DETAILED ACTION
Applicant presents Claims 1-16 for examination. The Office rejects Claims 1-16 as detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
+_+_+ Claims 1-13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang - CN217766836U +_+_+
[**Examiner Note: The Office has included a full Espace.net translation of the Wang IDS reference with this Action and is referencing the paragraph numbers and figures included within.]
As for Claim 1, Wang teaches a housing portion provided with a first light outlet and a second light outlet (Fig. 3, main body 210, light outlets 212 and 214); a first laser emitting portion configured to emit a first laser along a first direction to an object to be measured, the first laser emitting portion being located in the housing portion (Fig. 1, laser distance measuring component 220), and an emitting end of the first laser emitting portion being opposite to [i.e., facing] the first light outlet (Fig. 1, laser distance measuring component 220, shows laser components behind outlet window in front.); a first optical lens mounted in the first light outlet of the housing portion (¶50|1: “It should be noted that in this way, the optical lens group at the front end of the laser light emitting module can be adjusted according to the requirements….”); a laser receiving portion configured to receive a reflected laser reflected by the object to be measured along the first direction (¶12|1: “the opening direction of the first light-through port is consistent [along the same direction] with that of the second light-through port.”), the laser receiving portion being located in the housing portion, and a receiving end of the first receiving portion being opposite to [i.e., facing] the first optical lens (Fig. 1, laser distance measuring component 220, shows emitting and receiving components facing the front outlet and lenses. That is, like the claimed invention, the rangefinder has an emitting/receiving distance determining components (Fig. 3 device front narrow edge) on one side, and laser marking components perpendicular to the distance determining components on the bottom side.); a second optical lens mounted in the second light outlet of the housing portion (Fig. 3, 214, ¶55|1: “Moreover, when the light-emitting sign 232 is set, for ease of use, the main body 210 is a polyhedron body 210 and a third light port 214 is also provided, and the laser marking unit 231 is used for emitting laser light from the third light port 214.”); a second laser emitting portion configured to emit a second laser along a second direction, the second laser sequentially passing through the second optical lens and the second light outlet to form a sector-shaped laser light curtain (¶50|1: “It should be noted that in this way, the optical lens group at the front end of the laser light emitting module can be adjusted according to the requirements, so as to obtain different marking styles, and when adjusting the marking style, multiple optical lens groups can be set, The light transmission pattern of each optical lens group is different, thus, the marking pattern can be adjusted by replacing the optical lens group.”), the sector-shaped laser light curtain being projected onto an object to be marked (¶13|1: “In an optional embodiment, the laser marking unit is configured to emit marking light with a cross-sectional light spot in the form of a dot, a line or a graph.”), and forming a zero baseline on the object to be marked (¶44|1: “As can be seen from the above, please refer to Fig. 1-Fig. 5, in this embodiment, the rangefinder 200 with marking function can mark the starting point of measurement through the marking assembly 230 during the working process, thus, when setting the marking When the component 230 is used, the marking component 230 can be a laser marking unit 231, and the laser marking unit 231 is used to emit laser light to mark the measurement starting point;”), the second laser emitting portion being located in the housing portion and an emitting end of the second laser emitting portion being opposite to [i.e., facing] the second optical lens (¶50|1: “It should be noted that in this way, the optical lens group at the front end of the laser light emitting module can be adjusted according to the requirements, so as to obtain different marking styles, and when adjusting the marking style, multiple optical lens groups can be set, The light transmission pattern of each optical lens group is different, thus, the marking pattern can be adjusted by replacing the optical lens group.”), wherein the second direction is configured to be perpendicular to the first direction; and a control portion located in the housing portion and electrically connected to the first laser emitting portion the laser receiving portion, and the second laser emitting portion (Fig. 2, keyboard 270, controls device laser ranging and marking emitters and receivers.)
As for Claim 2, which depends on Claim 1, Wang teaches wherein two second laser emitting portions are arranged on both sides of the first laser emitting portion along the second direction (¶50|1: “It should be noted that in this way, the optical lens group at the front end of the laser light emitting module can be adjusted according to the requirements, so as to obtain different marking styles, and when adjusting the marking style, multiple optical lens groups can be set, The light transmission pattern of each optical lens group is different, thus, the marking pattern can be adjusted by replacing the optical lens group.”)
As for Claim 3, which depends on Claim 2, Wang teaches wherein two sector-shaped laser light curtains formed by the two second laser emitting portions are parallel to each other (¶50|1: “It should be noted that in this way, the optical lens group at the front end of the laser light emitting module can be adjusted according to the requirements, so as to obtain different marking styles, and when adjusting the marking style, multiple optical lens groups can be set, The light transmission pattern of each optical lens group is different, thus, the marking pattern can be adjusted by replacing the optical lens group.”)
As for Claim 4, which depends on Claim 2, Wang teaches wherein two sector-shaped laser light curtains formed by the two second laser emitting portions are coplanar with each other (¶50|1: “It should be noted that in this way, the optical lens group at the front end of the laser light emitting module can be adjusted according to the requirements, so as to obtain different marking styles, and when adjusting the marking style, multiple optical lens groups can be set, The light transmission pattern of each optical lens group is different, thus, the marking pattern can be adjusted by replacing the optical lens group.”)
As for Claim 5, which depends on Claim 1, Wang teaches wherein an angular radian of the sector-shaped laser light curtain is defined as a, where 0° < a < 180° (Fig. 4 shows angular radian of the marking beam A is somewhere between 0° and 180°.)
