DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/14/2024, 12/10/2024 and 11/17/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 10 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10: lines 8-10 should read “wherein each detection signal is directed to the corresponding configurable reflective surface to re-direct each detection signal”
Claim 18: lines 2-3 should read “positioned a distance away from the one or more base stations”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6-10 and 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang (US PG Pub. 20260056311 with international filing date of 08/26/2022).
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses a method (Fig. 16, [0213] method 1600 may be performed by a base station (e.g., any of the base stations described herein). In some aspects, method 1600 may correspond to the operations performed by wireless node 1108 and/or 1208.) performed by a management computer ([0214] In an aspect, method 1600 may be performed by the one or more WWAN transceivers 310, the one or more processors 332, memory 340, and/or sensing component 342, any or all of which may be considered means for performing this operation.) to detect and localize a position of an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) in an environment, the method comprising:
detecting a presence of the UAV in the environment by:
sending a first instruction message to at least one base station to transmit a detection signal, wherein each detection signal is re-directed by the at least one base station to a corresponding reconfigurable reflective surface ([0215] At 1610, the wireless node can receive one or more messages from another wireless node, the one or more messages indicating a sensing beam sweeping mode for a sensing operation performed in conjunction with a reconfigurable intelligence surface (RIS).); and
detecting a reception of any of the detection signals received at one or more base stations and/or a reference node, wherein any of the received detection signals indicates a detection of the UAV in the environment ([0216] At 1620, the wireless node can receive a returning signal for the sensing operation, the returning signal corresponding to a reflection resulting from an interaction between a sensing signal and a target object, the sensing signal being from the other wireless node via the RIS);
deriving a position of the UAV in the environment by: sending, to the at least one base station, a second instruction message to transmit a localization signal, wherein each localization signal is directed at any of the reconfigurable reflective surfaces to localize the position of the UAV in the environment; detecting a reception of any of the localization signals at any of the at least one base station and/or the reference node ([0199] the sensing of a target object may include a detecting phase followed by a tracking phase. In at least one aspect, during the detecting phase, the sensing operations may be performed by alternating the half-returning bistatic sensing beam sweeping mode and the non-returning bistatic sensing beam sweeping mode. Moreover, in one aspect, one of these two modes may be selected for the tracking phase based on the sensing results acquired during the detecting phase.); and
determining the position of the UAV in the environment using data relating to any of the localization signals received at any of the at least one base station and/or the reference node; and generating a notification message specifying the derived position of the UAV in the environment ([0219] At 1630, the wireless node can transmit a sensing result to the other wireless node based on the returning signal. In some aspects, the wireless node can determine a position of the target object based on the returning signal, and the sensing result can be based on the determined position or indicate the determined position of the target object.).
Regarding claim 3, Huang discloses the method of claim 1, accordingly the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated. Huang further discloses sending, to a controller for each reconfigurable reflective surface, a fourth instruction message to configure each reconfigurable reflective surface into a second configuration, the second configuration directing a single instance of the localization signal (Fig. 10A; [0028] FIG. 10A illustrates the first scenario as depicted in FIG. 9A, with the RIS configured according to a full-returning monostatic sensing beam sweeping mode).
Regarding claim 4, Huang discloses the method of claim 3, accordingly the rejection of claim 3 above is incorporated. Huang further discloses wherein the fourth instruction message provides a coded beam index indicating a position of elements of each reconfigurable reflective surface ([0145] FIG. 7 illustrates beamforming by an RIS 700, according to aspects of the disclosure, as shown in FIG. 7, RIS 700 may include, for example, N reflecting elements 712-1, 712-2, 712-3 . . . 712-N.) for each time slot ([0198] Accordingly, in some aspects, the one or more messages for configuring the RIS may further indicate performing at least two sensing operations, one after another, based on the half-returning bistatic sensing beam sweeping mode and the non-returning bistatic sensing beam sweeping mode, respectively. For example, the half-returning bistatic sensing beam sweeping mode and the non-returning bistatic sensing beam sweeping may be configured in turns periodically.).
