DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to Applicants Request for Reconsideration filed 6/17/26 which has been entered. Claims 1, 5-6, 8, 10-11, and 14-15 have been amended. No Claims have been cancelled. No Claims have been added. Claims 1-15 are still pending in this application, with Claims 1 and 14-15 being independent.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a rendering processing unit that generates stereophonic sound data” and “a signal processing unit that performs data conversion processing” in claims 1-13, “a parameter control unit that adjusts a parameter” in claims 7-9, and “a user interface unit that specifies the direction” in claim 12.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The rendering processing unit, signal processing unit, and parameter control unit can be a computer, as in para 0108, however, no clear algorithm is provided. The user interface unit can be a joystick, touch panel, head mounted display, or the like, as in para 0027.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. When a claim is rejected over 112(b) because the Specification does not provide sufficient corresponding structure for limitations that invoke 112(f), the limitations will also lack written description under 112(a), see MPEP 2181(II)(B).
Referring to claims 1-13, claim limitations “a rendering processing unit”, “a signal processing unit”, and a parameter control unit” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification merely says the rendering processing unit, signal processing unit, and parameter control unit are a computer, which is a general-purpose computer, and therefore, the corresponding algorithm must be identified (see MPEP 2181(II)(B)). However, the algorithm is not clearly set forth in the disclosure. Discussion of the units is spread out through the Specification without any algorithm being defined. Further, exemplary language, such as “may”, “such as”, “or the like”, “for example”, etc. makes the algorithm even more unclear, as it is impossible to discern what is specifically required by the algorithm. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
For the purposes of applying art, Examiner interprets the claim as reciting “a computer that…” instead of “unit that…”
Referring to claims 1-13, claim 1 recites the limitation "each having a sound image localization on a basis of a direction of a sound source". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Examiner interprets as each sound source of the plurality of sound sources having a sound image location on a basis of a direction of the respective sound source. Claims 2-13 depend on claim 1, therefore, they are rejected fort the same reasons.
Referring to claims 1-15, claims 1, 14, and 15 recite the limitation “stereophonic sound data”, “the stereophonic sound data”, and “the time domain representation.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for some of these limitations in the claims. It is also unclear if the later introduced stereophonic sound datas are the same as the first introduced instance. Examiner interprets as
wherein the rendering processing unit converts the stereophonic sound data from a time domain representation to a frequency domain representation;
wherein the rendering processing unit performs multiband compression on the stereophonic sound data in the frequency domain representation; and
wherein the rendering processing unit converts the compressed stereophonic sound data from the frequency domain representation to a second time domain representation. Claims 2-13 depend on claim 1, therefore, they are rejected fort the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-11, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards et al. US Publication No. 20090116657 (from IDS) in view of Baechler et al. US Publication No. 20110150256.
Referring to claim 1, Edwards et al. teaches an information processing device comprising:
a rendering processing unit that generates stereophonic sound data comprising a plurality of sound sources, each having sound image localization on a basis of a direction of a sound source arranged in a virtual space (para 0012: “a signal processor for processing left and right stereo signals in order to produce left and right simulated surround sound output signals”; para 0019: “the stereo signals may be generated using signal processing algorithms in order to simulate a complex sound field such as may be produced by one or more sound sources located at different points around the listener”; para 0023: “Whether derived from a surround sound recording or synthesized from stereo signals, surround sound output signals can be further processed using synthesized HRTFs to generate audio that can be directly coupled to the ear (e.g., by headphones) and give the impression to the listener that different sounds are coming from different locations.”; para 0030: “each of the head-related transfer functions is a function of…the azimuthal direction of the sound source to be simulated); and
a signal processing unit that performs data conversion processing corresponding to an auditory characteristic of a user on the stereophonic sound data generated by the rendering processing unit (para 0025: “Hearing aid parameters may be adjusted in a manner that allows the patient to correctly perceive sound sources located at different locations from the simulated surround signals applied to the hearing aids”) and generates output sound data to be heard by the user (para 0012: “a signal processor for processing left and right stereo signals in order to produce left and right simulated surround sound output signals that can be used to drive left and right corrective hearing assistance devices”).
