DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 37-45 are pending and subject to this Office Action. Claims 1-36 and 46-49 are withdrawn from consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group V, claims 37-45, in the reply filed on 09/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant argues that Groups V (claims 37-45) and Group VI (claim 46-49) should not be restricted as Group VI depends from Group V. The Examiner notes that the claims for Group VI is a microvaporizer that includes the invention of Group V, the cartridge. While the claims of Groups VI references Claim 37, the products of these claims are separate products from the product of Group V. In Group VI, the claims are directed to a microvaporizer device that contains a cartridge, the same special feature as Group V but is considered a separate invention from Group V. For Lack of Unity requirement to be met, the groups must only share a common concept which the prior art, Fraser, et al, teaches. Therefore the groups share a technical features but it is not “special”
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 37-41 and 44-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fraser, et al (US20180184712A1).
Regarding claim 37, Fraser teaches an aerosol provision system comprising a cartridge that includes [0014]:
A reservoir for holding a source liquid
A planar vaporizer containing a planar heating element.
And a porous wadding/ wicking material (hydrophilic member) that is in contact with the source liquid and draws the source liquid from the reservoir to the planar heating element. (Abstract)
Fraser teaches that the heater is made of a metallic material that is a magnetic and conductive material. [0042-0043]
In a specific embodiment Fraser teaches a cartridge that is a hollow body that contains the above listed components. The cartridge is taught to have a mouthpiece (user interface) [0033], a reservoir [0039], a heater that is at least partially surrounded by a wick (hydrophobic material) that supplies liquid to the heater from the reservoir [0044], and where the inner tube of the cartridge defines a passageway for airflow. [0041] The prior art discloses that the reservoir is located between the user interface and the hydrophilic member. (Fig 4, see annotated figure 1)
Annotated Figure 1
Regarding claim 38, as discussed in claim 37, Fraser teaches the heater is in a planar (flat) form. The prior art teaches the heater may be comprised of first region and a second region comprising different materials having different electromagnetic characteristics thus have different induced current flows and produce different temperatures. ([0103], [0105], Figure 9A) The use of two different regions for heating the liquid source material to two different temperatures is considered to read on the limitation of a two-stage heater.
Regarding claim 39, Fraser teaches that the heating element has two different regions (zones) that are configured to heat to different temperatures. [0099] The prior art teaches that the operational characteristics, including the different temperatures achieved during normal use and the arrangement of the regions over which the different temperatures occur, can be determined via modeling or empirical testing. [0105] A person having ordinary would recognize that a heating element comprised of two zones, that are designed to heat the source liquid at two different temperatures, would have only two possible temperature combinations; where one combination would be the first region (zone) being heated to a first temperature and the second region (zone) being heated to a second higher temperature.
Regarding claims 40 and 41, Fraser teaches that the first region (zone) of the heating material is located at the center of the heating element and the material comprising the second region (zone) is located around the perimeter of the first material. ([0103], Fig. 9A)
Regarding claim 44, as discussed in claim 37, Fraser teaches a wick that transports liquid from the reservoir onto the heater for vaporization. [0044]
Regarding claim 45, Frasier teaches that the heating element may be embedded in the wick material (hydrophilic member). [0095] The liquid source formulation is wicked from the reservoir to the vicinity of the heating element for vaporization and more particular to the vicinity of a vaporizing surface of the heating element. Fraser teaches that the wick material of the heating element abuts the airflow path and that the liquid is vaporized from the surface of the wick material and entrained into the airflow pathway. [0098]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 42 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraser, et al (US20180184712A1) as applied to claim39 above, and further in view of Cadieux, et al (US20150245669A1) .
Regarding claims 42 and 43, Fraser teaches the heating element that is circular in shape and is comprised of a first region/ inner portion made for one material and a second region located around the first region (zone). The prior art discloses a cross section of the heating element where the first region (zone) is located between two sections of the second zone. The change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See MPEP § 2144.04 IV B.
However, Fraser does not explicitly teach a design of the heating element where the second region being divided into two sections that are located on opposite sides of the first region and thus the heater.
Cadieux, directed to the design of electronic vaping devices, teaches an electronic vaping device that is comprised of a liquid reservoir containing a liquid storage medium, a central air passage, and wick and heater. (Abstract)
Cadieux teaches a heating element that is a wick/susceptor element formed from a conductive mesh, similar to that of Fraser. The prior art teaches the heatable wick includes a first end portion and a second portion that are in contact with a liquid reservoir and draw liquid from the reservoir. [0126]Cadieux teaches the heatable portion of the conductive mesh is disposed adjacent to the inlet portion central air passage. The wick/susceptor is comprised of a central heatable portion (first region/zone), having different characteristics than the end portions, and end portions (second region/zone) that is configured for wicking the liquid from the reservoir to the central region. [0151] The prior art discloses the heating element that has a second region/zone that is located on either side of a first region/zone. (Fig. 8A and B)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Fraser by as taught by Cadieux because both Fraser and Cadieux are directed to vaping devices having heatable wicks, Cadieux teaches this design allows for the central portion (first zone) to be optimized for inductive heating and/or thermal transfer and the end portions (second zones) of the element to be optimized for wicking.[0151], and this involves the use of a known technique to improve a similar device.
Conclusion
/V.R.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755