As for Claim 6, which depends on Claim 1, Wang teaches wherein an unfolded thickness of the sector-shaped laser light curtain is defined as d, where d<5 mm (Fig. 4 shows marking beam A. Range marker line widths are typically under 5 mm within typical usage range.)
As for Claim 7, which depends on Claim 1, Wang teaches wherein the first optical lens is an aspherical laser lens; and/or the second optical lens is a cylindrical lens (Fig. 4 A shows marking beam focusses as a line, which is done which a cylindrical lens.)
As for Claim 8, which depends on Claim 1, Wang teaches wherein the control portion comprises: a first circuit board, wherein the first laser emitting portion the laser receiving portion and the second laser emitting portion are located on a first side of the first circuit board, and the first laser emitting portion, the laser receiving portion and the second laser emitting portion are electrically connected to the first circuit board, respectively; a second circuit board electrically connected to the first circuit board; and a power supply member electrically connected to the first circuit board and/or the second circuit board (¶41|1: “Further, referring to Fig. 1-Fig. 5, in addition to the above-mentioned structural settings, in this embodiment, when setting the range finder 200 with marking function, the range finder 200 with marking function also includes a control circuit board 240, battery 250, liquid crystal display 260 and keyboard 270; wherein, control circuit board 240, battery 250, liquid crystal display 260 and keyboard 270 are all connected with main body 210, and battery 250, liquid crystal display 260 and keyboard 270 are all connected with control The circuit board 240….”)
As for Claim 9, which depends on Claim 8, Wang teaches further comprising a screen display panel electrically connected to a second side of the first circuit board wherein the second side of the first circuit board is away from the first side of the first circuit board (¶41|1: “Further, referring to Fig. 1-Fig. 5, in addition to the above-mentioned structural settings, in this embodiment, when setting the range finder 200 with marking function, the range finder 200 with marking function also includes a control circuit board 240, battery 250, liquid crystal display 260 and keyboard 270; wherein, control circuit board 240, battery 250, liquid crystal display 260 and keyboard 270 are all connected with main body 210, and battery 250, liquid crystal display 260 and keyboard 270 are all connected with control The circuit board 240….”)
As for Claim 10, which depends on Claim 8, Wang teaches further comprising a charging interface electrically connected to the second circuit board (¶41|1: “Further, referring to Fig. 1-Fig. 5, in addition to the above-mentioned structural settings, in this embodiment, when setting the range finder 200 with marking function, the range finder 200 with marking function also includes a control circuit board 240, battery 250, liquid crystal display 260 and keyboard 270; wherein, control circuit board 240, battery 250, liquid crystal display 260 and keyboard 270 are all connected with main body 210, and battery 250, liquid crystal display 260 and keyboard 270 are all connected with control The circuit board 240….”)
As for Claim 11, which depends on Claim 8, Wang teaches wherein the housing portion comprises: an inner frame member, an outer frame of the inner frame member being connected to the first circuit board and the second circuit board respectively, and the first laser emitting portion, the laser receiving portion, the second laser emitting portion, and the power supply member being placed in the inner frame member; and a housing assembly covering the inner frame member (Fig.1 shows internal components and housing components mounted together.)
As for Claim 12, which depends on Claim 11, Wang teaches wherein the housing assembly comprises a first housing, and the inner frame member is inserted and mounted in the first housing along the second direction (Fig.1 shows upper and lower housing mounted together.)
As for Claim 13, which depends on Claim 12, Wang teaches wherein the housing assembly further comprises a second housing, and the first housing is inserted and mounted in the second housing along the first direction (Fig.1 shows upper and lower housing mounted together.)
As for Claim 15, which depends on Claim 11, Wang teaches further comprising a third circuit board mounted on a side wall of the inner frame member, wherein the third circuit board is electrically connected to the second circuit board (¶41|1: “Further, referring to Fig. 1-Fig. 5, in addition to the above-mentioned structural settings, in this embodiment, when setting the range finder 200 with marking function, the range finder 200 with marking function also includes a control circuit board 240, battery 250, liquid crystal display 260 and keyboard 270; wherein, control circuit board 240, battery 250, liquid crystal display 260 and keyboard 270 are all connected with main body 210, and battery 250, liquid crystal display 260 and keyboard 270 are all connected with control The circuit board 240….”)
As for Claim 16, which depends on Claim 15, Wang teaches further comprising: a lighting member electrically connected to the second circuit board; and a lighting switch electrically connected to the third circuit board (¶14|1: “In an optional embodiment, the marking component includes at least one luminous mark, and a plurality of luminous marks are connected to the main body, and the plurality of luminous marks are arranged at intervals, and each luminous mark is used to light up to determine the measurement starting point.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
+_+_+ Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Nyhart et al. – U.S. Pub. 20200200530 +_+_+
As for Claim 14, which depends on Claim 13, Wang does not explicitly teach attaching a magnet to the housing.
But Nyhart teaches further comprising a magnetic member mounted on a wall surface of at least one of the inner frame member, the first housing, and the second housing (Fig. 5C, P33|1: “FIG. 5C is a perspective view showing a different positioning of an elongate magnet on a laser rangefinder housing.”)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to combine Wang and Nyhart because adding a magnet to the housing allows for easy storage and convenient and secure place when used on a magnetic metal surface.
Conclusion
Though not relied on, the Office considers the additional prior art listed in the Notice of Reference Cited form (PTO-892) pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
/Clint Thatcher/
Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645