However, Edwards et al. does not teach time-frequency domain conversion and compression per se, but Baechler et al. teaches the rendering processing unit converts sound data from a time domain representation to a frequency domain representation (para 0058: “a transform means for generating a frequency domain output signal”); wherein the rendering processing unit performs multiband compression on the sound data in the frequency domain representation (para 0060: “performing a frequency modification in which frequencies below a lower spectral bound remain substantially unchanged and frequencies between said lower spectral bound and an upper spectral bound are modified by a progressive down-shifting without superposition in accordance with a logarithmic or perception based compression factor and wherein above said upper spectral bound substantially no processing takes place”); and wherein the rendering processing unit converts sound data from the frequency domain representation to the time domain representation (para 0061: “an inverse fast Fourier transform means for generating a time domain output signal”). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use compression and time-frequency conversion, as taught in Baechler et al., in the device of Edwards et al. because “the occurrence of disturbing noise and of distortions of harmonic relationships at the end-user's ear is reduced and signal processing resources as well as battery resources are saved”.
Referring to claim 2, Edwards et al. teaches the rendering processing unit generates the stereophonic sound data by using a head related transfer function corresponding to the direction of the sound source (para 0023: “Whether derived from a surround sound recording or synthesized from stereo signals, surround sound output signals can be further processed using synthesized HRTFs to generate audio that can be directly coupled to the ear (e.g., by headphones) and give the impression to the listener that different sounds are coming from different locations.”).
Referring to claim 3, Edwards et al. teaches the rendering processing unit uses the head related transfer function optimized for the user (para 0029: “Some examples of HRTFs to select include, but are not limited to…those specific to and measured on the patient”).
Referring to claim 4, Edwards et al. teaches the signal processing unit generates the output sound data from the stereophonic sound data (para 0025) and Baechler et al. teaches the signal processing unit generates the output sound data by using a compressor having a predetermined input and output characteristic (para 0055). Motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1.
Referring to claim 5, Baechler et al. teaches the signal processing unit uses the compressor having the input and output characteristic corresponding to the auditory characteristic of the user (para 0145). Motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1.
Referring to claim 6, Edwards et al. teaches the stereophonic sound data (para 0025) and Baechler et al. teaches the signal processing unit uses the compressor capable of setting or changing the predetermined input and output characteristic for each frequency band of the sound data (para 0060). Motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1.
Referring to claim 7, Edwards et al. teaches a parameter control unit that adjusts a parameter for determining a characteristic of data conversion processing in the signal processing unit (para 0029: “frequency selective amplification of the corrective hearing assistance devices, as well as well other parameters, may be adjusted by means of parameter adjustment inputs 104a and 106a for each of the devices 104 and 106”).
Referring to claim 9, Edwards et al. teaches the parameter control unit adjusts the parameter for each frequency band of the stereophonic sound data (para 0029: “frequency selective amplification of the corrective hearing assistance devices, as well as well other parameters, may be adjusted by means of parameter adjustment inputs 104a and 106a for each of the devices 104 and 106”).
Referring to claim 10, Edwards et al. teaches the signal processing unit performs the data conversion processing on the stereophonic sound data obtained by adding the stereophonic sound data generated by the rendering processing unit for each of the plurality of sound sources (para 0023: “Multiple surround sound output signals can be similarly filtered with separate HRTFs for each ear and for each direction associated with a particular surround sound output signal. The multiple filtered signals can then be summed together to form simulated surround signals that can be used to drive a pair of headphones”).
Referring to claim 11, Edwards et al. teaches the signal processing unit generates the output sound data by data conversion processing of a characteristic corresponding to the direction of the sound source for each of the plurality of sound sources of the stereophonic sound data generated by the rendering processing unit for each of the plurality of sound sources, and generates the output sound data to be heard by the user by adding the plurality of sound sources of the output sound data that have been generated (para 0023: “Multiple surround sound output signals can be similarly filtered with separate HRTFs for each ear and for each direction associated with a particular surround sound output signal. The multiple filtered signals can then be summed together to form simulated surround signals that can be used to drive a pair of headphones”).
