DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the remarks filed on 6/22/26. Claims 6-10 have been canceled. Claims 1-5 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe USPA_20040241477_A1.
1. Regarding Claims 1, 3, Watanabe discloses a sealant film (Claim 6) for food packaging (paragraph 0002) comprising a high-density PE layer (B) (corresponds to claimed seal layer) having a density ranging from 0.950 to 0.970 g/cm3 (Claim 1). Watanabe further discloses a resin composition layer (A) that comprises (a) 30 to 60 mass% of a linear low-density PE produced by metallocene catalyst (Claim 1) having a density ranging as high as 0.935 g/cm3 (paragraph 0030), (b) 10 to 30 wt% of a low-density PE (Claim 1) having a density of as high as 0.925 g/cm3 (paragraph 0032), and finally (c) 10 to 40 mass% of a resin (Claim 1) having a density of 0.917 g/cm3 (paragraph 0105). If and when said (a) is at 60 wt%, said (b) is at 30 wt%, and said (c) is at 10 wt%, with all three having their max limit of density, then the overall film density will result in:
[1]/[(0.60/0.935) + (0.3/0.925) + (0.1/0.917)] = 0.930 g/cm3. Although this value does not meet the claimed range for said core layer, it does come very close. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2144.05.
Furthermore, Watanabe discloses another layer (C) that can have the same linear low-density PE (Claim 4 and paragraph 0027) which can have a density of 0.935 g/cm3 and be made from a metallocene catalyst (paragraph 0030).
Although the aforementioned is not taught in a single embodiment, the embodiments, of Watanabe, as a whole, to direct one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to the limitations of instant Claim 1 as shown above.
2. Regarding Claim 2, the MFR of said layer (C) (corresponds to claimed laminate layer) and layer (A) (corresponds to claimed core layer) can fall into the claimed range (paragraph 0031-0036).
3. Regarding Claim 4, Watanabe discloses using a substrate (corresponds to claimed base film) (paragraph 0006).
4. Regarding Claim 5, Watanabe discloses using a container (paragraph 0069).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 06/22/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under Pey have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Watanabe.
Conclusion
/TAHSEEN KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781 July 6, 2026