DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 1-7 and 9-21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In particular, independent claim 1, line 4, recites “instead of an image of the video..” the claimed “instead of an image of the video..” appears to have no support in Applicant’s disclosure.
Independent claims 9 and 10, recite similar claim limitations, and are rejected on the same ground(s).
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 and 9-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection discussed below. The amendments to the claims necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection. Please note the 112 Rejection above. This office action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 9-13, 16-18, 20 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by STORY, JR. et al (9,420,319).
As to claims 1-4, STORY, JR discloses a method or an electronic device, comprising one or more processors and a memory storing one or more programs of displaying information, comprising:
the one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to implement the method of displaying information associated with a target audio clip in a first display area (figs.1-3, Col.3, line 33-Col.4, line 38, Col.7, line 16-Col.8, line 52 and Col.10, line 45-Col.12, line 1+)
playing a video of recommending a target object on a video playback page; and automatically displaying information based on a voice of target audio clip, instead of an image of the video in response to determining that the video is played to a target video clip corresponding to the target audio clip where the information is displayed in a first display area of the video playback page and wherein the target audio clip is an audio clip containing a preset keyword (Book, music, ABC, etc.) in the video (figs.1-3, Col.3, line 33-Col.4, line 38, Col.7, line 16-Col.8, line 52 and Col.10, line 45-Col.12, line 1+); displaying, in the first display area of the video playback page, text information corresponding to the target audio clip, wherein the text information is obtained by performing voice recognition on the target audio clip; displaying text currently being broadcast among the text information in a first display state and displaying text not currently being broadcast among the text information in a second display state-in the first display area of the video playback page and stopping displaying the information associated with the target audio clip in the first display area of the video playback page in response to determining that a playback of the target video clip is completed (figs. 1-3, Abstract, (figs.1-3, Col.3, line 33-Col.4, line 38, Col.7, line 16-Col.8, line 52, Col.10, line 45-Col.11, line 1+ and Col.15, line 48-Col.17, line 29), automatically generates notifications/recommendation related to audio books, music, extract, being broadcast; can have different colors, sizes, locations, etc., based on the information and preferences as desired.
As to claims 7, STORY, JR further discloses in response to a trigger operation performed on the information associated with the target audio clip, switching a current page from the video playback page to a detail page of the target object and displaying second detailed information of the target object in the detail page (Col.13, line 47-Col.14, line 48 and Col.15, line 48-Col.16, line 54).
As to claims 9 and 11-13, the claimed “An electronic device…” is composed of the same structural elements that were discussed with respect to claims 1-4.
Claim 16 is met as previously discussed in claim 7.
As to claims 10, 11-13 and 20, the claimed “A non-transitory computer…” is composed of the same structural elements that were discussed with respect to claims 1-4
Claim 21 is met as previously discussed in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 5-6, 14-15 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over STORY, JR. et al (9,420,319) in view of BLOCH et al (2017/0295410)
As to claims 5-6, 14-15 and 19, STORY, JR further discloses all the claims limitations as discussed above with respect to claims 1, 9 and 10 respectively, and further discloses moving the information associated with the target audio clip from the first display area to a second display area of the video playback page, wherein the second display area is configured to display object information of the target object; and displaying the information associated with the target audio clip in a gradual zoom-out manner during the moving the information associated with the target audio clip from the first display area to the second display area of the video playback page; displaying the information associated with the target audio clip in the second display area; or displaying first details of information corresponding to the information associated with the target audio clip in the second display area, and stopping displaying the information associated with the target audio clip in the second display area (Col.7, line 16-Col.8, line 52, Col.10, line 45-Col.11, line 1+ and Col.15, line 48-Col.17, line 29), the notifications/recommendation related to audio books, music, extract, being broadcast; can have different colors, sizes, , locations, etc., based on the information and preferences as desired, BUT appears silent as to displaying the information associated with the target audio clip in a gradual zoom-out.
However, in the same field of endeavor, BLOCH discloses interactive video and overlays and further discloses gradual zoom-in or zoom-out during specific content interactions (figs.1-6, Abstract, [0031-0048])
Hence it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of BLOCH into the system of STORY, JR. to provide additional enhancement during content interactions
Conclusion
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANNAN Q SHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424
ANNAN Q. SHANG