Referring to claim 13, Edwards et al. teaches the signal processing unit performs data conversion processing corresponding to an auditory characteristic of a person with hearing loss in a case where the user is the person with hearing loss (para 0025).
Referring to claim 14, Edwards et al. teaches an information processing method for an information processing device including a rendering processing unit and a signal processing unit, the information processing method comprising:
by the rendering processing unit, generating stereophonic sound data having sound image localization on a basis of a direction of a sound source arranged in a virtual space (para 0012: “a signal processor for processing left and right stereo signals in order to produce left and right simulated surround sound output signals”; para 0019: “the stereo signals may be generated using signal processing algorithms in order to simulate a complex sound field such as may be produced by one or more sound sources located at different points around the listener”; para 0023: “Whether derived from a surround sound recording or synthesized from stereo signals, surround sound output signals can be further processed using synthesized HRTFs to generate audio that can be directly coupled to the ear (e.g., by headphones) and give the impression to the listener that different sounds are coming from different locations.”; para 0030: “each of the head-related transfer functions is a function of…the azimuthal direction of the sound source to be simulated); and
by the signal processing unit, performing data conversion processing corresponding to an auditory characteristic of a user on the stereophonic sound data generated by the rendering processing unit (para 0025: “Hearing aid parameters may be adjusted in a manner that allows the patient to correctly perceive sound sources located at different locations from the simulated surround signals applied to the hearing aids”) and generating output sound data to be heard by the user (para 0012: “a signal processor for processing left and right stereo signals in order to produce left and right simulated surround sound output signals that can be used to drive left and right corrective hearing assistance devices”).
However, Edwards et al. does not teach time-frequency domain conversion and compression per se, but Baechler et al. teaches the rendering processing unit converts sound data from a time domain representation to a frequency domain representation (para 0058: “a transform means for generating a frequency domain output signal”); wherein the rendering processing unit performs multiband compression on the sound data in the frequency domain representation (para 0060: “performing a frequency modification in which frequencies below a lower spectral bound remain substantially unchanged and frequencies between said lower spectral bound and an upper spectral bound are modified by a progressive down-shifting without superposition in accordance with a logarithmic or perception based compression factor and wherein above said upper spectral bound substantially no processing takes place”); and wherein the rendering processing unit converts sound data from the frequency domain representation to the time domain representation (para 0061: “an inverse fast Fourier transform means for generating a time domain output signal”). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use compression and time-frequency conversion, as taught in Baechler et al., in the method of Edwards et al. because “the occurrence of disturbing noise and of distortions of harmonic relationships at the end-user's ear is reduced and signal processing resources as well as battery resources are saved”.
Referring to claim 15, Edwards et al. teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to execute the processes (para 0031: “the surround sound synthesizer and filter banks are implemented by means of a memory adapted to store at least one head-related transfer function for each angle of reception to be synthesized and a processor connected to the memory”) of:
by a rendering processing unit, generating stereophonic sound data having sound image localization on a basis of a direction of a sound source arranged in a virtual space (para 0012: “a signal processor for processing left and right stereo signals in order to produce left and right simulated surround sound output signals”; para 0019: “the stereo signals may be generated using signal processing algorithms in order to simulate a complex sound field such as may be produced by one or more sound sources located at different points around the listener”; para 0023: “Whether derived from a surround sound recording or synthesized from stereo signals, surround sound output signals can be further processed using synthesized HRTFs to generate audio that can be directly coupled to the ear (e.g., by headphones) and give the impression to the listener that different sounds are coming from different locations.”; para 0030: “each of the head-related transfer functions is a function of…the azimuthal direction of the sound source to be simulated); and
by a signal processing unit, performing data conversion processing corresponding to an auditory characteristic of a user on the stereophonic sound data generated by the rendering processing unit (para 0025: “Hearing aid parameters may be adjusted in a manner that allows the patient to correctly perceive sound sources located at different locations from the simulated surround signals applied to the hearing aids”) and generates output sound data to be heard by the user (para 0012: “a signal processor for processing left and right stereo signals in order to produce left and right simulated surround sound output signals that can be used to drive left and right corrective hearing assistance devices”).