Regarding claim 6, Huang discloses the method of claim 1, accordingly the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated. Huang further discloses wherein deriving the position of the UAV in the environment further includes: for each received localization signal, derive an angle of departure specifying an angle at which the corresponding reconfigurable reflective surface in the second configuration directed each corresponding localization signal at a time of transmitting the localization signal from the corresponding base station ([0005] the RIS being configured based on the sensing beam sweeping mode, the incident angle of the forward path, the redirected angle of the forward path, or any combination thereof.); and processing each derived angle of departure with known locations of each of the at least one base station and/or the reference node to derive the position of the UAV in the environment ([0178] In some aspects, at 1180, first wireless node 1102 can receive the sensing result and processing the sensing result to determining a position of target object 1106 based, at least in part, on the sensing result. [0144] the position of the RIS can be used as an additional reference point for positioning of the target object or the communication node).
Regarding claim 7, Huang discloses the method of claim 1, accordingly the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated. Huang further discloses wherein deriving the position of the UAV in the environment further includes: for each received localization signal, deriving an angle of arrival specifying an angle at which the received localization signal was received at the at least one base station and/or the reference node ([0122] The sensing device 404 can measure various properties (e.g., times of arrival (ToAs), angles of arrival (AoAs), phase shift, etc.) of the reflections 436 (i.e., returning signals) of the RF sensing signals 434 to determine characteristics of the target object 406 (e.g., size, shape, speed, motion state, etc.).); and processing each derived angle of arrival with known locations of each of the at least one base station and/or the reference node to derive the position of the UAV in the environment ([0178] In some aspects, at 1180, first wireless node 1102 can receive the sensing result and processing the sensing result to determining a position of target object 1106 based, at least in part, on the sensing result. [0144] the position of the RIS can be used as an additional reference point for positioning of the target object or the communication node).
Regarding claim 8, Huang discloses the method of claim 1, accordingly the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated. Huang further discloses the method of claim 1 comprising responsive to deriving the position of the UAV in the environment, establishing a wireless connection between the UAV and any of the at least one base station for subsequent data transmission between the UAV and the base station ([0144] In some aspects, an RIS can be configured for both sensing and communication. Implementing ISAC with the RIS can extend the covering distance provided by a base station (e.g., a gNB), as transmission of the uplink or returning signals can be improved by the RIS beamforming. With the RIS, the coverage of the base station may reach an area where there is no LOS between the base station and the sensing target object or communication node (e.g., a UE)).
Regarding claim 9, Huang discloses the method of claim 1, accordingly the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated. Huang further discloses wherein any of the reconfigurable reflective surfaces are configured to both deflect detection and/or localization signals, and also receive the localization signal deflected from the UAV (Fig. 10A; [0160] At 1020, after RIS 1004 receives the one or more messages from wireless node 1002, RIS 1004 can be configured according to the one or more messages. For example, the one or more messages can configure RIS 1004 to be arranged (or split) to include a first sub-surface that is configured based on the incident angle of the forward path and the redirected angle of the forward path, and a second sub-surface that is configured based on the incident angle of the return path and the redirected angle of the return path.), wherein determining the position of the UAV in the environment includes deriving an angle of arrival of the received localization signal deflected from the UAV at the reconfigurable reflective surface ([0122] The sensing device 404 can measure various properties (e.g., times of arrival (ToAs), angles of arrival (AoAs), phase shift, etc.) of the reflections 436 (i.e., returning signals) of the RF sensing signals 434 to determine characteristics of the target object 406 (e.g., size, shape, speed, motion state, etc.).).
Regarding claim 10, Huang discloses a system comprising:
one or more base stations (Fig, 11A, base station 1102);
one or more reconfigurable reflective surfaces (Fig, 11A, reconfigurable intelligence surface (RIS) 1104); and
a management computer in electrical communication with the one or more base stations and the at least one reconfigurable reflective surface ([0214] In an aspect, method 1600 may be performed by the one or more WWAN transceivers 310, the one or more processors 332, memory 340, and/or sensing component 342, any or all of which may be considered means for performing this operation.), where the management computer is operative to:
send a first instruction message to the one or more base stations to transmit a detection signal, wherein each detection signal is directed the one or more base stations to corresponding configurable reflective surface to re-direct each detection signal ([0215] At 1610, the wireless node can receive one or more messages from another wireless node, the one or more messages indicating a sensing beam sweeping mode for a sensing operation performed in conjunction with a reconfigurable intelligence surface (RIS).);
detect a reception of the detection signal, wherein the received detection signal indicates a detection of an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) in an environment ([0216] At 1620, the wireless node can receive a returning signal for the sensing operation, the returning signal corresponding to a reflection resulting from an interaction between a sensing signal and a target object, the sensing signal being from the other wireless node via the RIS);
send a second instruction message to each the one or more base stations to transmit a localization signal, wherein each localization signal is directed to corresponding reconfigurable reflective surfaces to localize a position of the UAV in the environment; detect a reception of the localization signal; derive the position of the UAV in the environment based on a series of parameters relating to the received localization signal ([0199] the sensing of a target object may include a detecting phase followed by a tracking phase. In at least one aspect, during the detecting phase, the sensing operations may be performed by alternating the half-returning bistatic sensing beam sweeping mode and the non-returning bistatic sensing beam sweeping mode. Moreover, in one aspect, one of these two modes may be selected for the tracking phase based on the sensing results acquired during the detecting phase.); and
generate a notification message specifying the derived position of the UAV in the environment ([0219] At 1630, the wireless node can transmit a sensing result to the other wireless node based on the returning signal. In some aspects, the wireless node can determine a position of the target object based on the returning signal, and the sensing result can be based on the determined position or indicate the determined position of the target object.).
