DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The amendment of 11/06/2025 has been entered. Claims 1 and 3-15 are currently pending in the application. Claim 2 has been canceled.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a control portion” in claims 1 and 14. The generic placeholder “portion” is linked by linking word “configured to” to the functional limitation “control a braking mechanism of each wheel of a vehicle” without reciting the structure of the portion capable of performing the recited function.
ECUs 10, 11, and/or 31 (0078 lines 6-10)
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
At claim 1 line 2 “each wheel of a vehicle” should read -- each wheel of a plurality of wheels of a vehicle--.
At claim 3 line 4 “brake control” should read --the brake control--.
At claim 14 line 2 “each wheel of a vehicle” should read -- each wheel of a plurality of wheels of a vehicle--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CARON (US 7,712,588).
Regarding claim 14, CARON discloses a vehicle control apparatus comprising:
a control portion (24) configured to control a braking mechanism (10) of each wheel of a plurality of wheels of a vehicle (a control portion for each wheel implied, i.a. col. 1 lines 12-13; c.f. Applicant’s 0078 lines 6-10 where four control units 31A correspond to the control portion as claimed), the braking mechanisms being configured to press a frictional pad against a rotor that rotates together with a wheel (implied, Fig. 1, col. 2 lines 12-13),
wherein the control portion is further configured to
acquire a control condition including at least one of information regarding information regarding a state of the vehicle (i.a. col. 6 lines 11-14), and
control a clearance amount (18) between the rotor and the frictional pad (col. 6 lines 42-51) independently for each wheel of the vehicle based on the control condition (implied, i.a., sensor 30 measures temperature of only one brake, col. 2 lines 35-37),
wherein the control condition is the information regarding the state of the vehicle (col. 5 lines 11-14),
wherein the information regarding the state of the vehicle is a temperature of at least one of the rotors or at least one of the frictional pads (col. 6 lines 32-34), and
wherein the control portion performs control for increasing the clearance amount from a reference clearance amount for a wheel where the temperature is higher than a predetermined
temperature among the wheels (col. 6 lines 42-46), and performs control for reducing the clearance amount from the reference clearance amount for a wheel where the temperature is equal to or lower than the predetermined temperature among the wheels (col. 6 lines 46-50).
Regarding claim 15, CARON discloses a vehicle control method configured to be performed by a control unit (24) mounted on a vehicle (title) including a braking mechanism (10) for each wheel of a plurality of wheels of the vehicle (a control portion for each wheel implied, i.a. col. 1 lines 12-13; c.f. Applicant’s 0078 lines 6-10 where four control units 31A correspond to the control portion as claimed), each braking mechanism being configured to press a frictional pad (16) against a rotor (12) that rotates together with a wheel (implied, Fig. 1, col. 2 lines 12-13), the vehicle control method comprising:
causing the control unit to
acquire a control condition including information regarding a state of the vehicle (i.a. col. 6 lines 11-14), and
control a clearance amount (18) between the rotor and the frictional pad (col. 6 lines 42-51) independently for each of the wheels of the vehicle based on the control condition (implied, i.a., sensor 30 measures temperature of only one brake, col. 2 lines 35-37),
wherein the control condition is the information regarding the state of the vehicle (col. 5 lines 11-14),
wherein the information regarding the state of the vehicle is a temperature of at least one of the rotors, or at least one of the frictional pads (col. 6 lines 32-34), and
the vehicle control method further comprises causing the control unit to perform control for increasing the clearance amount from a reference clearance amount for a wheel where the temperature is higher than a predetermined temperature among the wheels (col. 6 lines 42-46), and to perform control for reducing the clearance amount from the reference clearance amount for a wheel where the temperature is equal to or lower than the predetermined temperature among the wheels (col. 6 lines 46-50).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 and 3-13 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claims 1 and 13, SUGAI (JP 2004-345393, provided by Applicant on 07/12/2024 IDS) and TSUNEHARA (JP H11-227586) are the closest prior art of record.
Regarding claim 1, SUGAI discloses a vehicle control apparatus comprising:
a control portion (30) configured to control a braking mechanism (20) of each wheel of a vehicle, the braking mechanisms being configured to press a frictional pad (23) against a rotor (22) that rotates together with a wheel (implied, Fig. 2),
wherein the control portion is further configured to
acquire a control condition including information regarding a running environment of a running road on which a vehicle runs (pg. 18 last 4 lines), and
control a clearance amount between the rotor and the frictional pad for each wheel of the vehicle based on the control condition (pg. 18 line 18 - pg. 19 line 1; Fig. 11).
SUGAI does not disclose controlling the clearance amount independently for each of the wheels based on the running environment.
