DETAILED ACTION
The Preliminary Amendment has been entered.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticpated by Zipperian (US 4,735,709). Zipperian discloses a method of separating one type of coarse particulate materials from other types of materials dispersed in an aqueous phase, comprising: adding a hydrophobizing agent to an aqueous phase comprising coarse particulate materials to selectively render one type of coarse particulate material hydrophobic (see at least col. 4, lines 39-44); feeding the aqueous phase comprising the coarse particulate materials to a flotation cell (10) configured to push the coarse particulate materials upward with accelerative forces and pull the coarse particulate materials downward with decelerative forces while allowing air bubbles (see at least col. 4, lines 36-45) to attach to the one type of coarse particulate material that is selectively hydrophobized and thereby reducing the apparent specific gravity of the one type of coarse particulate material and form a layer of froth phase; allowing the coarse particulate materials in the flotation cell to form a layer of particulate materials with the one type of coarse particulate material on top of the layer of particulate materials (see at least col. 4, lines 35-50); allowing the one type of coarse particulate material to enter the froth phase via the accelerative forces, wherein the one type of coarse particulate material is upgraded via froth cleaning action provided by the froth phase (see at least col. 4, lines 45-50); and separating the one type of coarse particulate material from the froth phase and thereby obtaining the one type of coarse particulate material separated from other types of coarse particles (see at least col. 4, lines 45-50). Zipperian further discloses rendering the one type of coarse particulate material hydrophobic prior to inclusion in the aqueous phase wherein the one type of coarse particulate material is rendered selectively hydrophobic by surface treatment (see at least col. 4, lines 39-45).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (US 2003/0146134) in view of Jameson (US 2013/0341252). Yoon discloses a method of separating one type of fine particulate materials from other types of materials dispersed in an aqueous phase (see at least paras. 0025-0029), comprising: injecting an aqueous suspension of a cloud of small air bubbles into an aqueous phase comprising one type of fine particulate material (see at least para. 0039), wherein the one type of fine particulate material is hydrophobized and the one type of fine particulate material is selectively collected by the air bubbles (see at least paras. 0025-0029); allowing the air bubbles loaded with the one type of fine particulate material to rise in the aqueous phase (see at least para. 0039); collecting the air bubbles loaded with the one type of fine particulate material thereby obtaining a low-grade concentrate of the one type of fine particulate material (see at least para. 0039); processing the low-grade concentrate of the one type of fine particulate material in a flotation process to generate a high-grade concentrate of the one type of fine particulate material (see at least para. 0046); rendering the one type of fine particulate material selectively hydrophobized prior to inclusion in the aqueous phase (see at least paras. 0026 and 0039); and determining performance of a flotation plant for separation of the one type of fine particulate material from other types of fine particles, the performance determined based upon a flotation model that determines grade versus recovery curves for the one type of fine particulate material from mineral liberation characteristics (see at least Figs. 1-3); and adjusting operation of the steps based upon the determined performance (see at least paras. 0041-0045). The one type of fine particulate material is rendered selectively hydrophobic by surface treatment (see at least para. 0013). The surface treatment utilizes a long-chain surfactant as a hydrophobizing agent (see at least paras. 0015-0017). The one type of fine particulate material comprises a sulfide mineral, the surface treatment comprises adding a thiol-type reagent to the aqueous phase for hydrophobization (see at least paras. 0015-0017). Yoon discloses all the limitations of the claim, but it does not disclose that the cloud of small air bubbles is less than 500 microns. Yoon is silent regarding the size of the air bubbles. However, Jameson discloses a similar method which includes injecting an aqueous suspension of a cloud of small air bubbles of less than 500 microns into an aqueous phase comprising one type of fine particulate material during a separation process (see para. 0015) for the purpose of improving the efficiency of the separation process. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention, modify Yoon by injecting an aqueous suspension of a cloud of small air bubbles of less than 500 microns into the aqueous phase, as disclosed by Jameson, for the purpose of improving the efficiency of the separation process
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (US 2003/0146134) in view of Jameson (US 2013/0341252) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zipperian (US 4,735,709). The combination of Yoon and Jameson discloses all the limitations of the claim, but it does not disclose that the separating of the one type of fine particulate material using the cloud of small air bubbles occurs in a cyclonic flotation system. However, Zipperian discloses a similar method which includes using a cyclonic flotation system (see at least col. 5, lines 1-5) for the purpose of improving the separation process. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to have the separating of the one type of fine particulate material using the cloud of small air bubbles occur in a cyclonic flotation system, as disclosed by Zipperian, for the purpose of improving the separation process.