Regarding claim 12, Huang discloses the system of claim 10, accordingly the rejection of claim 10 above is incorporated. Huang further discloses wherein the management computer is further operative to: send a fourth instruction message to a controller for each reconfigurable reflective surface to configure the reconfigurable reflective surface into a second configuration, the second configuration directing a single instance of the localization signal (Fig. 10A; [0028] FIG. 10A illustrates the first scenario as depicted in FIG. 9A, with the RIS configured according to a full-returning monostatic sensing beam sweeping mode).
Regarding claim 13, Huang discloses the system of claim 12, accordingly the rejection of claim 12 above is incorporated. Huang further discloses wherein the fourth instruction message provides a coded beam index indicating a position of elements of the reconfigurable reflective surface ([0145] FIG. 7 illustrates beamforming by an RIS 700, according to aspects of the disclosure, as shown in FIG. 7, RIS 700 may include, for example, N reflecting elements 712-1, 712-2, 712-3 . . . 712-N.) for each time slot ([0198] Accordingly, in some aspects, the one or more messages for configuring the RIS may further indicate performing at least two sensing operations, one after another, based on the half-returning bistatic sensing beam sweeping mode and the non-returning bistatic sensing beam sweeping mode, respectively. For example, the half-returning bistatic sensing beam sweeping mode and the non-returning bistatic sensing beam sweeping may be configured in turns periodically.).
Regarding claim 14, Huang discloses the system of claim 10, accordingly the rejection of claim 10 above is incorporated. Huang further discloses wherein the position of the UAV in the environment is derived using a combination of any of: an angle of departure of the localization signal, an angle of arrival ([0163] At 1050, wireless node 1002 can receive the returning signal for the sensing operation via RIS 1004, and processing the received returning signal to determining a position of target object 1006 based, at least in part, on the returning signal.), and a position of the one or more base stations, a reference node, and/or each reconfigurable reflective surface ([0144] the position of the RIS can be used as an additional reference point for positioning of the target object or the communication node.).
Regarding claim 15, Huang discloses the system of claim 14, accordingly the rejection of claim 14 above is incorporated. Huang further discloses wherein deriving the position of the UAV in the environment further includes: for the received localization signal, derive an angle of departure specifying an angle of elements in the reconfigurable reflective surface in the second configuration at a time of transmitting the localization signal from the one or more base stations ([0005] the RIS being configured based on the sensing beam sweeping mode, the incident angle of the forward path, the redirected angle of the forward path, or any combination thereof.); and processing the derived angle of departure with a known location of the one or more base stations to derive the position of the UAV in the environment ([0178] In some aspects, at 1180, first wireless node 1102 can receive the sensing result and processing the sensing result to determining a position of target object 1106 based, at least in part, on the sensing result. [0144] the position of the RIS can be used as an additional reference point for positioning of the target object or the communication node).
Regarding claim 16, Huang discloses the system of claim 14, accordingly the rejection of claim 14 above is incorporated. Huang further discloses wherein deriving the position of the UAV in the environment further includes: for the received localization signal, deriving an angle of arrival specifying an angle at which the received localization signal was received at the at one or more base stations ([0122] The sensing device 404 can measure various properties (e.g., times of arrival (ToAs), angles of arrival (AoAs), phase shift, etc.) of the reflections 436 (i.e., returning signals) of the RF sensing signals 434 to determine characteristics of the target object 406 (e.g., size, shape, speed, motion state, etc.).); and processing the derived angle of arrival with a known location of one or more base stations to derive the position of the UAV in the environment ([0178] In some aspects, at 1180, first wireless node 1102 can receive the sensing result and processing the sensing result to determining a position of target object 1106 based, at least in part, on the sensing result. [0144] the position of the RIS can be used as an additional reference point for positioning of the target object or the communication node).
