Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 11 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: “RS323” is repeatedly referred to in the specification, however, should be –RS232--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “first interaction module” “life cycle management module” and “service discovery module” in claims 1 and 15.
“first interaction module” – Fig. 1 104, processor 701 and spec pg. 23
“life cycle management module” - 102 and processor 701 and
“service discovery module” - 103 and processor 701
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-10, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LEE et al. US 2017/0149867 A1.
LEE teaches:
1. (Currently Amended) An industrial data integration device comprising:
a first interaction module [Fig. 1 110 – first platform server] to interact with a first industrial field device [Fig. 1 111 – first device] based on a non-standard protocol [para. 0055, “In this instance, since the first device 111 and the second device 121 are connected to different platform servers, respectively, communication may be impossible using only one of the first platform server 110 and the second platform server 120.”];
a life cycle management module [interaction server 130] to manage a life cycle of the first interaction module [para. 0056, “The interaction server 130 refers to a server that enables the interaction between the first platform server 110 and the second platform server 120 providing different platforms, and enables communication between the first device 111 registered to the first platform server 110 and the second device 121 registered to the second platform server 120 through the interaction between the first platform server 110 and the second platform server 120.”]; and
a service discovery module [Fig. 1 110] to discover a first service provided by the first interaction module [para. 0015, “The request for the device may include a request for at least one of a device list of devices registered to the second platform server, a control of the device, and an event subscription of the device.”];
wherein the first service is related to an interaction between the first interaction module and the first industrial field device [para. 0108, “In operation 701, the first device 710 may transmit a request for controlling the second device 780 to a first platform server 720.” Interaction server manages the communication so that first device can communicate or control with second device when ordinarily incompatible].
LEE teaches:
2. (Currently Amended) The device according to claim 1, further comprising:
a second interaction module [Fig. 1 120 ] to interact with a second industrial field device [Fig. 1 121 second device] based on a standard protocol;
wherein the life cycle management module [Fig. 1 130 interaction server] is further configured to manage a life cycle of the second interaction module;
the service discovery module [Fig. 1 110 or 120] is further configured to discover a second service provided by the second interaction module; and
wherein the second service is related to the interaction between the second interaction module and the second industrial field device.
LEE teaches:
3. (Currently Amended) The device according to claim 1, further comprising:
a service providing module to register the first service or the second service; and to provide the registered first service or the registered second service via a Web server. [poara 0059-00062]
LEE teaches:
4. (Currently Amended) The device according to claim 1, wherein:
the life cycle management module is configured to receive configuration information of the first interaction module; [paras 0064-0065]
the configuration information of the first interaction module includes a first description field with a first general data structure and a second description field with a second general data structure; [paras. 0072-0073 – data structures]
the first description field describes the first service provided by the first interaction module and a third service required by the first interaction module; [paras. 0072-0073 – data structures]
the second description field describes a basic information of the first interaction module and callback functions related to the life cycle of the first interaction module; [paras. 0072-0073 – data structures and para. 0015, “The request for the device may include a request for at least one of a device list of devices registered to the second platform server, a control of the device, and an event subscription of the device.”]
the life cycle management module is configured to determine the first service and the third service by parsing the first description field; [paras. 0072-0073 – data structures and para. 0015, “The request for the device may include a request for at least one of a device list of devices registered to the second platform server, a control of the device, and an event subscription of the device.”]
the life cycle management module is configured to determine basic information of the first interaction module and callback functions related to the life cycle of the first interaction module by parsing the second description field; [paras. 0072-0073 – data structures and para. 0015, “The request for the device may include a request for at least one of a device list of devices registered to the second platform server, a control of the device, and an event subscription of the device.”]
and
the life cycle management module is configured to manage the life cycle of the first interaction module by using the basic information of the first interaction module and the callback functions related to the life cycle of the first interaction module; [paras. 0072-0073 – data structures and para. 0015, “The request for the device may include a request for at least one of a device list of devices registered to the second platform server, a control of the device, and an event subscription of the device.”] and
the service discovery module is configured to establish a first mapping relationship between the first service and the third service, and initiate a registration process for the first service according to the basic information of the first interaction module and the first mapping relationship. [para. 0010-0012, 0016, 0018]
LEE teaches:
6. (Currently Amended) The device according to claim 3, further comprising
an authentication module to perform authentication processing on a requesting party requesting access to the registered first service or the registered second service. [para. 0128-0135]
LEE teaches:
7. (Currently Amended) The device according to claim 3, further comprising:
a storage module, configured to store first industrial data obtained by the first interaction module from the first industrial field device and second industrial data obtained by the second interaction module from the second industrial field device, in a memory; [Fig. 1 110 and 120]
a data analysis module, configured to perform data analysis on the first industrial data and the second industrial data stored in the memory the memory in response to a data analysis request received via the Web server. [para. 0131, “In operation 805, the first adaptor 830 may transmit the event subscription request to a routing server 850 together with the token. The routing server 850 may transfer the event subscription request and the token to a second adaptor 860.”]
Regarding method claims 8-14, these method claims recite the steps for executing the functions recited in apparatus claims 1-7 above and are rejected on the same grounds and rationale as corresponding claims above. Regarding apparatus claim 15, this claim recites a processor and a memory in addition to the functions as in claim 1, however, the “modules” of claim 1 invoke 112(f) and include the structure of the processor and memory as part of the claim limitations. Thus claim 15 is rejected as claim 1 above.
Conclusion
/GARY COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115