Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-24 in the reply filed on 29 June 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: it appears “output” was mistakenly struck thru, “the interface is configured to the defect information…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schiffres et al. US 2020/0333295 A1.
Schiffres teaches:
1. (Currently Amended) An information processing apparatus comprising:
circuitry [Fig. 9] configured to
acquire measurement information [Fig. 9 - photodiode acquires thermal and “Ref In” acquires laser properties] about building of a build object acquired in a build period of the build object that is built by solidification of a powdery metal material melted by irradiation with an energy beam; [para. 0006, “While the invention has particular application to selective laser melting, it is also useful in any thermal processing method that provides a directed energy source, including laser welding, arc-welding, electron-beam additive, microwave-based manufacturing, whereby the heating source can be modulated to elicit a periodically oscillating thermal response. This periodic heating enables probing the thermal conductivity of the material.“] and
generate defect information about a defect formed inside the build object, by using the measurement information, [para. 0014, “It is therefore an object to provide a system for measuring thermal characteristics, comprising: a directed energy source having an energy output which changes over time, incident on an object undergoing additive manufacturing; a sensor configured to measure a dynamic thermal response of at least a portion of the object undergoing additive manufacturing proximate to a directed location of the directed energy source over time with respect distance from the directed location; and at least one processor, configured to analyze the measured dynamic thermal response to determine presence of a manufacturing defect in the object undergoing additive manufacturing, before completion of manufacturing.” And para. 0143-0145, “Micro Void Defects Detection”]
wherein the measurement information includes information about a temperature of at least a part of a melt pool formed by melting of the metal material caused by the irradiation with the energy beam [para. 0010, “The temperature may be sensed with a photodiode or camera installed in-line with the laser melting beam. For instance, the temperature can be sensed by the light gathered by the f-theta or dynamic-focusing lens after the galvanometer system using a spectrally selective mirror (e.g., dichroic mirror) that separates the IR surface emission from the reflected laser beam.”]
Schiffres teaches:
2. (Original) The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the defect includes a void space formed inside the build object, [para. 0057, “The analyzing may be selectively responsive to detecting a void space as manufacturing defect.”]
and the defect information includes void space information about the void space. [para. 0062, “The analyzing may determine at least one thermal property selected from the group consisting of thermal conductivity, density, specific heat, porosity, defect present, powder emissivity, powder conductance to substrate, powder diameter, powder surface coating, oxide layer, conductivity, powder surface coating thickness, powder coating specific heat, powder coating density, interfacial properties between grains, thickness of melt pool, latent heat of phase change, roughness, balling, and incomplete fusion.”]
Schiffres teaches:
3. (Original) The information processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the void space information includes information about a density of at least a part of the build object. [para. 0062, “The analyzing may determine at least one thermal property selected from the group consisting of thermal conductivity, density, specific heat, porosity, defect present, powder emissivity, powder conductance to substrate, powder diameter, powder surface coating, oxide layer, conductivity, powder surface coating thickness, powder coating specific heat, powder coating density, interfacial properties between grains, thickness of melt pool, latent heat of phase change, roughness, balling, and incomplete fusion.”]
Schiffres teaches:
4. (Currently Amended) The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the defect information includes at least one of information about presence or absence of the defect, and information about properties of the defect. [para. 0062, “The analyzing may determine at least one thermal property selected from the group consisting of thermal conductivity, density, specific heat, porosity, defect present, powder emissivity, powder conductance to substrate, powder diameter, powder surface coating, oxide layer, conductivity, powder surface coating thickness, powder coating specific heat, powder coating density, interfacial properties between grains, thickness of melt pool, latent heat of phase change, roughness, balling, and incomplete fusion.”]
Schiffres teaches:
5. (Original) The information processing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the properties of the defect include at least one of a size of the defect, a position of the defect, and a shape of the defect. [para. 0100, “FIG. 8 shows a maximum phase lag frequency dependence on micro void size and micro void distance from the surface in a 121-layer sequence system (1D approximation).”]
