DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Pre-Amendment filed 03/14/2024.
Claims 35-54 are pending in this application. In the Pre-Amendment, claims 1-34 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 35-44 and 46-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 35, 37, 39, 44, 46, 48, and 54 recite the limitation "the first interface” in lines 4, 7, 4, 3, 11, 7, and 6 respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 35-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kang et al. (“Kang”, US 2012/0166987).
As per claim 35, Kang teaches a method for icon moving, the method comprising:
displaying, by an electronic device, a first number of application icons, wherein the first number of application icons comprise a first application icon, and the first application icon is arranged at a first location on the first interface (Kang, Fig.2A/3A, icon 220/320 displayed in first page 211/311; para.43, 52);
detecting, by the electronic device, a first user operation, the first user operation comprising selecting the first application icon (Kang, Fig.2A/3A, icon 220/320 selected by touch and hold for more than critical time; para.43, 52);
displaying, by the electronic device, a second number of application icons in response to the first user operation, wherein the second number is greater than the first number (Kang, Fig.2B, para.44-46, selecting icon and moving to edge displays add’l icon pages; Fig.2C-D/3B-C, scaled-down pages 211-213/311-312 displaying add’l icons with first number of icons; para.46, 53);
detecting, by the electronic device, a second user operation of releasing the first application icon (Kang, Fig.2E/3D, touch release; para.47, 55); and
changing, by the electronic device, an arrangement of the first application icon to a second location, wherein the second location is a location at which the first application icon is released (Kang, Fig.2D-E/3D, icon 220-320 dragged to second page 212/312; para.47-48, 55).
As per claim 36, Kang teaches the method according to claim 35, wherein the first user operation comprises: selecting the first application icon without release; or selecting and moving the first application icon (Kang, Fig.2B, para.44-46, selecting icon and moving to edge displays add’l icon pages; Fig.2A/3A, icon 220/320 selected by touch and hold for more than critical time; para.43, 52).
As per claim 37, Kang teaches the method according to claim 35, wherein the first user operation comprises an operation of selecting the first application icon without release (Kang, Fig.2B, para.44-46, selecting icon and moving to edge displays add’l icon pages; Fig.2A/3A, icon 220/320 selected by touch and hold for more than critical time; para.43, 52); and the method further comprises: detecting, by the electronic device, a drag operation; and moving, by the electronic device, the first application icon on the first interface based on the drag operation (Kang, Fig.2D-E/3D, icon 220-320 dragged to second page 212/312; para.47-48, 55).
As per claim 38, Kang teaches the method according to claim 36, wherein the displaying, by the electronic device, a second number of application icons comprises: when detecting that the first application icon is selected without release, displaying, by the electronic device, the second number of application icons (Kang, Fig.2B, para.44-46, selecting icon and moving to edge displays add’l icon pages; Fig.2C-D/3B-C, scaled-down pages 211-213/311-312 displaying add’l icons with first number of icons; para.46, 53).
As per claim 39, Kang teaches the method according to claim 35, comprising: when moving the first application icon, changing, by the electronic device, an arrangement of the first application icon on the first interface (Kang, Fig.2D-E/3D, icon 220-320 dragged from first page to second page 212/312; para.47-48, 55).
As per claim 40, Kang teaches the method according to claim 35, wherein a size of an application icon in the first number of application icons is a first size, a size of an application icon in the second number of application icons is a second size, and the second size is less than the first size (Kang, Fig.2C-D/3B-C, scaled-down icons in pages 211-213/311-312 have smaller size than first size; para.46, 53).
As per claim 41, Kang teaches the method according to claim 35, wherein the second number of application icons comprise the first number of application icons (Kang, Fig.2C-D/3B-C, scaled-down pages 211-213/311-312 displaying add’l icons with first number of icons; para.46, 53).
As per claim 42, Kang teaches the method according to claim 35, comprising: when detecting that the first application icon is selected: scaling up, by the electronic device, the first application icon for display; or scaling down, by the electronic device, the first application icon for display; or marking, by the electronic device, the first application icon as a selected state (Kang, Fig.2A-E/3A-D, selected icon marked in a selected state).
As per claim 43, Kang teaches the method according to claim 35, comprising: when the first application icon stops moving or a movement speed of the first application icon is less than a second speed, scaling up an application icon for display at a location of the first application icon (Kang, Fig.2E/3D, second page 212/312 displayed full screen; para.48, 55).
As per claim 44, Kang teaches the method according to claim 35, wherein after the changing, by the electronic device, an arrangement of the first application icon to a second location on the first interface, the method further comprises: displaying, by the electronic device, the first application icon arranged at the second location on the first interface (Kang, Fig.2D-E/3D, icon 220-320 dragged from first page to second page 212/312; para.47-48, 55).
As per claim 45, Kang teaches a method for icon moving, the method comprising:
displaying, by an electronic device, a first page, wherein a first application icon is displayed at a first location on the first page, application icons of the electronic device are arranged on K pages, and the K pages comprise the first page (Kang, Fig.2A, 3A, icon 220/320 displayed in first page 211/311; para.43, 52);
detecting, by the electronic device, a first user operation, the first user operation comprising selecting the first application icon (Kang, Fig.2A/3A, icon 220/320 selected by touch and hold for more than critical time; para.43, 52);
displaying, by the electronic device, an interface of L scaled-down pages, wherein L is less than K (Kang, Fig.2C-D/3B-C, scaled-down pages 211-213/311-312; para.46, 53);
detecting, by the electronic device, a movement operation of moving the first application icon to a scaled-down page of the L scaled-down pages (Kang, Fig.2D/3C, icon 220/320 dragged to second page 212/312; para.47, 53-54);
scaling up, as a second page and by the electronic device, the scaled-down page for display (Kang, Fig.2E/3D, second page 212/312 displayed full screen; para.48, 55);
detecting, by the electronic device, a second user operation of releasing the first application icon on the second page (Kang, Fig.2E/3D, touch release; para.47, 55); and
changing, by the electronic device, an arrangement of the first application icon to a second location on the second page, wherein the second location is a location, on the second page, at which the first application icon is released (Kang, Fig.2D-E/3D, icon 220-320 dragged to second page 212/312; para.47-48, 55).
Claim 46 is similar in scope to claim 35, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 47 is similar in scope to claim 36, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 48 is similar in scope to claim 37, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 49 is similar in scope to claim 38, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 50 is similar in scope to claim 40, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 51 is similar in scope to claim 41, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 52 is similar in scope to claim 42, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 53 is similar in scope to claim 43, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 54 is similar in scope to claim 44, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Xiangli et al. (US 2016/0349963) teaches a method of icon moving between pages.
Turk (US 2020/0249823) teaches a method of scaling down page for reordering icons.
Wu et al. (US 2023/0176717) teaches a method of moving icons on a watch face.
Kim et al. (US 2012/0304084) teaches a method of arranging icons between pages.
Lee et al. (US 2016/0320756) teaches a method of scaling down icons to fit in watch face.
Han et al. (US 2015/0355823) teaches a method of moving icons to a second page.
Inquiries
/S.M./
Sajeda MuhebbullahExaminer, Art Unit 2174
/WILLIAM L BASHORE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2174