Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 05-26-2026 has been entered and considered.
Claims 1-5 are canceled.
Claims 6-9 are pending the current application.
Claims 6-9 remain rejected as discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zee et al (US 2020/0305054) in view of Godin et al (US 2023/0048803). Hereinafter referred to as Zee and Godin
Regarding claims 6 and 9, Zee discloses a radio base station comprising a receiver that receives, from another radio base station, a first message including slice related information on a slice supported by the another radio base station, which a slice is generated by partitioning a network into specific units (see at least claim 16).
Zee discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention for the exception of having a processor that controls slice-aware cell reselection performed by a terminal based on the slice related information. However, Godin, from the same field of endeavor, teaches a processor that controls slice-aware cell reselection performed by a terminal based on the slice related information (see at least claim 1). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of Godin, as indicated, into the communication method of Zee for the purpose of causing a terminal to favor or select a cell supporting the slice desired by the terminal.
Regarding claim 7. Zee in view of Goding discloses a radio base station according further comprising a transmitter that transmits a second message to another radio base station, the second message including slice related information on the slice supported by the radio base station (Zee: see at least abstract).
Claim 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zee in view of Goding and further in view of Lee et al (US 2020/0053643). Hereinafter referred to as Lee.
Regarding claim 8. Zee in view of Goding discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception the slice related information includes an identifier of a slice group, the slice group identifying an association to a slice or a set of slices. However, Lee, from the same field of endeavor, teaches the slice related information includes an identifier of a slice group, the slice group identifying an association to a slice or a set of slices (see at least paragraphs {0065]-[0066]). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of Lee, as indicated, into the communication method of Zee in view of Godin for the purpose of managing and organizing the network slices.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 6-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO_892.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
When responding to this office action, applicants are advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which they think the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Applicants must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37C.F.R 1.111(c). In addition, applicants are advised to provide the examiner with the line numbers and pages numbers in the application and/or references cited to assist examiner in locating the appropriate paragraphs.
/MOUNIR MOUTAOUAKIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476