DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 15 be found allowable, claim16 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,4-6,9,15,16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al.(US 2017/0180055) in view of Dzung(EP 3203695).
Considering claim 1 Yu discloses an optical transmission system comprising: N directly-modulated lasers configured to convert N-channel first electrical modulated signals into N-channel optical modulated signals and transmit the N-channel optical modulated signals(See Paragraph 249, 250,fig. 55 i.e. N directly-modulated lasers(RGB LEDs) configured to convert N-channel first electrical modulated signals(CH1, CH2,…) into N-channel optical modulated signals and transmit the N-channel optical modulated signals to the receiver side); N photodetectors configured to receive the N-channel optical modulated signals and convert the N-channel optical modulated signals into N-channel second electrical modulated signals(See Paragraph 256,121,fig. 55 i.e. N photodetectors(APD) configured to receive the N-channel optical modulated signals and convert the N-channel optical modulated signals into N-channel second electrical modulated signals); and at least one of a first MIMO equalizer configured to execute equalization processing for the N-channel first electrical modulated signals, thereby compensating for crosstalk between the N-channel first electrical modulated signals(See Paragraph 181,249, 250,fig. 55 i.e. at least one of a first MIMO equalizer which is a pre-FDE(frequency domain Equalization) configured to execute equalization processing for the N-channel first electrical modulated signals received from the FFT, thereby compensating for crosstalk between the N-channel first electrical modulated signals), and a second MIMO equalizer configured to execute equalization processing for the N-channel second electrical modulated signals, thereby compensating for crosstalk between the N-channel second electrical modulated signals(See Paragraph 181,246,249,fig. 55 i.e. a second MIMO equalizer which is a post-FDE(frequency domain Equalization) configured to execute equalization processing for the N-channel second electrical modulated signals, thereby compensating for crosstalk between the N-channel second electrical modulated signals).
Yu does not explicitly disclose wherein a matrix coefficient based on an impulse response is used in the equalization processing.
Dzung teaches wherein a matrix coefficient based on an impulse response is used in the equalization processing(See Abstract, Paragraph 7,8 i.e. wherein a matrix coefficient(w(i)) based on an impulse response(c(t)) is used in the equalization processing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Yu, and have a matrix coefficient based on an impulse response to be used in the equalization processing, as taught by Dzung, thus improving transmission signal quality by reducing signal distortion using a matrix coefficient based on an impulse response in equalization process, as discussed by Dzung (Abstract).
Considering Claim 4 Yu and Dzung disclose the optical transmission system according to claim 1, comprising: a transmitter sequentially comprising N RF drivers configured to drive the N directly-modulated lasers, and the N directly-modulated lasers(See Yu: Paragraph 151,212,249,fig. 55 i.e. a transmitter sequentially comprising N RF drivers(CH1,CH2,LPFs,EAs, DC Bias) configured to drive the N directly-modulated lasers(RGB LEDs), and the N directly-modulated lasers(RGB LEDs)); a receiver sequentially comprising the N photodetectors, N AD converters, and the MIMO equalizer(See Yu: Paragraph 151,212,249,fig. 55 i.e. a receiver sequentially comprising the N photodetectors(avalanche photodiodes(APD)), N AD converters(ADC), and the MIMO equalizer(PRE-FDA,POST-FDA)); and a communication channel configured to connect the transmitter and the receiver(See Yu: Paragraph 250,fig. 55 i.e. a communication channel(free space, lens, RGB filter) configured to connect the transmitter and the receiver).
Considering Claim 5 Yu and Dzung disclose the optical transmission system according to claim 1, comprising: a transmitter sequentially comprising the MIMO equalizer, N DA converters, N RF drivers configured to drive the N directly-modulated lasers, and the N directly-modulated lasers(See Yu: Paragraph 151,212,249,fig. 55 i.e. a transmitter sequentially comprising the MIMO equalizer(PRE-FDE), N DA converters(DACs), N RF drivers(CH1,CH2,LPFs,EAs, DC Bias) configured to drive the N directly-modulated lasers(RGB LEDs), and the N directly-modulated lasers(RGB LEDs); a receiver comprising the N photodetectors(See Yu: Paragraph 151,212,249,fig. 55 i.e. a receiver comprising the N photodetectors(avalanche photodiodes(APD)); and a communication channel configured to connect the transmitter and the receiver(See Yu: Paragraph 250,fig. 55 i.e. a communication channel(free space, lens, RGB filter) configured to connect the transmitter and the receiver).
Considering Claim 6 Yu and Dzung disclose the optical transmission system according to claim 4, wherein at least one of the transmitter and the receiver is mounted on a PIC(See Yu: Paragraph 171,154,249,fig. 32,55 i.e. wherein at least one of the transmitter and the receiver is inherently mounted on a PIC which is a visible light communication(VLC) system of fig. 32,55).
Claim 9 is rejected for the same reason as stated in claims 1,5
Claim 15 is rejected for the same reason as in claim 6.
Claim 16 is rejected for the same reason as in claim 6.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is allowed.
Claims 2,3,11-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HIBRET A WOLDEKIDAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635