DETAILED ACTION
Claims are pending. Of these, claims are withdrawn as directed to a nonelected invention. Therefore, claims are under consideration on the merits.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/14/2024 was filed prior to the mailing date of a first Action on the merits.. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, it was considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Kuroda et al. (EP 1415639; published 5.06.2004).
As to claims 1-4 and 6, Kuroda discloses a powder cosmetic composition comprising one or more inorganic substances having a crystalline structure such as titanium dioxide (a “metal oxide powder” of claim 1) and silicon dioxide (i.e., “silica” of claim 4)(paragraphs 1, 8, 36). The inorganic substances preferably are surface treated with a metal soap (paragraph 48). The composition further may comprise an extender pigment which also may be treated with a metal soap such as talc, mica, kaolin, or aluminum stearate (claim 3)(paragraphs 55, 66). The metal oxide powder is present in the amount of 0.1-50 wt%, which overlaps the range recited by claim 1 (paragraph 23).
Regarding claim 2, the average particle size of the inorganic powder is 3-20 microns, which is within the range recited by the claim (paragraph 12).
As to claim 6, the cosmetic composition further may comprise an oil in the amount of 0.5-60 wt%, which encompasses the recited range (paragraphs 64-65).
As to claims 1-4 and 6, Kuroda does not further expressly disclose a specific embodiment wherein the metal oxide is titanium dioxide and the composition comprises an extender pigment, and wherein both the metal oxide and the extender pigment have been surface treated with metal soap, as recited by claim 1.
As to claims 1-4 and 6, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the teachings of Kuroda by selecting a metal oxide such as titanium dioxide and an extender pigment, both of which have been treated with a metal soap, for inclusion in the composition, because Kuroda expressly teaches that the composition may comprise the foregoing ingredients. "Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle." (325 U.S. at 335, 65 USPQ at 301). MPEP § 2144.07.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Kuroda et al. (EP 1415639) as applied to claims 1-4 and 6 above, and further in view of Yuasa et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2021/0169756; filed 8/6/2019).
The teachings of Kuroda are relied upon as discussed above, but Kuroda does not further expressly disclose the specific surface area of the silica as recited by claim 5.
Yuasa discloses cosmetic compositions comprising a powder formed from particles such as silica, the particles having a specific surface area most preferably of 100 to 400 m2/g, which overlaps the range of claim 5 (paragraphs 42). Yuasa teaches that powders having a large specific surface area are preferred because they have an excellent ability to adsorb makeup-stains (paragraph 37).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the teachings of Kuroda by selecting a specific surface area for the silica that is within the range of claim 5, because Yuasa expressly teaches that such specific surface areas are advantageous for silica particles that are present in powder cosmetics because they have an excellent ability to adsorb makeup-stains. The strongest rationale for combining references is a recognition, as is the case here, expressly or impliedly in the prior art or drawn from a convincing line of reasoning based on established scientific principles or legal precedent, that some advantage or expected beneficial result would have been produced by their combination. In re Sernaker, 702 F.2d 989, 994-95, 217 USPQ 1, 5-6 (Fed. Cir. 1983).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as unpatentable over all claims of U.S. Pat. Appl. No. 19/110,497 and in view of Kuroda et al. (EP 1415639) and/or Yuasa et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2021/0169756) where indicated below.
The teachings of Kuroda are relied upon as discussed above.
The reference claims recite a powder cosmetic comprising a metal oxide powder such as titanium oxide having an average particle size of 10 nm or less and in an amount of 5 wt% or more, and silica having a specific surface area of 160 m2/g or more, wherein the metal oxide powder is surface treated with metallic such that comprises aluminum stearate.
Although the reference claims do not recite the presence of an extender pigment surface treated with a metal soap such as aluminum stearate, it would have been prima facie obvious to incorporate same in light of Kuroda’s teaching that powder cosmetics comprising inorganic particles such as titanium dioxide benefit from additional coloring pigments such as aluminum stearate.
Although the reference claims do not recite the presence of an oil, present claim 6 recites a range of 10 wt% or less, which reads on an amount of zero oil.
Although the reference claims do not recite the specific surface area of the silica, It would have been prima facie obvious to select a specific surface area for the silica that is within the range of claim 5, because Yuasa expressly teaches that such specific surface areas are advantageous for silica particles that are present in powder cosmetics because they have an excellent ability to adsorb makeup-stains.
Conclusion
/GAREN GOTFREDSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1619
/ANNA R FALKOWITZ/ Primary Examiner., Art Unit 1600