However, Edwards et al. does not teach time-frequency domain conversion and compression per se, but Baechler et al. teaches the rendering processing unit converts sound data from a time domain representation to a frequency domain representation (para 0058: “a transform means for generating a frequency domain output signal”); wherein the rendering processing unit performs multiband compression on the sound data in the frequency domain representation (para 0060: “performing a frequency modification in which frequencies below a lower spectral bound remain substantially unchanged and frequencies between said lower spectral bound and an upper spectral bound are modified by a progressive down-shifting without superposition in accordance with a logarithmic or perception based compression factor and wherein above said upper spectral bound substantially no processing takes place”); and wherein the rendering processing unit converts sound data from the frequency domain representation to the time domain representation (para 0061: “an inverse fast Fourier transform means for generating a time domain output signal”). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use compression and time-frequency conversion, as taught in Baechler et al., in the medium of Edwards et al. because “the occurrence of disturbing noise and of distortions of harmonic relationships at the end-user's ear is reduced and signal processing resources as well as battery resources are saved”.
Claim(s) 8 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards et al. and Baechler et al., as shown in claims 1 and 7 above, in view of Helwani et al. US Patent No. 9848273.
Referring to claim 8, Edwards et al. and Baechler et al. do not teach a user interface in relation to perceiving direction, but Helwani et al. teaches the parameter control unit receives a perceived direction specified by the user who has heard a test sound source in the output sound data; wherein the direction specified by the user indicates a perceived direction from which the user believes the test sound source originated from; and wherein the parameter control unit adjusts the parameter so that a perceived direction of the test sound source coincides with a direction of the test sound source in the virtual space (Column 6, Lines 18-38). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive user input, as taught in Helwani et al., in the device of Edwards et al. and Baechler et al. because it helps to improve HRTF accuracy in order to provide a more beneficial hearing aid for the user.
Referring to claim 12, Helwani et al. teaches a user interface unit that specifies the direction of the test sound source on a basis of the output sound data heard by the user (Column 6, Lines 18-38). Motivation to combine is the same as in claim 8.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 regarding prior art have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 6/17/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states in para 2 under the heading “Rejections under 35 USC 112”:
“In regard to "a rendering processing unit", and a "a signal processing unit", paragraph [0006] of the instant application states: "An information processing device or a program of the present technology is an information processing device including: a rendering processing unit that generates stereophonic sound data having sound image localization on the basis of a direction of a sound source arranged in a virtual space; and a signal processing unit that performs ...". (emphasis added).
”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. When 112(f) is invoked, the corresponding structure must be found in the disclosure. “An information processing device” is not specific structure and “a program” is explicitly not structural. Therefore, Applicant’s cited elements from the Specification are not sufficient structure, and the 112 rejections remain.
Applicant states in para 3 under the heading “Rejections under 35 USC 112”:
“In regard to "a parameter control unit", the unit (also referred to a "parameter controller") is identified as being arranged in the "external cooperation device" (paragraph [0048], instant application). According to paragraph [0032] of the instant application, "The external cooperation device 11 is an arbitrary signal processing device such as a smartphone, a smart watch, a personal computer (PC), a head mounted display (HMD), or the like."”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant’s cited paragraph 0048 states that the parameter control unit is “arranged in” the external cooperation device. Therefore, the parameter control unit is not the external cooperation device itself, but instead is some unknown component within it. No further structure is provided, therefore, the 112 rejections remain.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner respectfully requests, in response to this Office Action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist Examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this Office Action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Va. 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, for formal communications intended for entry and for
informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”.
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Arlington, VA 22314
/KATHERINE A FALEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693