DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendment filed February 24, 2026. As directed by the amendment, claims 1-3, 5-6, 9-16 have been amended. As such, claims 1-3, 5-6, 9-16 remain under consideration in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the plurality of slots”. However, both “a plurality of slots arranged on the brim segment” and “a plurality of slots arranged on the QLS segment” are recited in claim 1. It is unclear to which plurality of slots this limitation refers. Correction is required.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “the plurality of slots”. However, both “a plurality of slots arranged on the brim segment” and “a plurality of slots arranged on the QLS segment” are recited in claim 1. It is unclear to which plurality of slots this limitation refers. Correction is required.
Claims 14 and 15 recite the limitation “the at least one elongated slot”. However, both “at least one elongated slot” arranged on the brim segment and “at least one elongated slot arranged on the QLS segment” are recited in claim 1. It is unclear to which plurality of slots this limitation refers. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 9-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guo (2017/0319249).
Regarding claim 1, Guo discloses a suprapectineal or infrapectineal bone plate system, comprising: bone fasteners including a first fastener and a second fastener (“screws” ¶88); and a suprapectineal or infrapectineal bone plate (FIGS. 3-4) comprising: a brim segment (B1 with B2) coupled to a quadrilateral surface (QLS) segment (5 with 10) via at least one bridge (4), wherein the brim segment is configured to be affixed to one of a portion of a pelvic brim or the quadrilateral surface (QLS) below the pelvic brim of a patient (FIG. 4)s the QLS segment is configured to be arranged directly adjacent to the QLS of the pelvis (FIG. 4); a plurality of slots (screw holes) arranged on the brim segment, at least a portion of the plurality of slots configured to receive the first fastener to affix the bone plate to the pelvic brim or the quadrilateral surface (QLS) below the pelvic brim (¶88), the plurality of slots comprising at least one elongated slot (slot adjacent 12, FIG. 4) capable to receive the second fastener to non-rigidly affix the bone plate to the pelvic brim or the quadrilateral surface (QLS) below the pelvic brim to facilitate adjustment of the bone plate in an adjustment direction during an implantation procedure (¶88); and a plurality of slots (holes at 10) arranged on the QLS segment including at least one elongated slot arranged on the QLS segment, wherein each elongated slot comprises a short dimension (narrow dimension) configured to prevent movement of the bone plate in a short direction when the second fastener is arranged within the elongated slot, and a long dimension (elongate dimension) capable to allow linear movement of the bone plate in the adjustment direction when the bone plate is non-rigidly affixed to the pelvic brim or the quadrilateral surface (QLS) below the pelvic brim.
Regarding claim 2, Guo discloses the bone plate system of claim 1, wherein the adjustment direction is one of a medial/lateral direction or a superior/inferior direction (FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Guo discloses the bone plate system of claim 1, wherein the at least one elongated slot on the brim segment has the adjustment direction of medial/lateral and the at least one elongated slot on the QLS segment has the adjustment direction of superior/inferior (FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Guo discloses the bone plate system of claim 1, wherein the bone plate is a suprapectineal bone plate wherein the brim segment is configured to be affixed on the pelvic brim (FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 6, Guo discloses the bone plate system of claim 1, wherein the bone plate is an infrapectineal bone plate wherein the brim segment is configured to be affixed to the QLS below the pelvic brim (FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 9, Guo discloses the bone plate system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of slots comprises at least one non-locking slot and at least one locking slot (FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 10, Guo discloses the bone plate system of claim 1, the plurality of slots arranged on the brim segment in a brim slot pattern comprising alternating locking slots and non-locking slots arranged along a longitudinal length of the brim segment (FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 11, Guo discloses the bone plate system of claim 10, the brim slot pattern comprising the at least one elongated slot arranged between a locking slot and a non-locking slot of the brim slot pattern (hole to side of elongated slot can be locking, hole above elongated slot can be non-locking, ¶88).
Regarding claim 12, Guo discloses the bone plate system of claim 1, the plurality of slots comprising at least one set of elongated slots configured to facilitate movement in one adjustment direction (FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 13, Guo discloses the bone plate system of claim 12, the at least one set comprising one of a medial/lateral adjustment set or a superior/inferior adjustment set (FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 14, Guo discloses the bone plate system of claim 1, the at least one elongated slot comprising a plurality of slots arranged at a slot orientation angle (FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 15, Guo discloses the bone plate system of claim 1, the at least one elongated slot is configured to facilitate movement of about 1 mm to about 10 mm (FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 16, Guo discloses the bone plate system of claim 1, wherein the at least one elongated slot on the brim segment is angled with an inter-slot orientation angle with respect to the at least one elongated slot on the QLS segment (FIG. 4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. The newly presented rejection was necessitated by the amendments to the claims of February 24, 2026.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OLIVIA C CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775