Schiffres teaches:
6. (Currently Amended) The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: an interface configured to output the defect information. [display 412]
Schiffres teaches:
7. (Currently Amended) The information processing apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the interface output unit includes a display configured to display unit that displays the defect information. [display 412]
Schiffres teaches:
8. (Currently Amended) The information processing apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the interface includes a communication interface configured to transmit the defect information to a build apparatus that builds the build object. [para. 0157-0159 - feedback control]
Schiffres teaches:
9. (Currently Amended) The information processing apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the interface is configured to output the measurement information together with the defect information. [para. 0164-0166; measurement and defects corrected before next layer]
Schiffres teaches:
10. (Currently Amended) The information processing apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the defect information includes first information about a defect formed in one part of the build object, [para. 0164-0166 defect information]
the measurement information includes second information acquired in measurement related to building of the one part of the build object, [para. 0157-0159; phase lag and frequency to determine melt pool depth] and
the interface is configured to output the defect information and the measurement information in an output format in which the first information is associated with the second information. [para. 0157-0159, information used in feedback control mode or feed-forward]
Schiffres teaches:
11. (Currently Amended) The information processing apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the interface includes a display configured to display the defect information and the measurement information in the output format in which the first information is associated with the second information. [Fig. 8 displays void size versus distance versus phase lag]
Schiffres teaches:
12. (Currently Amended) The information processing apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the interface includes a communication interface configured to transmit the defect information and the measurement information to a build apparatus that builds the build object. [para. 0222-0223 data used with computer system of additive manufacturing system]
Schiffres teaches:
13. (Currently Amended) The information processing apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the circuitry is configured to generate energy information about an energy amount transferred from the energy beam to the metal material, on the basis of the information about the temperature, [para. 0191; signal feedback samples temperature] and
the interface is configured to output the energy information together with the defect information. [para. 0157-0166; defect info and thermal properties used as feedback for repair or real time control]
Schiffres teaches:
14. (Currently Amended) The information processing apparatus according to claim 13,
wherein the defect information includes first information about a defect formed in one part of the build object, [para. 0161-0163]
the energy information includes second information about the energy amount transferred from the energy beam to the metal material in building of the one part of the build object, [Fig. 9 ref in signals laser energy information] and
the interface is configured to [sic] the defect information and the energy information in an output format in which the first information is associated with the second information. [para. 0155-0166; laser power and thermal feedback used for further control]
Schiffres teaches:
15. (Currently Amended) The information processing apparatus according to claim 14, wherein the interface output unit includes a display configured to display unit that displays the defect information and the energy information in the output format in which the first information is associated with the second information. [display 412]
Schiffres teaches:
16. (Currently Amended) The information processing apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the interface output unit includes a communication interface configured to transmit transmission unit that transmits the defect information and the energy information to a build apparatus that builds the build object. [para. 0013, “This technique can also measure powder properties and can extract powder properties relevant to metal additive manufacturing. The present technology encompasses a feedback and/or feedforward processing technique to control processing.”]
Schiffres teaches:
17. (Currently Amended) The information processing apparatus according to claim 6,
wherein the interface is configured to output the defect information in the build period in which the build object is built, and/or after the build object is built. [para. 0015, “…analyzing the measured dynamic thermal response to determine presence of a manufacturing defect in the object undergoing additive manufacturing, before completion of manufacturing; and feedback and/or feedforward controlling the directed energy source.”]
Schiffres teaches:
18. (Currently Amended) The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to generate information processing unit generates the defect information, by using the information about the temperature and a learning model generated by machine learning so as to generate the defect information on the basis of the information about the temperature. [para. 0215, “While deterministic programs may be employed, machine learning systems, including neural networks, deep neural networks, and clustering algorithms, may be used to implement various aspects of the signal processing and control.” And claim 12 which teaches adaptively learning processing conditions of the modulation of the energy output to predict future defect. And para. 0010 teaches temperature sensed as a processing condition]
Schiffres teaches:
19. (Currently Amended) The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the measurement information includes information about a shape of at least a part of the build object acquired in the build period. [para. 0100, and Fig. 8 “micro void size” related to phase lag]
Schiffres teaches:
20. (Currently Amended) The information processing apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the build object is built by solidification of at least a part of a layered material layer melted by irradiation with the energy beam to at least a part of the material layer formed by the metal material supplied, [para. 0122, “Selective laser melting (SLM) is an additive manufacturing process that allows solid metal or plastic parts to be produced from powder. Solid metal items are produced when a laser melts and fuses metal powder into a part through a layer-by-layer process. [16] In powder bed SLM, a thin layer of metal powder, generally around 20-40 μm thick, is deposited over the surface of the machine's build platform. [17] The laser is then scanned over a portion of that layer, melting the powder that the laser scans over into solid metal. An alternative method for depositing the powder is by spraying it through a nozzle onto the build area as the laser melts it, commonly referred to as direct metal deposition (DMD), which is categorized under direct energy deposition (DED). [18] After each layer, the process repeats.”] and
the measurement information includes information about a shape of at least a part of the material layer acquired in the build period. [para. 0130, “The present technology also provides information on the metal powder properties. Powder size, powder oxide shell, and core metal properties may all affect the resulting micro- and nanostructure of the printed part and the optimal processing parameters.”]
Schiffres teaches:
21. (Currently Amended) The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to:
acquire build information about building of the build object; [para. 0165-0166] and
generate the defect information by using the measurement information and the build information. [para. 0157-0166; defects detected and corrected]
Schiffres teaches:
22. (Original) The information processing apparatus according to claim 21, wherein the build information includes at least one of apparatus information about a build apparatus that builds the build object, material information about the metal material used to build the build object, [para. 0164-0166; info about powder required to fill void detected] and design information about the build object.
Schiffres teaches:
23. (Original) The information processing apparatus according to claim 22, wherein the apparatus information includes at least one of information about a build condition used by the build apparatus to build the build object [para. 0157; information about powder versus solid], and information about an operating state of the build apparatus.[para. 0157; feedback control using laser properties to melt]
Schiffres teaches:
24. (Currently Amended) The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to
generate least one of information about a state of a metal structure that constitutes at least a part of the build object, [para. 0160-0163; voids detected] and
information about mechanical properties of at least a part of the build object, by using the information about the temperature. [para. 0160-0163; “This technique can also evaluate and predict the phase and crystal structure of the 3D printed material based on the thermal properties measured. By testing processing parameter space and mapping micro/nano-structure, a mapping of microstructure/nanostructure from periodic thermal response data can be used to validate and confirm printed properties at the microstructure/nanostructure.”]
Conclusion
/GARY COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115