TSUNEHARA discloses a vehicle control apparatus comprising:
a control portion (41) configured to control a braking mechanism (corresponding to 11FL, 11FR, 11RL, 11RR, pg. 13 lines 1-6) of each wheel of a vehicle, the braking mechanisms being configured to press a frictional pad against a rotor that rotates together with a wheel (implied),
wherein the control portion is further configured to
acquire a control condition (yaw rate deviation, 0038 lines 1-3), and
control a clearance amount between the rotor and the frictional pad independently for each of wheels of the vehicle based on the control condition (0038 lines 1-3 and 6-8).
TSUNEHARA does not disclose the control condition including information regarding a running environment of a running road on which a vehicle runs. Because TSUNEHARA only teaches independently controlling the wheels based on a yaw rate deviation the reference cannot teach independently controlling the wheels based on a running environment of the vehicle. Regarding TSUNEHARA’s passing mentions of a lane change (i.a. 0037 line 7), as the reference does not disclose sensors or processing capable of recognizing the environment of the vehicle it cannot be said that the recited situation of the lane change meets the limitation of the running environment as claimed.
At least for the above reasons, the prior art fails to teach or render obvious the claim limitation “wherein the control condition is the information regarding the running environment” in the manner defined in claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, SUGAI discloses vehicle control method configured to be performed by a control unit (30) mounted on a vehicle including a braking mechanism (20) for each wheel of a plurality of wheels of the vehicle, each braking mechanism being configured to press a frictional pad (23) against a rotor (22) that rotates together with a wheel (implied, Fig. 2), the vehicle control method comprising:
causing the control unit to
acquire a control condition including information regarding a running environment of a running road on which the vehicle runs (pg. 18 last 4 lines), and
control a clearance amount between the rotor and the frictional pad for each of the wheels of the vehicle based on the control condition (pg. 18 line 18 - pg. 19 line 1; Fig. 11),
SUGAI does not disclose controlling the clearance amount independently for each of the wheels based on the running environment.
TSUNEHARA discloses a vehicle control method configured to be performed by a control unit (41) mounted on a vehicle including a braking mechanism (corresponding to 11FL, 11FR, 11RL, 11RR, pg. 13 lines 1-6) for each wheel of a plurality of wheels of the vehicle, each braking mechanism being configured to press a frictional pad against a rotor that rotates together with a wheel (implied), the vehicle control method comprising:
causing the control unit to
acquire a control condition (yaw rate deviation, 0038 lines 1-3), and
control a clearance amount between the rotor and the frictional pad independently for each of the wheels of the vehicle based on the control condition (0038 lines 1-3 and 6-8).
TSUNEHARA does not disclose the control condition including information regarding a running environment of a running road on which a vehicle runs. Because TSUNEHARA only teaches independently controlling the wheels based on a yaw rate deviation the reference cannot teach independently controlling the wheels based on a running environment of the vehicle. Regarding TSUNEHARA’s passing mentions of a lane change (i.a. 0037 line 7), as the reference does not disclose sensors or processing capable of recognizing the environment of the vehicle it cannot be said that the recited situation of the lane change meets the limitation of the running environment as claimed.
At least for the above reasons, the prior art fails to teach or render obvious the claim limitation “wherein the control condition is the information regarding the running environment” in the manner defined in claim 13.
Any comments considered necessary by Applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled "Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance".
Response to Arguments
The following remarks respond to Applicant’s arguments filed 11/06/2025.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to new claim 14 and the CARON reference, see pg. 11, have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
At pg. 11 lines 22-26, Applicant argues that CARON discloses the controller 24 is part of the adjustment mechanism for a single brake and therefore cannot correspond to the control portion configured to control a braking mechanism of each wheel.
The Examiner reminds Applicant that the claims are interpreted in light of the specification. At 0078 lines 7-10 of Applicant’s specification clearly states that the ECUs 10, 11, and/or 31 (and control portions 10A, 11A, and/or 31A contained therein) correspond to the control unit mounted on the vehicle of the claimed invention. From this disclosure a person of ordinary skill would reasonably understand the four ECUs 31 (and four control portions 31A contained therein) disclosed in Applicant’s figure 1 to collectively correspond to the control unit (and control portion) as claimed in new claims 14-15. Therefore, the independent ECUs 24 implied at each braking wheel of the vehicle of CARON corresponds, consistently with Applicant’s disclosure, on the control unit (and control portion) as claimed.
Applicant’s argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a single control unit or control portion that independently controls each brake of the vehicle) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
At pg. 11 lines 15-18, Applicant argues that CARON discloses the controller 24 cannot disclose controlling the brakes independently for each wheel of the vehicle.
As Applicant clearly states (see pg. 11 lines 22-24) the controller 24 of CARON controls the brake of a single wheel. Therefore, the controllers 24 reasonably implied by CARON at each brake of the vehicle are themselves independent. Additionally, as argued just above herein, the controllers 24 reasonably implied at each brake of the vehicle in CARON collectively correspond to the control unit (and control portion) recited in claims 14 and 15. Therefore, as the controllers 24 themselves are independent then the control of the brakes is also independent.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARK L. GREENE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747