Regarding claim 17, Huang discloses the system of claim 10, accordingly the rejection of claim 10 above is incorporated. Huang further discloses wherein the management computer is further operative to: detect the reception of the localization signal at a reference node ([0163] At 1050, wireless node 1002 can receive the returning signal for the sensing operation via RIS 1004, and processing the received returning signal to determining a position of target object 1006 based, at least in part, on the returning signal.), wherein the position of the UAV in the environment is derived based at least on an angle of arrival of the localization signal at the reference node ([0122] The sensing device 404 can measure various properties (e.g., times of arrival (ToAs), angles of arrival (AoAs), phase shift, etc.) of the reflections 436 (i.e., returning signals) of the RF sensing signals 434 to determine characteristics of the target object 406 (e.g., size, shape, speed, motion state, etc.).) and a position of the reference node in the environment ([0144] the position of the RIS can be used as an additional reference point for positioning of the target object or the communication node).
Regarding claim 18, Huang discloses the system of claim 10, accordingly the rejection of claim 10 above is incorporated. Huang further discloses wherein the reconfigurable reflective surface is connected to the one or more base stations or positioned a distance away from the at one or more base stations (Fig. 5; [0134] In this scenario, the first base station 502-1 may configure the RIS 510 to reflect downlink wireless signals into the dead zone in order to provide coverage to UEs that may be located there, including UEs about which the first base station 502-1 is not aware.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 11 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Bayesteh (US PG Pub. 20210302561).
Regarding claims 2 and 11 Huang discloses the method of claim 1 and the system of claim 10, accordingly the rejections of claims 1 and 10 above are incorporated. Huang does not explicitly disclose wherein the management computer is further operative to: send to a controller for each reconfigurable reflective surface, a third instruction message to configure each reconfigurable reflective surface into a first configuration, the first configuration splitting the detection signal into multiple simultaneous beams in a sub-array pattern.
However, Bayesteh teaches a systems and methods integrating RIS in cellular networks for the localization of electronic devices ([0060] Various detailed examples are described herein including: [0061] a. Using measurement information of at least one reflected signal and RIS location to determine receiver location; and [0062] b. Using measurement information of at least one reflected signal and RIS location and measurement information of at least one directly received signal having a known location to determine receiver location.) wherein the management computer is further operative to: send to a controller for each reconfigurable reflective surface, a third instruction message to configure each reconfigurable reflective surface into a first configuration, the first configuration splitting the detection signal into multiple simultaneous beams in a sub-array pattern (Fig. 8, [0123] In the illustrated example, an incident beam B.sub.M is transmitted towards the RIS 302 and is therefore an RIS beam. RIS 302 directs a reflected beam towards some pre-determined/pre-configured directions. These beams from the RIS 302 are referred to herein as virtual beams. The direction of reflection for the RIS 302 is configured, and known to the receiving node, for each of one or more time periods that the incident beam B.sub.M is being transmitted towards the RIS 302. The virtual beams are indexed by B.sub.M1, . . . , B.sub.MN, assuming there are N possible beams in total, and are labelled as such in FIG. 8.).
Huang and Bayesteh are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor of RIS Cellular Network technology. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang by including the beam configuration of Bayesteh to yield a predictable result of a more efficient/faster search for the target object by using multiple beams simultaneously rather than performing a scan.
