DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Amendment filed 08/14/2026.
Claims 35, 37, 39-46, 48 and 50-57 are pending in this application. In the Amendment, claims 35, 37, 42, 45-46, 48, and 52 are amended, claims 36, 38, 47, and 49 are cancelled and claims 55-57 are new. This action is made Final.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims amended 08/14/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection has been withdrawn as necessitated by the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 35, 37, 39-46, 48 and 50-57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (“Kang”, US 2012/0166987) in view of Lee (US 2010/0269040).
As per claim 35, Kang teaches a method for icon moving, the method comprising:
displaying, by an electronic device, a first number of application icons on a first interface, wherein the first number of application icons comprise a first application icon, and the first application icon is arranged at a first location on the first interface (Kang, Fig.2A/3A, icon 220/320 displayed in first page 211/311; para.43, 52);
detecting, by the electronic device, a first user operation, the first user operation comprising touching and holding the first application icon for a threshold amount of time (Kang, Fig.2A/3A, icon 220/320 selected by touch and hold for more than critical time; para.43, 52); (Kang, Fig.2B, para.44-46, selecting icon and moving to edge displays add’l icon pages; Fig.2A/3A, icon 220/320 selected by touch and hold for more than critical time; para.43, 52).
in response to the first user operation, displaying, by the electronic device, a second number of application icons, wherein the second number is greater than the first number (Kang, Fig.2B, para.44-46, selecting icon and moving to edge displays add’l icon pages; Fig.2C-D/3B-C, scaled-down pages 211-213/311-312 displaying add’l icons with first number of icons; para.46, 53);
detecting, by the electronic device, a second user operation of releasing the first application icon (Kang, Fig.2E/3D, touch release; para.47, 55); and
changing, by the electronic device, an arrangement of the first application icon to a second location, wherein the second location is a location at which the first application icon is released (Kang, Fig.2D-E/3D, icon 220-320 dragged to second page 212/312; para.47-48, 55).
However, Kang does not teach in response to the first user operation, displaying, a second number of application icons before the first application icon is moved. Lee teaches a method of moving icons wherein in response to touching and holding a first application icon for an amount of time, displaying a second number of application icons before the first application icon is moved (Lee, Fig.4, para.97, icon 210 touched for pre-determined amount of time before displaying icons 311-318). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Lee‘s teaching with Kang’s method in order to preview additional icon options before execution of the icon.
As per claim 37, the method of Kang and Lee teaches the method according to claim 35, wherein the method further comprises: detecting, by the electronic device, a drag operation; and moving, by the electronic device, the first application icon on the first interface based on the drag operation (Kang, Fig.2D-E/3D, icon 220-320 dragged to second page 212/312; para.47-48, 55).
As per claim 39, the method of Kang and Lee teaches the method according to claim 35, comprising: when moving the first application icon, changing, by the electronic device, an arrangement of the first application icon on the first interface (Kang, Fig.2D-E/3D, icon 220-320 dragged from first page to second page 212/312; para.47-48, 55).
As per claim 40, the method of Kang and Lee teaches the method according to claim 35, wherein a size of an application icon in the first number of application icons is a first size, a size of an application icon in the second number of application icons is a second size, and the second size is less than the first size (Kang, Fig.2C-D/3B-C, scaled-down icons in pages 211-213/311-312 have smaller size than first size; para.46, 53).
As per claim 41, the method of Kang and Lee teaches the method according to claim 35, wherein the second number of application icons comprise the first number of application icons (Kang, Fig.2C-D/3B-C, scaled-down pages 211-213/311-312 displaying add’l icons with first number of icons; para.46, 53).
As per claim 42, the method of Kang and Lee teaches the method according to claim 35, comprising: when detecting the first user operation: scaling up, by the electronic device, the first application icon for display; or scaling down, by the electronic device, the first application icon for display; or marking, by the electronic device, the first application icon as a selected state (Kang, Fig.2A-E/3A-D, selected icon marked in a selected state).
As per claim 43, the method of Kang and Lee teaches the method according to claim 35, comprising: when the first application icon stops moving or a movement speed of the first application icon is less than a second speed, scaling up an application icon for display at a location of the first application icon (Kang, Fig.2E/3D, second page 212/312 displayed full screen; para.48, 55).
As per claim 44, the method of Kang and Lee teaches the method according to claim 35, wherein after the changing, by the electronic device, an arrangement of the first application icon to a second location on the first interface, the method further comprises: displaying, by the electronic device, the first application icon arranged at the second location on the first interface (Kang, Fig.2D-E/3D, icon 220-320 dragged from first page to second page 212/312; para.47-48, 55).
As per claim 45, Kang teaches a method for icon moving, the method comprising:
displaying, by an electronic device, a first page, wherein a first application icon is displayed at a first location on the first page, application icons of the electronic device are arranged on K pages, and the K pages comprise the first page (Kang, Fig.2A, 3A, icon 220/320 displayed in first page 211/311; para.43, 52);
detecting, by the electronic device, a first user operation, the first user operation comprising touching and holding the first application icon for a threshold amount of time (Kang, Fig.2A/3A, icon 220/320 selected by touch and hold for more than critical time; para.43, 52);
displaying, by the electronic device, an interface of L scaled-down pages, wherein L is less than K (Kang, Fig.2C-D/3B-C, scaled-down pages 211-213/311-312; para.46, 53);
detecting, by the electronic device, a movement operation of moving the first application icon to a scaled-down page of the L scaled-down pages (Kang, Fig.2D/3C, icon 220/320 dragged to second page 212/312; para.47, 53-54);
scaling up, as a second page and by the electronic device, the scaled-down page for display (Kang, Fig.2E/3D, second page 212/312 displayed full screen; para.48, 55);
detecting, by the electronic device, a second user operation of releasing the first application icon on the second page (Kang, Fig.2E/3D, touch release; para.47, 55); and
changing, by the electronic device, an arrangement of the first application icon to a second location on the second page, wherein the second location is a location, on the second page, at which the first application icon is released (Kang, Fig.2D-E/3D, icon 220-320 dragged to second page 212/312; para.47-48, 55).
However, Kang does not teach displaying, an interface before the first application icon is moved. Lee teaches a method of moving icons wherein in response to touching and holding a first application icon for an amount of time, displaying an interface of application icons before the first application icon is moved (Lee, Fig.4, para.97, icon 210 touched for pre-determined amount of time before displaying icons 311-318). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Lee‘s teaching with Kang’s method in order to preview additional icon options before execution of the icon.
Claim 46 is similar in scope to claim 35, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 48 and 55 are similar in scope to claim 37, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 50 is similar in scope to claim 40, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 51 is similar in scope to claim 41, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 52 and 56 are similar in scope to claim 42, and are therefore rejected under
similar rationale.
Claim 53 is similar in scope to claim 43, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 54 and 57 are similar in scope to claim 44, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Louch et al. (US 2010/0313165) teaches a method of holding icons for a period of time before displaying more windows.
Inquiries
/S.M./
Sajeda MuhebbullahExaminer, Art Unit 2174 /WILLIAM L BASHORE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2174