputs.”)
performing word segmentation processing on a text in the video-text pair to obtain a first word segmentation sequence; (Section 3.2.1 “The inputs for MLM include: (i) sub-word tokens from the i-th subtitle sentence w-si.” Linjie disclose processing text to function as textual tokens of subtitle sentences )
masking on the first video frame sequence to obtain a second video frame sequence; (Section 3.2.2 “Similar to MLM, we also sample frames and mask their visual features with a probability of 15%”)
masking on the first word segmentation sequence to obtain a second word segmentation sequence; (Section 3.2.1 “In MLM, we randomly mask out input words with a probability of 15%, and replace the masked tokens”. Figure 1 discloses an example of a word segmentation sequence where a word has been substituted with a discrete label)
encoding the first video frame sequence to obtain a first video feature, (Section 3.2.3 “The inputs to VSM are:… the whole video clip v” Section 1 discloses Hero encodes the multimodal inputs by using a Cross-modal Transformer. Figure discloses the frame sequence being passed to the Cross-modal Transformer) and encoding the first word segmentation sequence to obtain a first word segmentation feature; (Section 3.2.2 and Figure 1 disclose all the subtitle sentence are passed to the Cross-modal Transformer )
encoding the second video frame sequence to obtain a second video feature, (Section 3.2.2 and Figure 1 disclose passing the masked frame sequence to the Cross-modal Transformer) and encoding the second word segmentation sequence to obtain a second word segmentation feature; (Section 3.2.1 and Figure 1 disclose inputting the masked text into the Cross-modal Transformer)
determining a pre-trained target function by using the first video feature, the first word segmentation feature, the second video feature and the second word segmentation feature; and (Section 3.2.3 discloses the final loss Lvsm which makes use of negative and positive video-sentence pairs)
performing multi-modal pre-training by using the pre-trained target function. (Section 3.2.3 discloses the use of final loss Lvsm which makes use of negative and positive video-sentence pairs)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (Li, L., Chen, Y. C., Cheng, Y., Gan, Z., Yu, L., & Liu, J. (2020, November). Hero: Hierarchical encoder for video+ language omni-representation pre-training. In Proceedings of the 2020 conference on empirical methods in natural language processing (EMNLP) (pp. 2046-2065)) in view of Yu (US 20220019744 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Li discloses A multi-modal pre-training apparatus, comprising: (Li: Section 1 “we present a new video-and-language large-scale pre-training frame work- HERO…HERO encodes multimodal inputs”)
which is configured to execute a multi-modal pre- training method comprising: (Li: Section 1 “we present a new video-and-language large-scale pre-training frame work- HERO…HERO encodes multimodal inputs”)
sampling a video in a video-text pair to obtain a first video frame sequence; (Li: Section 3.1 “takes the frames of a video clip and the textual tokens of subtitle sentences as inputs.”)
performing word segmentation processing on a text in the video-text pair to obtain a first word segmentation sequence; (Li: Section 3.2.1 “The inputs for MLM include: (i) sub-word tokens from the i-th subtitle sentence w-si.” Linjie disclose processing text to function as textual tokens of subtitle sentences )
masking on the first video frame sequence to obtain a second video frame sequence; (Li: Section 3.2.2 “Similar to MLM, we also sample frames and mask their visual features with a probability of 15%”)
masking on the first word segmentation sequence to obtain a second word segmentation sequence; (Li: Section 3.2.1 “In MLM, we randomly mask out input words with a probability of 15%, and replace the masked tokens”. Figure 1 discloses an example of a word segmentation sequence where a word has been substituted with a discrete label)
encoding the first video frame sequence to obtain a first video feature, (Li: Section 3.2.3 “The inputs to VSM are:… the whole video clip v” Section 1 discloses Hero encodes the multimodal inputs by using a Cross-modal Transformer. Figure discloses the frame sequence being passed to the Cross-modal Transformer) and encoding the first word segmentation sequence to obtain a first word segmentation feature; (Li: Section 3.2.2 and Figure 1 disclose all the subtitle sentence are passed to the Cross-modal Transformer )
encoding the second video frame sequence to obtain a second video feature, (Li: Section 3.2.2 and Figure 1 disclose passing the masked frame sequence to the Cross-modal Transformer) and encoding the second word segmentation sequence to obtain a second word segmentation feature; (Li: Section 3.2.1 and Figure 1 disclose inputting the masked text into the Cross-modal Transformer)
determining a pre-trained target function by using the first video feature, the first word segmentation feature, the second video feature and the second word segmentation feature; and (Li: Section 3.2.3 discloses the final loss Lvsm which makes use of negative and positive video-sentence pairs)
performing multi-modal pre-training by using the pre-trained target function. (Li: Section 3.2.3 discloses the use of final loss Lvsm which makes use of negative and positive video-sentence pairs)
Li fails to specifically disclose a memory; and
a processor coupled to the memory,
In related art, Yu discloses a memory; and (Yu: ¶7 “an electronic device includes: at least one processor; and a memory in communication connection with the at least one processor;”)
a processor coupled to the memory, (Yu: ¶7 “an electronic device includes: at least one processor; and a memory in communication connection with the at least one processor;”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the memory and processor disclosed by Yu into the method of multi-modal pre-training disclosed by Li to store and manipulate the data housed within the computing system.
