DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites "the cemented carbide" in last line - there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation and should recite: the sintered cemented carbide.
Appropriate correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 15-16, 21 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Igarashi et al. (US 10076789, hereafter “Igarashi”).
Regarding claims 10 and 15, Igarashi discloses a cermet composition (col. 5, lines 15-52; col. 8, line 55 thru col. 9, Table 1 examples), consisting of: a ceramic hard phase consisting of titanium carbonitride, niobium carbide, tungsten carbide (Table 1- example 8) ; and a high-entropy-alloy (HEA) binder phase consisting of cobalt present in 7 wt% (meets 7-13 wt%), nickel present in 8 wt% (meets 7-13 wt%) and molybdenum (Mo) present in 1-10 at% (overlaps with 7-13 wt%) based on a total weight of the cermet composition, wherein Mo contributes to solid-solution strengthening of the binder phase and improvements in the strength & hardness of the cermet body (col. 5, lines 31-35, 46-52). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 16, Igarashi discloses a cemented carbide composition (col. 5, lines 15-52; col. 8, line 55 thru col. 9, Table 1 examples), comprising: a ceramic hard phase comprising niobium carbide and tantalum carbide (Table 1- examples 3-4, 7, 9) ; and a high-entropy-alloy (HEA) binder phase comprising cobalt present in 7-8 wt% (meets 4.5-10 wt%), nickel present in 8 wt% (meets 4.5-10 wt%) (example 7) and molybdenum (Mo) & tungsten (W) present in 1-10 at% (overlaps with 4.5-10 wt%), each wt% based on a total weight of the cermet composition, wherein Mo & W components contribute to solid-solution strengthening of the binder phase and improvements in the strength & hardness of the cermet body (col. 5, lines 31-35, 46-52). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), MPEP 2144.05. 3).
As to claim 21, in one example 6, the amounts of cobalt and nickel are about 5 wt% (Table 1), which is very close to recited 4.75 wt%. The claim would have been obvious since the courts have held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Igarashi teaches selecting appropriate amounts of molybdenum (Mo) & tungsten (W) components with a motivation of solid-solution strengthening of the binder phase and improvements in the strength & hardness of the cermet body (col. 5, lines 31-35, 46-52). Given overall teachings of Igarashi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, particularly in view of the fact that: “The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages”, In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003), MPEP 2144.05 (II).
Regarding claim 31, Igarashi discloses a method of making a sintered cermet (col. 5, lines 15-52; col. 8, line 55 thru col. 9, Table 1 examples), comprising: providing a powder mixture comprising powders forming a ceramic hard phase comprising titanium carbonitride, niobium carbide and tungsten carbide (col. 8, lines 55-60, Table 1- examples) and a high-entropy-alloy (HEA) binder phase comprising cobalt present in 7-8 wt% (meets 7-13 wt%), nickel present in 7-8 wt% (meets 7-13 wt%) and molybdenum (Mo) & tungsten (W) present in 1-10 at% (overlaps with 7-13 wt%), each wt% based on a total weight of the powder mixture, wherein Mo & W components contribute to solid-solution strengthening of the binder phase and improvements in the strength & hardness of the cermet body (col. 5, lines 31-35, 46-52). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), MPEP 2144.05. 3). Igarashi discloses the steps of subjecting the powder mixture to a milling operation to form a powder blend; subjecting the powder blend to a forming operation to form a green body/compact; and subjecting the green body/compact to a sintering operation to form the sintered cermet (see col. 8, lines 60-66).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 5-7, 9 and 22 are allowed.
Claims 13 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including ALL of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Amendment and Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to recently amended claim(s) filed 7/22/26 have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection for the matter specifically challenged in the arguments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at https://www.uspto.gov/patents/laws/interview-practice. Communications via Internet email are at the discretion of Applicant. If Applicant wishes to communicate via email, a written authorization form must be filed by Applicant: Form PTO/SB/439, available at www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The form may be filed via the Patent Center and can be found using the document description Internet Communications, see https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/forms. In limited circumstances, the Applicant may make an oral authorization for Internet communication. See MPEP § 502.03.
/DEVANG R PATEL/
Primary Examiner, AU 1735