Regarding claim 19, Huang discloses a computer-readable storage medium containing program instructions for a method being executed by an application, the application comprising code for one or more components that are called by the application during runtime, wherein execution of the program instructions by one or more processors of a computer system causes the one or more processors to perform steps comprising ([0044] Additionally, the sequence(s) of actions described herein can be considered to be embodied entirely within any form of non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored therein a corresponding set of computer instructions that, upon execution, would cause or instruct an associated processor of a device to perform the functionality described herein.):
sending a first instruction message to a base station to transmit a detection signal to corresponding reconfigurable reflective surfaces ([0187] For example, at 1212, first wireless node 1202 can transmit a first message to RIS 1204, where the first message indicates the sensing beam sweeping mode.);
detecting a reception of any of the detection signals received at any of the at least two base stations and/or a reference node, wherein any of the received detection signals indicate a detection of an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) in an environment ([0216] At 1620, the wireless node can receive a returning signal for the sensing operation, the returning signal corresponding to a reflection resulting from an interaction between a sensing signal and a target object, the sensing signal being from the other wireless node via the RIS);
sending, to the base stations, a second instruction message for each of the at least two base stations to transmit a localization signal, wherein each localization signal is directed at any of at least one reconfigurable reflective surfaces to localize a position of the UAV in the environment; detecting a reception of any of the localization signals at any of the at least two base stations and/or the reference node ([0199] the sensing of a target object may include a detecting phase followed by a tracking phase. In at least one aspect, during the detecting phase, the sensing operations may be performed by alternating the half-returning bistatic sensing beam sweeping mode and the non-returning bistatic sensing beam sweeping mode. Moreover, in one aspect, one of these two modes may be selected for the tracking phase based on the sensing results acquired during the detecting phase.);
deriving the position of the UAV in the environment using a combination of an angle of departure of the localization signal transmitted from the corresponding base station and reflected by the corresponding reconfigurable reflective surface, an angle of arrival at the corresponding base station and reflected by the corresponding reconfigurable reflective surface ([0005] the RIS being configured based on the sensing beam sweeping mode, the incident angle of the forward path, the redirected angle of the forward path, or any combination thereof.), and a position of any of the at least two base stations and the reference node ([0173] In some aspects, as the position of first wireless node 1102 and the position of RIS 1104 may be considered fixed or known during the sensing operation, the indication of the incident angle of the forward path may be based on a first QCL relationship with a previously transmitted beam from first wireless node 1102 to RIS 1104.); and generating a notification message specifying the derived position of the UAV in the environment ([0219] At 1630, the wireless node can transmit a sensing result to the other wireless node based on the returning signal. In some aspects, the wireless node can determine a position of the target object based on the returning signal, and the sensing result can be based on the determined position or indicate the determined position of the target object.). Huang does not teach the use of at least two base stations with corresponding reconfigurable reflective surfaces wherein each detection signal is directed by each of the at least two base stations sending to corresponding reconfigurable reflective surfaces and sending to each of the at least two base stations, a second instruction message for each of the at least two base stations to
transmit a localization signal.
However, Bayesteh teaches the use of at least two base stations (Fig. 1; Base Station 170a and 170b) with corresponding reconfigurable reflective surfaces (Fig. 1; RIS 171 and 180) wherein each detection signal is directed by each of the at least two base stations sending to corresponding reconfigurable reflective surfaces and sending to each of the at least two base stations, a second instruction message for each of the at least two base stations to transmit a localization signal ([0071] More generally, within a given network, there is one or more RISs that is/are installed and configured to assist in one or more of the ED location determination methods described herein.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang by including the additional base station with a corresponding reconfigurable reflective surface to yield a predictable result of an improvement in positioning accuracy as noted by Bayesteh ([0050] When multiple such RIS are used, the positioning accuracy improves further.). While patent drawings are not drawn to scale, relationships clearly shown in the drawings of a reference patent cannot be disregarded in determining the patentability of claims. See In re Mraz, 59 CCPA 866, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (1972).
Regarding claim 20, Huang as modified by Bayesteh teaches the computer-readable storage medium of claim 19, accordingly the rejection of claim 19 above is incorporated. Huang fails to explicitly teach wherein the management computer is further operative to: send to a controller for each reconfigurable reflective surface, a third instruction message to configure each reconfigurable reflective surface into a first configuration, the first configuration splitting the detection signal into multiple simultaneous beams in a sub-array pattern.
Bayesteh teaches wherein the management computer is further operative to: send to a controller for each reconfigurable reflective surface, a third instruction message to configure each reconfigurable reflective surface into a first configuration, the first configuration splitting the detection signal into multiple simultaneous beams in a sub-array pattern (Fig. 8, [0123] In the illustrated example, an incident beam B.sub.M is transmitted towards the RIS 302 and is therefore an RIS beam. RIS 302 directs a reflected beam towards some pre-determined/pre-configured directions. These beams from the RIS 302 are referred to herein as virtual beams. The direction of reflection for the RIS 302 is configured, and known to the receiving node, for each of one or more time periods that the incident beam B.sub.M is being transmitted towards the RIS 302. The virtual beams are indexed by B.sub.M1, . . . , B.sub.MN, assuming there are N possible beams in total, and are labelled as such in FIG. 8.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang as modified by Bayesteh by including the beam configuration of Bayesteh to yield a predictable result of a more efficient/faster search for the target object by using multiple beams simultaneously rather than performing a scan.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Mu (X. Mu, Y. Liu, L. Guo, J. Lin and R. Schober, "Simultaneously Transmitting and Reflecting (STAR) RIS Aided Wireless Communications," in IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications, vol. 21, no. 5, pp. 3083-3098).
