DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the remarks and amendments filed on 3/6/26. Claims 6-10 have been canceled. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 1-5 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pey USPA_20200346440_A1.
1. Regarding Claim 1, Pey discloses a multilayer film (Title) useable in food packaging and pouches (corresponds to claimed retort food packaging containers) (paragraph 0100) comprising a substrate (corresponds to claimed base film) and a sealant (corresponds to claimed sealant film); wherein said sealant (corresponds to claimed sealant film) comprises a sealant outer layer (corresponds to claimed laminate layer), a sealant core layer (corresponds to claimed core layer), and a sealant inner layer (corresponds to claimed seal layer), all of which comprise linear polyethylene (paragraphs 0044, 0045, 0099). Furthermore, said linear polyethylene can be polymerized using a metallocene catalyst (paragraphs 0028, 0048, 0072, 0082, Example 1). Pey further discloses that the polyethylene densities used in its sealant (corresponds to claimed sealant film) can be made of the same kinds of polyethylene as described for its substrate (corresponds to claimed base film) but with different densities (paragraph 0087) .
2. In this vein, Pey discloses in Sample N. 2 (Table 2) a sealant core layer (corresponds to claimed core layer) comprising 30 wt% of PE-1 having a density of 0.916, 35 wt% of PE-2 having a density of 0.940, and 35 wt% of ExxonMobil HDPE HTA 108 having a density of 0.961:
(0.30)*(0.916) + (0.35)*(0.940) + (0.35)*(0.961) = 0.940 g/cm3; which falls into the claimed range.
3. Furthermore, in Sample N. 2, (Table 2), Pey discloses for its sealant outer layer (corresponds to claimed laminate layer) using 70 wt% of PE-2 having a density of 0.940 and 30 wt% of Enable 20-05HH having a density of 0.920:
(0.70)*(0.940) + (0.30)*(0.920) = 0.934 g/cm3; which falls into the claimed range.
4. Although in Sample No. 1a (Table 1) and Sample N.2 (Table 2), Pey doesn’t exemplify for its sealant inner layer (corresponds to claimed seal layer) a density that meets the claimed range, it does disclose generally that said sealant inner layer (corresponds to claimed seal layer) can be 0.940 g/cm3 and above till 0.945 g/cm3 (paragraph 0011); thereby meeting the amended claimed range.
5. Although the sealant inner layer’s (corresponds to claimed seal layer) density above is not found within the same embodiment as the other two aforementioned layers, it would nevertheless be expected for one of ordinary skill in the art to try these different ranges across different embodiments out of a desire of optimization as is routinely done with densities when it comes to desired properties like stiffness and toughness.
6. Regarding Claim 2, Pey discloses that its MFR ranges for all of its layers falls into the claimed range (paragraphs 0011, 0012).
7. Regarding Claim 3, Pey discloses that the density can be as high as 0.945 g/cm3 (paragraphs 0011, 0087).
8. Regarding Claims 4 and 5, Pey discloses food packaging pouches (corresponds to claimed containers) (paragraph 0003). And also discloses that said substrate is laminated to the sealant outer layer (corresponds to claimed laminate layer) (paragraph 0098).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/6/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants state: “Further, Pey does not teach or suggest one skilled in the art to modify its disclosed components (e.g., the inner and outer layers) to fall within the density ranges currently recited in claim 1.”
The Examiner respectfully submits that paragraph 0011, of Pey, indicates ranges for the densities of its layers that do fall into the claimed ranges.
Applicants state: “By utilizing the laminate structure as currently recited in claim 1, including the specific densities of (1A) seal layer, (1B) core layer, and (1C) laminate layer, and wherein layers (1B) and (1C) are polymerized using a metallocene catalyst, the invention of claim 1 surprisingly balances heat resistance at retort temperatures with impact resistance at low temperatures (e.g., 5°C).”
The Examiner respectfully submits that these “specific densities” that balance heat resistance include the earlier claimed 1A density of 0.915 kg/m3 (see original instant, independent Claim 1) which was exemplified by Pey.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAHSEEN KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781 March 21, 2026