DETAILED ACTION
The Amendment filed June 29, 2026 has been entered.
Claims 1 – 12 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2022/0306185).
Regarding Claim 12:
Kim teaches a steering gear for a steering system of a utility vehicle (paragraph 0003), comprising: a ball nut drive (470) connected to an output shaft (460), a sector shaft (240); a first drive unit (222) operatively connected to the output shaft by a first helical gear transmission (334) and configured to apply a first steering assist torque to the output shaft; and a second drive unit (224) operatively connected to the output shaft by a second helical gear transmission (434) configured to apply a second steering assist torque to the output shaft, wherein the first drive unit defines a first longitudinal axis and has a first rotational position about the first longitudinal axis (Fig 4), and wherein the second drive unit defines a second longitudinal axis and has a second rotational position which differs from the first rotational position about the second longitudinal axis (Figs 4 – 6).
Regarding Claim 13:
Kim teaches the first drive unit has a first inclination angle relative to a transverse axis of the output shaft that is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the output shaft, and the second drive unit has a second inclination angle, relative to the transverse axis of the output shaft, which differs from the first inclination angle (Figs 4 – 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 8, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2022/0306185) and in view of Carreirao (US 2021/0339797).
Regarding Claim 1:
Kim teaches a steering gear for a steering system of a utility vehicle (paragraph 0003), comprising: a ball nut drive (470) connected to an output shaft (460), a sector shaft (240); a first drive unit (222) operatively connected to the output shaft by a first helical gear transmission (334) and configured to apply a first steering assist torque to the output shaft; and a second drive unit (224) operatively connected to the output shaft by a second helical gear transmission (434) configured to apply a second steering assist torque to the output shaft, wherein the first drive unit defines a first longitudinal axis and has a first rotational position about the first longitudinal axis (Fig 4), and wherein the second drive unit defines a second longitudinal axis and has a second rotational position which differs from the first rotational position about the second longitudinal axis (Figs 4 – 6).
Kim is silent to the ball nut drive comprising a piston configured to act on a sector shaft.
However, Carreirao teaches the ball nut drive comprising a piston (30) configured to act on a sector shaft (50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the ball nut piston of Carreirao in the ball nut drive of Kim in order to permit hydraulic fluid communication and permit rotary transmission for the ball nut to the sector shaft.
Regarding Claim 2:
Kim teaches the first drive unit and the second drive unit are arranged parallel to each other and have an inclination angle of greater than or less than 90° to a third longitudinal axis of the output shaft (Figs 4 – 6).
Regarding Claim 3:
Kim teaches the first drive unit and the second drive unit are arranged parallel to each other, the first drive unit has a first inclination angle to a transverse axis of the output shaft, and the second drive unit has a second inclination angle to the transverse axis of the output shaft, which differs from the first inclination angle (Figs 4 – 6).
Regarding Claim 4:
Kim teaches the first inclination angle to the transverse axis of the output shaft has an angular difference to the second inclination angle to the transverse axis of the output shaft (Figs 4 – 6).
Regarding Claim 5:
Kim teaches the first drive unit has a first inclination angle to a third longitudinal axis of the output shaft, and the second drive unit has a second inclination angle to the longitudinal axis of the output shaft, which differs from the first inclination angle (Figs 4 – 6).
Regarding Claim 6:
Kim teaches the first drive unit has a first inclination angle to a the transverse axis of the output shaft, and the second drive unit has a second inclination angle to the transverse axis of the output shaft, which differs from the first inclination angle (Figs 4 – 6).
Regarding Claim 7:
Kim teaches the first drive unit and the second drive unit are arranged askew to one another (Figs 4 – 6).
Regarding Claim 8:
Kim teaches the first helical gear transmission and the second helical gear transmission are arranged on a same shaft (Fig 4).
Regarding Claim 10:
Kim teaches the first rotational position of the first drive unit about the first longitudinal axis has an angular difference to the second rotational position of the second drive unit about the second longitudinal axis (Figs 4 – 6).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2022/0306185) and Carreirao (US 2021/0339797), and further in view of Kim (US 2020/0070879).
Regarding Claim 9:
Modified Kim is silent to the first drive unit or the second drive unit comprise a shielding including a first Hall sensor arranged in a first steering control unit or a second Hall sensor arranged in a second steering control unit.
However, Kim (2020/0070879) teaches the first drive unit or the second drive unit comprise a shielding including a first Hall sensor arranged in a first steering control unit or a second Hall sensor arranged in a second steering control unit (paragraphs 0073, 0108).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the hall sensor of Kim (US 2020/0070879) in the modified drive unit of Kim and Carreirao in order to detect the angle of rotation of the shaft baded on changes in the detected intensity of the magnetic field.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 29, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On Page 5 of the Remarks, the Applicant argues that Kim does not teach the first and second rotational positions as recited in Claim 1. The Examiner disagrees and maintains the rejection. Figs 4 – 6 of Kim show the motor 222 having a screw shaft 332, that causes the motor to rotate, which equates to the first rotational position. Motor 244 has screw shaft 432 and positioned at a different angle and position compared to motor 22, and as it rotations about shaft 250, this equates to the second rotational position. Based on the broad but reasonable interpretation of the claim language, Kim teaches this limitation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LONG T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747