Regarding claim 5, Huang discloses the method of claim 1, accordingly the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated. Huang does not disclose wherein any of the reconfigurable reflective surfaces are configured to either reflect detection signals and/or localization signals and refract other signals to other user devices.
However, Mu teaches RIS techniques (Abstract: The novel concept of simultaneously transmitting and reflecting (STAR) reconfigurable intelligent surfaces (RISs) is investigated, where the incident wireless signal is divided into transmitted and reflected signals passing into both sides of the space surrounding the surface, thus facilitating a full-space manipulation of signal propagation.) wherein any of the reconfigurable reflective surfaces are configured to either reflect detection signals and/or localization signals and refract other signals to other user devices (Pg. 3084, Col. 2, lines 7-12, the wireless signal incident on an element of a STAR-RIS from either side of the surface is divided into two parts [26]. One part (reflected signal) is reflected to the same space as the incident signal, i.e., the reflection space, and the other part (transmitted signal) is transmitted to the opposite space as the incident signal, i.e., the transmission space.).
Mu Fig. 3
Huang and Mu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor of RIS Cellular Network technology. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang by including the reflecting/refracting RIS of Mu to yield a predictable result of a RIS capable of interacting with the full space rather than being constrained to the reflecting or refracting half spaces as noted by Mu (Pg. 3084, col. 1, line 51 to col. 2, line 6; Most of the existing research contributions consider the case where the RISs are only able to reflect the incident wireless signal (referred to as conventional reflecting-only RISs). In this case, transmitter and receiver have to be located on the same side of the RIS [10]–[23], thus leading to a half-space SRE. However, this geographical restriction may not always be met in practice, and gravely restricts the flexibility and effectiveness of RISs, as generally users may be located on both sided of a RIS. To overcome this limitation, the novel concept of simultaneously transmitting and reflecting RISs (STAR-RISs) was proposed in [24] and [25].).
For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20180003816 discloses a radar system for tracking UAVs and other low flying objects utilizing wireless networking equipment. The system is implemented as a distributed low altitude radar system where transmitting antennas are coupled with the wireless networking equipment to radiate signals in a skyward direction. A receiving antenna or array receives signals radiated from the transmitting antenna, and in particular, signals or echoes reflected from the object in the skyward detection region. One or more processing components is electronically coupled with the wireless networking equipment and receiving antenna to receive and manipulate signal information to provide recognition of and track low flying objects and their movement within the coverage region. The system may provide detection of objects throughout a plurality of regions by networking regional nodes, and aggregating the information to detect and track UAVs and other low flying objects as they move within the detection regions.
US 20220278738 discloses a method for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE) in a wireless communications system is described, including receiving, from a base station, information associated with one or more reconfigurable intelligent surfaces (RISs) in the wireless communications system. The method may also include transmitting a sensing signal to the one or more RISs based at least in part on the information and transmitting an uplink wireless communication to the base station or a second UE using the one or more RISs based at least in part on the sensing. Another method includes determining information associated with one or more RISs in the wireless communications system, transmitting, to a UE, the information associated with the RISs, and communicating with the UE via the RISs based at least in part on the information associated with the RISs.
US 20230176174 discloses techniques for user equipment UE positioning aided by use of a reconfigurable reflecting surface (e.g., IRS). The IRS is configured to adjust elements of the surface. The configuration may include signal switching on or off, signal phase, group delay, or signal amplitude. Positioning reference signal transmissions are performed that have line of sight to the UE and that reflect off the IRS. The UE takes measurements for the transmissions and can determine measurement(s) of angle of arrival or time of arrival or reference signal received power, and/or determine a channel estimation. Multiple methods are proposed to provide UE positioning.
US 20240162940 discloses techniques for a RIS-aided determination of the location of mobile devices that enables the signal reflected by the RIS to be identified through channel estimation. More specifically, an Orthogonal Cover Code (OCC)-based approach may be taken where the RIS is configured to use different weights to reflect different reference signals, enabling a receiving device to identify the reflected signal. This can be utilized on signals used for positioning of the mobile device. Additionally or alternatively, this can be used for positioning of the RIS.
/JBSA/Examiner, Art Unit 3646
/JACK W KEITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3646