Claim(s) 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zipperian (US 4,735,709) in view of Yoon (US 2003/0146134). Zipperian discloses a method of separating one type of coarse particulate materials from other types of materials dispersed in an aqueous phase, comprising: adding a hydrophobizing agent to an aqueous phase comprising coarse particulate materials to selectively render one type of coarse particulate material hydrophobic (see at least col. 4, lines 39-44); feeding the aqueous phase comprising the coarse particulate materials to a flotation cell (10) configured to push the coarse particulate materials upward with accelerative forces and pull the coarse particulate materials downward with decelerative forces while allowing air bubbles (see at least col. 4, lines 36-45) to attach to the one type of coarse particulate material that is selectively hydrophobized and thereby reducing the apparent specific gravity of the one type of coarse particulate material and form a layer of froth phase; allowing the coarse particulate materials in the flotation cell to form a layer of particulate materials with the one type of coarse particulate material on top of the layer of particulate materials (see at least col. 4, lines 35-50); allowing the one type of coarse particulate material to enter the froth phase via the accelerative forces, wherein the one type of coarse particulate material is upgraded via froth cleaning action provided by the froth phase (see at least col. 4, lines 45-50); and separating the one type of coarse particulate material from the froth phase and thereby obtaining the one type of coarse particulate material separated from other types of coarse particles (see at least col. 4, lines 45-50). Zipperian further discloses rendering the one type of coarse particulate material hydrophobic prior to inclusion in the aqueous phase wherein the one type of coarse particulate material is rendered selectively hydrophobic by surface treatment (see at least col. 4, lines 39-45). Zipperian further discloses that the one type of corse particulate material comprises a sulfide mineral (see at least col. 1, lines 29-30).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Zipperian discloses all the limitations of the claims, but it does not disclose that the surface treatment utilizes a long-chain surfactant as a hydrophobizing agent or that the surface treatment comprises adding a thiol-type reagent to the aqueous phase for hydrophobization. However, Yoon discloses a similar method which utilizes a surface treatment utilizing a long-chain surfactant surfactant as a hydrophobizing agent (see at least paras. 0015-0017) or that the surface treatment comprises adding a thiol-type reagent to the aqueous phase for hydrophobization (see at least paras. 0015-0017) for the purpose of improving the efficiency of separation. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention, to utilize a surface treatment utilizing a long-chain surfactant surfactant as a hydrophobizing agent or have the surface treatment comprise adding a thiol-type reagent to the aqueous phase for hydrophobization, as disclosed by Yoon, for the purpose of improving the efficiency of separation.
Regarding claim 21, Zipperian discloses all the limitations of the claim, but it does not disclose determining performance of a flotation plant for separation of the one type of fine particulate material from other types of fine particles, the performance determined based upon a flotation model that determines grade versus recovery curves for the one type of fine particulate material from mineral liberation characteristics; and adjusting operation of the steps based upon the determined performance. However, Yoon discloses a similar method which includes determining performance of a flotation plant for separation of the one type of fine particulate material from other types of fine particles, the performance determined based upon a flotation model that determines grade versus recovery curves for the one type of fine particulate material from mineral liberation characteristics (see at least Figs. 1-3); and adjusting operation of the steps based upon the determined performance (see at least paras. 0041-0045) for the purpose of improving the separating efficiency of the flotation plant. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention, to modify Zipperian by determining performance of the flotation plant for separation of the one type of fine particulate material from other types of fine particles, the performance determined based upon a flotation model that determines grade versus recovery curves for the one type of fine particulate material from mineral liberation characteristics; and adjusting operation of the steps based upon the determined performance, as disclosed by Yoon, for the purpose of improving the separating efficiency of the flotation plant.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-15 are allowed.
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Parrott et al. (US 2024/0375123) and Parrott et al. (US 2024/0375122) disclose methods for hodrophobizing particulate material and utilizing air bubbles to process the material in flotation processes.
/PATRICK H MACKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653