DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendment filed on 07/15/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-6, 8-15, 17, 19-21, 43, and 45 are pending.
The rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a)/112(b) have been withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 11-13, 15, 43, and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ernstrom et al. (US 2021/0051048 A1, hereinafter “Ernstrom”).
Regarding independent claim 1:
Ernstrom discloses a method for processing a temporary reference signal (RS) burst, performed by a terminal, comprising:
determining, based on a network side configuration, a transmission resource of one of two temporary RS bursts (e.g., [0104], TRS (tracking reference signal) configuration comprising TRS burst parameters and its periodicity); and
determining a time interval between the two temporary RS bursts transmitted adjacently in a case that the transmission resource conflicts with a resource unavailable for transmitting any temporary RS burst (e.g., [0105], dynamic signaling to the UE to use reduced density for TRS burst in case of a UE is scheduled in resources that overlaps with the TRS burst, e.g., an increased spacing between two OFDM symbols carrying TRS symbol (an OFDM symbol containing TRS symbol, shown as 66 in Fig. 10, is considered a temporary RS burst)).
Regarding claim 2:
Ernstrom further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining the time interval between two temporary RS bursts transmitted adjacently comprises at least one of:
determining, based on a predefined rule, the time interval between the two temporary RS bursts transmitted adjacently; or determining, based on an indication of a base station, the time interval between the two temporary RS bursts transmitted adjacently (e.g., [0105], dynamic signaling by DCI).
Regarding claim 5:
Ernstrom further discloses the method of claim 2, wherein determining, based on the indication of the base station, the time interval between the two temporary RS bursts transmitted adjacently comprises at least one of: determining, based on interval indication information included in a signaling of the base station, the time interval between the two temporary RS bursts transmitted adjacently, wherein the interval indication information indicates the time interval; or determining the time interval between the adjacent two temporary RS bursts based on a correspondence between a signaling of the base station and a value of the time interval (e.g., [0105], dynamic signaling indicates full density or reduced density).
Regarding claim 6:
Ernstrom further discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the signaling of the base station comprises at least one of: Downlink Control Information (DCI); or a Media Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) (e.g., [0105]).
Regarding independent claim 11:
Ernstrom discloses a method for processing a temporary reference signal (RS) burst, performed by a base station, comprising: determining, based on a network side configuration, a transmission resource of one of two temporary RS bursts; and determining a time interval between the two temporary RS bursts transmitted adjacently in a case that the transmission resource conflicts with a resource unavailable for transmitting any temporary RS burst. (See rejections for similar limitations with respect to claim 1.)
Regarding claims 12, 13, and 15
See rejections for similar limitations with respect to claims 2, 5, and 6.
Regarding independent claim 43:
Ernstrom discloses a terminal (e.g., Fig. 6A, 300), comprising: a processor (Fig. 6A, 310), a transceiver (Fig. 6A, 320), a memory and executable programs (Fig. 6A, 330) stored on the memory and being executable by the processor, wherein when the executable programs are executed by the processor, the processor is configured to: determining, based on a network side configuration, a transmission resource of one of two temporary RS bursts transmitted adjacently, and determining a time interval between two temporary RS bursts transmitted adjacently in a case that the transmission resource conflicts with a resource unavailable for transmitting any temporary RS burst. (See rejections for similar limitations with respect to claim 1.)
Regarding independent claim 45:
Ernstrom discloses a base station (e.g., Fig. 6A, 300), comprising: a processor (Fig. 6A, 310), a transceiver (Fig. 6A, 320), a memory and executable programs (Fig. 6A, 330) stored on the memory and being executable by the processor, wherein when the executable programs are executed by the processor, the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 11. (See rejections for similar limitations with respect to claim 1.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10, 14, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ernstrom in view of Ma et al. (US 2022/0070823 A1, hereinafter “Ma”).
Regarding claim 8:
Ernstrom is silent regarding wherein the MAC CE carries one of: the interval indication information; or, temporary RS triggering information to implicitly indicate the time interval.
Ma teaches a MAC CE carries one of: the interval indication information; or, temporary RS triggering information to implicitly indicate the time interval (e.g., [0071]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Ernstrom based on the teaching from Ma to include the feature wherein the MAC CE carries one of: the interval indication information; or, temporary RS triggering information to implicitly indicate the time interval, in order to enable flexible reference signal pattern configurations.
Regarding claim 9:
Ernstrom is silent regarding wherein the temporary RS triggering information is configured to determine relevant information of a temporary RS, wherein the relevant information is pre-configured by a Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling and comprises the interval indication information for indicating the time interval.
Ma teaches temporary RS triggering information is configured to determine relevant information of a temporary RS, wherein the relevant information is pre-configured by a Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling and comprises the interval indication information for indicating the time interval (e.g., [0071]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Ernstrom based on the teaching from Ma to include the feature wherein the temporary RS triggering information is configured to determine relevant information of a temporary RS, wherein the relevant information is pre-configured by a Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling and comprises the interval indication information for indicating the time interval, in order to enable flexible reference signal pattern configurations.
Regarding claim 10:
Ernstrom teaches wherein the DCI carries the interval indication information (e.g., [0105]), but is silent regarding the interval indication information indicates a value of the time interval; wherein, the value of the time interval indicated by the interval indication information is one of: a value located in a value set configured by an RRC signaling, or a value located in a value set predefined by a protocol.
Ma teaches an interval indication information indicating a value of a time interval; wherein, the value of the time interval indicated by the interval indication information is one of: a value located in a value set configured by an RRC signaling, or a value located in a value set predefined by a protocol (e.g., [0071], indicator for selection of one of the TRS configurations, each TRS configuration includes a set of parameters for transmitting the TRS).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Ernstrom based on the teaching from Ma to include the feature the interval indication information indicates a value of the time interval; wherein, the value of the time interval indicated by the interval indication information is one of: a value located in a value set configured by an RRC signaling, or a value located in a value set predefined by a protocol, in order to enable flexible reference signal pattern configurations.
Regarding claims 14, 17, 19:
See rejections for similar limitations with respect to claims 8-10.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 20, 21, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Independent claim 1
Applicant argues Ernstrom’s time interval between the OFDM symbols for one TRS burst does not teach “time interval between two temporary RS bursts transmitted adjacently.” (Remarks, page 10.) Examiner respectfully disagrees. As described in paragraphs [0097]-[0105] and illustrated in Fig. 10, the resource locations of the OFDM symbols carrying TRS, shown as 66 in Fig. 10, are not fixed and change depending on the density of the TRS burst, and the time interval between two adjacent OFDM symbols carrying TRS varies, accordingly. Thus, by the broadest reasonable interpretation, an OFDM symbol carrying TRS can be construed as a temporary RS burst.
Further, Applicant argues Ernstrom does not teach or suggest “in a case that the transmission resource conflicts with a resource unavailable for transmitting any temporary RS burst.” (Remarks, page 10.) Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Ernstrom describes, in paragraph [0105], “The dynamic signaling allows the network to use the full density in case no UE is scheduled (no PDSCH transmission) as this will not cause any overhead or use the reduced density in case of a UE is scheduled in resources that overlaps with (parts of) the TRS burst.”
That is, Ernstrom discloses a case where a reduced density is used when a scheduled resource (e.g., a scheduled PDSCH transmission), overlaps with parts of the TRS burst (an OFDM symbol carrying TRS). The scheduled resource (e.g., a resource scheduled for PDSCH) can be construed as a resource unavailable for transmitting any temporary RS burst.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BO HUI A ZHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465