Regarding claim 13, Li discloses performs a multi-modal pre-training method comprising: (Li: Section 1 “we present a new video-and-language large-scale pre-training frame work- HERO…HERO encodes multimodal inputs”)
sampling a video in a video-text pair to obtain a first video frame sequence; (Li: Section 3.1 “takes the frames of a video clip and the textual tokens of subtitle sentences as inputs.”)
performing word segmentation processing on a text in the video-text pair to obtain a first word segmentation sequence; (Li: Section 3.2.1 “The inputs for MLM include: (i) sub-word tokens from the i-th subtitle sentence w-si.” Linjie disclose processing text to function as textual tokens of subtitle sentences )
masking on the first video frame sequence to obtain a second video frame sequence; (Li: Section 3.2.2 “Similar to MLM, we also sample frames and mask their visual features with a probability of 15%”)
masking on the first word segmentation sequence to obtain a second word segmentation sequence; (Li: Section 3.2.1 “In MLM, we randomly mask out input words with a probability of 15%, and replace the masked tokens”. Figure 1 discloses an example of a word segmentation sequence where a word has been substituted with a discrete label)
encoding the first video frame sequence to obtain a first video feature, (Li: Section 3.2.3 “The inputs to VSM are:… the whole video clip v” Section 1 discloses Hero encodes the multimodal inputs by using a Cross-modal Transformer. Figure discloses the frame sequence being passed to the Cross-modal Transformer) and encoding the first word segmentation sequence to obtain a first word segmentation feature; (Li: Section 3.2.2 and Figure 1 disclose all the subtitle sentence are passed to the Cross-modal Transformer )
encoding the second video frame sequence to obtain a second video feature, (Li: Section 3.2.2 and Figure 1 disclose passing the masked frame sequence to the Cross-modal Transformer) and encoding the second word segmentation sequence to obtain a second word segmentation feature; (Li: Section 3.2.1 and Figure 1 disclose inputting the masked text into the Cross-modal Transformer)
determining a pre-trained target function by using the first video feature, the first word segmentation feature, the second video feature and the second word segmentation feature; and (Li: Section 3.2.3 discloses the final loss Lvsm which makes use of negative and positive video-sentence pairs)
performing multi-modal pre-training by using the pre-trained target function. (Li: Section 3.2.3 discloses the use of final loss Lvsm which makes use of negative and positive video-sentence pairs)
Li fails to specifically disclose A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, which stores a computer program that, when executed by a processor,
In related art, Yu discloses A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, which stores a computer program that, when executed by a processor, (Yu: ¶8 “a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium includes instructions, which, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to carry out the method as described above.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the non-transitory computer readable medium for executing multi-modal pre-training disclosed by Yu into the method of multi-modal pre-training disclosed by Li to store and manipulate the data housed within the computing system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-10 and 14-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Li ‘767 (US 20240054767 A1) discloses a multi-modal model training method, apparatus and device, and a storage medium. The method includes the following steps: obtaining a training sample set, and training a multi-modal model for a plurality of rounds by successively using each of training sample pair in the training sample set: during use of any one of the training sample pairs for training, obtaining an image feature of a target visual sample firstly, and then determining whether back translation needs to be performed on a target original text; when back translation needs to be performed on the target original text, performing corresponding back translation to obtain a target back-translated text, and obtaining a text feature of the target back-translated text; and training the multi-modal model based on the image feature and the text feature.
/MICHAEL KIM MAIDEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2665
/Stephen R Koziol/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2665