DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The preliminary amendment submitted 03/14/2024 has been entered and fully considered. Claims 1-10 are pending. Claims 1-3, 5, and 9-10 are amended. Claims 1-10 are examined herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 10-2011-0007785 A (“Lee” – machine translation of record dated 03/14/2024 cited herein).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a cylindrical jelly-roll electrode assembly (Abstract; [0034], [0041]-[0042]). The electrode assembly comprises a first separator, a positive electrode stacked on a surface of the first separator and including a positive electrode current collector, a second separator provided on a surface opposite to a surface of the positive electrode that adjoins the first separator, and a negative electrode including a negative electrode current collector provided on a surface opposite to a surface of the second separator that adjoins the positive electrode (Fig. 1; [0030]-[0038]).
It is noted that the electrode necessarily includes two separators, otherwise the battery would develop an internal short circuit when wound. See, for example, US 2021/0111465 at Figs. 2, 4 and [0021], [0031]. Likewise, it is noted that the structure wound around the negative electrode while defining a jelly roll hollow portion in a core part is necessarily formed in the cylindrical jelly-roll. See, for example, space 28 in US 2021/0111465 at Figs. 2, 4, 8 and [0027], [0058].
The negative electrode current collector comprises a negative electrode coated portion onto which a negative electrode active material is applied, and negative electrode non-coated portions onto which a negative electrode active material is not applied. The negative electrode non-coated portions are formed at two opposite ends of the negative electrode. At least one of the negative electrode non-coated portions has a negative electrode tab. A protective tape is provided on at least one surface of the negative electrode non-coated portions ([0019]-[0026], [0030]-[0035]). See annotated Fig. 1.
Annotated Fig. 1 of Lee
Lee discloses the protective tape covers substantially the entire surface of the negative electrode non-coated portion having the negative electrode tab ([0021]-[0022], [0032]). This is taken to anticipate the claimed Expression 1.
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses the jelly roll electrode assembly of claim 1. As shown in Fig. 1, the positive electrode current collector comprises a positive electrode coated portion onto which a positive electrode active material is applied; and a positive electrode non-coated portion onto which the positive electrode active material is not applied, and wherein the jelly roll electrode assembly comprises a positive electrode tab disposed on the positive electrode non-coated portion.
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses the jelly roll electrode assembly of claim 3. As shown in Fig. 1, the jelly roll electrode assembly contains only one positive electrode tab and only one negative electrode tab.
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses the jelly roll electrode assembly of claim 3. As shown in Fig. 1, positive electrode active material layers are provided on two opposite surfaces of the positive electrode coated portion of the positive electrode current collector; and negative electrode active material layers are provided on two opposite surfaces of the negative electrode coated portion of the negative electrode current collector.
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses the jelly roll electrode assembly of claim 1. Lee discloses the protective tape is formed of polyethylene terephthalate (PET) or polyimide (PI) ([0024], [0035]).
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses the jelly roll electrode assembly of claim 1. Lee discloses the protective tape has a thickness of 15 to 70 µm ([0034]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 10-2011-0007785 A (“Lee” – machine translation of record dated 03/14/2024 cited herein) in view of US 2016/0149221 A1 (“Choi”).
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Lee discloses the jelly roll electrode assembly of claim 1. As shown in Fig. 1, Lee discloses the negative electrode non-coated portions comprise: a surface of a first negative electrode non-coated portion having the negative electrode tab, wherein the protective tape is formed on the surface of the first negative electrode non-coated portion. Lee anticipates Expression 2 with the disclose that the protective tape covers substantially the entire surface of the negative electrode non-coated portion having the negative electrode tab ([0021]-[0022], [0032]). That is, that a1 is approximately 100%.
Lee does not expressly disclose the negative electrode non-coated portions comprise a surface of a second negative electrode non-coated portion opposite to the surface of the first negative electrode non-coated portion, wherein the protective tape is formed on the surface of the second negative electrode non-coated portion, and 25% ≤ b1 ≤ 100%.
Choi discloses an electrode assembly comprising a negative electrode 12 (Fig. 6). The negative electrode comprises a negative electrode current collector 122 having a negative electrode coating portion 12a where the negative electrode active material layer 123 is formed and a negative electrode uncoated region 12b where the negative electrode active material layer 123 is not coated ([0066]). First and second negative electrode protection tapes 35, 36 are attached to the negative electrode uncoated region 12b. A first cover 35a covers the side end of the negative electrode coating portion 12a and a second cover 35b extends from the first cover 35a and covers both the negative electrode tab 52 and the negative electrode uncoated region 12b ([0067]). A third cover 36a covers the side end of the negative electrode coating portion 12a, and a fourth cover 36b extends from the third cover 36a and that covers a portion where the negative electrode tab 52 and the negative electrode current collector 122 are welded ([0070]). The second negative electrode protection tape 36 prevents the negative electrode active material layer 123 from separating and protects a portion where the negative electrode current collector 122 and the negative electrode tab 52 are welded ([0070]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a second protective tape on the opposite surface to protects a portion where the negative electrode current collector and the negative electrode tab are welded as taught by Choi. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the size of the tape, relative to the size of the non-coated portion, through routine experimentation to best protect the portion where the negative electrode current collector and the negative electrode tab are welded in view of considerations such as cost.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 10-2011-0007785 A (“Lee” – machine translation of record dated 03/14/2024 cited herein) in view of US 2008/0280197 A1 (“Machida”).
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses the jelly roll electrode assembly of claim 1. Lee does not expressly disclose the negative electrode current collector is disposed at an outermost periphery of the jelly roll electrode assembly.
Machida discloses a spirally-wound non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery including a stacked electrode assembly (Abstract). An outermost periphery of the jelly roll structure is the negative electrode current collector 12b (Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the claimed structure because it is known in the art and one would expect the structure to yield predictable results in view of Machida.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 10-2011-0007785 A (“Lee” – machine translation of record dated 03/14/2024 cited herein) in view of US 2021/0111465 A1 (“Mizawa”).
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses the jelly roll electrode assembly of claim 1. Lee does not expressly disclose a battery exterior material; the jelly roll electrode assembly provided in the battery exterior material; and an exterior cap having an electrode provided in an opening portion of the battery exterior material.
Mizawa discloses nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery 10 including a case main body 15 and a sealing body 16, wherein the case main body 15 receives the electrode body 14 (Fig. 1; [0026]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a battery exterior material and an exterior cap as claimed as this amounts to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results in view of the disclosure of Mizawa. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5-7, and 9-22 of copending Application No. 19/046,899 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are anticipated by the claims of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Contact Information
Robert Scott Carrico
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/Robert S Carrico/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727